New York Color Browser

4.0

188 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Wax Ingredients: Petrolatum, Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Cera Microcristallina/Microcrystalline Wax/Cire Microcrystalline, Beeswax, Paraffin, Paraffinum Liquidum/Mineral Oil/Huile Minerale, 8immon0sia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Lanolin Oil, Silica, Propylparaben, Tocopherol. May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica. Powder Ingredients: Talc, Boron Nitride, Zinc Stearate, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Isopropylparaben, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Butylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Quaternium-15. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Ultramarines (CI 77007).


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product. I have been using this for about 5 years now. No way will i change it for another brand, plus is super cheap. I run through about 3 of this a year or so...I use it every single day in the dark brown. Love it.



on 11/10/2009 2:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

I definitely prefer this product over brow pencils--it looks more natural and is super easy to apply. I also really like getting the tiny tweezers. I would prefer if it flipped open and had a mirror. Great quality for the price!


on 9/17/2009 11:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I gave this a 3 despite it being an awesome product because they seem to have gotten rid of every color except brunette. erg. I loved the taupe/blonde shade they had last year, but brunette is the only shade listed on the website, so the other colors must have been dc'ed. :( It lasts a long time and the blonde one was perfect for me. The brunette is much too dark for a blonde unless you want the brown brow with blonde hair look. The product also lasts a long time and the wax keeps everything in place. It used to be so awesome.


on 8/16/2009 9:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Okay product but I don't think it's right for me with my dark Asian hair. The product comes with a brow wax and shadow colour and tweezers. I got the Brunette which is more suited for someone with dark brown hair with reddish highlights versus black hair (like myself). The brow shadow has tints of red in it which don't look natural on me.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/28/2009 9:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is amazing! The powder is super pigmented and lasts all day even without the brow wax. I don't use the brow wax; be careful of the brow wax melting in hot weather, it can get very messy in the plastic container. I don't use the brush it comes with because the brush isn't percise enough.


on 7/25/2009 1:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the Brunette kit!
The Good: If I want my brows to look strong, defined, yet natural, I must must must use the wax. Hands down. The wax enhances the shadow I use, making it darker (which is good because I have black hair!) and last much longer than it would normally.

The Bad: I have black hair...soo...the powder wasn't cutting it for me. It was too red, and looked unnatural, plus it is a wee bit chalky, which I could deal with if it colour were a better match! Also, it came with tweezers and a brush which i tossed (clearly ;) )

Conclusion: For $4.99 CDN, just purchasing the product for the wax is fine by me! Will repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

If one of the two or so colors they offer is a good match for you, these can't be beat.

The "brunette" version definitely does have red undertones - my hair is dark reddish-brown so it's perfect for me. I take an angle brush, tap it slightly on the powder, then tap it in the wax (I find this makes less mess and I don't end up accidentally getting too much color), then *gently* stroke over my brows. I then comb them out (up & over) with a spoolie brush, which shapes them and distributes the color / takes care of any excess. Looks perfectly natural and stays put. The wax is slightly odd in the case (it gets soft and slimey), but is fine on application.

The only downside is that the packaging is not the best (the slider has to be aligned just right and coaxed to close - I would prefer something that flipped open). But for the price, and how easy they are to find (which it doesn't seem there are many drugstore brow products), it's livable. I've gone through at least 3 or 4 of these and will continue to repurchase.


on 3/9/2009 4:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this powder every day, and it lasts forever! I don't feel I need to set my brows with wax every day, so I can't fairly weigh in on that. I have always felt pencils made me look harsh, so the dense brush and pigmented powder give just the right natural look for those who are wary of looking "overdone." The price is exactly right, and I hope they continue making this product, as no high end is worth the investment!


on 1/26/2009 8:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Horrible product. Made a complete mess and didn't do what it claimed to do. Not a good product!


on 1/17/2009 9:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

lots of fallout & smudges. colour is flat. wax doesn't do anything. brush & tweezer are useless. wouldn't buy again!
recommend: annabelle.
FYI: NC35. dark brown hair, brown eyes.


Popular Brows Products


Castor Oil
367 Reviews
Brow Wiz
331 Reviews
Eyebrow Kit
600 Reviews
Gimme brow
160 Reviews
Back to Top