Redken • Guts 10 root volumizing foam spray • Styling Products

rated 3.9(124 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 LaurenMarieeee on 10/20/2009 2:12:00 PM more reviews by LaurenMarieeee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use Guts 10 every day. It's a great volumizing product, and has a very soft hold to it, not stiff like some other volumizing products I've used. I have thin, fine, flat hair that goes greasy very easily. Very surprised to see people saying this is greasy and sticky... I do not find this product to be greasy at all!! Maybe they are using this incorrectly.

Here is how I use Guts 10:
Shake the can first, I find this makes the product more foamy and easier to work with. Use it in towel dried hair. Lift up sections with a brush and spray right at the root (I mostly concentrate on the crown since that is where I like the most volume). Just a quick spray, you don't want to soak your hair with product. After spraying, I run a brush lightly through my hair to distribute the product more evenly. Then I use a round brush and blow dry my bangs and crown area first. Once these areas are dry, I flip my head upside down and dry the underneath layers. Then I flip my hair back, give a gentle brush and run a flat iron through my ends quickly. I don't even need to use hairspray to hold the volume or to keep my bangs in place!!!

I have recieved one can that the nozzle stopped working. I simply exchanged it for a new one. Considering I'm on my third full-sized can and have used 2 travel sized, only having problems with one can isn't a big deal!! Also, the smell isn't bad at all, in my opinion. It only has a slight scent when you first spray it, and it disappears quickly.

Guts 10 is definitely HG status for me!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xsnowwhite on 9/9/2009 4:15:00 AM more reviews by xsnowwhite

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a staple for when I'm doing my hair in big curls or just big and straight. It works really well, but be careful not to get too much on the roots and to spray from a far enough distance. The smell is pretty bad, but it goes away right after you spray it. Also, I've found that it works the best if you lift up the layers and spray underneath and then blowdry with a large round brush. That leaves lasting volume. I do reccomend this despite the steep price, just because I havent found anything similar that is any cheaper that works as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 marchangels on 8/25/2009 11:41:00 PM more reviews by marchangels

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I wasn't impressed with this product. I have fine hair but LOTS of it and I wanted a good lifting product for my roots. Well I find that this product is no different than applying some mousse at your roots -and would be cheaper. This gave my hair a dry /damaged feel to it and adds no shine. -Not to mention the spray nozzle didn't work over half the time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TwinzRule on 7/5/2009 9:00:00 PM more reviews by TwinzRule

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Guts is an absolute must have for people with fine hair. If you buy it from a salon (not Target who sells the damaged cans) this product will not fail you. I use it on my roots only (mostly around my crown and where I part my hair) and it gives my hair a ton of volume. On days when I'm in a hurry and forget to use it, I can definitely tell a huge difference. I've used many "root lifter" products before and Guts is the best product by far. Another great Redkin product :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jthiara on 5/10/2009 8:15:00 PM more reviews by jthiara

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for years; it really does add lots of volume to my fine, limp hair. I don't think it's the best volumizer out there, but it does work though. It can be little sticky at times.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scarattina on 5/4/2009 7:12:00 AM more reviews by scarattina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I gave the packaging a 1 because the nozzle sprays are always messed up with these and barely any product comes out no matter how much I shake it up. This makes my hair limp and straight instead of wavy and full. I think the other reviewer on the other page was right when she said it is for the roots only. I remember loving this when i just used it on my roots and styled my hair straight, but I like the look of waves and volume now so it just doesn't work for me. It makes the curls fall flat and kind of fuses my hair together. At least it's not very sticky.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iheartalize on 4/15/2009 3:34:00 AM more reviews by iheartalize

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

helps to really fatten up the hair. i love guts and i will continue using it on myself as well as my clients!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 thekeeg on 3/22/2009 2:13:00 AM more reviews by thekeeg

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My stylist recommended this for when I scrunch up my hair when its wet and spray it. This really helped me scrunch it and get more wave as well as keep a soft hold. My biggest complaints though are the high price and AWFUL smell! It smells like rotten eggs when it comes out of the bottle. I could barely stand it. Most Redken products smell like heaven but not this one! Other than scrunching my hair it didn't do much and I have not purchased it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 1princess1 on 3/15/2009 8:55:00 PM more reviews by 1princess1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was very excited to try this because my hair is pretty limp and flat.
It cost $25.00 CAD. I wouldn't mind paying that much IF it actually did something.
I tried it using a round brush .. it left my hair very sleek, shiny and soft (no crunchiness or hardness), but there was ZERO volume.
So, I tried it with rollers .. and no volume again.
This seemed to weigh down my hair more and it made it greasy very quickly too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 3/14/2009 12:57:00 PM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My stylist recommended this to me after she did my hair for family photos. I loved the way my hair looked. After I bought it and tried it myself, I was disappointed with how greasy my hair was. I already have greasy hair and this was like I poured grease directly on my head. I also could never get it to be soft like my stylist had. When I applied it, it always felt crunchy. I tried putting it in my hair at different times and even asked my stylist for help. I do not like having to blow-dry and straighten my hair everyday because it takes so long, I like to make it last. With this stuff it was impossible. Was a waste of money. I returned it to Ulta and would not buy again. I gave it a few lippies because when my stylist did it, it did look good. But unless you are a stylist and can work magic, I would not use it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Styling Products products