Manic Panic • Temporary Hair dye • Hair Color

rated 3.4(178 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 DamnSatyr on 8/17/2012 3:26:00 PM more reviews by DamnSatyr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

MP is 'ok' as far as temporary dyes go - I've been coloring my hair with 'abstract' dyes for over 10 years, and have tried many different brands over that period of time. My go-to color is MP's 'Hot Hot Pink', and I always get comments on it. The biggest downside is that Manic Panic fades far, far faster than some other brands - especially if you wash your hair more than 3 times a week as I do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sanchaaa on 8/7/2012 2:48:00 PM more reviews by Sanchaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

for a semi permanent hair color this stuff is amazing! Idk what people expect out of semi permanent color or what they even know about it; but you're going to get rub off and you're going to get fading, because manic panic doesn't obsorbe fully into your hair. I change my hair color every month and thanks to manic panic dyes my hair is still healthy :) rockabilly blue does seem to have a weird rub off, but try a hair mask with argan oil, Worked pretty well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HiCat on 7/29/2012 12:36:00 PM more reviews by HiCat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Bought infra red. Love the colour on my virgin light brown hair. Looks kind of like a ruby colour. Incredibly vibrant at start. Just as it says it is temporary and does fade but I don't mind.

Easy to apply with a brush, gloves and faux Vaseline. Love that I don't have to mix anything. Can get messy when you wash it out, my water did not go clear. Used SOS pads to clean the tub and took the stains off like a charm.

It's about an average price considering I can probably get two usages for shoulder length hair, definitely cheaper than the salon. This colour does bleed, but I find it beautiful and was glad to find a vegan product which is my main reason for choosing the brand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Ecstacy001 on 6/26/2012 4:33:00 PM more reviews by Ecstacy001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Rockabilly Blue

So I decided to go blue & came across Manic panic's Rockabilly Blue. The sales rep at Sally's said it was a new color so I decided to give it a go since I've tried Manic Panics Rock n Roll red & never had any problems with it. BIGGEST mistake!!! I followed the directions. Bleached before putting the color in and washed my hair out with cold water, but was completely mortified when I realized it had stained my neck, forehead, & hands!! It's been 3 days & I can't even touch my hair without my hands turning blue! It rubbs off on everything! Not to mention when I wake up there's a giant blue mess all over my pillow! I've washed it numerous times and it's still rubbing off on everything. Not worth the money! I don't recommend this product to anyone unless you want to end up looking like a blue avatar!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xstaylor30x on 6/25/2012 5:40:00 PM more reviews by xstaylor30x

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

HORRIBLE. I wish I could give it a zero. I've been dying my hair with regular box dye for 15 years, always black. I decided I wanted bright blue hair, so I bleached my hair first, no problem there, then I bought manic panic rockabilly blue. Big problems. I followed the instructions. When I rinsed with cold water, it stained EVERYTHING blue. My tub, tiles, face, skin, I had to scrub my whole bathroom with bleach, and scrub my whole body with nail polish remover and rubbing alcohol. It took 3 hours to clean up. I dried it completely, it still bled all over my hands just running my hands through it, so I had to scrub my hands again with nail polish remover and rubbing alcohol. Next morning, my husband helped me scrub my hair for 30 minutes straight to get this shit out, made another mess of course, had to scrub everything again, dried my completely, and STILL BLEEDING. I have a blue neck, face, ears, hands, it's so embarrassing. I keep scrubbing the blue off my skin, and it just comes right back. And my hair turned out black anyways, it's not even blue. Such a waste of time and money, I will NEVER use this product again. Like I said, been dying my hair for 15 years, first time I use manic panic brand, it was a disaster. Save your money. I would recommend splat for crazy color, it's cheaper, it actually works, it doesn't make a huge mess like this crap. Stay away unless you like cleaning or want a different skin color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tampoon on 6/22/2012 8:58:00 PM more reviews by tampoon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I'm not sure why Manic Panic gets such a bad reputation. It's been a week since I've dyed my hair with Pillarbox Red and I've had pretty good luck so far.

The dye went on easy with little mess and little fuss. My skin and clothing did not stain, and after about 30 minutes, the dye completely dried in my hair. There was absolutely no bleeding, in fact I probably could have left my hair unwrapped and wouldn't have to worry about staining my bedding. In the morning my hair rinsed clean and very little bled out while washing. Afterwards, my hair was super soft and smelled great from the dye, which surprised me since it didn't smell too great while applying. So far the colour has held up nicely through excessive sweating, heat and blazing sunshine (in the middle of a heatwave right now). While I would definitely use Manic Panic again, I might not use this shade of red again since it looked a bit ruddy on me. The only other downside would be that a small 118ml tub costs about $17 CAD at my local drugstore, so I would have to ration it out carefully.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GrandeGal25 on 6/21/2012 1:42:00 AM more reviews by GrandeGal25

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I dyed my hair with Rock N Roll Red and it turned out really well. I needed 2 jars to cover all of my hair qnd that made it pretty expensive. The dye BLEEDS LIKE CRAZY when wet. It washed off my hands with just 1 wash so that was good. The packaging was good beside the fact that dye kind of flies everywhere if you don't open it carefully. Overall I loved it. The color was vibrant and fun and I would deffinately buy it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TiffanyDior on 6/13/2012 12:37:00 AM more reviews by TiffanyDior

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Great product color always comes ot super bright from my experiences but seems to fade after a week or so. It also seems to leave hair in a better condition than was before.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 austinssister on 5/29/2012 9:34:00 PM more reviews by austinssister

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love these! I have a variety of colors but they are all very pretty. I just tried Ions new Color Brilliance Brights and it was nothing compared to this stuff. Its worth the buy! Oh and the darker colors are great for natural hair

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rocket37 on 5/2/2012 12:00:00 PM more reviews by Rocket37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This is a review of a variety of colors from Manic Panic.

After Midnight Blue - This color is very dark blue, it fades out slowly into a medium blue & 'bleeds' a bit. Looks great on longer hair styles.

Atomic Turquoise - My favorite hair color by a long shot, it looks great on warm, cool & neutral skin tones. It lasts a couple months & fades into a lite turquoise/teal which is also very flattering. This color bleeds the least of all Manic Panic colors.

Bad Boy Blue - I really cute vibrant/pastel color that looks so good on tan skin colors. Looks nice on long and short hair styles. Reminds me of 'My Little Pony.' Doesn't have a bleeding issue.

Cotton Candy Pink - A very lite pink that fades quite quickly, if you want it in for a while make sure to grab two containers especially if you have long, porous hair. Looks nice on anyone & hardly bleeds.

Electric Banana - What a fun color! People will see you a mile away, for real. It's SO intense. It fades, but because it is so vibrant it seems to only get brighter and brighter. This color does however bleed & it will color your shirts color. Looks great on tan & darker skin, or a really brave fair skinned individual.

Electric Lizard - Very vibrant, not as vibrant as Electric Banana. But, pretty close. It's a bold neon green & looks great on shaggy hair cuts.

Enchanted Forest - A solid matte dark green. Fades into a medium green & looks great with a banged haircut.

Hot Hot Pink - A darker neon pink, it bleeds a bit. To brighten it up mix in half a jar of Cotton Candy Pink. Looks great on all hair types & skin colors.

Pillar Box Red - It is what it says it is. One of the stronger reds from Manic Panic. Like most reds, they tend to fade & lose their boldness quickly. Looks nice on tanned or darker skin and any hair style.

Purple Haze - Fades to fast for my liking. It's a basic purple, not very vibrant. It might stick better to hair with a bit more texture, it's still fun though.

Raven - I would NEVER recommend this color. People argue about the true 'base' of this color. Some say it's purple, others say it's green... I used this and it faded out within a week to a nasty goose-dookie green.

Red Passion - My favorite red. This red is a pinkish red, it's vibrant but, not as neon as other Manic Panic colors. It bleeds very lightly & looks great on any complexion and hair style/length.

Shocking Blue - This blue bleeds, it's a nice color for short hair colors, but if you have longer hair or bangs it will mark your neck & forehead. Other than that it's very bold when it is first applied, within a few days though it will start to wash out and get brighter the longer it's in.

Ultra Violet - This is a tricky color to get right. Many people are upset because, they don't realize Violet isn't just purple, Violet contains blue. If you have dark hair I do not suggest lightening your hair to put this color in, your hair will have to much yellow & turn more pink than Violet. Your hair MUST be white & very porous. This color does fade fast, so another one you will want to pick up a couple jars on. But, it's a very nice color & looks great on edgy hair styles for any skin color.

Vampire Red - This color BLEEDS. It's the worst color by Manic Panic as far as bleeding. It will stain your bath/shower if you don't bleach the bath after you use it. This color however, does last despite how much it bleeds. It fades into a bold neon red.

Wildfire - An orange/red. It is very bright & lasts quite some time. It would looks great on anyone.


These are the Manic Panic colors I have used multiple times on my hair. As far as Manic Panic 'Amplified' - It's really no different as far as how long it lasts.

I also not only bleach my hair before use, but use white hair color with a matching ( or close ) base to the color I am trying to achieve.

Make sure to always use gloves when applying & it doesn't hurt to leave it on till' it's starting to dry. Always use color safe shampoo & conditioners when washing hair that is treated with semi & demi permanent hair colors.

You can also rinse your hair with clear vinegar when washing out Manic Panic, to intensify the color and 'lock' the pigment in further.

Manic Panic is not tested on animals & vegan.

Some Manic Panic colors glow under UV lite.

Have fun coloring your hair & hope this helped.


14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Manic Panic products

More Hair Color products