NARS • All About Eve Duo • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(267 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* StefieJ on 4/16/2010 12:47:00 PM more reviews by StefieJ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

For reference, I am NW15.
This is the best duo from NARS, hands down. It is perfect for an every day, polished, 'go to work' look, or great for a classic beautiful night on the town. There are some complaints people have brought up about the duo, so I'll address them here.
1. Many say the shades don't show up; In my experience, they definitely show up, just maybe not as brightly as many would want. Thats the beauty of this duo - it's impossible to overdo it, and it creates a very natural effect. Ghost the makeup artist even says he uses this on people who are NC35-40.
2. Both of the shades look the same; The shades are similar, but NOT the same. The left side is a bit darker, and has a satin finish. The right side is a lighter, whitish peachy pink and has a shimmery finish.

This is how I love to wear this duo -
First, I apply a base like UDPP or TFSI, then some kind of paintpot that suits my skintone like painterly or barestudy.

Second, I use a stiff flat brush (MAC 239) and apply the shimmery side to my lid and slightly above the crease.

Then, I take a fluffier brush, and dust the shimmery side all the way up to my brow bone (Don't worry, it's not THAT shimmery)

Next take your favorite crease brush and apply the satin side into your crease. It won't be MUCH definition, but just a little, enough to look natural and give your crease that little shadow effect.

Then apply the shimmery side to your tearducts.

lastly I usually line with a brown liner (My favorite right now is clinique brown brush on cream liner) and smudge it slightly. Finish off with mascara, and BAM. You have a beautiful, classic, polished look.

28 out of 28 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HelenaS on 4/3/2010 10:16:00 AM more reviews by HelenaS

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

What can I say? It is the ultimate nude shimmer that gives a natural glow and takes years off your face. I am 43 and am just beginning to get some fine lines and a somewhat "tired" appearance in the a.m. despite a good night's sleep. I have looked at AAE for years and always shied away from purchasing it, even though I love NARs. I just thought that the two beige shimmers were too ordinary to spend that kind of money on.

However, having tried it I see what all the hype is about. Particularly at my age, I need products that truly work and will not accentuate fine lines, sagging, etc. This shadow is so amazing because although it is shimmery, it doesn't go on frosty or glittery. It just glows on your skin and makes you look more awake and healthy! It blends like a dream and has enough pigment so that I don't need a base or even a dusting of powder underneath.

Like others, I am still a little confused by the similarity of the two shades. They are both great but I'm not sure why they are together, since they are so alike. However, I'm still experimenting so I'll perhaps figure that little mystery out as I go along.

I will def. repurchase this e/s, although if it is like any other NARS product it will probably last me the next few years!

A gem!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* badkitty82 on 3/27/2010 11:21:00 AM more reviews by badkitty82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a huge fan of NARS and love their eyeshadow duos. All About Eve is one of the more toned down and neutral color duos. It is described as shimmering flesh and shimmering neutral. The shimmering neutral is a tiny bit darker and definitely more frosted and shimmery than the color to the left. They're both great to create a natural look or to pair with more dramatic colors. Love it as a base! The shadows are silky and smooth, blends easily and stays on all day. The compact with a mirror is great, too bad they're so expensive!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mademoisellenicole on 2/8/2010 7:20:00 AM more reviews by mademoisellenicole

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Violet    

the BEST neutrals ever!!! give you a natural yet sophicicated look. you but better and more awake. glamourous together with edie and a nice black eyeliner. lashes black and there you are. elegant but glamorous. GREAT

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nakeeyark on 1/9/2010 12:51:00 AM more reviews by nakeeyark

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

for the record, i find many of NARS items to be overpriced for the quality they offer -- the exception for me tends to be their blushes and multiple sticks. i found this eyeshadow duo on massive sale on makeup.com a few years ago, which is why i decided to give in to the hype and purchase it. i do really like all about eve (kudos for the name); the satin side (the left side) is a warmed up beige, and the more shimmery side (the right side) applies like a very, very neutral, very very light silvery taupe. the difference in color between the two shadows is minimal, and for a while i could not for the life of me figure out how they were different. the two look very nice and polished together, and is especially useful for days when i am wearing a very bright lip color or eyeliner. while that would have given this item 3 stars, i bumped it up to 4 because both shadows work well as highlights for my other eyeshadows. i will enjoy using it up, but i wouldnt rebuy this -- or any other NARS eyeshadow single or duo -- at full price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkelephants on 12/12/2009 9:26:00 AM more reviews by pinkelephants

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

About me: NC30/35 in summer, med brown hair, blue/green eyes.

Let me start by saying that I can really only wear these colors in the fall/winter when my skintone is lighter. When I try them in the summer they are a bit too cool toned and show up almost silvery (and not in a good way). The matte side is practically useless for me any time. It doesn't show up on my skin and really isn't very pigmented to start with.

The shimmery side, however, is what I'm mostly reviewing. It's glowy, light, and just the right neutral champagne color to wear with just about anything. If you found MAC All That Glitters to be a bit too warm/dark/shimmery for you, this would be your shade. I got this duo in the NARS Best palette so I didn't actually buy the duo alone. I'm thinking that it's really not worth the cost of the duo for the shimmery side alone, which is all I would use, therefore I chose that I would not purchase this duo again. I may change my mind, but there are just so many other shimmery champagne shades out there to chose from that cost much less.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaylabean on 12/6/2009 10:11:00 PM more reviews by Kaylabean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful day color. I do a wash of one or other all over my lid and it just adds that extra something. It also makes a great base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kathhh on 12/2/2009 7:52:00 AM more reviews by kathhh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

A product I wanted to love but didn't. For some reason, both shadows apply unevenly and almost.. blotchily? I have no idea why, have never encountered anything like this before!

But yeah, love the packaging, and the quality of the shadow is pretty evident. Just don't know why it's applying like this...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luna_z on 10/26/2009 12:22:00 PM more reviews by luna_z

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I have to say, at first, I am really disappointed about this product, as I used to be crazy about smoky feelings. But after I tried this again and again, I discovered its beauty, lucky me!! It is so natural and classic.

I think, in order to make this eyeshadow show its very beauty, it is better to use a base or apply several layers.

But I won't buy it again I think. I have found one better product for a natural look, that is the too faced natural eye kit! cheaper and more creamy quality(don't need to apply several lays to let it show up).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mrslelep on 10/19/2009 9:07:00 PM more reviews by Mrslelep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

My HG eyeshadow. And it lasts forever, I have had 2 pans over probably 8 years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products