Clinique Superbalanced Foundation

3.5

707 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Butylene Glycol, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Dimethicone, Isotetracosane, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Extract, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Tocopheryl Acetate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Coconut Acid, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Hexyl Laurate, Lecithin, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Laureth-7, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, C9-15 Fluoroalcohol Phosphate, Silica, Sodium Chloride, Polyethylene, Alumina, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben. May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides Updated: 7/5/2013 New formulation


on 12/28/2013 4:10:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I always read reviews before buying makeup stuff, especially foundations. But this purchase was kind of on impulse (since I love Clinique products), and now I regret buying it.
I generally have oily skin and it doesn't depend on time of the year. But last summer after being a lot in the sun, my skin , especially my cheeks and forehead got really dry and even flaky. Since I was running out of my beloved Revlon colorstay foundation, I decided to get something more light wear.
This foundation is supposed to add moisture and absorb oil when and where needed. Well, you still have to moisturize your skin before application really good if you don't want your flaky skin look even worse. As for controlling oils...it is definitely not what you are looking for. Even in winter, when my skin is more normal than oily, I have to blot in two hours after application.
I wouldn't recommend it for someone with combination to oily skin (even thought it is supposed to work on you). But if you have normal or normal to dry skin (again, ladies with dry skin, it is not for you) you can try to give this foundation a go.
The coverage is medium, so if you have some acne you'd probably want to use a concealer with it. However, the foundation didn't break me out and I can give it one more star only for that.
I really wanted to love this product, but it just does not work for me. Very disappointing, Clinique.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my old favourite. I have been wearing it for years in the colour ivory. I recently switched over to the benefit oxygen wow (to try something new) and was disappointed. I now mix the o.w with this trusty old friend and it works a lot better. It can get shiny but doesn't seem to cake as much has others do. I really really recommend buying the pump that goes with it and reusing it with each repurchase. AUSTRALIAN BUYERS - I have recently found this on the website www.oo.com.au in some colours from $35 - $40 with free postage as opposed to the new "discounted" price of $50 from Clinique.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2013 12:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

As a Clinique beauty advisor, I'd just like to mention that this foundation is intended for people with dry/dry combination skin types. It is not the best option if your concern is with oil control. It is also moderate/full coverage so it does feel a bit heavier.
I recommend perfectly real foundation for combination skin types. It offers moderate coverage and has a larger colour selection.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 11/20/2013 11:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a really great foundation. I was going through a phase where I felt like everything looked like crap on my skin, my face looked like an oil slick after an hour or my foundation started to look weird and blotchy and flaked up. I realized the problem was that I was buying all these foundations that were for oily skin to control my oil but my skin can be dry in areas too so the oil control was drying out my skin. I'm the type of person to completely base my opinion of whether to buy a foundation or not based on the reviews of this website and when I saw it didn't have that great of a rating I reconsidered even trying it. But, I'm so glad I bought it. It looks natrual and stays on for about 8 hours. I do have to blot my oil about 2 times, but it's much better than having crappy looking makeup. Just goes to show that just because a product doesn't have great reviews doesn't mean it won't be great for you.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2013 3:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have very sensitive skin so I decided to try this Clinique foundation, however it unfortunately gave me small bumps on my forehead by the afternoon and I had to wash it off. I now wear LORAC - Natural Performance Foundation and it is the only foundation that does not break out my sensitive skin and looks great!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Well, this doesn't work well for me. Firstly, doesn't control oil at all. Aft 2 hours, oil from my nose start to appear. Not sure about the hydration cus I dun see any difference with my cheeks. So I don't think it does what it says. I don't like the packaging at all. No pump. I dunno how much do I need it. Gonna return it. Never going to purchase it again.


on 11/6/2013 5:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

The shade matches beautifully, I'm in "petal". but it's a little heavy. I wish it had a pump. The smell throws me off a bit, too. It's definitely on the lower price end of higher end makeup, have to appreciate that. I feel like I could get the same thing from the drugstore, though. It does balance out the dry spots so they're not as noticeable.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2013 6:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have oily skin, but with fall starting my skins been kinda dry is places, so I decided to try the super balanced foundation. I don't know if mines old or what, but this has no staying power for me & I notice it makes me oily in places I've never been oily before. I wouldn't repurchase. If you're looking for a good Clinique foundation I recommend stay matte.


on 10/14/2013 8:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have really dry and sensitive skin and this is the best foundation for me. Drugstore foundations make me break out or at the very least irritate my skin. I have fair skin with a neutral/yellow undertone and their Breeze color is perfect for me. I can never find my exact shade in drugstore makeup. I am also really cheap with makeup products, but I will continue to spend the money on this one because it lasts me a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2013 2:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

One word, perfect! Recently I have had combination skin and my current foundations are all to moisturising so I thought I would try this am I'm glad I did! It glides over dry patches whilst also managing oil control. Can't recommend this enough so glad my mum recommend it to me. The only draw backs are the fact that it does not have a pump, you can not see how much product is left and the price but trust me it's worth it!!!


Back to Top