Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1015 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 milevamaric on 3/13/2014 6:41:00 PM more reviews by milevamaric

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After much deliberation and trial, I've finally come to a conclusion regarding this product. Here are my major issues with this product. These issues result in this product receiving a 1 star review, as opposed to an average 3 star review.

A.) It's over-priced, with no luxurious ingredients to justify the cost. Additionally, the formula is very heavily fragranced and contains several skin irritants.The formula manages to include silicone and alcohol (two known irritants) within its first few ingredients.

B.) Beyond the problematic price and merely average packaging, Luminous Silk doesn't wear well. I'd excuse poor ingredients and heavy fragrance if the foundation provided a flawless finish, but even with a primer, clear skin, and proper moisturization, it separated within 3 hours, and became incredibly dry. (I use a silicone-free primer, which may not react well with the heavy silicone formula of Luminous Silk, but I have two other foundations in my rotation that contain silicone and function fine with the same primer.)

C.) Adding insult to injury, this product causes breakouts on otherwise clear skin. I have sensitive, fair skin, and occasionally experience breakouts from products. Often these breakouts are excusable, as the products are otherwise exceptional. With Luminous Silk, however, the breakout becomes unacceptable as the product offers only an exorbitant price, poor finish, short wear, and sub-par ingredient list,

In conclusion, this is by far the worst foundation I have ever used, with no redeemable qualities. As much as I detest literally throwing away 60 dollars, Luminous Silk will be entering my trash bin shortly. (Neiman Marcus has an incredibly restrictive return policy.)

Hope this review helps!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eimearsg on 3/13/2014 2:16:00 PM more reviews by eimearsg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my second favourite foundation !!! Literally makes you look so flawless and glowy ! I wear 6.5 and I'm a nc35 - 40 in Mac ! Deffs not as yellow but that's great because I don't have much yellow in my skin ! I'm very neutral ! ... This is a medium coverage and is great for someone with dry skin ! But I also know some oily girls who use this and love it ... Depending on what primer setting powder etc I could see this working for a variety of people ! This is always the foundation I turn to for nights out and special occasions ! Reminds me a lot of my other favourite vitalumiere aqua only with a bit more coverage ! ... Everyone needs to get this foundation tho it's absolutely amazing !! It just looks like your skin except perfect ! I find I get the best finish when I use my fingers ! It really helps work the foundation into skin and gives me the most natural finish :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ilali on 3/8/2014 9:47:00 AM more reviews by ilali

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

THE FORMULA:
Firstly, this is a good pick for DRY SKIN, not recommended for oily skin whatsoever. LIGHT MEDIUM to BUILDABLE coverage. This foundation is runny, but not so runny that it becomes difficult to apply. It is water based so it does not have an emollient like consistecy, however it is good for dry skin. LOOKS BEAUTIFULLY LUMINOUS WHEN FIRST APPLIED. I was going through a period of very dry flakey skin when I purchased this foundation to wear at my sisters wedding. It applied very well without catching onto the dry patches, but I did apply a very rich night cream the day before the wedding to ensure that my makeup does not cling to my dry skin. Overall the formula is GOOD but at $90 Australian Dollars I had expected it to be faultless.

THE COLOR RANGE:
Giorgio Armani uses a very odd numbering system (4, 5, 5.75, 6, 6.5, 7 ect) and is very confusing because the numbers do not necessary indicate the darkness of the shades in ascending order. I found shade 5 to be darker than shade 6. There is also no particular order for undertones. For instances, 5 is pink, 6 is yellow, 6.5 is reddish, 7 is pink. It is best to head to the counter and get a professional colormatch. Mine was spot on, I am SHADE 6.5 and for reference I wear STROMBOLI in Nars Sheer Glow NC35-40 in Mac Studio Tech and TAWNY in Estee Lauder Double Wear.

APPLICATION:
I applied this with a BEAUTYBLENDER. Because I have dry skin this was the best option for me. Ideally it should be buffed into the skin with a Kabuki if your skin can tolerate it. I would not recommend applying this with your fingers simply because this will result in a very sheer application.

STAYING POWER:
This foundation is definitely not long wearing. It will start to fade in the T-zone and breakdown after 5 HOURS MAX

THE VERDICT:
I will not buy this again mainly due to poor staying power and $90 AUD price tag!!!!

Check out my blog for more info and pics: http://arwaselixir.blogspot.com.au/

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Scrumpets on 3/6/2014 6:21:00 PM more reviews by Scrumpets

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation. I'm 40 & have very few lines although my skin is quite dry due to facial treatments. The base colour is more beige rather than pink/yellow like mac, which is perfect for my skin. This foundation is medium coverage although you can build on it or use concealer with it. It gives a lovely luminous dewy finish. U can easily make it matte with a powder. Ive tried all foundations & This is definitely the best!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Julip9 on 3/5/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by Julip9

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is the most fantastic foundation for people with normal to dry skin, and also it suits forty years plus, as well as younger skins. The shades are brilliant I wear MAC NW25 and 5.25 just blends to nothing, the best match I have ever had. It wears all through a work day without touch up, but that is on normal, dry skin. Definitely re purchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gwmagic77 on 3/4/2014 7:45:00 AM more reviews by gwmagic77

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Wow great foundation and covers large pores flawlessly. Looks great in photos

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Camille14 on 2/23/2014 9:49:00 AM more reviews by Camille14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I usually use MAC Match Master but thought I'd give this one a try because I heard great things about it. The packaging was okay but I just don't think this foundation is suitable for those with dark skin. To be honest on application it feels a little bit too runny which isn't great for those with oily skin. Once I had finished applying it, there was a strong red undertone to it and it just made my complexion look really dull, so quite far removed from luminous. Even if it cost 10 I still wouldn't buy it, especially as most of my friends said to stick with MAC as this product is just not flattering for darker skin tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 waffles85 on 2/21/2014 11:08:00 AM more reviews by waffles85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love this foundation. It doesn't break me out, I got an almost perfect match to my tan-brown skin, it does not oxidize, it blends superbly, and a little goes a long way. I have combo skin but I still like matte-dewy mix foundations... and this gives me just that for the first few hours, after which I start to get shiny in my t zone... nothing a little blotting won't solve. I wear it on all my makeup tutorials on youtube so check it out if you wanna see it in action :)





    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amsmua on 2/19/2014 8:08:00 PM more reviews by amsmua

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ls221 on 2/18/2014 5:45:00 PM more reviews by ls221

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product was so expensive, however, it did last a very long time (about 6 months). It was the perfect foundation, until after the fifth month of usage, it turned color on me. It may have been my weird skin tone, but it was very disappointing. Also, in order to get the full effect of the foundation, the brush must be purchased with it. And it is almost as expensive as the foundation. I use the brush now for various other products like CC cream and mousse like foundations; so it wasn't a complete loss.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products