Rusk • Str8 • Styling Products

rated 2.9(72 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 asylum23 on 7/14/2006 4:30:00 PM more reviews by asylum23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This product actually made my hair staticy! My hair is straight, short and dyed (frequently) red, so it's damaged, dry and staticy normally. I tried this and it did not help at all. I actually noticed a lot of hairs standing up after applying while still wet, not a good sign. I ended up using a lot since it wasn't working for me, and it ended up weighing my hair down and made it look greasy. I have it in right now and my hair is staticy all over the place. Plus I did not like that you had to use it w/ a blow dryer for it to work as I hardly ever use a blow dryer. For $10.95 I think there are much better products out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* imkt on 6/11/2006 11:53:00 AM more reviews by imkt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I actually have my hair treated every 3 months at the salon with Rusk's "Anti-Curl". This was recommended to me to help keep my locks straight and it has really met with my expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jareed on 5/16/2006 6:03:00 PM more reviews by jareed

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG. I have fine curly hair and this is the best product ever. If anyone has thin or fine hair and wants it to appear fuller, this is for you! I will admit that it may not feel the best to the touch, but looks are more important to me. This tames my flyaways and sculptes my curls. It says its for straight hair, but my hair gets more curly than usual when I scruch and blowdry. I prefer to put it on to very wet hair and then scrunch. after much use, I like to wash with clarifying shampoo and good conditioner. I pay $11 at local drug store. I havent tried rusk shampoos or conditioners, but will soon

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fanshawe on 5/6/2006 8:44:00 AM more reviews by fanshawe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for years. It is a great first step in straightening, but by no means could I (or would I!) expect it to be the only product I need to get sleek, smooth hair. My hair is curly, dry and frizzy. I apply it before blow drying, and it takes out most of the curl, although my hair is still puffy at that point. Then I go for the Rusk sea kelp shine spray (my holy grail) before flat ironing. I used to know people who used Str8 with a round brush, and it worked for them, but round brushing does not do good things for me. I think it totally depends on the level of curl and softness/fineness of one's hair on what Str8 will do. For me, it is a nonsticky cream that forms a base for the rest of my styling products. As a bonus, if I decide to let my hair dry naturally, it seems to work well as a curl definer, and takes away some of the frizzy look. So, a good multitasking product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* courtlee128 on 5/3/2006 1:13:00 AM more reviews by courtlee128

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a good product but as a cosmetology student I can tell you that it's too lightweight to use on very frizzy or curly hair. It works great on slightly wavy hair or limp hair that needs a little frizz control because it doesn't weight hair down. It's better to use on thinner hair types.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CurlyGirl321 on 8/25/2005 7:54:00 PM more reviews by CurlyGirl321

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried this several times - really does nothing for my hair. Doesnt really smooth it, and i still have frizz and a puffiness that is really annoying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Delphi373 on 8/24/2005 9:43:00 AM more reviews by Delphi373

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ok, I'm surprised at the low marks this has received. It's what my stylist used to use on my hair to make it look awesome - now granted it's been around a while...maybe the formulas changed? I have used it off and on for the last 4 or 5 years. I bought some more about 2 months ago - it still manages to control frizz for me and smoothen my naturally curly hair (I use a big round bristle brush and blow drier to straighten) - used in this fashion it works. The smell isn't bad...to me it's rather unnoticeable - not some fakely scented fruity smell which I don't mind. The packaging is good - solid, plastic bottle with easy dispenser. You get quite a bit for your buck. I use about a quarter and a half worth and smooth throughout my wet/damp hair, then style as usual. Is a HG product? No. But worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 fashionista_x on 7/10/2005 2:49:00 AM more reviews by fashionista_x

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Okay, I decided to get this product a while ago 'cause my friend got it, I figured it would work great 'cause she had perfectly straight, soft and silky hair. I was wrong, after a few days of using it, okay yeah .. it worked, but then after a few weeks I started to hate it COMEPLETELY. Whenever I'd use it, my hair would feel so stiff, and dry .. and my ends got seriously messed up, and the smell .. ew. It wouldn't even style right either, oh and protection against humidity [ yeah right, you kidding me? ] it was stupid. THEN I found out that this friend of mine who recommended me this "WONDERFUL" product had the Japanese Straightening Treatment done to her hair. so that's why her hair was so perfectly straight, soft and silky. It wasn't the STR8, it was the hair straightening treatment she got done on her hair! I got so frustrated, I wasted $13.00 on it! Now she doesn't even use it either 'cause it's starting to screw up her hair .. I got it about 6 months ago, and I haven't used it since, I ended up giving that same first bottle of this crap that I bought to my friend a month ago .. now she's gonna have to deal with it's crappiness. Wow, Rusk STR8 sucks major.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mander321 on 6/22/2005 11:43:00 AM more reviews by Mander321

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I dont like this product at all - does nothing for my curly hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3blindmice on 6/2/2005 7:51:00 PM more reviews by 3blindmice

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Str8 is in fact a product; a pretty useless straightening lotion. I was rooked into buying this a while back and it did nothing for my hair at all, except leave it gummy and tacky. Plus it smelled gross, and didn't work half as well as my cheapie Got2B Smoothed Over Straightening Balm. Now that stuff rocks!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rusk products

More Styling Products products