Dermablend • Cover Creme - Cream • Concealers

rated 3.6(211 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 IreneP on 7/31/2011 4:35:00 AM more reviews by IreneP

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the Dermablend cover creme in Warm Ivory after watching a bunch of youtube videos. On those videos, the product really seemed to work, so I was excited to try it. I bought the Dermablend cover creme, Quick-Fix concealer in Ivory, and the setting powder.

I experimented with these products several days in a row and was very disappointed. First off, the cover creme settles into the pores (nose and surrounding area) in a very obvious and unattractive way. And it did NOT conceal my dark age spots on my cheeks no matter how many layers I applied. If this product can supposedly conceal tattoos, how come it can't conceal my age spots? It will minimize the dark spots by about 40-50%, but since it made the rest of my face look unnatural (especially the way it settled into my pores), that is unacceptable to me. The frustrating search continues...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jgamble0007 on 7/22/2011 8:16:00 AM more reviews by jgamble0007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The product has a big learning curve, it's greasy ( no matter how little you put on), rubs off very easily, it's expensive and breaks me out worse than what I already am.

I have severe acne and scarring. Needless to say I have a lot of redness and irritation.

Pros: Super quick to apply, and easy to use once you have a technique that works for you down. Blends easily into natural skin tone.

Cons: Rubs off Easily, has a learning curve. This product does NOT last all day, not nearly 8 hours.... With a setting powder and it's greasy. It also broke me out very badly after I used it for a while.

I recommend for those who have sever skin problems, and acne/raised marks that nothing else will cover.

Concealing acne can be tricky with this product since it's raised which is why I was disappointed with this product's coverage at first.

I use a primer under this foundation, it conceals better that way. This product has a learning curve, and it took me a few weeks to get it down. I use a skunk looking brush (common for stippling). I buff in 1 light layer of the foundation (taking straight from the jar I do not warm up). I then dip the brush and stipple in areas that need the extra coverage. I do not apply powder liberally, only moderately as it will dry and look terrible if I apply too much.

The dermablend setting powder is nice, but I think you could use any translucent powder to set, I used the loreal translucent hydra powder - It's cheap, great quality. FYI Dermablend is manufactured by Loreal, so the powder works a bit better (Less cakey) than some of the other brands I tried.

I have tried numerous concealers and foundations, and this one is up there with my Revlon Color stay for coverage. The Revlon looks more cakey, and if you have issues with your skin can be more difficult to apply.

Revlon Color stay is recommended for those who want a weekend warrior makeup. Something that will last ALL day - all night and not budge. I don't like Revlon Color stay because of the time it takes to apply, the need to quickly apply and it is more difficult to blend quickly and easily. Revlon Colorstay is also great if you have to swim... It's not waterproof but it's VERY resistant to water. I have never worried about my makeup when I wear revlon colorstay.

For quick uh oh moment use, go with the Dermablend Cover creme.

I no longer use it, I now use everyday minerals with a flat top brush. I get enough coverage and it doesn't break my face out. Update, ED Minerals changed their formulation and I can no longer use it, as it too breaks me out.



2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makiyazh on 7/9/2011 5:49:00 PM more reviews by makiyazh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

It's a thick foundation, but somehow doesn't actually cover anything. It set badly into the fine lines around my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jannaaikadeja on 7/5/2011 9:41:00 AM more reviews by jannaaikadeja

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When the concealer was new it works well for my face, but as time goes on the concealer's quality seem to deteriorate. I bought 3 creams so I had a long experience with it.

Also I don't like its horrible smell.

When I apply it in the morning, the concealer doesn't really last for the day. Maybe it's not made for tropical countries such as Philippines.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fadexscape on 5/27/2011 4:35:00 AM more reviews by fadexscape

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This does a great job of concealing any flaws. I bought this in yellow beige, which is a tad too dark for me. I'm sure if I got a another shade lighter and mixed them, it'd be perfect. Although coverage is great, it didn't last all day. Came home once to find patches of this stuff left on my cheeks. Ugh. It's possible that might have been due to all the other products I put on my face like sunblock, moisturizer, & primer.

I'll have to do a few more experiments with it. Overall, great product. But there's some liquid foundations that can do the same for around the same price and without the hassle of warming the cover creme.

I'd buy again if I can't find a foundation to meet my standards.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 5/8/2011 11:04:00 AM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is my current favourite, I played with Dermablend a few yearsback & did not like it, mainly because I couldn't find a good colour-match. Now I have found a good match & I am putting this as good as my Cle de Peau cream fdn (in a square jar; now discontinued).
The Canadian version of Dermablend, I believed, was bought out by Vichy, which is made in France, and the colour classifiction is different from the US. version, and it comes in a tiny 6 gm. size at $25 (can't quite remember).
I bought the G34 and G 56 for my NC 30-40 skin, depending on the time of year.
However, I found the US. version available from skinstore and it comes in 1 oz, almost 4 time as much product as the Canadian version for $5 more. Ironically, the US. version is made in Canada, but I cannot find that in any Canadian store. Yellow beige & golden beige is equivalent to G34 and G 56. The spatula is used to scrape (shave) off a small amount of the product to be deposit on the back of your hand in order to soften it before putting on the face.
It didn't work for me a few years back (about 10 yrs) because silicone primer was not popular, the twos are a perfect couple, you can mix in the 2 together before putting on the face. I can thin it out as much as I want with the primer, and keep layering it until I achieved the coverage I wanted, because the product is such a blessing, even if I use a bit more, its virtually undetectable, under natural, or strong sunlight, I checked with 2 mirrors at a 90 degree angle & its undetectable.
Face it, if I was given a cup of coffee, too strong for my liking, I can add more milk, or cream, or water, or more sugar, so if I get a fdn that doesn't suit me, I tweak it, you can do so, pre-mix a small amount in a small jar, simple as that, easier than whining.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* claragonz on 4/26/2011 8:35:00 AM more reviews by claragonz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I recently got into Dermablend after watching a lot of videos on youtube. This is a superb product! This is one foundation I will always have. You don't need to use a separate concealer with this. This cream really does a great job of covering all flaws. I think the key to not looking cakey is finding the right shade. Application can be a bit tricky because of it's thick consistency. You have to really blend. I got lucky because I ordered online, and Caramel Beige matched my skin tone perfectly. (For reference: Mac NC40-42)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lusciouspreciousluv on 4/24/2011 8:09:00 PM more reviews by lusciouspreciousluv

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I've been using this for 5 years now. It covers everything I need it to from acne marks to under the eyes and freckles. I'm an NC20 warm undertones and Warm Ivory is a good match. The 1oz jar will last you FOVEVER. I haven't bothered trying any other concealer and I'll find any excuse to try new things! Best of all, it stays put all day long on my very oily skin. (It may be drying for normal/dry skin.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nuni2011 on 4/2/2011 3:37:00 PM more reviews by Nuni2011

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best foundation I have ever worn. It stays on all day (even through Track practice) and covers up my (many) acne scars. The price is reasonable, though I'm used to buying drugstore brands. I also love that it's hypoallergenic (can't go wrong there). My one complaint is that without setting cream it rubs off :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Katinthecorner on 3/31/2011 9:14:00 AM more reviews by Katinthecorner

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I have freakishly pale skin. (NC15, though I think an NC10 would be closer if it existed) I am pretty much clear. So I need a foundation that can cover dark cirlces, veins, capillaries, and NOT look like I'm wear a pound of foundation, cake into my pores, and make me look like I'm wearing a mask.

I'm going to start by saying this product has a learning curve. I'm no makeup novice by any means, but after about 5 applications I'm still working the kinks out of my process. It's not the easiest foundation I've ever used, but I think it's worth the effort for the quality of coverage. That's why I gave it a 4 not a 5. It would be nice it if was a little easier to deal with, but as a woman who applies primer/mascara in a 4 step 10 minute process so it's "just right", a little extra work doesn't phase me in the slightest....

That being said, once you get the hang of this product, it is genius! You get a lot of coverage with VERY little make up. I'm always trying to get the most effect out of the least makeup, so something that makes me look flawless after a couple pats? I'm on board.

I use Too Faced Primed and Poreless, then some MAC Studio Tint moisturizer for areas that don't need a lot of coverage. Then I apply, with a super light hand, to my forehead, nose, cheeks, chin, and undereye with a damp make up sponge. Dust with MUFE HD powder, and I'm perfect. Flawless skin, but you can only tell I'm wearing make up if you get about 3 inches away.

I'd like to say I'll buy this again, but since I use sooooo little, and the tub is huge, I probably won't have to replace it for at least 5 or 6 years....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermablend products

More Concealers products