Laura Mercier • Tightline Cake Eye Liner in Black Ebony • Eyeliner

rated 4.3(132 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 jennifermbrown on 3/24/2009 11:07:00 PM more reviews by jennifermbrown

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I wore this for the first time today, and it went back to the store at the end of the day. I don't think I've ever had an eyeliner migrate as much as this one did today - I had to wipe underneath my eyes every hour with a tissue to collect the smears of black that had migrated down there off of my upper eyeline. I must have looked like I'd been crying all day...I can understand wanting a smoky look, but this wasn't even close - it was more of a gunky look. I do not use a lot of eyeliner, either. I have very long upper and lower eyelashes, so maybe the lower lashes had something to do with the migration. At any rate, it was very messy and unattractive. I exchanged for the LM black caviar eyeliner - We'll see how that goes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 w35p on 3/23/2009 5:17:00 AM more reviews by w35p

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Good stuff. Kinda expensive, but it lasts pretty much forever. I use it with a Sonia Kashuk angled eye liner brush, and it's just perfection <3 Lasts all day, super easy to apply, and gives off a pretty intense black. LOOOOVE IT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jennil02 on 3/21/2009 4:22:00 AM more reviews by jennil02

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Since pretty much everything in my makeup bag is from LM, I was really excited when I bought this. I have to say, this is one of the few LM products I don't like.
reason:
1. takes too long to put on. From wetting the brush to figuring out the right consistency of the liner. It doesn't sound like much but I'm a person that's pretty much in a rush to get to work every morning so I just don't have the time and patience to figure it out. sometimes it's too sheer so I have to keep reapplying... I know this is probably because I don't have rad liner skills but if you need something quick and easy this is probably not for you.
2. The first day I wore this, I ran into a personal issue and broke out in tears. I held it in since i was at work so it wasn't a full on crying session. Point is, I had NO eyeliner left whatsoever after!!! AT ALL. I was so disappointed. When I wore my Bobby Brown gel liner there would still a lot left even after full on crying sessions.

I wish i could return the brush and liner but I lost the box :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gseymour on 3/19/2009 12:58:00 AM more reviews by gseymour

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

While I would very much like to say that Laura's tightlining technique is a wonderful thing, on my very teary eyes, all I end up with is eyeliner running all over the place. That said, if I use a round brush and a traditional technique, this liner applies easily, lasts all day, and looks smashing! The only downside for me is the amount of time it takes to wet the cake enough to get it going. When I'm feeling rushed or lazy, I just use a L'Oreal Lineur Intense felt tip, and get nearly equivalent performance.

For application, I use Loew-Cornell Series 7000 brushes, a #6 shader (almost exactly like the LM Flat Eyeliner Brush, but less than $5) and a #2 round.

I like this enough that I'm going to also purchase the Mahogany and Bleu Marine colors.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tijanarm on 3/5/2009 6:47:00 PM more reviews by tijanarm

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well, it looks like I am in a minority here, but I do not like the performance of this eyeliner. However, I do love the concept. I bought this along with the LM flat brush, and used both with just plain water and Metamorfix (liquid that turns eyeshadows and cake eyeliners into liquid WATERPROOF eyeliners) and I still couldn't get the longevity and performance I was after. I tried both LM method (under the lash line) and standard (tight lash line) and both times, this ended up smudging, coming off or flaking.
Pros:
1) Great method, you can mix your own consistency which makes the product more versatile and customizable depending on the method you are using
2) Would've probably lasted me a long time even with daily use
3) Quick and easy to apply
Cons:
1) Staying power sucks IMHO
2) Cost - this is an expensive product
So, this is my third LM product, 1 I adore and 2 I dislike, so I think LM as a brand is probably just not my cup of tea or does not seem to sit well with me. For a brand that is so expensive, I think it has to deliver flawlessly, which is just not the case.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lmf102 on 12/25/2008 11:39:00 AM more reviews by lmf102

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

My friend used to work at the Laura Mercier counter at Bloomindales and successfully convinced me to buy a bunch of LM products I didn't necessarily want or need. The ONLY thing I'm truly happy about purchasing is this eyeliner (with the flat liner brush). If applied right, I find this stuff to be the longest lasting eyeliner EVER. That being said, it did take me awhile to perfect putting it on and in the process of learning I managed to poke myself in the eye more than once. I once accidentally fell asleep wearing this eyeliner and the next morning it still looked freshly applied, if that gives you any idea of its staying power. Anyway, not an everyday eyeliner for me due to how long it takes to apply, but my go-to eyeliner for going out/weekends.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eunice866 on 12/17/2008 11:07:00 PM more reviews by eunice866

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product so much that I am now on my third Black Ebony eyeliner! I have used this product for years now and it has never let me down. It is so easy to use (especially with Laura Mercier's liner brush), and the color is buildable - you can create a sheer line, or put multiple layers to create a true black line. I also love that it does not budge/smear - yet it is so easy to remove at the end of the day. Absolutely lovely product!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SinCity on 11/7/2008 10:49:00 PM more reviews by SinCity

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this specifically for tight lining my eyes (done by pushing eyeliner under your lashes instead of on top so the pigment settles between the lashes, which produces the appearance of a thicker lash line). I've tried tight lining my top lashes with gel liner and always ended up with the liner on the inner rim of my bottom lashes when I blinked. I've also stabbed myself in the eye several times using other brushes. The only way I have ever been able to tight line successfully, and with minimal time and effort, is by using the LM cake liner, a little water and the LM Flat Eye Liner brush. This will set you back about $40. Your local LM sales associate should be able to show you how to do it right. I think it's worth it, particularly if you were not blessed with dense, dark lashes in the first place. I still use a pencil or cream liner above the lash line, usually smudging it quite a bit to get a smokier eye. I would also recommend using the cake liner in bleu marine, especially if you have green or blue eyes. It's a dark navy color and when used to tight line the inner lash line it seems to give a subtle brightness to your eyes.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lyssn2me on 11/4/2008 5:23:00 PM more reviews by lyssn2me

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. I used it about a year ago and for some reason I stopped and just started using pencils. I went a tried it again a couple weeks ago and I could not believe I went back to pencils!! This is by far the best eye liner, and I use it with the ecotools liner brush or the ELF eye liner brush. Laura Mercier's eye liner brush is just a little too soft for me. Love how you can wear this product during the day and then at night spice it up and add even more to make it a night time look. Never going back to pencil lining again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shesparkles on 11/3/2008 10:42:00 PM more reviews by shesparkles

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is an absolutely incredibly eyeliner, the deepest, sootiest, richest black eyeliner I've ever used. I got a BI sample from a friend and wow, am I impressed. Just get a drop of water on your brush (I use SK's bent liner brush), work into a paste, and presto, the deepest darkest black eyeliner a girl could wish for. I've always shied away from using black liquid liner too often because it can be such a harsh look--I don't know how to explain it but there's something softer about this, but the color is intense.

I knocked off one lippie for three reasons: because I wish the FS product was a little bit less expensive, because it takes a little longer to use which sometimes is more time than I have in the morning, and because it irritated my eyes a bit on the waterline (I don't think it's intended to be used there so be advised!). But these are small quibbles with a truly superior product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eyeliner products