La Roche Posay • Toleriane Soothing Protective Facial Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(88 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 HydrangeaBlues on 1/29/2010 10:19:00 AM more reviews by HydrangeaBlues

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My skin is combination/dry (more on the dry side when on BCP). I can only avoid the occasional cyst by using the right skincare and stick to it.

I got this product (in late October) because my cheeks were getting sensitive. At the time I thought it should be a result of too much sun exposure and the fragrance of the moisturizer I was using (RLP Hydraphase Light - I really liked this, used it for almost 4 months without a problem, I reviewed this one too). I chose this one because I wanted something simple, light weighted but moisturizing enough, that wouldn't break me out and that also would help me to reduce the sensitiveness of my cheeks. I'm still using it now, it's almost empty.

This is so so to me:
1. Easy to apply and quickly absorbed by the skin
2. However it doesn't give my skin a glow or a fresh look
3. Moisturizing enough during Winter
4. It didn't help at all with the redness of my cheeks. They still become red to the touch. Not that they are very reactive (my cheeks tolerate AHA/BHA products), but I was hoping the redness was just something temporary.
5. My skin isn't great right now (acne is getting back), but I can't say if this moisturizer is the reason because I stopped using BCP 2 months ago.

I choose the "won't repurchase" option because overall I'm not impressed with this product and I rather prefer to search for another moisturizer when I finish this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Graceful26 on 1/27/2010 9:54:00 PM more reviews by Graceful26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a full tube of this a while back in a swap and it has lasted me about 2 months.

I'm not sure if this is the "cream" or "fluide" because it doesn't say so on the tube (but it IS the tube & not the pump version).

This is a beautiful lotion. It's very light but moisturizing enough for my combination skin during the Vancouver/Canada winter months. (I spent about a week in freezing-cold Toronto temperatures and this seemed to hydrate sufficiently; though, for someone with slightly drier skin, something else may be needed).

It is scentless (which I love) and gives a nice radiance to the face (it sinks in soon enough but never looks completely matte on my face; that said, I never feel the need to add more throughout the day).

It also has the fewest ingredients of the LRP products so it's very good for sensitive skin. I did break out from time to time (usually around my cycle) but can't say I noticed anything obviously linked to this cream. Not sure if I would have a different experience in the summer but for now this works well.

Note: Toleriane is probably better for ladies up to their later 20s as it does not contain Niacin which is supposedly important for anti-aging. It does contain Vit. E, though.

I would definitely buy this product again if I can't find anything better; frankly, so far I haven't. I just bought the LRP Rosaliac Skin Perfecting Anti-redness Moisturizer so I'll see how this goes (I didn't notice any obvious calming of some of the redness in my cheeks and around my nose). If I love this, I'll probably stick with this - otherwise, nothing wrong with the Toleriane.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lizzy28 on 12/7/2009 1:25:00 PM more reviews by Lizzy28

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have extremely sensitive, dry, Rosacean skin. Fortunately I found my perfect skincare regimen to soothe my skin and to keep my Rosacea under control. LRP Toleriane Riche is one of my HG moisturizers, next to RoC Calmance Intolerance Repairing Cream. The RoC moisturizer isn't quite moisturizing enough in wintertime and Toleriane offers more moisturization. It feels very calming and soothing onto my face; leaves my face supple and nourished and makes a perfect base for foundation. I also use Toleriane as an eye cream. No irritation and perfectly hydrated skin. At night I either use Avene Eluage Cream or PC 1% BHA Lotion and if my skin is feeling particularly dry I apply some Toleriane on top of it. I will always have a tube of Toleriane at hand; I don't want to be without it! Retail price is 16 Euro for a tube of 40ml.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Giannina on 10/29/2009 8:45:00 AM more reviews by Giannina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This feels so light, I love it, my skin feels hydrated, I've been using this product for years

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 geenah on 10/11/2009 4:56:00 PM more reviews by geenah

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

There are 3 different versions of the Toleriane moisturizers. The one I've been using and am reviewing is the one called 'soothing protective skin care' for normal to combination skin.

I also purchased the 'soothing protective facial cream' for nighttime use, but haven't' tested it yet.

So far I'm am very happy with the 'normal/combination' version. I had a lot of redness and little itchy whiteheads that were almost like a rash when I started using it, so I was a little wary. I think these were from the 'Hope in a Jar' that I tested out....nasty stuff for me.

The redness and pimples have almost gone in a couple of days. I'm not saying it's the LRP that got rid of them, but I'm happy that I haven't gotten any more and that my face doesn't sting or react badly to it. It also has the perfect amount of moisture for me. It sinks in well and doesn't leave a nasty oily feeling on me at all.

When a cream is going to irritate me, it usually does so in a matter of hours. Whether I get 'zits' from it though remains to be seen. I'll update in a couple of weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dioraddict84 on 7/27/2009 1:54:00 AM more reviews by dioraddict84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is a pretty good basic moisturizer for sensitive skin that is normal/combination. I got this for free, normally I use the Fluid because I have oily skin but I used this one because I had it. It was not too heavy and did a good job keeping my skin moisturized and free of irritation and redness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Safin on 7/19/2009 12:40:00 PM more reviews by Safin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not very lucky with the Toleriane products.
Where I live (in Holland) they don't sell the Toleriane Fluide, the cream was way too heavy for my oily sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 euristocrat on 4/1/2009 8:57:00 AM more reviews by euristocrat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

This hydrates my normal-sensitive skin perfectly. I have repurchased this countless times as I know it keeps my skin healthy and clear of irritation. It also helps to soothe my skin if I'm going through a period of hypersensitivity. Unlike other reviewers, I have had no problem with shine, clogged pores or breakouts*. I personally only use this during the day (with redermic eye cream) but it would also be suitable for night-time use. Toleriane is suitable for the eye area and sits well under make-up. The packaging isn't particularly attractive but it is hygenic. Overall, a very good and reasonably priced moisturiser for sensitive skin.


*La Roche Posay makes Toleriane in other formulations for dry and oily skin types. I would recommend those if your skin needs more or less hydration otherwise you may be left disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MoiBelle on 3/20/2009 8:59:00 AM more reviews by MoiBelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a nice creme for intolerant skin prone to dryness, it really soothes irrated skins and tamed redness. It does quite a good job in hyrdation for normal or to combination skin, I guess. because on me the hydration did not last for a long time, but just in the first hour or two upon application, well because I have a very very dry skin. the good thing is it appeased some redness on my cheeks. This is odorless, and in a tube packaging. I think this would be a HG for normal to combo skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 w35p on 2/27/2009 11:31:00 PM more reviews by w35p

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A very good and simple moisturizer. It does leave my skin a bit shiny, but I use this only at night, so it was never a problem. I really like this product, but I'm currently trying other stuff out there, so I probably won't be re-purchasing this one any time soon. Also, kinda expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Moisturizers products