The Body Shop • Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream • Moisturizers

rated 3.3(177 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Dekilah on 9/10/2012 5:09:00 PM more reviews by Dekilah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use this as my day time moisturizer over an eye treatment and serum.

I bought this for two main reasons:
1) I needed a moisturizer that did not contain SPF (allergies)
2) I liked the idea that it was mattifying

I have combination skin, but my version is that I have an oily chin and sides of my nose, but a dry forehead. The rest of my skin is normal.

The product itself is like a gel cream, not like the standard thicker, more opaque creams. I apply it by patting it on my face, not by rubbing it on.

At first it can look a bit shiny but after about 15 minutes or so, it does mattify and seems to do a good job of normalizing all of my skin.

I would consider this a lighter to light-moderate moisturizer, at least compared to some of the others I have used, and would guess that it works well for those with combination or normal, or slightly dry or slightly oily skin. I do not think it would be good for those with very oily or very dry skin.

I think I will continue to use this, I really like it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kat123enh on 9/9/2012 7:01:00 PM more reviews by kat123enh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been loving this product for Summer, it doesn't give full coverage for a moisturizer but great for oily to combination skin. When i first used this in the store, i freaked out because the cream was way to liquid-y but it's great for on the go. Although i wish it had a pump because my friends like to put their nasty fingers into this product. It smells strange at first, but you get used to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BunnyWabit on 8/31/2012 8:59:00 PM more reviews by BunnyWabit

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

the only reason i would buy this product again is because it is the only thing that moisturizes my face yet by midday im not an oil bomb! i do need a few layers though and it doesnt last a very long time but i do like it and would reccomend it to people

(it does burn a liiiitle bit though)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 l0vebuzz on 8/16/2012 6:33:00 PM more reviews by l0vebuzz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

The only good thing about this cream is that it's light and doesn't leave your skin oily. It actually left my skin so dry that in minutes I would reapply some more cream. I've been trying to use what I have left of it since I spent the money, but it's really not worth it. This product really doesn't do anything for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 harrietelizabeth on 8/13/2012 4:07:00 PM more reviews by harrietelizabeth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the seaweed line in the body shop for just over a month now and I am loving it! It is perfect for my skin, I have oily/acne prone skin and it seems to control excess oil I have on my face very well.

NEGATIVES:

However there are a few negatives to this product, it is great for my kind of skin however it doesn't feel completed moisturized when I put it on my face in the morning, I feel I need two layers in order to get enough moisture to my face.

I would RECOMMEND, the seaweed toner in this range.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 erynd on 8/13/2012 3:52:00 AM more reviews by erynd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good product if you have oily skin and looking for a light and mattifying cream. However like other Body Shop products I feel it should be doing more. First, it should last longer on the oil control side and second it could be more hydrating.
The packaging is not hygenic but it lasts long. I don't think I'll be repurchasing this since I'm looking for a hydrating (or anti aging) day cream with SPF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vintagy on 7/13/2012 5:04:00 AM more reviews by vintagy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product everyday for a week and so far, I love how cool and refreshing it feels on the skin, I love the scent, and I love how it dries (relatively) matte. However, I have a very oily t-zone with normal skin otherwise, and I was looking for a replacement for my Marcelle AC-Solution moisturizer (I use that one to spot treat only; its very drying for normal skin- and its being discontinued). With this one, I can't use it to spot treat my t-zone cause it's not nearly as mattifying, however it is suitable and moisturizing enough for the entire face. I'm using it as a night cream for the summertime, its nice and light and absorbs quickly. I also wish it came in a pump bottle instead of a tub for hygienic reasons.

As for the winter, I would not use it as a night cream as I require a heavier night cream during colder seasons. If I can't find anything better I would repurchase this and use it as a day cream, but I don't like how it has no SPF in it. I know there is a SPF 15 version of this but it is not very mattifying.

All in all, I do like this moisturizer, especially for the summer, and if I do not repurchase in the winter, I will definitely repurchase again next summer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 7/11/2012 5:02:00 AM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this stuff is decent, though the pot is not all that hygienic. however, it doesn't matter much since I apply it right after washing my face (which washes my hands in the process). I like how it feels somewhat cooling on my skin and doesn't dry it out like the night treatment does, but at the same time I don't find it to be particularly mattifying. my Clean & Clear Finishes Mattify moisturizer (sadly discontinued) does a better job of this, even though it leaves a bit of a white cast. I'd say that this day cream reminds me of my Clean & Clear Dual Action moisturizer, which is a lot cheaper and comes in a hygienic pump bottle, so I guess I won't be buying this stuff again. good thing I just got it in the starter kit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dblou on 6/28/2012 4:02:00 PM more reviews by dblou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Very light but moisturizes still vell. I have a combination skin and a bit oily as well so i don't need anything heavy. Smell is quite nice too. But there's nothing extraordinary about this. I've been using many as good gel-style creams as this. I don't know what i'm expecting but this is something that is just okay. I could still buy it again cause it did its work. Nothing special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 breatheformusic on 6/28/2012 2:59:00 AM more reviews by breatheformusic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've only used this once now but it seems to work really well so far! Obviously I cant comment on daily use yet, but so far it has done what it advertises and doesn't appear to have broken me out at all. It's not greasy at all and dries matte. It feels refreshing on the skin and actually has a nice smell to it in my opinion.
I was in search of a mattifying cream or moisturizer that I could put on before my makeup to help control some of my oil and I saw this and got it on a whim. I put it on tonight before my primer and foundation and all of that and went out for a few hours. When I got home, I looked in the mirror and my makeup looked just as good as when I put it on. I use an oil control primer and Hourglass Immaculate foundation, which is awesome at helping me stay matte for a long time, but I ALWAYS will still have some shine on my nose and a bit on my forehead for whatever reason. After using this though, I only had a very small amount of shine on my nose. Not even enough to blot. And this was after being out for 5 hours or so (my skin is always shiny by then.) So I was pleasantly surprised. Ill be using this a lot more!

EDIT (8/6/12): Still using this and still liking it. Hasn't broken me out still and is still doing its job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Moisturizers products