Chanel • Bronze Universel De Chanel Sun Illuminator • Bronzers

rated 4.4(186 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceen on 10/24/2011 7:31:00 AM more reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Perfect body bronzer (I'm thinking neck/décolletage): finely milled, subtle but buildable pigment. The subtlety is such that it can reasonably be used in the winter as well as summer.

The trick to success with this one is finding the right brush to use: Laura Mercier's bronzer brush was such a disappointment in this respect (clumping of hair occurred over time). More success is to be had with MAC's 182 buffer brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 drewthomsen on 9/27/2011 1:06:00 AM more reviews by drewthomsen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can only think of two reasons someone would not like this product: they are too pale for the one shade (or perhaps too dark)...or they are applying it completely wrong. Sometimes if I'm too heavy-handed with this stuff it can end up looking muddy and mask-like, but if you use the correct brush and apply it correctly it gives a very natural, glowing tan. It's subtle, again if you use a light hand and don't jam your brush into the jar, but gives a good glow without being a tan glitter bomb or a muddy matte mess. Also I think it would be great for girls who go without foundation - just to give a little glow to tired looking skin. Sadly I am not one of those girls...but it would look beautiful on bare skin. Be careful when purchasing this at the store because I lot of Chanel counter girls (especially at Macy's) have no idea what this product even is and may claim they don't have it when, in fact, they do and it's right there in the case.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 netmom1 on 8/10/2011 11:05:00 PM more reviews by netmom1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love the texture and application of this product but Chanel needs to come out with more shades. Not everyone tans the same color! I took points off because on my NW20 complexion this looks very yellow, I don't see any orange however. Since it's too late to return it, I've had success using it as a base for other bronzers which suit me better.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupaddict1779 on 8/7/2011 7:03:00 PM more reviews by makeupaddict1779

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had purchased this product last summer after hearing the rave reviews, but after playing with it for about a month it just sat in my makeup drawer. It didn't look great on me, and at that point it was too late to return. But this summer I brought it out again, wondering what was so special about this very light but extremly expensive bronzer. I have medium skin that turns more of an olive color in the summer and just putting it on the apples of my cheeks/forhead/jaw didn't do it for me (I like to look very tan!). But I've found that its an excellent base for a pop of bronzer on the cheeks, forhead, etc. What I do is rub my finger in the pot then mix a little bit of my regualr, untinted moisturizer with it and apply it all over my face as a light foundation. The result is very glowly/tan skin that I can apply a poweder bronzer over where the sun naturally hits. I also use a little cream blush and then Nars Orgasm for a very sun kissed look. I think this could also work when im very pale in the winter, I'd just use a little less. Hope this helps someone who couldn't find how to wear this in a way that works for their skin tone.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ohyouprettything on 7/24/2011 5:32:00 PM more reviews by ohyouprettything

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Absolutely love this product. It was out of stock at my local Macy's counter for so long and I waited about 4-5 weeks for it to restock. Once it did, they called and let me know and put one on the side for me. I went there the day that it came in, and they were already sold out! Lucky for me, I asked them to hold it. :) I absolutely love this product. It is completely matte (someone wrote below that it has shimmer...I don't think they are using the same product), which makes me happy, because I am not a big fan of shimmery bronzers (or shimmery anything for that matter). I love the consistency, very lightweight, easy to blend, and you need very little to achieve a nice tan glow. Thoroughly love this product. Would buy this a million times over. Totally worth every penny.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MandiMommyof3 on 7/15/2011 6:01:00 PM more reviews by MandiMommyof3

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Sensitive, acne prone skin people be careful. The first 2 ingredients is silicone. I absolutely loved the consistancy and color of this product. I am an nc25-n30, HOWEVER, it broke me out like crazy. I would stop using this and allow my skin to clear, as soon as I would give it another try, I would break out with cystic type acne everytime. I tried this product 10 plus times to allow my skin to clear and give it another go. But consistantly it would make me break out. And anytime when the 1st or 2 ingredients has silicone in it in a product, I break out (Most primers I have this problem as well). But if its towards the end of the ingredients list, I am okay. Keep in mind, the ingredient closest to the top of the list it has more of that ingredient. I am envious of you ladies that can use this. :)

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jod84 on 7/13/2011 3:49:00 PM more reviews by jod84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

i really don't understand what all the fuss is about this product i was waiting for weeks on end for the store to restock because it was sold out every where. this product reminds me of a hard dream matt mousse with shimmer it hardly shows up on my skin and im stupidly pale so this won't work at all for darker skin tones. it's very long lasting thats the only good thing i can think of

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ahhhttack on 7/12/2011 2:27:00 AM more reviews by ahhhttack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this bronzer on my light toned skin (NC15/20, MUFE HD 117, Chanel VA B10, BB Warm Ivory). Lots of people say it's orange, and I can see it being orange if you over apply or have pink toned skin. But on my light, warm toned skin I find it gives me a healthy sunny glow. I use VERY LITTLE since I'm so pale, with a synthetic bristle slanted blush brush. Then I put it on the high points in my face and the ultimate finished look is very natural. Remember, this is builds easily, so start very light and build since it can get intense quickly. I find it looks more natural than many purely brown toned bronzers which can look like dirt. It's expensive but since I use so little it will literally last me forever. The only downside is that it's has a harder surface so most likely some bristles of your brush will get stuck in it. This is more of a inconvenience than a real negative though. I would definitely buy this again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsSunnyEveryday on 6/14/2011 4:56:00 PM more reviews by MsSunnyEveryday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love bronzers and am always looking for one that doesn't turn me orange. Chanel products are usually very consistent in quality so I decided to give this a try. The consistency of this product is the first thing that sort of put me off as it is a cream but really heavy. I hate that all my brushes leave behind little hairs on the surface and I have to clean it constantly. I tried applying with a beauty blender but did not get a good result. The product definitely does not turn you orange and it is a very subtle glow that is buildable. It is probably the best sun kissed glow I have gotten from any product. The one problem is that I don't find it very easy to buff this color into my skin, once I put it on, it stays put. Guess that's a really good thing for Summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bululu on 5/24/2011 9:32:00 AM more reviews by bululu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for a few years now and it's never failed to reproduce the most natural tanned summer complexion. It lasts longer than expected, so I always end up with some left over from the year before (and in perfect condition if you keep it clean and top well screwed on). If you need more coverage, you can mix with it with your standard foundation, especially in the transition period from spring to summer when you need to adapt the shade and consistency of cosmetics to the warmer season. It only comes in one universal shade and it seems to be "universally" flattering as you can dose the quantity and the results. I'm shade Chanel B40 and it matches my skin quite well, although it looks pretty dark in the jar. A sweep of nice bronzer or cream blush/rouge on top will perk up any complexion drained by a long winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Bronzers products