Fancl Fancl Sunguard spf 30

3.8

66 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 12%, Titanium Dioxide 6%. Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Zinc Oxide, Diphenylsiloxy Phenyl Trimethicone, Titanium Dioxide, Isostearyl Neopantanoate, PEG-9 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Acrylates Crosspolymer, Glycerin, Dimethicone, PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Aluminium Hydroxide, Sorbitan Sesquiisostearate, Alanyl Glutamine, Centella Asiatica Extract, Aspalathus Linearis Extract, Panthenol, Silica, Hydroxypatite, Microcrystalline Cellulose, Cellulose Gum, Dimethicone/Methicone Copolymer, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Triethoxysilylethyl Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Hexyl Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Tocopherol.


on 7/19/2007 9:55:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Sounded so extremely good on paper- physical sunscreen, liquid texture, mattifying, none of those 'evil' skincare offenders like mineral oil etc and from a reputable Japanese brand to boot.
So disappointed. White cast was horrendous, and it shifts very easily. Never ever have I encountered a sunscreen that shifted so easily. It is hard to spread too, clumps into white patches on tricky areas like nose corners and near the eyebrows.
Well, at least it did not break me out or cause irritation.



on 7/6/2007 4:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

LOVE it! It protects really well, SPF 30. The first SPF 30 that doesnt irritate my skin. I use it all on my face , neck, chest and arms. It glides on so well, moisturising and stay put. No smells and doesnt leave a white mark on me. Great products. This is a must for being outdoor. I also use the 100% pure SPF15 for the lighter days as it is light, has more anti aging products and natural. For all the Asians out there, this is a must. No parabens!!


on 6/20/2007 2:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I just re-purchase the second tube of this sunscreen. It's having the PA+++ value and I feel very good using it. A very good choice for sensitive skin!


on 6/7/2007 2:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I looove this sunscreen. I used to use Shiseido, which was very similar in its lovely finish and good protection, but I didn't like the strong scent and silicones. After looking for an elegant formulated paraben-free sunscreen, I came across this. No scent and my skin looks fabulous with just a dusting of powder after the sunscreen. It does has a bit of a whitish cast, but I found that disappears in about 1/2 an hour. I put it on and get dressed to let it soak in, then my skin looks luminous. And I've been in the strong sun a few times with a different sunscreen on my body -- no freckling on my face but my body has picked up some color.

EDIT: 3 years later I am still loving this sunscreen!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2007 2:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As far as all-physical sunscreens go, this along with DHC White is the best I've tried. It is a light, liquid-y lotion that sinks in fairly quicky and only leaves a minimal white cast. I've experienced no irritation or clogs from it. It is also fairly sweat-resistant. I think one would need an oil-based cleanser to get it off, as a regular cleanser probably wouldn't cut it. This sunscreen also leaves a matte finish on me.


Update: The white cast from this sunscreen is a bit stronger than I initially thought. I think it would be best for very pale skin tones.



Active Ingredients: zinc oxide 14%



Inactive Ingredients: cyclopentasiloxane, water, isostearyl neopentanoate, acrylates/ethylhexel copolymer, phenyl trimethicone, butylene glycol, peg-9 dimethicone, glycerin, polygylceryl-3 diisostearate, aspalathus linearis extract, magnolia obovata bark extract, glycosyl trehalose, glycine, polyquaternium-61,, hyrogentated starch hydrolysate, tocopherol, stearic acid, silica, polyglyceryl-3, polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone, dimethicone, aluminum hydroxide

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2007 2:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It left an unnaturally white cast on my face after use. I need cleansing oil to get this stuff off else it wun come off. I'm acne prone to using cleansing oil, breaks me out every single time. This emphasizes my flakiness at times too. Although it's very light on the face and very mattifying, it gave me bumps too.


on 3/25/2007 7:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Its a sunscreen cream texture but is light enough and non-greasy on my combi skin. Good packaging cos' the bottle and spout controls the amt coming out very well.
But ugh, this product leaves such an obvious whitish cast on my skin and this is particularly odd on naturally tanned complexions like mine (NC30-35). I've actually put this on to get away with looking ill and it worked! *lol* Also, not a great sunscreen if you're out doing sports or in the water as this isn't waterproof/sweatproof at all. Took it on a beach holiday & the bf commented little WHITE cream droplets fell off me as I came out of the pool.
Won't repurchase cos' it just doesn't work so well on me or for my lifestyle and also, I don't like that the expiry is 6months from opening cos' I was barely halfway through the bottle when the 6months was up and I was already using it daily. I guess a little goes a long way (and makes you very white!) for this but doesn't make money sense when it expires quickly.
ETA: Discovered a light-as-water, absolutely no whitish cast sunscreen in Shiseido Anessa! It also doubles as a very smooth, oil-controlling m/u base!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2007 1:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Doesn't cause breakouts for my acne-prone skin. Can be a little difficult to blend with makeup.


on 2/6/2007 3:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

It's light and the price is reasonable. But it makes my face look pale (too white?) after using it.


on 10/15/2006 11:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've already written a review for this sunscreen somewhere here: just a tip on the correct way to apply Fancl sunguard 30. The key thing to avoiding the dreaded white cast is to ensure that both your hands and face are COMPLETELY DRY. yes, let me repeat again. Both your hands and face must be COMPLETELY DRY before you even touch the sunscreen. I've discovered through trial and error that any wetness (damp hands, or unabsorbed moisturizer) will cause the sunscreen to go on white and masky. BUT if your hands are dry, and you've gently blotted off excess moisturizer with a tissue or facial blotter, and then apply a pearl-sized drop of the sunscreen to each cheek, forehead, nose and chin, the end-effect will be beautifully radiant facial skin rather than white and masklike. hope that helps! Trust me, using it this way will not leave any cast - and i have very tanned asian skin!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Fancl Products

Back to Top