L'Oreal • Feria Haircolor • Hair Color

rated 2.9(654 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 GeorgiaRed on 4/20/2013 9:58:00 AM more reviews by GeorgiaRed

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I would NOT recommend this hair color.I used Feria True Red with color boost.This fades in 2 WEEKS! My hair went from a Beautiful Bright Red to Pink Grapefruit.YUCK! Feria DOES NOT stand by it's 6-8 weeks color.2 weeks tops!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sellee on 3/27/2013 4:35:00 AM more reviews by Sellee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really didn't like this dye. I used the color M31 "Midnight Moon," it's part of the Midnight collection. The color I used clashed too much with my skin tone (My skin is very similar to the model on the box that I used, which should've been an indicator that it wouldn't look right, but I wasn't as concerned at the time.) It came out extremely blotchy, I think because my hair's length was below my shoulders and I probably should've used two boxes. It also didn't cover my roots at all, and I applied quite a generous amount in that area. The color came out much darker than it looks on the box and was actually a very dark black, I didn't know much about boxed dyes when I used it but I was actually trying to dye my hair a dark blue color (as pictured on the box.) My hair didn't look shiny, it was really dull looking, and when it started to fade it looked very uneven. It also claims to be permanent, but I started to see the color fade within one or two weeks. My hair is both much shorter and much healthier now than it was at the time, but I will not be willing to try this again. The only thing I really liked about this was the conditioner it came with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 torricus on 3/15/2013 9:44:00 AM more reviews by torricus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Awful experience with this hair colour. Bought the Rich Mahogany (41) to go a darker red, and it was a good look at all. Followed the instructions, ended up with bright red roots and a mediocre colour through the rest of my hair. I'm not sure if it's because of the way the highlights show up in the hair, but it looked like I'd missed random pieces of hair, even though on closer inspection, they were covered.

Will not be getting this again, especially since it smells worse (even with the added packet just to add scent to the dye) and is more expensive than my usual brand. Back to Garnier Belle Color for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Holly81 on 2/27/2013 5:53:00 AM more reviews by Holly81

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've been exclusively using Feria in 'French Roast' for over 3 years, I dye my hair on average about 4 times a year with it, and it is exactly the right colour for my natural hair. If it wasnt for my grey, it would be hard to notice my roots showing. I have medium thickness mousey brown hair with golden overtones.As it fades which it does, it looks like my natural colour, so i dont mind that it does.

It really does hightlight my natural highlights and theres many different colours that emerge after using it. People have said n occasion that theres a red tinge to the dye on my hair, but i've never noticed it.

The conditioner that comes with is my go to conditioner every time i wash my hair. I have a stockpile of those tubes and use it as a regular conditioner.

After 3 years though, my hair is getting super dry and split endy. Bu ti figure thats to be expected when using permanent hair colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shmich75 on 2/26/2013 4:51:00 PM more reviews by shmich75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I am very fair skinned with light blonde hair.
I wanted to go lighter (about 2 shades lighter) to go almost platinum.
I bought the extra light blonde (I think it was 001).
I have dyed my own hair throughout my life and even worked as a receptionist at an upscale salon for 5 years.
So I had no hesitation using this dye at home.......BIG MISTAKE! My natrually light blonde hair turned puke orange! I was unable to fix this at home without going really dark so I had to go to the salon (as a 911 call to my local colorist). Needless to say 250.00 later my hair color was fixed.
I will never use this dye again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 joanne3623 on 2/21/2013 10:17:00 AM more reviews by joanne3623

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

My friend and I bought 2 boxes of Feria hair color. My friend had blonde hair, poker straight, her daughter had blonde hair, also poker straight and I have red hair, naturally curly. My hair did not have a drop of dye in it. My friend and her daughter's hair was highlighted blonde. I'm not a stylist and neither are they. We bought black hair dye. I have put black hair color in my hair several times over the years and never had a problem. My friend and her daughter have dyed their hair every color of the rainbow and never had a problem.We followed the directions to a "t". My friends hair turned blackish/grey with sapphire blue casts, her daughters hair turn Smurf blue! Her hair didn't have one strand of black in it! I'm not exaggerating that either! I streaked a small section of my hair and it turned black/blue/grey. I realize black hair dye has blues, greens or browns in it and you risk your hair turning that color after it fades. This happened instantly! After talking to 3 professional hairstylists/color experts I found out Feria is the WORST hair dye you can buy. As soon as I said the word Feria to all 3 people they looked at me with horror. It fades very quickly, it does not turn the color that they show you on the box. I understand that you're not going to get the exact color on the box but this was waaayy off! I bought cheap hair dye the next day to tone down the blue/grey and it worked 100% better! My friend and her daughter had to have their hair re-dyed. Bottom line DO NOT BUY THIS GARBAGE! Cheaper dyes work better if you can't afford the salon

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xChocobunny on 2/3/2013 6:32:00 PM more reviews by xChocobunny

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Having (very) dark Asian-brown and thick hair (that is mid-back), I chose a shade that was several numbers above it in an attempt to change my hair colour to a brown. I don't remember the exact shade of brown I wanted, but I do remember going with 100 very light naturally blonde. P.S. I only used one box and I still had enough to do another dying session had it been able to be stored.

The instructions were useful- full of preparation tips, had everything I needed to start the dying process without additional purchases, and even an after-dying care conditioner.

I followed the instructions accordingly. I poured the colouring bottle into the developing bottle, put on the cone-shaped lid and shook what felt like forever to ensure everything was properly mixed. Then I snipped a bit off the top of the cone-lid and got to work. I squeezed it onto my gloved hand, pressed my hands together, and applied it as evenly as I could to my hair- leaving my roots for last as any given section of hair as hair dye tends to be more quickly absorbed at the scalp due to the heat escaping from our heads (and feet, just an FYI). I went an extra mile to ensure the colouring would work to its maximum due to the known-stubborness of Asian hair by putting it into a hair cap and blowing the inside of it with a hairdryer for 5 minutes and then left it on for about 20 minutes. After washing it out, there was a conditioner said to be used once a week (and should last for 4 weeks).

The result was gorgeous and the brown I wanted with a red undertone. The brightness of the colour did tone down a bit to a more wearable and sophisticated colour which is also nice (I didn't mind). It's fun to see my roots grow as I am trying to grow out my hair- so I can say this does not affect MY hair growth (as results and experiences WILL differ from others, these are just my comments and thoughts).

Summary:
-everything needed was included
-doesn't affect hair's condition and functions
-succeeded in colouring the all-known stubborn Asian hair (I have thick
**Colour box used was several shades lighter than the actual colour I wanted
-does not fade (very noticeably anyway)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sarah1325 on 1/31/2013 10:35:00 AM more reviews by Sarah1325

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used bronzed brown for 4 years and I love it. At first my hair looks red toned brown but it fades to a nice dark brown. I only use 1 bottle and my hair is to the middle of my back length.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Julianana on 1/30/2013 4:15:00 PM more reviews by Julianana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I used to use the dark burgundy and the ruby colors for years. The color pay off is really nice but the fade away within 3 -4 weeks. Over all nice red shades, but not long lasting

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jatkins on 1/1/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by jatkins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I used to color my hair dark brown shades, this is the brand I would use. Most of the time, the color would be true to what is described on the box. I am not sure if the formula changed or if my hair turned to a less than healthy state at some time, but the colors started going almost black on me. So, I turned to highlights. It is just easier for me to have a salon maintain my hair that way. So, maybe the reason this doesn't work is because I am not a hair color specialist...but I supposed most people that are dying their hair with drug store products aren't professionals. Needless to say...this is the product that turned me to professional colorings.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products