Johnson & Johnson • Baby Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.2(324 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 JennyK on 8/6/2012 5:46:00 PM more reviews by JennyK

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm reviewing this product not for it's intended use. We used it in Hawaii for a snorkel mask defogger. You get a little spray bottle from the grocer, add a tablespoon of baby shampoo then water: voila!! Best defogger on the market. Spray into mask, rub in, rinse twice. Bonus = doesn't burn the eyes.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilovethe80s87 on 7/31/2012 3:12:00 PM more reviews by ilovethe80s87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I know this is intended for babies, so I am basing my rating on that fact, giving it an "average" (3 lippies).
Several years ago I decided to give baby shampoo a try because of some old 1990s commercial that aired during a movie that my parents had taped (and I was watching said taped movie). A little girl was angry at her sister and dad for using her baby shampoo because "she was the baby"; anyway the teenage sister said it made her hair baby-soft... so that's why I decided to try it haha!
It did make my hair pretty soft and managable, and tangle-free which is a very happy occurrence for me! I was swimming competitively back then, so anything that made my hair managable was very welcome in my hair-care collection. After a few weeks it did lose its "amazingness" and was just average, so I finished off the bottle. Then the next time I went to my hair dresser, she asked what shampoo I was using, and I said baby shampoo. She told me that wasn't a great idea because even though it may seem awesome at first, it leaves build-up in your hair which can cause more problems. So I took her advice and stopped using it.
Perhaps baby shampoo can be used to restore softness to your hair if its in need of some serious managability, but not on a long-term basis. And if I do decide to give this another go, I'll be sure to use a clarifying shampoo every few days to clean out the gunk it leaves.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kikamadonna on 7/16/2012 7:09:00 AM more reviews by kikamadonna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I use this baby shampoo to wash my makeup brushes and they are lovely soft afterwards.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 andreadianca on 7/7/2012 7:01:00 AM more reviews by andreadianca

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First,I have a long hair (almost reach my waist)
I love this shampoo,it remove those dandruff,but I think due to my long hair,It's hard to comb my hair afterward, so for me it's the main problem,but a good conditioner can fix that problem.
Shiny hair? Yap
More volume? I think so
Nice smell? Yup^^,bring my childhood memories,because I use it since I were a baby until 3rd grader

For makeup brush,I don't know...
For my blush brush = okay
Kabuki brush = okay
Concealer brush = okay

Liquid foundation brush = unfortunately it's not working. I don't know is it because of my hard take-off-revlon colorstay liquid foundation or idk-_-

I have to use makeup remover from maybelline first before wash it with this shampoo

Price? Affordable,100ml for 0.8$ in indonesia,for travelling is handy. So it's impressive.

For face? I don't know,I'm still sticking to my Paula's Choice normalising cleanser,but still trying to q-tip it to my acne&milia,hope it works :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wynterandkaylinsmommy123 on 6/22/2012 11:30:00 PM more reviews by wynterandkaylinsmommy123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

the other day i used thiss to wash my face with b/c im running low on cleanser so i used this. let me just say one thing, im constantly have to scrub my eyes to get all my makeup off and then i still have raccoon eyes. but not with this. i swear it got off all my eye makeup including mascara without leaving any thing behind. plus it was really gentle and made my skin smooth.
the reason i gave it a 3 is because when i use this in my daughters hair it dries it out a little but i use conditioner in her hair every now and again.
really yall should try this as a makeup remover

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kittypups4444 on 6/17/2012 9:09:00 PM more reviews by kittypups4444

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

What can i say I have been using it scene i was a little kid. this product is good for all types of hair especially fine thin hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cutewvugirl on 6/14/2012 9:15:00 AM more reviews by cutewvugirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so I have struggled with dandruff my entire life. I have tried everything from selsum blue, denorex, neutrogena t-gal, head and sholders, AG control, and everything in between. Nothing ever completely cured it, NOTHING. Until I came across a blog about a guy using baby shampoo to get rid of dandruff, so I figured, worth a shot. I am amazed. Within a couple uses my dandruff was completely gone and has stayed gone. I am just finishing my first bottle and I plan to buy another. For background. I have long dark brown hair that is past my bra strap. I currently have no color in it, so it is all natural and healthy. This hasn't dried my hair out and it's definately more manageable lately. Lastly my dandruff tends to be the white flakes (Just an FYI). I would suggest this to anyone struggling with dandruff, it's definately worth a shot, I was about to go to the dermatologist and this has been a blessing. I am so thankful to have found this, so I have to share!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LuHu82 on 5/15/2012 9:49:00 AM more reviews by LuHu82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Underwhelming. Fine for brush cleaning but horrible for hair.

For hairwashing purposes it is hideous. Fine on scalps and gentle on eyes but leaves my hair straw-like and, as another reviewer remarked, like Barbie doll hair (same with my daughter's perfect condition, undamaged, untreated hair). Not nice. So I marked it down on that because it is sold primarily as a shampoo.

It works fine as a brush cleaner and the cheap bottle will last a long time, so it represents very good value if used for that and is super cheap when compared to branded products specifically sold as brush cleaners.

Marks gained based on performance, price and how long it will last brush cleaning, price when used as a brush cleaner, but lost from it simply not performing at all well in it's primary function

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LookingGood85 on 5/15/2012 9:27:00 AM more reviews by LookingGood85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this as a pre-cleanser befiore using Clinique soap. It removes all my makeup, leaving my skin cleansed of dirt etc ready for the Clinique soap. My face doesnt feel tight using it at all!

I did notice that a year or so ago when I was using it as a facial wash my skin ended up very inflamed after a week or so, which is why i now follow it up with the clinique and so fat, no issuees, just clean smooth baby soft skin :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 happymand on 5/14/2012 8:17:00 PM more reviews by happymand

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love the smell of this stuff! I use it to wash my hair as I had glue in extensions so needed something gentle. I don't have those extensions any more but still continue to use the shampoo as I do feel like it doesn't irritate my scalp as much as other shampoos.

My mother loves this stuff as well to wash her hair with as her hair goes flat quickly living in Florida with the humidity. I am based in the UK where it's available widely.

The best use: washing and cleaning my make up brushes! I used boiling hot water once and of course this ruined the glue and the brush was ruined until I fixed it with super glue - phew! So note to self - use tepid water when cleaning brushes. It's amazing on my foundation brush although it hasn't restored the white completely on the brush but it cleans it well enough for me to be impressed.

I tried to wash my face using this once but wow did it dry my skin out! Yuck! Perhaps I should have watered it down but I'll stick to my avocado oil and other oils for cleansing my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Johnson & Johnson products

More Shampoo products