Chanel Coco

4.2

421 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/4/2012 7:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

File this under "I don't get it." With all the rave reviews here I was expecting something quite amazing. What I got was old fashioned crowded scent. I love orientals but I can't even distinguish notes in here, its just boring and not an even very strong scent to make it worth the money. Its not a horrible perfume, its just hard to see what the fuss is about. I would definetly re visit Coco to see if I felt the same way in the future but at the moment its a big no from me.



on 11/12/2012 12:21:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

i use to love chanel fragrances then for about a year i found out that my coco mademoiselle dont smell right or for a long time after a hour or two it faded i look at the box and surprise MADE IN THE USA NOT MADE IN FRANCE any more chanel is suppose to be a france brand and the parfum is suppose to be made in france the lady at the chanelcounter try to convince me that the product was made in france and the bottle in the usa but my background teache me that french parfum are the best and there is nothing called product made here and bottel made here i was very disappointed .now i'm wearing J'ADORE BY DIOR first think i did after i smell it on a collegue and i fall in love with the smell i went to macys ask for a sample and chesked the box bingo MADE IN FRANCE .


on 11/5/2012 5:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Isn't this what Bree from Desperate Housewives would wear? Hands down, it's definitely the best rich housewife perfume ever created ( and I don't mean it in a bad green envy-poisoned way!! :) ) The perfume is like a dense leather and oriental spice oil elixir that can hardly be word on a night out because it is way too subtle ( very rich and strong, but yet subtle in a most classy way ) and could hardly be part of the "Here I am - look at me" moment. "I am so successful, content and fulfilled, that I don't even care what anyone thinks" is more like it. I am absolutely convinced, that this should be worn as a reward for one's own achievements: judging by the price label, you would have to have at least one ( financially acknowledged ) behind your belt, or be related to someone who has, and whose fruits of succes you are allowed to harvest :). I am waiting for a pure perfume bottle to arrive and i know it will be a while before I can wear it thinking:" It's been hard work and now I am finally there". I would also recommend Coco to those who have given birth ( a huge life achievement in my view! ) recently and are making their comeback into society as newly established themselves.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my signature scent. It's one of the most sexy scents I have ever have the pleasure of sniffing. Everytime I wear it, my man, men, and other women tell me is smell "amazing" or "incredible", with a shock of delight and desire on their face. I know that when I wear this, pretty much everything goes my way. Though, my dashing good looks seem to help as well.
Top notes are coriander, pomegranate blossom, mandarin orange, peach, jasmine and bulgarian rose; middle notes are mimose, cloves, orange blossom, clover and rose; base notes are labdanum, amber, sandalwood, tonka bean, opoponax, civet and vanilla.
This is the scent of a true, strong, rediculously powerful and sexy woman, like myself.
Though, I can imagine, like many other strong perfumes, it may smell different on people.
But if you have the confidence, you can pull this off too.
COME GET ME


on 10/26/2012 3:14:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This fragrance reminds me of a mature, very sophisticated woman in an expensive wool suit. As one reviewer said, it's the fragrance she would wear for confidence if she was joining a group of women who had been taking ballet since the age of 2. The reviewer captured it well. It's not a sexy scent. It's not a scent I would wear in the daytime; it's an oriental, heavy night-time scent for sophisticated wear. It'd be a great fragrance for the right person, just not for me. (It's the kind of fragrance that would make me feel like the fragrance was wearing me instead of me wearing the fragrance.)

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

A classic. Suits me more now that i'm in my 30's.


on 9/23/2012 3:14:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The first time I tested Coco, the Chanel counter at Macy's was a simple, uncluttered oasis of refinement. Scents for women included No. 5, No. 19, Cristalle and Coco. That was about it. Coco was always the odd duck of the group, an elegent oriental amid the aldehydic softness of the rest of the Chanel range. To put it another way, I tend to like my Orientals skanky. I believe JP Guerlain once said that all of his scents had the touch of his mistress's orifaces. I always held Coco's, for lack of a better word, hygiene, against it. I still do.

The opening, with its coriander fruit, rose and jasmine progresses beautifully into the heart, with its spicy clove. If Coco was a race car, it would shift gears without the slightest bump, from its spicy rose top to its spicy rose heart.

There is a place in my fragrance wardrobe for Coco. If I am going to the kind of event attended by women who studied ballet since age 2, and went to a seven sister's college, Coco gives me some self confidence. When I sniff it on myself, I can kind of talk myself into believing that I am poised and refined. Unfortunately, I also feel kind of boring in Coco.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 8/28/2012 11:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Coco is a warm, soothing, deep spicy rose for me.
Embodies the spirit of a long lost glamorous era and creates a comforting spicy aura around you.
Makes me slightly melancholic.
I don't find it sexy or sensual (at least not in a sex kitten or a dominatrix way)
I imagine that it would be the scent of a strong woman that everyone would respect and admire.
Seriously classy.
Impossible to forget.
Old school perfume drug.
Test with caution.


Edit: I was quite emotional while writing the above (ah, under the spell of Coco!) so I think I should add a few more words.
Coco was formulated 28 years ago. When you smell right from the bottle you may get a dated feeling but don't be fooled, take your time. Coco is not for the impatient but for those who can feel her glory. After all this is not an air refresher, it's a real perfume made to reveal its beauty when melt on the skin and become part of you.
Oh, my Lord, those spices and amber make my heart sink and the world feels better when I smell this masterpiece blended to perfection...
Coco is a legendary beauty, the Queen Of Spicy Florientals. She is The One. The extraordinary heroin remembered for ever as stunning, independent, passionate, has experienced life with highs and lows, knows who she is and what she deserves. Full of class, strength and intelligence.
Many women save Coco for special occasions. I can see why. Coco is special, no doubt. But I wouldn't wait for a special day to wear Coco. I would wear Coco every day and make it special.

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.


on 8/19/2012 10:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was looking forward to sampling this but unfortunately it didn't work with my body chemistry. I believe I sampled the EDT. It started out spicy and warm but not wonderful. Then it dried down to a powdery, odd, soapy scent. My good friend actually thought it smelled like bacon on me!! It's amazing how different perfumes smell on different people. This friend owned and loved Coco and didn't even recognize it on me. That is why I always try before I buy, lol!


on 8/19/2012 10:55:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I discovered Coco from Chanel when I was 21 in a duty free shop at the frankfurt airport. Chanel No5, which I liked very much, was the fragrance of my mother, my aunt and my granny, but I couldnīt wear it, it just wasnīt me. I didnīt know much about fragrances at this time, neither how to choose one for myself. Only because of knowing the brand Chanel, I checked, if they have a fragrance in their range beside No5 that would fit me.

I am glad, I did! For my opinion Coco is an ageless, elegant, mysterious oriental cat. Itīs full of "je ne sais quoi" without beeing too loud or offensive - if you know how to wear it. Coco will not tell you her whole story in one or two sentences, you need time to discover and to understand.

Coco starts with a flowery-spicey burst, youīll already recognize in the beginning, itīs a refined oriental fragrance. The heart: Flowers (I recognize Rose) and the spicey (Cinnamon?) Notes are becoming deeper. The basenote: A warm woody-sexy dry down with soft (!) patchouly, vanilla (or tonka bean) and other notes I canīt identify are creating a warm and velvet layer on my skin. Coco Eau de toilette is more lighter and powdery for my opinion, the Eau de Parfum is spicier, "deeper" (more patchouly?) and lasts longer on my skin (I have both versions).

Since I discovered this fragrance such a long time ago, I always own a bottle of Coco beside a more or less changing perfume wardrobe. Itīs quiet expensive, yes, but itīs worth every cent! I earn always compliments, when wearing Coco. I wore it on the first date with my husband and he still loves this "sexy, magical, mysterious" scent, he says!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
Coco Mademoiselle
1372 Reviews
Chance
Chance
959 Reviews
No.5
No.5
943 Reviews
BOMBSHELL
BOMBSHELL
139 Reviews
Si
Si
43 Reviews
Back to Top