La Roche Posay Toleriane Soothing Protective Facial Cream

3.7

91 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water/Aqua, Cyclopentasiloxane, Isocetyl Stearate, Squalane, Glycerin, Isononyl Isononanoate, Pentylene Glycol, Aluminum Starch, Octenylsuccinate, Cetyl Alcohol, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Dimethiconol, Ethylhexyglycerin, Acrylates Crosspolymer, Sodium Hydroxide.


on 4/12/2010 2:27:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I started using this instead of the Toleriane facial fluid for moisturizing during the winter. Same ingredients, heavier moisturizer. Plus, I'm not sure if this one is oil-free as well since it has caused me to have a very few congested pores but no visible breakouts. That is the only downside plus with my oily skin, I only use it at night because it leaves me very shiny and with a film on my skin. Not sure I could put makeup on over it. I also mix it with my retin-A every other night instead of Obagi blender for more moisture. My face has stopped peeling since doing this. For daytime moisture, I still use the LRP Effaclar Matte.



on 4/8/2010 11:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this for about 2 weeks, and it is just ok. I had been using Dior's Sorbet Creme, which has been discontinued. The La Roche lotion feels light to the touch and has no scent...it seems to sink into skin quickly. However, it felt like I had a slight film on my skin, and by the end of the day, my face felt greasy. Unexpected, since my skin is dry/combination/sensitive. It's also begun to sting around my eyes upon application - usually disappears in a few minutes but strange since it is for sensitive skin. The hunt continues for my HG everyday moisturizer.


on 3/25/2010 5:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'VE BEEN USING THIS LOTION FOR JUST A COUPLE OF DAYS. I CHOSE IT BECAUSE I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO FIND A LOTION WITHOUT A TON OF INGREDIENTS TO CLOG MY PORES. IT DOESN'T CONTAIN HARSH AND UNSAFE INGREDIENTS LIKE MOST MOISTURIZERS. I HAVE DRY SKIN WITH SOME OIL, PATCHES OF ECZEMA, PRONE TO CLOGGED PORES AND PIMPLES. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH IT SO FAR. I DO HAVE TO USE A SEPARATE MOISTURIZER FOR UNDER MY EYES SINCE IT ISN'T MOISTURIZING ENOUGH FOR THAT AREA. I AM USING IT WITH THE TOLERIANE DERMO CLEANSER. BOTH WERE PURCHASED AT MY CVS. IF IT WORKS, IT WILL BE WORTH THE MONEY.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My skin is combination/dry (more on the dry side when on BCP). I can only avoid the occasional cyst by using the right skincare and stick to it.

I got this product (in late October) because my cheeks were getting sensitive. At the time I thought it should be a result of too much sun exposure and the fragrance of the moisturizer I was using (RLP Hydraphase Light - I really liked this, used it for almost 4 months without a problem, I reviewed this one too). I chose this one because I wanted something simple, light weighted but moisturizing enough, that wouldn't break me out and that also would help me to reduce the sensitiveness of my cheeks. I'm still using it now, it's almost empty.

This is so so to me:
1. Easy to apply and quickly absorbed by the skin
2. However it doesn't give my skin a glow or a fresh look
3. Moisturizing enough during Winter
4. It didn't help at all with the redness of my cheeks. They still become red to the touch. Not that they are very reactive (my cheeks tolerate AHA/BHA products), but I was hoping the redness was just something temporary.
5. My skin isn't great right now (acne is getting back), but I can't say if this moisturizer is the reason because I stopped using BCP 2 months ago.

I choose the "won't repurchase" option because overall I'm not impressed with this product and I rather prefer to search for another moisturizer when I finish this one.


on 1/27/2010 9:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got a full tube of this a while back in a swap and it has lasted me about 2 months.

I'm not sure if this is the "cream" or "fluide" because it doesn't say so on the tube (but it IS the tube & not the pump version).

This is a beautiful lotion. It's very light but moisturizing enough for my combination skin during the Vancouver/Canada winter months. (I spent about a week in freezing-cold Toronto temperatures and this seemed to hydrate sufficiently; though, for someone with slightly drier skin, something else may be needed).

It is scentless (which I love) and gives a nice radiance to the face (it sinks in soon enough but never looks completely matte on my face; that said, I never feel the need to add more throughout the day).

It also has the fewest ingredients of the LRP products so it's very good for sensitive skin. I did break out from time to time (usually around my cycle) but can't say I noticed anything obviously linked to this cream. Not sure if I would have a different experience in the summer but for now this works well.

Note: Toleriane is probably better for ladies up to their later 20s as it does not contain Niacin which is supposedly important for anti-aging. It does contain Vit. E, though.

I would definitely buy this product again if I can't find anything better; frankly, so far I haven't. I just bought the LRP Rosaliac Skin Perfecting Anti-redness Moisturizer so I'll see how this goes (I didn't notice any obvious calming of some of the redness in my cheeks and around my nose). If I love this, I'll probably stick with this - otherwise, nothing wrong with the Toleriane.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2009 1:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have extremely sensitive, dry, Rosacean skin. Fortunately I found my perfect skincare regimen to soothe my skin and to keep my Rosacea under control. LRP Toleriane Riche is one of my HG moisturizers, next to RoC Calmance Intolerance Repairing Cream. The RoC moisturizer isn't quite moisturizing enough in wintertime and Toleriane offers more moisturization. It feels very calming and soothing onto my face; leaves my face supple and nourished and makes a perfect base for foundation. I also use Toleriane as an eye cream. No irritation and perfectly hydrated skin. At night I either use Avene Eluage Cream or PC 1% BHA Lotion and if my skin is feeling particularly dry I apply some Toleriane on top of it. I will always have a tube of Toleriane at hand; I don't want to be without it! Retail price is 16 Euro for a tube of 40ml.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/29/2009 8:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This feels so light, I love it, my skin feels hydrated, I've been using this product for years

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2009 4:56:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

There are 3 different versions of the Toleriane moisturizers. The one I've been using and am reviewing is the one called 'soothing protective skin care' for normal to combination skin.

I also purchased the 'soothing protective facial cream' for nighttime use, but haven't' tested it yet.

So far I'm am very happy with the 'normal/combination' version. I had a lot of redness and little itchy whiteheads that were almost like a rash when I started using it, so I was a little wary. I think these were from the 'Hope in a Jar' that I tested out....nasty stuff for me.

The redness and pimples have almost gone in a couple of days. I'm not saying it's the LRP that got rid of them, but I'm happy that I haven't gotten any more and that my face doesn't sting or react badly to it. It also has the perfect amount of moisture for me. It sinks in well and doesn't leave a nasty oily feeling on me at all.

When a cream is going to irritate me, it usually does so in a matter of hours. Whether I get 'zits' from it though remains to be seen. I'll update in a couple of weeks.


on 7/27/2009 1:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is a pretty good basic moisturizer for sensitive skin that is normal/combination. I got this for free, normally I use the Fluid because I have oily skin but I used this one because I had it. It was not too heavy and did a good job keeping my skin moisturized and free of irritation and redness.


on 7/19/2009 12:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am not very lucky with the Toleriane products.
Where I live (in Holland) they don't sell the Toleriane Fluide, the cream was way too heavy for my oily sensitive skin.


Back to Top