Johnson & Johnson • Baby Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.2(317 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 LuHu82 on 5/15/2012 9:49:00 AM more reviews by LuHu82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Underwhelming. Fine for brush cleaning but horrible for hair.

For hairwashing purposes it is hideous. Fine on scalps and gentle on eyes but leaves my hair straw-like and, as another reviewer remarked, like Barbie doll hair (same with my daughter's perfect condition, undamaged, untreated hair). Not nice. So I marked it down on that because it is sold primarily as a shampoo.

It works fine as a brush cleaner and the cheap bottle will last a long time, so it represents very good value if used for that and is super cheap when compared to branded products specifically sold as brush cleaners.

Marks gained based on performance, price and how long it will last brush cleaning, price when used as a brush cleaner, but lost from it simply not performing at all well in it's primary function

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LookingGood85 on 5/15/2012 9:27:00 AM more reviews by LookingGood85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this as a pre-cleanser befiore using Clinique soap. It removes all my makeup, leaving my skin cleansed of dirt etc ready for the Clinique soap. My face doesnt feel tight using it at all!

I did notice that a year or so ago when I was using it as a facial wash my skin ended up very inflamed after a week or so, which is why i now follow it up with the clinique and so fat, no issuees, just clean smooth baby soft skin :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 happymand on 5/14/2012 8:17:00 PM more reviews by happymand

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love the smell of this stuff! I use it to wash my hair as I had glue in extensions so needed something gentle. I don't have those extensions any more but still continue to use the shampoo as I do feel like it doesn't irritate my scalp as much as other shampoos.

My mother loves this stuff as well to wash her hair with as her hair goes flat quickly living in Florida with the humidity. I am based in the UK where it's available widely.

The best use: washing and cleaning my make up brushes! I used boiling hot water once and of course this ruined the glue and the brush was ruined until I fixed it with super glue - phew! So note to self - use tepid water when cleaning brushes. It's amazing on my foundation brush although it hasn't restored the white completely on the brush but it cleans it well enough for me to be impressed.

I tried to wash my face using this once but wow did it dry my skin out! Yuck! Perhaps I should have watered it down but I'll stick to my avocado oil and other oils for cleansing my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 portakalis on 5/14/2012 7:22:00 PM more reviews by portakalis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE IT ! I keep my natural hair color so I don't need a repairing kind of shampoo. It softly cleans your hair and give a healthy shine. I dont need a conditioner even though my hair is shoulder length. I also use it to clean my brushes. The smell is heavenly..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Therealslayergrrl on 5/4/2012 7:08:00 PM more reviews by Therealslayergrrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this for so many things. It cleans my brushes amazingly well. I use it once a month as a clarifying shampoo. It strips my hair of all of the nasty buildup from my usual shampoo and styling routine. I also use it to wash my face. It can be used to wash delicates as well. It smells awesome and really is universal. I use the Target Up and Up brand.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NYCBeauty99 on 4/29/2012 12:18:00 PM more reviews by NYCBeauty99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Like a lot of people here, I use this primarily to clean my makeup brushes. It works very well and it pretty cheap. I use to remove the makeup with olive oil first, but I realized I don't need to. Sometimes I'll just need to wash a brush twice (like a foundation brush). If I don't have a coupon or it's not on sale, I'll buy the generic brand. I have used this to wash my hair and I think it works pretty well to clean my hair too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fabulousSHEL on 3/6/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by fabulousSHEL

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

BEST MAKE-UP BRUSH CLEANER EVER!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 latina72 on 2/24/2012 2:22:00 AM more reviews by latina72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

love this product!! this is a gentle and effective cleanser for my acne prone skin. In addition with mia clarisonic has made a real difference in my skin for good.
Love this cleanser, it actually removes mascara and make up better than the expensive products and doesnt sting in your eyes!!. Recommend it to everybody.
baby shampoo can be use for multiple purpose, my husband for his hair in the shower, I clean up my face, and my little baby uses as shampoo and shower gel....
great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 irvinjon on 2/22/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by irvinjon

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ilove it.. It doesn't damage my hair and it really not harsh on hair

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleyanders on 2/19/2012 1:57:00 PM more reviews by ashleyanders

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

Product's Claims - True or False?
1) Gentle to eyes: True
2) Does not irritate skin and eyes: Mostly true.
3) Rinses easily: True.
4) Hair smells fresh, looks shiny and healthy: N/A


Packaging:
Comes in a very simple clear plastic bottle, wide and slender. While it fits in the hand with comfort it is a bit too wide. Bottle provides you with the ingredients' list on the back. The cap is a hard plastic with a press-down lid to open the little spout. I find it a bit hard to open as it does seem to take some force and does almost stick a bit. The plastic of the bottle is hard but does not require any significant amount of force to squeeze.


Formula:
The shampoo has a clear, yellow-tinted consistency (it is often advised that clear formulas are the most drying). It's not overly runny which makes it fairly easy to work with. Just a small amount of it creates a nice lather. It does feel a bit slimy on the skin when it's being used but it does rinse off completely without leaving any residue behind (that I can tell of course). It's definitely fragranced and quite strong. I don't dislike the fragrance, I think it actually smells quite nice. But overall it seems like a totally unnecessary feature, especially for something to be used on infants.


Performance:
Although marketed as a shampoo this is not what I used it as - I cannot even begin to imagine how much of an issue it would have been for my hair, and I don't necessarily recommend it as a shampoo. What I did try it as was 1) a brush cleanser for thorough cleaning, 2) a spot cleaning cleanser for brushes, 3) to remove eye makeup. Overall it works great for all of these purposes, and doesn't sting my eyes when used for option 3 unless I used too much. For 2 and 3 I created a 1:4 mix of this to water and placed in a bottle instead of just using the shampoo straight. I will say that it does seem to take longer to rinse out to ensure that there's absolutely no soap left, especially if you've used too much to wash the brushes. I do very much enjoy it for options 1 and 2, but I don't think I'll go back to using it for makeup removal; I was experiencing a dermatitis, dry skin, eczema-like issue for a long time (before using this as well) and this definitely contributed to it lasting. Once I stopped it and the other culprit my eyes began feel and look so much better, no longer crepey (which I noticed to be an issue on a friend recently whom I know just uses soap to wash her face/remove makeup) and the flaking seems to be 99% gone. It's effective, just clearly not ideal for those wanting to keep a VERY simple routine - had I used moisturizer it might have negated the effects, but I prefer not to use any on my water-only skincare regimen.


Bang for your Buck:
I paid around $4CAD for this 444ml bottle. This is very well priced for the amount received because only a small amount of product is needed to get the job done. I'm sure you can even find knock-offs or cheaper locations to purchase this at.


Final Thoughts
While I don't love it for makeup removal, which was the original reason I bought it, I am happy with it for cleansing my makeup brushes. It really does work very well at removing eye makeup though. I will continue using it for washing my brushes.
* Overall Rating: 3.5/5
* Price: 1/5
* Packaging Quality: 3/5
* Repurchase: Yes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Johnson & Johnson products

More Shampoo products