BeneFit Cosmetics • You Rebel • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 2.9(237 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Diandra100 on 2/28/2011 7:57:00 PM more reviews by Diandra100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love this !!!! i would buy it one and a million more times over and over again the problem is that is sooooooooooooooooooooooo expensive this gives u a natural glow and small coverage ..its really natural looking and special for summer time !! love love love lovee itt !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 foreverizzy7 on 2/26/2011 3:52:00 PM more reviews by foreverizzy7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Giving this product an overall 3 is pretty generous. I want to like it, but it burns whenever I put it on and the coverage is pretty average. It covers small blemishes but if I get a big pimple this doesn't do much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jacquiesaur on 2/26/2011 1:39:00 AM more reviews by jacquiesaur

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product.

I've actually always really wanted to like any of Benefit's products.

It's something about their packaging, their cute packaging, that always catches my attention. But it never lives up to its name.

This seriously had little to no coverage. I woudl apply a second time and it would get cakey. So oily. I've tried countless Tinted moisturizers and this was the one that left my skin with a mask of oil all the time. I would blot, and then ten minutes later it would go at it again.

However, it has not broken me out yet so... I guess it deserves a two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alabua on 2/1/2011 12:28:00 PM more reviews by alabua

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product so far..I just starting using it and I am hoping that it doesn't break me out like most products tend to do. It has the perfect amount of coverage and the color is a good match for my skin tone (NC35 for reference). I have dry skin and this product leaves my skin feeling moisturized with a natural/dewy look. I paid $30.00 for the tube which seems like a decent price considering I only have to use a little bit of product for a full face application. Overall, I consider this an excellent purchase and would recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sardav on 1/14/2011 1:09:00 AM more reviews by sardav

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been on the look out for a tinted moisturiser for quite some time, I was surprised to find a product that 1) didnt smell of sunscreen, 2) didnt slide across my face, 3) if you layer it up you can achieve a reasonably natural cover.

Those 3 criteria were critical for me, I have some pigmentation so I didnt always want to wear foundation as it's nice to have a natural look. I used to mix my own foundation with the moisturiser but this can be a bit hit and miss sometimes.

I liked the consistency and I use the brush to apply. Basically I just push a small amount of product and collect on the brush, I put the lid on straight away to ensure no product leaks out while I am applying.

What is really great is that when you apply it goes on smoothly and you can see that you are getting the coverage but it isnt caked, doesnt seem to run into lined areas or go oily especially around the t zone.

Another bonus is the spf protection.

My skin felt moisturised and dewy. The colour coverage is fine for my skin tone NC35 with pigmentation. I have combination skin so can get dry in winter on the cheeks and oily in the summer on the tzone and chin - this works well on those areas.

For me this is a perfect product if you are after a product that gives your skin a really light cover but enough and allows the skin to feel like it's breathing, you get protection and the consistency is really beautiful. I love wearing it and combined with BeneFit's posie tint or Tarte's flush on the cheeks it really works well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jnnnfrx on 1/10/2011 7:54:00 AM more reviews by Jnnnfrx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I was kind of hesitant to try this product out at first because I am quite tan (NC43) and these "one shade fits all" types of products never really go well for me, so I always skipped it when it I was in the store. I have to say now that I completely regret putting off trying for all that time. It is absolutely amazing, it gives the perfect amount of coverage, it evens out my skintone and gets rid of any redness that I have and gives an completely flawless finish. It is also quite buildable so I like to put alittle extra on any problem areas instead of using a concealer and it works great.

It does come of quite shiny at first but if you set it with a pressed powder like Mabelline's Dream Matte Powder then you'll be good to go. Otherwise, this is amazing tinted moisturizer I love absolutely everything about it, the only thing that I don't really like is the price but considering how great it works, its definately worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rocynthia on 1/5/2011 9:18:00 PM more reviews by rocynthia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is kind of greasy, orange, and feels oily on ur skin at first but if u blend really well it looks really nice but shiny. It has great coverage I cant seem to find a tinted moisturizer with better coverage and I just even out the shininess and color with some pressed powder and it makes my face look nice and natural. It took me awhile to get used to but I like it a lot now...except for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yaLayla on 1/5/2011 2:32:00 PM more reviews by yaLayla

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this product! When I apply it, it makes my skin super smooth. It does cover the little redness that I have and it just evens out everything. The scent is quite plesent but you won't notice it that much. I hate the price! I paid like 25 or so, but a little goes a long way so I guess it's okay. The packaging.. Yes it's hygiene but I don't like how after a while it's just all cracked up.
This product gives me a glow and I love it! Definitely Repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautifuldreamer324 on 12/24/2010 12:12:00 AM more reviews by beautifuldreamer324

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Regardless of the negative reviews, I decided to give this a try. The Tarte Smooth Operator which had high reviews on here, did not work for my at all. I was so excited to try that one because I love Tarte, but the Smooth Operator broke me out like crazy!! (I don't have "extremely" sensitive skin. I've used Covergirl, Clinique, Loreal foundations, as well as Mac's Tinted Moisturizer with no problems.) I decided to give this one a try after the MAU at Sephora showed it to me. My skintone is medium-tan, and this matched perfectly. This very lightweight and moisturizing. My cheeks are super dry, so this doesn't look greasy on me. However, it may on oily skinned chicks. I also liked the Sephora Brand tinted moisturizer that I tried today. It was nice at well, but I liked the consistency of this better. (I think the Sephora Brand one has a little more coverage, and I wouldn't mind trying that one out as well.) I also tried the Korres Watermelon Tinted Moisturizer, and it was way too heavy for my liking and didn't blend well. The You Rebel feels cool on my dry skin and it gives nice moisture. Downside- Very light coverage, especially compared to the Tarte Smooth Operator. (Mac's Studio Moisture Tint gives more coverage as well, but it's not as light weight.) Also, the packaging sucks. It's not practical. Overall, I do like this product as a tinted moisturizer on days when I want light coverage.

*edit 3/22/11: taking a lippie off because as my skin is getting less dry with the weather warming up...i find this to be somewhat greasy on the skin

*edit 7/31/11*: I find that when I apply the MAC Studio Careblend Pressed Powder over top of this, I get such a beautiful smooth, natural finish. I definitely recommend setting this if you are on the oil side (my t-zone gets oily right now in the summer). When I used both of these products, my skin tone is evened out and my flaws are covered. My skin just has a natural look, without looking too made up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bennodalove on 12/22/2010 1:26:00 PM more reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is marketed as a "one shade fits all" product which totally baffles me (if it really was, why did they later come out with a YouRebel Lite version, huh?)...on my NC15-20 yellow undertoned skin, this appears as a dark orange colour. Makes me look dirty. My bestfriend who is a tanned Dominican, roughly an NC37/40 by my guess, tried this out and although the shade fit her well enough, the undertone was too orange on her also.


The formula is meant to be oil free, which I would never have believed unless I read it on the description. It's so greasy in texture and makes my normal/combo skin oil up pretty quickly, even ontop of primer. The consistency is thick and pasty...like a cream. My skin feels nice and smooth after applying, but there is NO coverage whatsoever. I don't expect TM's to give much coverage (heck, I'm a light-medium coverage kinda gal) but this just takes the biscuit! I have an uneven skintone and this does nothing for it, apart from making me look like a splotchy satsuma. Feels pretty lightweight on my skin despite the thick consistency though.


The smell is very overpowering and not plesant at all. This TM contains a chemical sunscreen, so you must not get this anywhere near your eyes as your eyes are much too sensitive for chemical sunscreens. I got this too close to my eye on one occasion and it burnt like crazy...I've read many reviews that have said they had reactions on their eyes aswell from this. Be careful.



I don't like the packaging either - it looks all cute and retro but the durability sucks. My tube split in half whilst I was (gently!) squeezing some of the product out...it must be a very cheap material if it can break so easily. The 21.50 I paid for this does not seem good value for money at all.


I also get some cystic breakouts from this, I'm supposing it's either my skin being irritated by the chemical sunscreen or the fact that this oils up so easily on me and must clog my pores.


Defiantely not the product for me. Overpriced and doesn't deliver.
I have also tried the YouRebel Lite - the colour is much better, but I still have the coverage/oil/breakout issues with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Tinted Moisturizer products