Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3382 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 MarG05 on 6/23/2014 1:41:00 PM more reviews by MarG05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

What they don't tell you is that once you stop using proactive you will break out even worse afterwards. You can't stop
Using it when your skin clears like most acne prescribes topical creams.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Staurhy on 6/19/2014 2:37:00 AM more reviews by Staurhy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was excited to use this product as it had lots of great reviews and the ads we're very good at luring you in. No doubt this products works but unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positive.
Here are a few of the problems that I encountered-
-Very high maintenance and very demanding always having to apply it and you had to follow some strict guidelines in order for the product to work.
-My skin broke out into a rash the first time I used it.
-It includes a bleaching agent (to reduce redness) and the product ended up bleaching not only my face but also all my towels.
-My skin became very sensitive to light and during the summer I had to put ice blocks on my face to help the burning sensation.

I was very impressed with the packaging and the information that comes with it about skin and acne in general. They give you a nice roll up bag and headband to use as well. This product does work in time but, please be careful and make sure to trial it or consult your doctor or dermatologist before buying the whole system.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shaunan on 6/10/2014 5:07:00 PM more reviews by shaunan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i tried this when i was younger and thought i would never switch to anything else.
but heres the thing. if you have the sort of skin that they recommend you have to use this product, chances are this product isnt for you. if you have bumps that are red and irritated, the scrubbing agents in this make it worse. and then it dries out your skin, so its either bumpy skin or super red dry skin.

it took me a long time to figure this out. if you think you need this, try using something that doesnt hurt your skin instead. cream cleansers with no suds work the best.

but this, no. this hurts, costs a ton, and makes things worse for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bellamoma on 6/9/2014 5:46:00 PM more reviews by bellamoma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Wow, surprised by the negative reviews here. I started using the original proactiv 3 step kit back in 2002 and it made my skin beautiful. I had struggled with moderate acne from age 18 and started using proactiv around age 31. My acne is hormone, stress, and too much touching my face related. Tried benzamycin, cleocin (prescriptions) and retin A, which I totally could NOT tolerate. Nothing worked as well for me as proactiv did. I generally skipped the toner step after a while bc I found the whole cotton swiping bit to be annoying. I stopped using it until 2007 because my face had cleared considerably. After my son was born I needed it again and re-ordered with good results.

Now I'm facing hormonal changes again in my 40s. I wanted to stop using proactiv bc of price and bc I hate that mail order nonsense. I tried many,many other products before coming back to proactiv, now using proactiv +. I am happy with the product as it does my very sensitive skin good. Hate the price and the mail order stuff but it works for me without any crazy reactions.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Ashleydefreitassssss on 6/6/2014 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Ashleydefreitassssss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

When I used it it worked very well for me however when I stopped using it my skin was worse than you could imagine, there wasn't a single cubic cm that didn't have at least 2-3 breakouts in it. My face resembles gravel and extremely painful :( your skin becomes dependent and you have to buy it forever

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jdubois02 on 6/4/2014 1:16:00 AM more reviews by jdubois02

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The product dried my skin out and made it look wrinkled. I would never buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CJenkins33 on 6/3/2014 9:59:00 AM more reviews by CJenkins33

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Don't give into the hype this is just a water based acid product for acne it over dries your skin which end up causing irritation and rashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 PolskaBlondynka on 6/2/2014 12:36:00 PM more reviews by PolskaBlondynka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Tried the products before and did not like them. The Acne.org Regimen works much better with more gentle products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Carybear on 6/1/2014 4:28:00 AM more reviews by Carybear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm writing this review not because I use this now, but I did, in 2008-2009.
Yes, it gave me super clear skin. For exactly one year. Then, everything went south. My skin went from smooth and clear to a pimply mess. Then I stopped, and whoa man...things got stupid scary. I broke out in these deep, hard pimples that would not go away. I tried to go back on the Proactiv system and it didn't work anymore.
I'll never see that clear skin from proactiv again-that's fine because it's not worth the free radical damage all the BP causes and it does stop working.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sun2shine on 6/1/2014 12:27:00 AM more reviews by Sun2shine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

If you are using this product, STOOOOPPP!!! I have struggled with acne all through high school, and I used Pro Activ for about a year. What a waste of money! What fights the acne is the benzoyl peroxide! The Pro Activ cleanser has 2.5% benzoyl peroxide... You can buy Clean and Clear at ANY big box store. The Clean and Clear continious control has 10% benzoyl peroxide, and acne clearing cleanser has 5%. Clean and clear is way cheaper, and it does a better job, Justin Bieber just doesn't hype it up, which I'm okay with :)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products