L'Oreal Feria Haircolor

2.9

658 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/16/2013 2:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I used the Feria red colour (can't remember the name of it) 3 times over the last year, and I give up. It fades so badly, and it especially fades out of the grey in like a week! Overall I think it lasted about 3 weeks before I felt like the vibrancy was totally gone. I love the shade when it first goes in but I want it to stay.

I am still looking for a good red - I like to have the red, with lighter blonde streaks, and when I am feeling wealthy enough, some dark lowlights, but I have only ever achieved it at the salon.

I will review the L'Oreal colour next but suffice to say it seems to work much better on my hair for colour, and lasts a lot longer.



on 5/13/2013 8:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I had the most horrible experience with this product. I bought the shade "Midnight Violet" I believe it is called. The picture on the box was a deep black with a purple tone/shine to it. OK: I KNOW that the color almost never works out the same as on the box. But this, oh my goodness! Not even close. I do have some gray, but even my brown hair was not remotely "violet black." My hair was a deep wine color.

Now, I am pretty easy about hair. I don't freak out if a haircut doesn't work for example. I'm more likely to get a demi-crew cut and begin with a "clean slate, " so to speak. Once I got over the disappointment that the color was not a whit like the box, I kind of liked it: purple-wine hair! I love purple in general. It went over well at the school where I work. The children liked it. And then: in 3 days it started to fade badly. Within 2-1/2 weeks I had this awful faded pink hair. Again, I wasn't too freaked because it's only hair. I was just flabbergasted that the color faded so quickly.

Also: the conditioner was just horrible as well. When I color my hair at home, I usually LOVE the tube of conditioner that comes with the kit. You know how silky your hair feels when you use it? Maybe I just got a bad batch of color and conditioner. The texture of the conditioner was actually grainy, and it left my hair feeling greasy and dirty. I used it twice and just threw it away it was so horrible.

I have used L'oreal hair color before and have not had such a bad experience. Perhaps it is just the Feria line; I will not be using the Feria line again. Nope. I dyed my hair last night with a Clairol product--a deep ash brown and yeah! The conditioner has my hair feeling soft and silky, my hair IS brown again. I totally can not recommend this product at all.


on 4/25/2013 1:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have used color 100-Very Light Natural Blonde for quite some time and consistently I get amazing results. One time, I tried to color my hair a reddish blonde color and it ended up looking like I rubbed cheetos on it so I ran out to the store and picked this up (as I should have to begin with) and thankfully I looked like a normal person again. I love this color too because I feel like it somewhat gives highlights and a bit more definition as opposed to when I just bleached it. I read a lot of reviews on this and it sounds like a lot of people try using this to go from light to dark (or vice versa) and give bad reviews. You should NEVER try to take your hair from one extreme to the next- go to a professional if you're doing something drastic. Either your color is going to fade out or its going to turn a color you really dont want, box color is more for just slight changes, people.


on 4/25/2013 1:57:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Used it in Absolute Platinum. After bleaching my hair 3 times, I ended up with dirrty blonde hair and tried to dye it lavender. Came out as an uneven dark purple-grey-brown horrid mess! Waited for it to mostly fade out then used the Absolute Platinum. O M G. After so many disappointments this was the little light at the end of the tunnel. Though I had some funky pale green highlights everywhere, the color came out impeccably even. It also didnt damage my hair which was a plus. Highly recommend and I definitely will use Feria instead of Quick Blue in the future!!!


on 4/20/2013 9:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I would NOT recommend this hair color.I used Feria True Red with color boost.This fades in 2 WEEKS! My hair went from a Beautiful Bright Red to Pink Grapefruit.YUCK! Feria DOES NOT stand by it's 6-8 weeks color.2 weeks tops!


on 3/27/2013 4:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really didn't like this dye. I used the color M31 "Midnight Moon," it's part of the Midnight collection. The color I used clashed too much with my skin tone (My skin is very similar to the model on the box that I used, which should've been an indicator that it wouldn't look right, but I wasn't as concerned at the time.) It came out extremely blotchy, I think because my hair's length was below my shoulders and I probably should've used two boxes. It also didn't cover my roots at all, and I applied quite a generous amount in that area. The color came out much darker than it looks on the box and was actually a very dark black, I didn't know much about boxed dyes when I used it but I was actually trying to dye my hair a dark blue color (as pictured on the box.) My hair didn't look shiny, it was really dull looking, and when it started to fade it looked very uneven. It also claims to be permanent, but I started to see the color fade within one or two weeks. My hair is both much shorter and much healthier now than it was at the time, but I will not be willing to try this again. The only thing I really liked about this was the conditioner it came with.


on 3/15/2013 9:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Awful experience with this hair colour. Bought the Rich Mahogany (41) to go a darker red, and it was a good look at all. Followed the instructions, ended up with bright red roots and a mediocre colour through the rest of my hair. I'm not sure if it's because of the way the highlights show up in the hair, but it looked like I'd missed random pieces of hair, even though on closer inspection, they were covered.

Will not be getting this again, especially since it smells worse (even with the added packet just to add scent to the dye) and is more expensive than my usual brand. Back to Garnier Belle Color for me!


on 2/27/2013 5:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been exclusively using Feria in 'French Roast' for over 3 years, I dye my hair on average about 4 times a year with it, and it is exactly the right colour for my natural hair. If it wasnt for my grey, it would be hard to notice my roots showing. I have medium thickness mousey brown hair with golden overtones.As it fades which it does, it looks like my natural colour, so i dont mind that it does.

It really does hightlight my natural highlights and theres many different colours that emerge after using it. People have said n occasion that theres a red tinge to the dye on my hair, but i've never noticed it.

The conditioner that comes with is my go to conditioner every time i wash my hair. I have a stockpile of those tubes and use it as a regular conditioner.

After 3 years though, my hair is getting super dry and split endy. Bu ti figure thats to be expected when using permanent hair colour.


on 2/26/2013 4:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am very fair skinned with light blonde hair.
I wanted to go lighter (about 2 shades lighter) to go almost platinum.
I bought the extra light blonde (I think it was 001).
I have dyed my own hair throughout my life and even worked as a receptionist at an upscale salon for 5 years.
So I had no hesitation using this dye at home.......BIG MISTAKE! My natrually light blonde hair turned puke orange! I was unable to fix this at home without going really dark so I had to go to the salon (as a 911 call to my local colorist). Needless to say 250.00 later my hair color was fixed.
I will never use this dye again!


on 2/21/2013 10:17:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My friend and I bought 2 boxes of Feria hair color. My friend had blonde hair, poker straight, her daughter had blonde hair, also poker straight and I have red hair, naturally curly. My hair did not have a drop of dye in it. My friend and her daughter's hair was highlighted blonde. I'm not a stylist and neither are they. We bought black hair dye. I have put black hair color in my hair several times over the years and never had a problem. My friend and her daughter have dyed their hair every color of the rainbow and never had a problem.We followed the directions to a "t". My friends hair turned blackish/grey with sapphire blue casts, her daughters hair turn Smurf blue! Her hair didn't have one strand of black in it! I'm not exaggerating that either! I streaked a small section of my hair and it turned black/blue/grey. I realize black hair dye has blues, greens or browns in it and you risk your hair turning that color after it fades. This happened instantly! After talking to 3 professional hairstylists/color experts I found out Feria is the WORST hair dye you can buy. As soon as I said the word Feria to all 3 people they looked at me with horror. It fades very quickly, it does not turn the color that they show you on the box. I understand that you're not going to get the exact color on the box but this was waaayy off! I bought cheap hair dye the next day to tone down the blue/grey and it worked 100% better! My friend and her daughter had to have their hair re-dyed. Bottom line DO NOT BUY THIS GARBAGE! Cheaper dyes work better if you can't afford the salon


Popular Hair Color Products


Olia
367 Reviews
Colorsilk
708 Reviews
Back to Top