Avalon Organics Botanicals • Vitamin C Facial Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(118 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mickey5252 on 7/15/2011 9:02:00 AM more reviews by mickey5252

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Current favorite cleanser, mainly because it smells like real fresh orange and I just love it. Sorry, forgot to mention that it does cleanse your face and it's more for normal to oily skin, if you have dry skin this might not be for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennawhale on 7/8/2011 8:03:00 PM more reviews by jennawhale

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I absolutely love this cleanser!!!!!!!! :) I'm usually too lazy to remove my makeup, so I just wash my face and this cleanser removes it all for me, even water proof mascara... My skin feels refreshed and the orangy smell is a plus, it does not irritate my eyes... I love that it's organic and that it has vitamin C in it. I will definitely repurchase :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 betteefelon on 7/4/2011 1:16:00 AM more reviews by betteefelon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product because I remembered liking it a few years ago. That was in my 20s, when my skin was a bit oilier. Now that I'm older and my skin is a little calmer, this is actually too strong of a cleanser for my skin. I thought it would be nice for summer, to get all the sunscreen, sweat, and makeup off, but it left my face red and tight. I'll hold onto it in case I ever get really dirty and want something stronger than normal, but it's certainly going out of the rotation. All that aside, if I was in my early 20s and still had oily-ish skin, I'd probably like this like I used to. It has a nice orangey smell and feels good during use. Certainly effective as a cleanser, just not for me these days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emilyskulmoski on 7/2/2011 7:14:00 PM more reviews by emilyskulmoski

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The cleanser felt nice the first few days. But a week later I noticed my pores got larger. They were clogged. I stopped using it immediately after realizing it was the cleanser that's clogging my pores.

Now, my pores are going down in size, thank God. The only good thing about this cleasnser is that it smells good. I use it as a handsoap now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Katie411 on 6/28/2011 5:24:00 PM more reviews by Katie411

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this in conjunction with the serum. I use the serum everyday, but I've found that my combo/oily skin can't always tolerate this daily. If it feels a little tight/dry I use a gentler one for the next wash or so. However, I have found that I think my skin is slowly building up a tolerance, as I can use it more and more regularly.
Not sure if it was the serum or wash or both together, but in the beginning I had the driest/flakiest skin between my nose and lips. I figured this might just be some exfoliation, and used vaseline at night and it went away after 2/3 nights. I feel that this has really helped to brighten my overall skin tone and I would buy this again. The pump part of the bottle leaks, which is a bit of a pain as I move around a lot.
I could imagine drier skin types might need to use this less often. Funny, I originally tried the lavender range from Avalon and that destroyed my skin, and I swore never again. But thanks to the great reviews I decided to try this range, fully expecting it to break me out. Not a problem at all and I will definitely re-buy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 6/11/2011 10:27:00 AM more reviews by izzybella

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this cleanser! I only paid $0.29 for mine using ExtraCare bucks at CVS and a 20% off coupon, and it was marked down to $7.99 so I guess I got lucky, but I would pay much more for this cleanser. I find it's comparable to Boscia's purifying cleansing gel in that it's gentle and doesn't strip my skin. Love the uplifting citrus scent, which is nice in the mornings when I'm getting ready for work. It won't remove makeup completely (particularly gel eyeliner or waterproof mascara), so I remove my makeup with a separate remover beforehand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 onewildhoss on 5/5/2011 11:18:00 AM more reviews by onewildhoss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I just bought this cleanser last weekend. I have been using ot for 4 days now. I LOVE LOVE the smell. And I REALLY want to love the product...but I don't.
I do not have sensitive skin. In fact I am sure I have done some horrible things to my face in the name of beauty. And not once have I ever had a reaction. But on day 2 using this product my face strted to itch in a couple of places. I dint think much of it. Day 3-horrible itching and a small rash like patch on my forhead. Last night I woke up scratching my face. Today I have small rash like bumps all over my face. I have not experienced and redness, or burning. Is this temporary, and will get better as my face gets used to it? I don't know. So I emailed the company and asked for their thoughts. I will update in a few days as to their response, and any improvements I see. Im not going to quit using the product yet ( unless my face gets worse, of course).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittanymarkle on 4/20/2011 8:18:00 PM more reviews by brittanymarkle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best cleanser I have ever used!! I've used it at night for about a month and I find myself looking forward to the process every evening.

Pros:
Natural ingredients (many of which are organic)
It smells AMAZING (like fresh oranges)
It has a light lather - nothing too bubbly
Non-drying
Completely removes makeup - even eye make up - with minimal scrubbing!
Does not irritate the eyes at all (as long as you keep them lightly closed, of course)

Cons:
The pump is a little shoddy (leaks a little)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lpp23 on 4/19/2011 11:25:00 AM more reviews by lpp23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

Great cleanser! I have very oliy skin and acne- this product has helped clear my skin up! I love that it doesn't have a lot of chemicals that are in many other soaps/cleaners...plus its smells delish! This hasn't caused any problems with my sensitive skin either- no itchness, dryness, or redness after using this for over 6 months. And the price is uh-mazing (found it on sale at target!). Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 contrariwhys on 4/2/2011 10:30:00 PM more reviews by contrariwhys

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So far, so good. I've been using this for about a month now and I'm pleased. I have slightly dry skin and previously had been using Basis cleansing gel for the past 5 years.
I think this edges out the Basis for a few reasons. First, Avalon is more natural and doesn't have silicone in it like Basis. Second I find this cleanser is slightly less drying..probably because it doesn't have tea tree oil in it, which I don't need as my face is more dry than oily. And I think I've actually noticed less blackheads while using this cleanser. The ingredients sound lovely and natural.
Removes makeup in one go and smells great.
Only con is that this occasionally stings my eyes after using.
I may have to try some more out of this line.
Bought much cheaper online compared to in stores.
EDIT: This is too drying to my skin. Will not re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Cleansers products