Biologique Recherche • Lotion P50 • Toners

rated 4.3(83 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 marzstar on 11/19/2010 1:57:00 PM more reviews by marzstar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

really I give this 5+ stars. because it is the one skin product I can not live without!
even though, broken down, I give it
5 stars for effectivity
4 stars for price - it is very pricey, yet it really lasts a LONG time!
4 stars for packaging - it's easy to travel with, and stays sanitary, yet is not very pretty

Can't believe I haven't reviewed this product yet, as it is my withoutadoubt, hands down, HG toner for years now. I swear I can basically use anything else on my face now, as long as I use this daily, my skin will be in pretty good shape.

I first discovered this from my aesthetician in NYC who saved my skin.

(In my mid-20s, from what I assume was a change in hormones, my skin started breaking out reallllly bad. Worse than ever before. I have always been prone to break-outs, and had oily skin since around age10, but suddenly I had cystic acne covering my cheeks and could find nothing to help!)

Through a series of regular extracting facials and daily use of this toner my skin was healed, and has been better than ever since!

This smells bad, like chloraseptic throat spray. But I don't mind because it works better than anything. I think it has the numbing agent from chloraseptic since it is so strong and maybe that helps your face handle the strength of it. but I am not sure on that point. It exfoliates, non abrasively, heals everything and keeps my pores clear. Cleans off any residue of anything living on your skin. I wish I could bathe in this stuff. Is alcohol free, has healing herbs, and sulphur. There are a couple versions for regular or sensitive skin, but I use the strong one and even with my slightly sensitive skin, never have any problems.

hard to find but acnewizard sells it and has great customer service imho :)

so if you are prone to break outs, or congestion, and/or want to keep your skin glowing, healthy, and clear, use this! don't be scared of the price - a little really goes a long way - one bigger bottle lasts me 6 months or more!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tagyemang on 8/16/2010 3:20:00 PM more reviews by tagyemang

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for over 3 years and all I can say is watch out! This product is ADDICTIVE. I have become an addict to the soft radiant skin that is revealed only when I use this product. Since I started using P50, I get compliments on my skin so frequently that I wish I could just carry around samples of the stuff to give away. The only problem is when I run out of this stuff. I recently ran out and realized that my twice yearly expeditions (the large bottle lasts six months for me; a little really does go a long way) to Philadelphia from DC to purchase this stuff is absurd so I'm now surfing looking for this product online. Caveat emptor girls. Make sure you keep this stuff well stocked or you and your skin will go through a very sad withdrawal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amysee on 4/12/2010 4:03:00 PM more reviews by amysee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

When I turned 27, I decided that I was going to be acne-free by age 30. I had my first pimple at age 9, and I experienced a seamless transition from teen acne to adult acne. I was determined to make it all stop.

After some fruitless at-home efforts, I found a good aesthetician, and she told me that all the mad exfoliating I'd engaged in had dried out my already dry skin, and grossest of all caused what was essentially a callous to form on my forehead. This callous was protecting me from myself, while preventing all of my blackheads from escaping. Eeeeeewwwww.

She also introduced me to P 50. I bought the little bottle at first and was warned to expect my skin to look worse before it got better, and to be red immediately after application until I got used to it. The results were truly amazing. I didn't experience much in terms of breakouts, but after a few weeks, I could just rub my finger across my forehead and blackheads would come right out of my pores. My skin became clearer and I felt it helped my moisturizer soak in better.

About a year ago I stopped using P 50, because it felt so obscene to spend so much money on a bottle of stinky chemicals when people were losing their jobs and their homes. I tried another high end (but still cheaper... this is how expensive P 50 is) toner but I knew it just wasn't the same.

My conscience quieted when I had a huge, hormonally-related breakout on my chin about 6 months ago. My aesthetician was able to help a lot, and then finally asked me after a couple of months of little progress if I was using the P 50; she was convinced that if I had been using it, I would have healed by then. I'm back on it, and my skin is glowing and healing again.

Everything you've read is true: incredibly expensive, weird smelling, and maybe phenol is an iffy thing to put on your face twice a day. But you don't need to use much, and it works wonders!

* 4 lippies instead of 5 because some of the ingredients are kind of scary. But effective!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RHanson on 8/4/2009 7:28:00 AM more reviews by RHanson

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

So, the smell is pretty bad, and the price is a little over the top, but the product inside is heaven. I've been applying about 8 drops to a cotton pad and wiping it on my face. My old acne scars have begun to disappear. My dermatologist said that they would take at least 8 months to heal. This toner made them heal within 3 weeks. My skin is clear and glowing! I will absolutely repurchase this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 redheadedbitch on 6/26/2009 4:24:00 PM more reviews by redheadedbitch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I picked this up after getting a wonderful facial. This toner was used on me during the facial and I liked how it felt at the time. Plus, I needed a new toner.

First off, holy crap is this stuff expensive. I was using a Lush toner which was around $18, which seemed expensive. This stuff is close to $60! HOWEVER- my skin has never looked better. In fact, it does so much for my skin, that I decided to make up for how much I spent and just use drug store cleanser and moisturizer- essentially I'm spending the same on my skincare regime.

Yes, it is very harsh, but your skin does get used to it. Also, as harsh as it feels on your skin, it doesn't dry it out (at least mine.) I'd really like to buy another one once my current bottle runs out but it's so pricey...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aupamplemousse on 3/2/2009 10:23:00 AM more reviews by aupamplemousse

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

For all of you complaining about redness, you should try the P50V for sensitive skin. Whoever sold it to you really should have mentioned the P50V (for normal/sensitive skin) and P50W (for very sensitive skin). My facialist said the P50 is too harsh for most people, and the P50V is much better for people with normal to sensitive skin.

The P50 was too harsh for my sensitive, acne-prone skin, but the P50V is the best product I have ever tried. Friends with normal skin who are not sensitive to anything tried the P50 and it was too harsh. It's better to be safe than sorry, get the P50V!

I have big pores, blackheads, and random breakouts, and the P50V leaves my skin looking and feeling amazing. I haven't had a breakout in 3 months.

(Writing about the P50V here because this one has more reviews)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 christine6424 on 9/25/2008 1:36:00 PM more reviews by christine6424

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this product from a Facialist. She swore it would work wonders. I have not seen anything different on my face. I have used it faithfully for 4 months. The smell is difficult to get used to and no visible changes in my skin. I would skip this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChristyW on 8/29/2008 1:27:00 PM more reviews by ChristyW

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I first tried this toner about 6 months ago, but quit using because it was so harsh. But recently I suffered a terrible breakout and after reading the reviews, decided to give it another try. This time, I actually followed the directions and used only a FEW drops on a cotton pad, which has made a huge difference. This has cleared up my face in just a matter of days, with no irritation. I think those reviewers who have complained about redness and burning may be making the same mistake I did originally, which is using too much -- a little bit of this goes a long way.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AlanaBanana6 on 7/28/2008 3:33:00 PM more reviews by AlanaBanana6

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this product! Before I started using this, I'd get painful, large pimples about 2-3 times a month. After using this product, I rarely get pimples that swell and hurt, in fact, I rarely get pimples at all anymore (except around my period.) It does smell a little, but I think it's worth it for the results...and I think the scent fades a few minutes after you apply it anyway. However, unlike what the product suggests, "wiping it off with water," I just keep it on and it has worked wonders!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 noinoi on 4/11/2008 7:34:00 AM more reviews by noinoi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Don't waste your money on this cult product. It does precisely nothing!
I have been using it now for several months and more recently I have used it with just the biologique cleanser and moisturiser.

Used with these products I have acne. Not a success.

I am waiting for my Jan Marini bioclear cream to be posted to me. This produces reliably clear skin which is something I am prepared to pay for. P50 is useless.


Edit: I think this product is ok as a toner. It does do something but isn't a miracle. Allows you to use a creamy cleanser and get it all off your skin. Sulpher and witch hazel is probably pretty good for the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Biologique Recherche products

More Toners products