Estee Lauder • Futurist Foundation [DISCONTINUED] • Liquid

rated 4.2(132 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PrettyInPlaidChic on 3/17/2010 3:00:00 AM more reviews by PrettyInPlaidChic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

In "Porcelain" and in combination with my La Prairie Gold Illusion Line Filler Primer/Corrector, this is the ultimate in flawless skin for special events (or whenever I feel like indulging myself, but have absolutely no desire to look 'overdone'). Ordinarily, I'm a tinted moisturizer person, however this foundation just brings everything together wonderfully for me, when I'm really counting on it. Even when I've been ill, and had to hide it, this foundation has performed excellently. Few complaints. As with similar liquid foundations, preparation and good blending are definitely key to getting the desired finish (and the compliments!). A little does go a long way. I value the pump. The SPF of 15 is an industry minimum standard, and I wouldn't purchase this foundation without it. Does not cause any perceptible reactions, creep into unwanted corners, nor highlight flakes. Lasts 12 hours on me, without touch-ups. Removes easily and entirely with my La Prairie cleanser. Can also be mixed with other liquid foundations that I also own (Givenchy and Orlane), without any issues. Versatile, and one that I find myself reaching for, more often than not. One gripe: my shade is a little more peach than I would prefer, but not impossible to correct, too. Well worth the investment. EDIT: After a break from wearing this, I went and looked at it again, and decided it's no longer for me. It now seems to sink into and highlight every pore!. So disappointing, because I still want to be in love with this. Am switching back to my TMs and Orlane, and will see if that makes a difference. Sorry, EL!.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whirlgurl on 1/13/2010 9:33:00 PM more reviews by whirlgurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

i have used this product for 4 years now. sometimes i try differnt ones but noting compares to futurist. i love the finish all i do is add a little bronzer and im done i dont need extras with this such as finishing powders or illuminators or moisturizers which is why i say the price is reasonable! its natuaral looking and makes my skin glow. i do have dry skin so i wouldnt recomend this for someone with oily skin as i believe it is one of the products that is not oil free thank goodness because everywhere i go is oil-free oil free. what about us that need some oil well this is my faavourite!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Di57 on 12/31/2009 5:23:00 PM more reviews by Di57

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I've been a Clinique fan for about 25 years and whilst I love their skin care products, I've struggled with finding the right foundation. Used to use Dewy Smooth, then went to Repairwear, but lately have noticed they are starting to look too heavy. Finding the right shade with Clinique has always been a difficulty for me too. So, after reading reviews on Futurist, thought I would give it a go.

I'm thrilled with Futurist (Pale Almond shade) - it gives me a much softer 'cleaner' appearance than either Dewy Smooth or Repairwear, and has a far more natural-looking finish. Happily, the colour match with my skin is almost perfect. I find the coverage quite adequate (and I have freckled skin), and now am convinced that 'less is more' on more mature skin. The understated luminosity is just right - it gives my skin a healthy glow without looking glittery. A totally matte finish can be achieved by an application of translucent powder, but I find the effect rather flat-looking in comparison.

If you, like me, fit into the 'mature skin' category, and are finding that your current foundation ages rather than softens, or is too heavy, I thoroughly recommend you get a sample of Futurist to try. The only reason I didn't give it a '5' is simply that 5 is perfect, and there ain't no such thing! But this comes pretty damn close!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 happywoman28 on 12/29/2009 4:23:00 PM more reviews by happywoman28

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my hg foudation. I use the shade Pale Almond.
Pale Almond is a light neutral beige, neither pink nor orange nor yellow, very neutral.
It's dewy, not mat, just moist enough and not greasy.
It covers perfectly and makes my skin look better than anything else does.
It stays on all day.
I need a moist foundation at my age now that pimples are a thing of the past. This is perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jacwinks on 11/14/2009 7:36:00 PM more reviews by jacwinks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After reading the reviews on here I decided to try this product. I could find something at the drug store that would produce the same results...not worth the price. The coverage wasn't great either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catloveschanel on 11/8/2009 2:12:00 AM more reviews by Catloveschanel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

For a moment, I thought this was the one. My bf surprised me and picked me up from work and said, "You're not wearing makeup are you? Your skin looks great...." After a 10 hour day, I said, "no, I'm not". So I lied. Now it's on the Internet. (eek)
But it turned out not to be good for me in the long run. My problem I have three former blackhead marks on my cheek and makeup accentuates it. This one does too. Even with a primer. Sigh. It was very a nice texture and went on easily, compared to the Glue-like Double Wear. The blonde shade was a very good match for my fair skin, but I took it back to Nordstrom's. I get compliments on my skin when I don't wear makeup, so I'm beginning to think I will go without.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AllAboutMe83 on 10/27/2009 8:57:00 AM more reviews by AllAboutMe83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I have been using EL's Lucidity for a very long time. Its my HG foundation. I used DoubleWear for a bit which was great but found Dior's Forver Foundation to be better. ( I still use for special occasions)
I wanted to try Futurist for some time now due to the fact that it gives a luminous look which is what I look for. (Im not a fan of matte foundations) I was told it was for "older" skin because its very moisturizing/anti aging. I dont belive you have to be a certain age to use moisturizing or perhaps anti-aging products.
I bought the lightest shade which is a perfect match. The foundation is very creamy and goes on like a charm. I find myself using too much at times because it absorbs and feels like a buttery cream.
Im very pleased with Futurist and I will look no further.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oliviacat100 on 10/16/2009 11:15:00 PM more reviews by oliviacat100

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Futurist is a wonderful foundation! Now that my skin is drier and not so oily, it's about as good as it gets. I don't use it in the summer because it melts off my face. I use mineral makeup then. I don't recommend Futurist for oily skin at all. This formula is not oil free. It contains olive oil, vitamin A, vitamin C and other skin enhancing ingredients. Very nice for aging skin. The texture is smooth, luxurious and leaves a luminous glow on my face. The coverage is great, hides my rosacea and a very small amount is all that's needed. It does not feel heavy or look cakey. On me, Futurist lasts all day and never turns orangey like so many other foundations can. I use a loose powder to set it in the morning and forget about it the rest of the day. I don't need a moisturizer underneath it, because it's moisturizing enough. My biggest complaint with Futurist and almost all foundations, is that I can never find a perfect color. I had to buy 2 different colors and mix them and the color is still not perfect. Otherwise, I would have given this foundation a 5. Estee Lauder foundation colors are either too pink, orange or yellow and often are lacking in light enough colors. It's hard to find light natural looking shades. I've noticed the same issue with Clinique and other Lauder owned lines. But the formula is so good with this one, I hope buying two colors is worth the added expense. Highly recommended.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nettimacs on 6/30/2009 5:03:00 PM more reviews by nettimacs

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

soo much better packaging than the EL double wear foundation, but still.. it feels a bit too greasy, and i never agreed with dewy finishes somehow.. i have really dry skin and yet i found it too greasy.. maybe i am wrong but i think this is just for me.. for example my mom is using the same colored foundations like me so she tried it the other day, and voila.. the magic worked.. smooth perfect face, nothing too dewy or greasy or cakey... just perfect radiant skin.. and since than for her it is a HG. this is why i give 4 lippies.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ve on 6/30/2009 6:51:00 AM more reviews by ve

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

this is a perfect winter foundation and for dry to mix skin. The price is ok. But i won't be replacing it when is time, although i think it may never happens (a pump provides you enough coverage!!!)

Possitive:
a little pump provides enough coverage.
really really easy to apply.
leaves you very hydratated.
it is not oily.
it does not settle into the lines.

Negative:
not very good for the t zone.
the color range is not great, too peachy and even the lightest it is a bit dark.
For the price could have bought me any other product (e.i. Christian Dior, radiant base, perfect for summer)


What i do is to wear it from the sides to the T-zone, so the the T-zone gets just a little amount.

i always finish my make up w loose powder.

Tip:
As i really like it yet don't love (but already bought it)
what i do in summer is to use the foundation as a concealer, as is liquid and really easy to apply, it smooths perfectly is more gently than concealers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Liquid products