MAC Half-N-Half

4.1

131 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Diisostearyl Malate, Trioctyldodecyl Citrate, Lanolin Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax\Candelilla Cera\Cire De Candelilla, Octyldodecanol, Ozokerite, Silica, Polydecene, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Polyethylene, Microcrystalline Wax\Cera Microcristallina\Cire Microcristalline, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Seed Extract, Hordeum Vulgare (Barley) Extract\Extrait D'Orge, Astrocaryum Murumuru Butter, Tocopheryl Acetate, Squalane, Cholesterol, Ceramide 3, Alumina, Linoleic Acid, Vanillin, [ /- Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Blue 1 Lake, Carmine, Red 6, Red 7 Lake, Red 28, Red 30, Red 33 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 10 Lake]


on 3/14/2011 4:37:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If there exists a "my lips but better" color, this is it for me. I have weird pigmentation in my lips; they are rather bright if I've been eating or I've just brushed my teeth or something, but they tend to fade out, leaving them for the most part an unflattering pale/ashy color, a mid tone brown around the edges and very pink in the center. I'm always on the hunt for a natural looking lipstick and I've found it in Half N Half. It's a very safe, neutral, understated color that makes me look really put together and fresh faced. I have medium/olive skin and this is a super flattering beige-pink with some brown undertones. I've read some reviews that say it's not pink enough, but on me, I find it to be pretty rosy (both when swatched on the hand and on the lips.) It also requires very little effort to put on since the color is so neutral; I really don't need a mirror at all. This lipstick can be a little drying, but I just put a swipe of lip balm under this lipstick on and my lips feel very comfortable.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 3/6/2011 9:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ref: MAC NC44-45

Lovely colour, great nude for the warmer skintones. It applies very matte which is good, as it has a lot of staying power. I sometimes apply a gloss over the time, becuase it can look a little dry at time (depending on the weather outside and my lips). I would repurchase this probably, becuase I do love the vanilla scent, the colour and the longjevity of this lipstick (I think it stays on for more than 4 hours - eating and drinking) which is great.
Would advise to use a lipgloss over the top!


on 2/12/2011 12:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

MAC Fresh Brew is usually my HG nude lip color but I wanted something with more staying power as the lustre formula requires a lot of reapplication. I thought that Blankety would look nice but when I swatched it, it was way too chalky on me. Standing right next to it was Half 'n Half and we haven't been apart since! It's a nude but has a touch of pink to it which makes it very "work friendly". Hodgepodge lip liner goes great with it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2011 9:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Very pretty nudish, pink beige lipstick. I've had this lipstick in my stash for a while- I'm not sure why I wasn't using it.
This looks very pretty with a gray and dark navy smoky eye
I use this lipstick with subculture lipliner, and I sometimes add Viva Glam V lipgloss on top.
I'm a NC50 and NW45, for reference.
This lipcolor is very sophisticated. If I ever run out, I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

With my skintone, Half n Half is a perfect sophisticated 'nude' in the truest sense - it is a dusky pink rather than a concealer beige, so it doesn't make lips invisible or wash your complexion out. It is almost my exact lip colour but better!

In terms of texture, I need to reapply Half n Half every few hours & after drinking/eating. However, Half n Half is not at all drying, important to me as I have notoriously dry skin & lips :) Of course it has a lovely vanilla scent like all the MAC lipsticks, love it. A pleasure to wear.

A star off for price I'm afraid; MAC lipsticks are SO expensive in Australia - $35. But yes, they are worth it, and were I in the States, I'd buy nothing else.

I think I will always have a tube of Half n Half - a fabulous sophisticated go-to colour for work & daywear. Get it!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2010 9:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am an NC 40 / 42 depending on which MAC foundation I use that day. I have been using my Half N Half for about five months now & its still going strong :), this was my first mac lipstick & I am IN LOVE <3. Although I do think that it is a pretty expensive lipstick, I do not mind the price tag because the product is worth every penny.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My first MAC lipstick was up the amp. I loved the texture so much that I wanted another amplified lipstick. I have been looking for a good nude lipstick and I bought this one. Looks and feels great, and lasts.


on 11/2/2010 5:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My all-time favorite lipstick from MAC - I love the creamy-ness and the staying power of the Amp-ed lipsticks. Perfect Nude shade for me!


on 10/24/2010 9:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I tried on dozens of nude lipsticks at MAC before I decided on this one. Fresh Brew was too cool, I didn't like the matte nude lip that Velvet Teddy and Honeylove had to offer, and Blankety and Cherish were too light for my tan skin and pigmented lips, and Modesty gave me concealer lips (ew). Half N' Half has just enough pink so that I don't look washed out, and just like the other Amplified Creme lipsticks, it's so pigmented that one swipe is all you need for lots of color. This lipstick looks great under clear gloss with a smokey eye. If you're having a hard time finding a good nude lipstick because everything out there is too light for you, try this one.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2010 11:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I am nc25-30 and this compliments my color! It's the kind of nude that does not make your lips disappear or dead pale. Great for everyday makeup with a smokey look. My utmost fave mac lipstick!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
179 Reviews
provocalips
41 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top