Rusk Str8

2.9

74 reviews

45% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/7/2006 4:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Ineffective performing its intended purpose. My hair slightly wavy hair behaved the same way it would if I had blow dried it without any product. Just left me with that frizzy dry fluffy look.



on 11/9/2006 8:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

HAIR TYPE: Fine, untreated, wavy hair.
RESULTS:
* My hair has a slight wave to it, it didn't make it look any straigter, just seemed to control the frizz.
* I used a round brush to straighten it, and got the same results as before using it.
* HOWEVER I noticed my hair didn't look puffy and it blocked the effects of humidity.
* My hair felt thicker, with more body.
* but... it didn't look shiny.

Yes, it has a strong smell.


on 7/14/2006 4:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product actually made my hair staticy! My hair is straight, short and dyed (frequently) red, so it's damaged, dry and staticy normally. I tried this and it did not help at all. I actually noticed a lot of hairs standing up after applying while still wet, not a good sign. I ended up using a lot since it wasn't working for me, and it ended up weighing my hair down and made it look greasy. I have it in right now and my hair is staticy all over the place. Plus I did not like that you had to use it w/ a blow dryer for it to work as I hardly ever use a blow dryer. For $10.95 I think there are much better products out there.


on 6/11/2006 11:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I actually have my hair treated every 3 months at the salon with Rusk's "Anti-Curl". This was recommended to me to help keep my locks straight and it has really met with my expectations.


on 5/16/2006 6:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG. I have fine curly hair and this is the best product ever. If anyone has thin or fine hair and wants it to appear fuller, this is for you! I will admit that it may not feel the best to the touch, but looks are more important to me. This tames my flyaways and sculptes my curls. It says its for straight hair, but my hair gets more curly than usual when I scruch and blowdry. I prefer to put it on to very wet hair and then scrunch. after much use, I like to wash with clarifying shampoo and good conditioner. I pay $11 at local drug store. I havent tried rusk shampoos or conditioners, but will soon


on 5/6/2006 8:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this for years. It is a great first step in straightening, but by no means could I (or would I!) expect it to be the only product I need to get sleek, smooth hair. My hair is curly, dry and frizzy. I apply it before blow drying, and it takes out most of the curl, although my hair is still puffy at that point. Then I go for the Rusk sea kelp shine spray (my holy grail) before flat ironing. I used to know people who used Str8 with a round brush, and it worked for them, but round brushing does not do good things for me. I think it totally depends on the level of curl and softness/fineness of one's hair on what Str8 will do. For me, it is a nonsticky cream that forms a base for the rest of my styling products. As a bonus, if I decide to let my hair dry naturally, it seems to work well as a curl definer, and takes away some of the frizzy look. So, a good multitasking product.


on 5/3/2006 1:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a good product but as a cosmetology student I can tell you that it's too lightweight to use on very frizzy or curly hair. It works great on slightly wavy hair or limp hair that needs a little frizz control because it doesn't weight hair down. It's better to use on thinner hair types.


on 8/25/2005 7:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've tried this several times - really does nothing for my hair. Doesnt really smooth it, and i still have frizz and a puffiness that is really annoying.


on 8/24/2005 9:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Ok, I'm surprised at the low marks this has received. It's what my stylist used to use on my hair to make it look awesome - now granted it's been around a while...maybe the formulas changed? I have used it off and on for the last 4 or 5 years. I bought some more about 2 months ago - it still manages to control frizz for me and smoothen my naturally curly hair (I use a big round bristle brush and blow drier to straighten) - used in this fashion it works. The smell isn't bad...to me it's rather unnoticeable - not some fakely scented fruity smell which I don't mind. The packaging is good - solid, plastic bottle with easy dispenser. You get quite a bit for your buck. I use about a quarter and a half worth and smooth throughout my wet/damp hair, then style as usual. Is a HG product? No. But worth the money.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Okay, I decided to get this product a while ago 'cause my friend got it, I figured it would work great 'cause she had perfectly straight, soft and silky hair. I was wrong, after a few days of using it, okay yeah .. it worked, but then after a few weeks I started to hate it COMEPLETELY. Whenever I'd use it, my hair would feel so stiff, and dry .. and my ends got seriously messed up, and the smell .. ew. It wouldn't even style right either, oh and protection against humidity [ yeah right, you kidding me? ] it was stupid. THEN I found out that this friend of mine who recommended me this "WONDERFUL" product had the Japanese Straightening Treatment done to her hair. so that's why her hair was so perfectly straight, soft and silky. It wasn't the STR8, it was the hair straightening treatment she got done on her hair! I got so frustrated, I wasted $13.00 on it! Now she doesn't even use it either 'cause it's starting to screw up her hair .. I got it about 6 months ago, and I haven't used it since, I ended up giving that same first bottle of this crap that I bought to my friend a month ago .. now she's gonna have to deal with it's crappiness. Wow, Rusk STR8 sucks major.


Popular Styling Products


Potion 9
437 Reviews
Mythic Oil
47 Reviews


Top Rated Rusk Products

Back to Top