Queen Helene • Cholesterol Hair Conditioning Cream • Conditioner

rated 3.5(183 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 PanAm on 4/10/2012 5:39:00 PM more reviews by PanAm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I go through this stuff like butter. Its heavy duty and meant to repair your hair. If your hair is gross from straightening it, it is not going to heal that. You cannot really heal that. I have had this in my house for YEARS and just started using it recently because a horrible shampoo damaged my hair. My heavy oiled hair suddenly became really parched. Slather my hair in this stuff daily and its pretty normal.

As for the ugly packaging- I just bought one of those pretty travel tubes from Target and poured some product in there and hid the tub in the back of my closet. Easy as pie!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mahogany1985 on 2/12/2012 1:55:00 PM more reviews by mahogany1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff. I have been using Queen Helene for about 15 years on and off. This keeps my color treated natural hair very healthy. For the people who have stated that it didn't help there damaged hair from heat use, let me tell you NOTHING will. The only way to fix heat damage is to cut your hair and STOP using heat. As long as you are frying your hair, it will always be damaged.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fleetgoddess21 on 1/25/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by fleetgoddess21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've bee using this for about 3 years on my hair. I am hungarian, scottish and dutch with very dark brunette hair that is wavy, fine in texture, and very very thick. My hair comes down to my waist and dries out easily. I literally have enough hair on my head for 3 people according to hairdressers. And thanks to this gem, combined with the cholesterol hot oil treatment, my naturally dry hair is always smooth, lush, and frizz free. How I use this is I first cater to each section of my hair: I wash it only every three days alternating between a moisturizing shampoo and Lush Big shampoo to clarify it. After shampooing, i take a glass of hot water and place the hot oil treatment in it and let it warm up. While that warms up, I put a lightweight volumizing conditioner on my roots, a moisturizing conditioner in the middle section of my hair, and the lower half of my hair gets about a tablespoon of the oil treatment, and then a good finger scoop of this conditioning cream put on over the lower half to my hair. This super rich cream seals in the oil to really let it soak in to the hair shaft and i put it up for about 10-15 minutes to really do its magic. I then rinse my hair in cold water and towel dry. I put argan oil in the lower half of my hair, apply a salt spray all over to keep my waves nice and then I sleep on my hair. I wake up with supermodel waves that are super shiny and soft after this. My hairdressers have said they have never seen anyone with healthier hair and i usually go a minimum of 3 months in between cuts. This hair routine is never going to change as my hair just absolutely loves it. If you haven't liked this cream before, try it with the oil first.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 classicgirl05 on 11/14/2011 4:07:00 PM more reviews by classicgirl05

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've used this product for about 5 years as a monthly treatment. My hair is very fine, color treated, with 3a curls which I sometimes straighten or leave depending on my mood.

The product has an odd scent which I don't care for but thankfully doesn't stick around after I've shampooed my hair. It comes in an eyesore of a screw top jar/tub and looks like thick yellow glop. Whatever. It's super cheap and it works well as a strengthening and defrizzing treatment for me.

The method I use is to put a protein treatment (usually neutral hair filler as it's cheap) on my damp hair and then slather this on top of it. My scalp seems to adore this treatment, especially in winter, so I do rub it into my skin. I cover with a plastic bag and sit under my oh so glamourous bonnet dryer from the 60's and wait 45 min to an hour. I rinse and then (if my hair feels especially stiff or scratchy) put my daily conditioner through and rinse that out as well. This gives my fine hair a lot of body and cuts down of the frizziness I experience. This *does not* make my hair especially soft, I have other conditioners for that, but it does feel *much* stronger and is easier to tame/style. My curls do relax for the first week after I do this treatment, but they come back full force after a couple of washes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Dreamer731 on 11/11/2011 8:16:00 PM more reviews by Dreamer731

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff did nothing it promised to do. It stripped my hair and made it feel like straw! I also find it hard to rinse out completely. When my hair was rinsed it felt hard and stiff. It was incredibly hard to comb out afterward. This stuff has no detangling benefits at all. Never again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 robinia on 10/1/2011 12:17:00 PM more reviews by robinia

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I loved everything about this except for the scent. I bought the green olive oil cholesterol jar. My hair is colored, porous, wavy and frizzy. I actually bought this at Dollar General for $2.75. I
applied this lightly to dry hair, and my hair feels so much softer. I haven't dried on wet hair yet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ajwhite1003 on 9/20/2011 2:32:00 AM more reviews by ajwhite1003

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

While I'm not entirely in love with this product, it does help rejuvenate your hair. I washed my hair with a hydrating shampoo then applied this generously. I wrapped my hair up in a plastic cap and applied a warm/hot towel over it. I left it in for about an hour and washed it out. It does take awhile to wash out, but definitely not 30 minutes or some other ridiculous amount of time as stated by other users. It left my hair feeling very healthy, but a little oily. I have wavy, frizzy hair that takes a lot of styling and dying abuse and I'm always looking for conditioning treatments to cycle through. So far this and Dumb Blonde from Bed Head have been the best. Plus, the price is great for something that makes your hair healthy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BlueLineBabe on 8/18/2011 11:50:00 PM more reviews by BlueLineBabe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely adore this stuff! I've fried my hair in the past year, via 2 perms and a color job. I had 2 1/2 inches cut off my hair and I could use another inch or two off, but since I'm trying to grow out my hair I don't want to lose any more length. I went over to Sally's last Saturday and bought a jar, brought it home and slapped some on. My hair became fantastic again. I always have trouble combing it out after washing it but after using this stuff, the comb went right through. What's more, my hair stayed nice for 5 days. I just did another treatment a couple of hours ago and I've got a headful of silk right now. Yeah, the packaging isn't very fancy and the smell is kind of odd and cloying but I have no trouble sucking it up if I end up with great results like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 HannahAdeleSouthworth on 8/16/2011 7:04:00 PM more reviews by HannahAdeleSouthworth

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

We have had this product in our bathroom for awhile and I have never though of using it. It seemed like it would be good for my hair because I die it and flat iron it quite a bit. It's extremly thick and takes at least a half hour to rinse out, and even if you take all that time too you'll still miss some spots. I didn't rinse out a couple spots at the very top of my head, without realizing, and while I was brushing my hair I found it very difficult, and I realized I hadn't gotten it all out. I stuck my head in the shower for another twenty minutes, and this crap wouldnt come out. The pieces of hair became extremly brittle, like they were tangled, matty, and gross. And eventually they fell out. Those pieces are now about an inch long and look like I had gum in my hair that I had to cut out. DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT. It's terrible, utterly terrible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sanchyp on 9/8/2010 9:57:00 PM more reviews by sanchyp

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

loooooooooooove it. It makes my hair super soft and manageable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Queen Helene products

More Conditioner products