Estee Lauder • Futurist Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.2(130 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Di57 on 12/31/2009 5:23:00 PM more reviews by Di57

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I've been a Clinique fan for about 25 years and whilst I love their skin care products, I've struggled with finding the right foundation. Used to use Dewy Smooth, then went to Repairwear, but lately have noticed they are starting to look too heavy. Finding the right shade with Clinique has always been a difficulty for me too. So, after reading reviews on Futurist, thought I would give it a go.

I'm thrilled with Futurist (Pale Almond shade) - it gives me a much softer 'cleaner' appearance than either Dewy Smooth or Repairwear, and has a far more natural-looking finish. Happily, the colour match with my skin is almost perfect. I find the coverage quite adequate (and I have freckled skin), and now am convinced that 'less is more' on more mature skin. The understated luminosity is just right - it gives my skin a healthy glow without looking glittery. A totally matte finish can be achieved by an application of translucent powder, but I find the effect rather flat-looking in comparison.

If you, like me, fit into the 'mature skin' category, and are finding that your current foundation ages rather than softens, or is too heavy, I thoroughly recommend you get a sample of Futurist to try. The only reason I didn't give it a '5' is simply that 5 is perfect, and there ain't no such thing! But this comes pretty damn close!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 happywoman28 on 12/29/2009 4:23:00 PM more reviews by happywoman28

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my hg foudation. I use the shade Pale Almond.
Pale Almond is a light neutral beige, neither pink nor orange nor yellow, very neutral.
It's dewy, not mat, just moist enough and not greasy.
It covers perfectly and makes my skin look better than anything else does.
It stays on all day.
I need a moist foundation at my age now that pimples are a thing of the past. This is perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jacwinks on 11/14/2009 7:36:00 PM more reviews by jacwinks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After reading the reviews on here I decided to try this product. I could find something at the drug store that would produce the same results...not worth the price. The coverage wasn't great either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catloveschanel on 11/8/2009 2:12:00 AM more reviews by Catloveschanel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

For a moment, I thought this was the one. My bf surprised me and picked me up from work and said, "You're not wearing makeup are you? Your skin looks great...." After a 10 hour day, I said, "no, I'm not". So I lied. Now it's on the Internet. (eek)
But it turned out not to be good for me in the long run. My problem I have three former blackhead marks on my cheek and makeup accentuates it. This one does too. Even with a primer. Sigh. It was very a nice texture and went on easily, compared to the Glue-like Double Wear. The blonde shade was a very good match for my fair skin, but I took it back to Nordstrom's. I get compliments on my skin when I don't wear makeup, so I'm beginning to think I will go without.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AllAboutMe83 on 10/27/2009 8:57:00 AM more reviews by AllAboutMe83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I have been using EL's Lucidity for a very long time. Its my HG foundation. I used DoubleWear for a bit which was great but found Dior's Forver Foundation to be better. ( I still use for special occasions)
I wanted to try Futurist for some time now due to the fact that it gives a luminous look which is what I look for. (Im not a fan of matte foundations) I was told it was for "older" skin because its very moisturizing/anti aging. I dont belive you have to be a certain age to use moisturizing or perhaps anti-aging products.
I bought the lightest shade which is a perfect match. The foundation is very creamy and goes on like a charm. I find myself using too much at times because it absorbs and feels like a buttery cream.
Im very pleased with Futurist and I will look no further.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oliviacat100 on 10/16/2009 11:15:00 PM more reviews by oliviacat100

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Futurist is a wonderful foundation! Now that my skin is drier and not so oily, it's about as good as it gets. I don't use it in the summer because it melts off my face. I use mineral makeup then. I don't recommend Futurist for oily skin at all. This formula is not oil free. It contains olive oil, vitamin A, vitamin C and other skin enhancing ingredients. Very nice for aging skin. The texture is smooth, luxurious and leaves a luminous glow on my face. The coverage is great, hides my rosacea and a very small amount is all that's needed. It does not feel heavy or look cakey. On me, Futurist lasts all day and never turns orangey like so many other foundations can. I use a loose powder to set it in the morning and forget about it the rest of the day. I don't need a moisturizer underneath it, because it's moisturizing enough. My biggest complaint with Futurist and almost all foundations, is that I can never find a perfect color. I had to buy 2 different colors and mix them and the color is still not perfect. Otherwise, I would have given this foundation a 5. Estee Lauder foundation colors are either too pink, orange or yellow and often are lacking in light enough colors. It's hard to find light natural looking shades. I've noticed the same issue with Clinique and other Lauder owned lines. But the formula is so good with this one, I hope buying two colors is worth the added expense. Highly recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nettimacs on 6/30/2009 5:03:00 PM more reviews by nettimacs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

soo much better packaging than the EL double wear foundation, but still.. it feels a bit too greasy, and i never agreed with dewy finishes somehow.. i have really dry skin and yet i found it too greasy.. maybe i am wrong but i think this is just for me.. for example my mom is using the same colored foundations like me so she tried it the other day, and voila.. the magic worked.. smooth perfect face, nothing too dewy or greasy or cakey... just perfect radiant skin.. and since than for her it is a HG. this is why i give 4 lippies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ve on 6/30/2009 6:51:00 AM more reviews by ve

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

this is a perfect winter foundation and for dry to mix skin. The price is ok. But i won't be replacing it when is time, although i think it may never happens (a pump provides you enough coverage!!!)

Possitive:
a little pump provides enough coverage.
really really easy to apply.
leaves you very hydratated.
it is not oily.
it does not settle into the lines.

Negative:
not very good for the t zone.
the color range is not great, too peachy and even the lightest it is a bit dark.
For the price could have bought me any other product (e.i. Christian Dior, radiant base, perfect for summer)


What i do is to wear it from the sides to the T-zone, so the the T-zone gets just a little amount.

i always finish my make up w loose powder.

Tip:
As i really like it yet don't love (but already bought it)
what i do in summer is to use the foundation as a concealer, as is liquid and really easy to apply, it smooths perfectly is more gently than concealers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wontonwendy on 6/2/2009 4:28:00 AM more reviews by wontonwendy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i guess this is a good winter foundation but im scared of what would happen if i used it in summer
gives a nice dewy finish and doesnt settle into my lines
buildable coverage
however it can sometimes seeem a bit too greasy
i love the pump. one pump is the perfect amount

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rainbowapple on 5/4/2009 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Rainbowapple

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I use this in the lightest shade, with an SPF50 underneath. Compared with so many different liquid foundations, this one blends incredibly well. Great that it has a pump, too. On me, it dries to a dewy, but not too oily finish, and one pump covers most everything AND lasts all day. Bit of a worry to travel with, but other than that, an outstanding purchase.

EDIT-5/24: Knocked off two stars. Why?. I don't like this anywhere near as much. Too peachy. Too runny. I end up wasting a lot. It does work better when mixed with my daily sunscreen (Coppertone, SPF50). Just 'too' something, and until I can be bothered figuring out what this is, I'm putting this gem back in my makeup storage box. Sorry, EL-this is too old-lady-ish for me!.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products