Fancl • Fancl Sunguard spf 30 • Sunscreen

rated 3.9(64 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ingridslin on 6/20/2007 2:19:00 PM more reviews by ingridslin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I just re-purchase the second tube of this sunscreen. It's having the PA+++ value and I feel very good using it. A very good choice for sensitive skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zerzura on 6/7/2007 2:54:00 PM more reviews by Zerzura

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I looove this sunscreen. I used to use Shiseido, which was very similar in its lovely finish and good protection, but I didn't like the strong scent and silicones. After looking for an elegant formulated paraben-free sunscreen, I came across this. No scent and my skin looks fabulous with just a dusting of powder after the sunscreen. It does has a bit of a whitish cast, but I found that disappears in about 1/2 an hour. I put it on and get dressed to let it soak in, then my skin looks luminous. And I've been in the strong sun a few times with a different sunscreen on my body -- no freckling on my face but my body has picked up some color.

EDIT: 3 years later I am still loving this sunscreen!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mrsdalloway on 4/30/2007 2:47:00 PM more reviews by mrsdalloway

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

As far as all-physical sunscreens go, this along with DHC White is the best I've tried. It is a light, liquid-y lotion that sinks in fairly quicky and only leaves a minimal white cast. I've experienced no irritation or clogs from it. It is also fairly sweat-resistant. I think one would need an oil-based cleanser to get it off, as a regular cleanser probably wouldn't cut it. This sunscreen also leaves a matte finish on me.


Update: The white cast from this sunscreen is a bit stronger than I initially thought. I think it would be best for very pale skin tones.



Active Ingredients: zinc oxide 14%



Inactive Ingredients: cyclopentasiloxane, water, isostearyl neopentanoate, acrylates/ethylhexel copolymer, phenyl trimethicone, butylene glycol, peg-9 dimethicone, glycerin, polygylceryl-3 diisostearate, aspalathus linearis extract, magnolia obovata bark extract, glycosyl trehalose, glycine, polyquaternium-61,, hyrogentated starch hydrolysate, tocopherol, stearic acid, silica, polyglyceryl-3, polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone, dimethicone, aluminum hydroxide

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettiesnow on 4/6/2007 2:36:00 PM more reviews by prettiesnow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It left an unnaturally white cast on my face after use. I need cleansing oil to get this stuff off else it wun come off. I'm acne prone to using cleansing oil, breaks me out every single time. This emphasizes my flakiness at times too. Although it's very light on the face and very mattifying, it gave me bumps too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kismis on 3/25/2007 7:40:00 AM more reviews by kismis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Its a sunscreen cream texture but is light enough and non-greasy on my combi skin. Good packaging cos' the bottle and spout controls the amt coming out very well.
But ugh, this product leaves such an obvious whitish cast on my skin and this is particularly odd on naturally tanned complexions like mine (NC30-35). I've actually put this on to get away with looking ill and it worked! *lol* Also, not a great sunscreen if you're out doing sports or in the water as this isn't waterproof/sweatproof at all. Took it on a beach holiday & the bf commented little WHITE cream droplets fell off me as I came out of the pool.
Won't repurchase cos' it just doesn't work so well on me or for my lifestyle and also, I don't like that the expiry is 6months from opening cos' I was barely halfway through the bottle when the 6months was up and I was already using it daily. I guess a little goes a long way (and makes you very white!) for this but doesn't make money sense when it expires quickly.
ETA: Discovered a light-as-water, absolutely no whitish cast sunscreen in Shiseido Anessa! It also doubles as a very smooth, oil-controlling m/u base!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Reira on 3/20/2007 1:29:00 AM more reviews by Reira

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Doesn't cause breakouts for my acne-prone skin. Can be a little difficult to blend with makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 icyicypink on 2/6/2007 3:39:00 AM more reviews by icyicypink

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's light and the price is reasonable. But it makes my face look pale (too white?) after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dreamingangel on 10/15/2006 11:13:00 PM more reviews by dreamingangel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've already written a review for this sunscreen somewhere here: just a tip on the correct way to apply Fancl sunguard 30. The key thing to avoiding the dreaded white cast is to ensure that both your hands and face are COMPLETELY DRY. yes, let me repeat again. Both your hands and face must be COMPLETELY DRY before you even touch the sunscreen. I've discovered through trial and error that any wetness (damp hands, or unabsorbed moisturizer) will cause the sunscreen to go on white and masky. BUT if your hands are dry, and you've gently blotted off excess moisturizer with a tissue or facial blotter, and then apply a pearl-sized drop of the sunscreen to each cheek, forehead, nose and chin, the end-effect will be beautifully radiant facial skin rather than white and masklike. hope that helps! Trust me, using it this way will not leave any cast - and i have very tanned asian skin!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summertan on 9/17/2006 3:27:00 AM more reviews by summertan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

$27, 60 ml, SPF 30, PA +++
..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Active ingredients: zinc oxide 14%, titanium dioxide 5%
Other: cyclopentasiloxane, water, isostearyl neopentanoate, acrylates/ethylhexel copolymer, phenyl trimethicone, butylene glycol, peg-9 dimethicone, glycerin, polyglyceryl-3 diisostearate, aspalathus linearis extract, magnolia obovata bark extract, glycosyl trehalose, glycine, polyquaternium-61, hydrogenated startch hydrolysate, tocopherol, stearic acid, silica, polyglyceryl-3 polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone, dimethicone, aluminum hydroxide


..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................


PROS:
- all physical sunscreen with high enough protection
- it is a white liquid, easy to spread
- dries on skin without any oily film at all

..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

CONS:
- too whitish (with a sublte bluish hint) when applied 0.7g on my face (2ml / cm^2), first it's very white then it settles but not enough
- the white powder tends to collect around flakes, in large pores or around hairs of beard, instead of hiding imperfections it kind of exposes them especially in lower part of cheeks
- hard to remove, have to use oil first and then cleanser
..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

BOTTOM LINE:

FANCL has to work first on the whitish cast by tinting it or by reducing the total percentage of the physical sunscreens, probably combining only 10% ZnO with octinoxate (non iritable chemical sunscreen) to achieve same levels of SPF and PPD.

They also have to work on the film forming. Perhaps making the product more creamy versus liquid. That would create a thin film on skin (preferrably a MATTE film) and the sunscreen won't collect in pores or hairs.

..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Better alternatives:
Epicuren Zinc

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leung on 8/22/2006 8:34:00 AM more reviews by leung

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

All Fancl products are preservative free and therefore come in small sizes. I was surprised that this sunscreen was larger that expected! I only use it on its own when I'm doing sports. For everyday, I mix it with my regular face moisturizer. It is not oily and a good base for loose powder. Lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fancl products

More Sunscreen products