The Body Shop • Body Butter - Cocoa Butter • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.2(202 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Freckledflower on 3/27/2011 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Freckledflower

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely love this stuff. It smells fantastic, absorbs quickly (unlike most of the body shop body butters) and leaves absolutely no stickiness. My skin gets dry and flaky in the winter and this cured it completely. It also doesn't make my back acne worse. On the whole, I don't really like the body shop but this is one of the few products I will continue to purchase, especially during the winter months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ccbabii4vr on 2/24/2011 8:00:00 PM more reviews by ccbabii4vr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's amazing! I have extremely dry skin all over the place, especially my face. My face is dry to the extent where you can see my skin flaking & I have dry wrinkles on my face, too. I went through many lotions (Aveeno, Clinique, Jergens, etc) & they temporarily worked. You would have to apply them over and over again to keep your face moisturized. But as for this cocoa butter, it works wonder. It's amazing. It keeps my skin smooth all day & I do not have to reapply it unless I go into the shower/bath.
It's definitely a best buy if you have extremely dry skin! I would totally suggest this! So worth the money, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nabs07 on 2/10/2011 7:24:00 PM more reviews by nabs07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the mini body butter (last chance) for $6. I looove this, it smells amazing, the texture is smooth and just right and moisturizes well. I get winter eczema on my hands and this is my HG product to keep it at bay. Warning: it is greasy when first applied, but absorbs into the skin very well shortly after

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 slivola on 2/3/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by slivola

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Fabulous body butter. Very rich and moisturizing- perfect for dry skin. It really has a lot of cocoa butter in it, too, not just a little for fragrance purposes (like palmers cocoa butter). I used this on my belly every night when I was pregnant and I didn't get any stretch marks. I think part of it is thanks to this lotion!

If it didn't have parabens in it, it would be perfect (I inquired about that "unnatural" ingredient and TBS says the parabens are "minimal"). So one lippie off for that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 moosue on 2/3/2011 6:28:00 PM more reviews by moosue

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is the firmest body butter I've come across, but I quite like the texture. It melts into the skin nicely and moisturizes well. The scent is nice, albeit quite strong. There are days where the scent is just too strong and I decide not to use it because of that.
More recently though, I've realized that every time I use this on my legs I almost scratch them off because they get so itchy. It turns out I'm allergic to cocoa butter, so I will of course be discontinuing to use this and will not repurchase. That's not the product's fault though, so it doesn't affect the product's rating. I am a little bummed that I have 3/4 of a tub that I can't use, but what can you do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AshleyMegan00 on 10/14/2010 2:30:00 PM more reviews by AshleyMegan00

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have very dry skin. I have tried soooo many lotions and I keep coming back to this one. It genuinely keeps my skin hydrated for a full day or more. I do wish there was more in the jar though. The smell is nice, nothing too "purfumey". This is by far my most re-purchased beauty product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jennada on 9/26/2010 3:39:00 PM more reviews by Jennada

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my favourite body butter... I just wished that it lasted longer...I find that if I am using it daily, I use the whole thing within 2 weeks! I have an allergic reaction to a few ofBody Shop's body butters, but have never had any problems with this one. Love the scent, and keeps my skin moisturized all day without feeling greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miszxlinda on 9/26/2010 1:20:00 PM more reviews by miszxlinda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've got this in a special deal that the Body Shop does every now and then. Alone the tub is 20 bucks so I usually wait when they have sales. 3 for $30 or those buy one get one sales or whatever. This is my favorite body butter. I wanted pure cocoa butter that's just extra moisturizing and this does it for me. I use this every night after I shower and I tend to be fairly dry during the harsh cold seasons. This leaves my body feeling baby bottom smooth. I'm addicted to body butters and this by far is just my absoulte favorite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cloudlight on 9/3/2010 9:54:00 PM more reviews by cloudlight

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I *love* this body butter. I use it less in the summer because my skin doesn't need as much moisturization...but in the harsh dry winter it's the only thing that keeps my skin from flaking. I love that the main ingredients (cocoa/brazil nut/shea butters) are so good for the skin...and another great plus is that the scent is slightly sweet but not overpowering (personal preference - I don't like smelling like food). It melts into the skin with a bit of massaging (be patient - it's a butter after all); but once it sinks in my skin feels very supple and comfortable. I like this one even more than the Olive body butter because it feels more nourishing and...well, 'wholesome'! I've stocked up while it's on sale - will definitely repurchase if I ever run out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hellodolly18 on 8/22/2010 2:22:00 AM more reviews by hellodolly18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It smells amazing and has a melting texture. Read: fondant. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Lotions/ Creams products