Sonia Kashuk Eyeshadow

3.8

75 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/20/2005 4:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got to sample SK eyeshadows from two of her eye palettes - Perfectly Neutral and Colors. I had written a review for the colors palette and that's what I'm basing this review on.



This is really a bargain, even at full price -- I think each eyeshadow palette I bought was $13.99 for six colors and a tan cream base. I read others got it for MUCH cheaper on sale. Anyway, I think for the price, it's a great palette to experiment with and learn about colors.



However, I find that the texture of these shadows is too grainy and difficult to work with for everyday use. In fact, my sister's eyelids got sore from playing with this a couple of days in a row. The shadows are very densely packed and I have a hard time picking shadow up with my brushes.



When I use my fingers, after a few swipes, a weird, shiny coating forms on top and I can't get any shadow on my fingers! I literally have to scrape it with my fingernail to pick up any color and it is crumbly and just a bad consistency. Maybe I got a dud, but I had a similar experience with the "Perfectly Neutral Palette" ( Note: Only a few shadows in each palette gets this coating, not ALL). Ow well. : ( Boo hoo.



As far as colors is concerned, I really like Sonia Kashuk's "Gunmetal" and "Cashmere" and would like to buy both individually, but hesitate due to this disappointing experience with two of her palettes. I guess for the price though, it's not that bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/10/2005 11:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I agree with kristinaj on this one. I bought Lilac and it's awful. The color doesn't show up at all whatsoever. I'll end up using it as a highlight.


on 1/28/2005 9:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is now my HG eyeshadow. I bought SABLE which is a dark, dark brown. Color goes on even and smooth, and lasts all day. Even after a nap I didn't have to reapply!! GREAT EYESHADOW AND GREAT PACKAGING.


on 1/23/2005 12:48:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

GENERAL DESCRIPTION Powder eyeshadow. I am reviewing Night (black). Around $6.99 retail. Net weight is not mentioned on the actual eyeshadow package.



PACKAGING Sonia Kashuk is one of the better looking lines in the drugstore when it comes to packaging. The eyeshadow comes in a sleek and modern white plastic case with silver lettering. Inside, is a tiny mirror that would be adequate in a pinch. There is a very unique but ultimately unusable sponge applicator that is, literally, only twice the length of a thumbnail.



COLOR/PIGMENTATION Night is supposed to be a black but it ends up being a dark grey, even when wet. The pigmentation is poor. If you are looking for a true black, look for something else. This is the biggest reason I will not repurchase this particular color.



TEXTURE Sonia Kashuk eyeshadows are smooth and blendable. I have not encountered a gritty one to date. Thumbs up for this category.



LASTING POWER I have oily skin and lids and this eyeshadow has never creased on me. There is minimal fading but I don't mind.



OVERALL I would probably purchase another Sonia Kashuk eyeshadow, just not this color. It is still usable but it fell short of being the nice bold black I expected it to be.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/20/2005 3:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love the packaging, first-off, because it's white and compact and cute :) .. I think it's a bargain at the drugstore prices, you get quality, pigmented, georgous shades that last a long time. Would surely reccomend !!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was a great buy...the price was cheap and the colors are very pigmented. I have tried many eye shadows and this has been one of the best values. I only wish there was a target in Hawaii...have to wait until my next trip to the mainland to get more colors!


on 12/16/2004 10:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Nice colors, decent pigment, reasonably priced. But the main reason I'll buy these shadow again: they do not crease. At all. Not a bit. I've never had a shadow not crease on me, so this is a huge thing for me! We have a winner! God bless Target...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2004 5:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This eyeshadow goes on SO smoothly! I bought mine in "Sadye Pink", and it's the most GORGEOUS pink shade on me! It really makes my blue eyes POP! I will definatley be <3ing this shadow for a while!


on 7/17/2004 2:35:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in Lilac. It did not show up on me AT ALL. Not even as a faint shimmer or white. Nothing. What a waste. I will stick with Bloom shadows.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The Sonia K. shadows are velvety smooth, the pigment's good. Not the best, but very good. These remind me of a better, cheaper version of Stila. The packaging is incredible.

On the downside, the color selection is conservative, and my favorite shades seem to be dsct. That's why I just reviewed the shadow, and not specific shades of it. That is also the reason I will not buy again. That and I have a few backups of my favorites, Bronze and Golden.




Top Rated Sonia Kashuk Products

image

Remove

249 reviews
Back to Top