Fresh • Sugar Lip Treatment SPF 15 • Lip Treatments

rated 3.5(550 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kirito on 10/27/2013 2:40:00 AM more reviews by kirito

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the Sugar Lip Treatment in Rose and Coral after I saw one of my favorite Youtubers wear them. I LOVE the Coral color. It's red, but not like a harsh red lipstick. (I hate lipsticks, but this feels like a chapstick.) The Rose color just gives a slight flush of pink to your lips, which is lovely. Also, the packaging is sleek and really pretty~

However, the price is ridiculous. $20+ for one lip product was crazy. If the color wasn't so pretty, I would never have bought it. I also don't care for the smell of the lip product. It's sort of floral/vanilla-ish? I don't really know what it is, but I don't like it. I tend to put an EOS balm over it to try to mask the scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 loveover0 on 10/15/2013 12:42:00 AM more reviews by loveover0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I really love the packaging and smell of this lip balm! It smells like sweet lemonade and the packaging is lovely and sleek, but the price tag for the formula is subpar. It's not moisturizing for longer than 30 minutes and after that, it's almost gone. when you first apply it, the texture is smooth, thick and slightly slippery, but after a while it feels just waxy. I got it as a gift and it's still not really worth finishing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ktsimm on 10/14/2013 1:05:00 AM more reviews by ktsimm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love the sugar line! it makes your lips so soft and has a wonderful smell, the only thing is 20 plus dollars is a little expensive for something that I'm most Likely going to loose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DylHayd on 10/6/2013 10:44:00 PM more reviews by DylHayd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Argh, Im so torn. On one hand, this balm is amazing.... Moisturizes my lips like none other and lasts a good while. On the other hand, its freaking expensive. I am a lip product junkie, so I don't mind paying a little extra for a good one--but over $20 for a "chap stick" seems silly. Then again, it works great... And the packaging is nice. I know that likely plays a roll in the pricing. Not gonna say I wouldn't buy it again, but Id have to think twice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 elmiwalk on 10/4/2013 2:27:00 AM more reviews by elmiwalk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Bought a full size of this last year, made my lips chap terribly. I thought maybe it was a change in the weather, not necessarily the product, but each time I use it, my lips always end up chapped, flaky and bleeding within a day or two. Love the texture, love the smell, love the packaging, my lips just don't love it. I have used it as an eye cream in a pinch and it has worked quite well for that so that is how I will use up the tube. I have recommended this to friends because I do think it's a great product, it just doesn't work well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennifckerrr on 9/23/2013 11:19:00 PM more reviews by Jennifckerrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I alternate between this lip balm and the rose lip treatment pretty much every day. I have one in every purse. I love the clear lip balm because it serves as an excellent conditioner for my lipstick. I hate it when my lipstick sets in the crack of my lips so using a good chap stick to prep my lips is a must. It is a little pricey, but you pay for the good quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dauncey07 on 9/17/2013 9:14:00 AM more reviews by dauncey07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A well deserved 5 lippy. This is great stuff. It smells wonderful, lasts for a good few hours, and my lips are super moist and soft. I will say that $22 for a lip balm is a tad ridiculous, regardless of its 5 lip rating. But it's seemed to have last me quite awhile, so maybe not so harsh considering how many of the "cheaper" lip balms I have known and loved I go through before this guy runs out. I repurchased a full sized one after receiving two travel sized ones as the "bday gift" at Sephora. I love the packaging too - it holds up well. I definitely feel a difference with my lips after wearing this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nreid on 9/12/2013 6:56:00 PM more reviews by nreid

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

PROS
-ultra-moisturizing
-long-lasting
-smoothing effect on lips
-soothing
-light, pleasant scent (like a sugar lemon crepe, not lemonade)
-beautiful variety of tints (or untinted, if that's your thing)
-moisturizing effects last long after the balm wears off
-applies smoothly; no tugging of skin
-product lasts a decent amount of time, even if used every day
-secure packaging
-classy-looking packaging design

CONS
-price $$$
-formula is just a bit soft (but not enough to make it a turn-off)

By now I've read HUNDREDS of reviews on this lip balm, and it seems to be a love-hate thing for majority of people. I found this out after I got a deluxe mini sample from Sephora, and I loved it so much I wanted to know more about it.

Despite having very dry skin that, at times, has even cracked around my nose and at the corners of my mouth, I've never been one to wear much lip balm. Outside of the coldest winter months in Canada, I can get away with not wearing a thing on my lips and most of the time they're fine aside from a little chapping. Alas, I am getting a wee bit older and signs of aging are showing, so the need for more moisture all over my face is greater than ever.

Frankly, I'm very surprised at the claims that this lip balm dries out some people's lips. For me, it's been pretty much the best thing ever to accidentally happen to my lips. I've worn it alone, under lipstick/glosses, and at night. I wake up with it still on my lips in the morning, and they feel fantastic and oh so smooth. I find it moisturizes my lips so well that I can go an entire day without applying it and my lips are still smooth and hydrated, and I can still feel its effects long after it's worn off. It is so far from unhydrating I'm not sure I'm even talking about the same product as some of the other reviewers.

I also find this lip balm long-lasting. As a test, after applying it I ate a hard boiled egg, drank two cups of tea, and brushed my teeth. It was still there even after brushing my teeth! Of course, some of it had worn off, but I've noticed a slight film on my lips as long as four hours after applying it. And that's with drinking, talking and eating.

The scent is just that - a scent. The balm itself isn't flavoured, which is nice. And the scent is light and fresh enough that I find myself putting it on just for the happy perkiness of the scent, which, by the way, is nothing near as overwhelming as the scents/flavours put into a lot of lip glosses and shines.

The formula itself seems to be a bit fragile - I notice that there are marks around the side of the lip balm stick from its casing. So it might be best not to wind the stick up too much to avoid weakening its base. That said, while I have seen some testers in stores that look a bit mushy, my tube has been nothing but the perfect texture - not too soft and not at all hard (unlike Burt's Bees original lip balm, which is rock-hard). Also, while I'm generous with how much I apply to my lips, I don't find that the product is wearing down that fast. I've used it every day for two weeks, and though it is a mini-version I've used barely 1/4 of a centimeter of it.

For me, the sole serious drawback is the price. While I've tried many lip balms over the years and never found anything like this one, the price tag is a bit of a deterrent. If you're someone who likes to constantly apply lip balm, then maybe you might want to have a cheaper version on hand in addition to this one, and reserve this one a bit. But because it works so well for me, I will most definitely be stocking up on a few tubes as soon as I can find a better price than the CAD$26 I see all around town.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Productaddict911 on 8/8/2013 3:06:00 PM more reviews by Productaddict911

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the original fresh balm that inspired all the color versions. The formula is really good but I would not purchase again now that there are color versions with the same texture and SPF benefits.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clarissa90 on 8/6/2013 9:18:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This lip balm doesn't moisturize as well as less expensive alternatives such as Jack Black or Kiehls. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fresh products

More Lip Treatments products