Avalon Organics Botanicals • Vitamin C Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pawnshop_rose on 10/28/2011 10:29:00 PM more reviews by pawnshop_rose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This left my skin feeling very raw and red. It felt like I had a sunburn on my face. I found out that certain essential oils, like lavender can be irritating and it is the first thing listed on the ingredient list. Needless to say I will def. not be repurchasing this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 akimbo123 on 9/25/2011 11:59:00 PM more reviews by akimbo123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I tried this cleanser in my search for a replacement for my favorite but discontinued facial cleanser by Rachel Perry (Tangerine Dream). This is the closest I have come to something that works as well, and I have been trying many cleansers! While Avalon Organics doesn't remove eye makeup as completely as Rachel Perry did, it is MUCH BETTER than anything else I've found on the market currently. It also removes sunscreen well.

The scent is a light citrus. The ingredients are mostly natural and do not clog my pores or cause any breakouts. I like that it's paraben-free. I will keep using this product: my search is over!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* monvai on 8/31/2011 12:45:00 PM more reviews by monvai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I liked the smell but I dont think it has any extra special qualities as a cleanser. Yes, I think it dries out the skin a little after washing and it stings the eyes like mad! Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lauramvig on 8/19/2011 1:39:00 AM more reviews by lauramvig

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this product line, but felt it's a bit strong. My face felt a bit stripped afterwards. My boyfriend loved it though so at least it's not going to waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kamigarza on 8/2/2011 5:26:00 PM more reviews by kamigarza

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I THOUGHT I loved this cleanser. Smells GREAT love the way it feels and doesn't leave skin dry afterward. I also like that it washed off all my make up BUT :( I had an allergic reaction to it on my third use. I broke out in tiny red bumps all over my face and my skin felt super tight. Lasted a week DANG IT!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mickey5252 on 7/15/2011 9:02:00 AM more reviews by mickey5252

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Current favorite cleanser, mainly because it smells like real fresh orange and I just love it. Sorry, forgot to mention that it does cleanse your face and it's more for normal to oily skin, if you have dry skin this might not be for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennawhale on 7/8/2011 8:03:00 PM more reviews by jennawhale

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this cleanser!!!!!!!! :) I'm usually too lazy to remove my makeup, so I just wash my face and this cleanser removes it all for me, even water proof mascara... My skin feels refreshed and the orangy smell is a plus, it does not irritate my eyes... I love that it's organic and that it has vitamin C in it. I will definitely repurchase :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 betteefelon on 7/4/2011 1:16:00 AM more reviews by betteefelon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product because I remembered liking it a few years ago. That was in my 20s, when my skin was a bit oilier. Now that I'm older and my skin is a little calmer, this is actually too strong of a cleanser for my skin. I thought it would be nice for summer, to get all the sunscreen, sweat, and makeup off, but it left my face red and tight. I'll hold onto it in case I ever get really dirty and want something stronger than normal, but it's certainly going out of the rotation. All that aside, if I was in my early 20s and still had oily-ish skin, I'd probably like this like I used to. It has a nice orangey smell and feels good during use. Certainly effective as a cleanser, just not for me these days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emilyskulmoski on 7/2/2011 7:14:00 PM more reviews by emilyskulmoski

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The cleanser felt nice the first few days. But a week later I noticed my pores got larger. They were clogged. I stopped using it immediately after realizing it was the cleanser that's clogging my pores.

Now, my pores are going down in size, thank God. The only good thing about this cleasnser is that it smells good. I use it as a handsoap now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Katie411 on 6/28/2011 5:24:00 PM more reviews by Katie411

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this in conjunction with the serum. I use the serum everyday, but I've found that my combo/oily skin can't always tolerate this daily. If it feels a little tight/dry I use a gentler one for the next wash or so. However, I have found that I think my skin is slowly building up a tolerance, as I can use it more and more regularly.
Not sure if it was the serum or wash or both together, but in the beginning I had the driest/flakiest skin between my nose and lips. I figured this might just be some exfoliation, and used vaseline at night and it went away after 2/3 nights. I feel that this has really helped to brighten my overall skin tone and I would buy this again. The pump part of the bottle leaks, which is a bit of a pain as I move around a lot.
I could imagine drier skin types might need to use this less often. Funny, I originally tried the lavender range from Avalon and that destroyed my skin, and I swore never again. But thanks to the great reviews I decided to try this range, fully expecting it to break me out. Not a problem at all and I will definitely re-buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Cleansers products