Giorgio Armani • Luminous Silk Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.9(1031 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Bridget5 on 5/30/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Bridget5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This really is an absolutely beautiful foundation. I've tried gazillions over the years, I'm such a foundation junkie, so for this to be nearing a holy grail is saying something. It's so fluid-like which I normally don't like because I find runny foundations difficult to blend and too light, but this just sinks into the skin so beautifully. My 6.5 is perhaps slightly yellow-y but I did ask for something a touch darker since it's summer here. I do need to powder after a few hours but only because I have combination skin and I live in sweat-box Hong Kong. In short, lovely foundation and I'll definitely be re-purchasing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ejk28 on 5/29/2014 11:11:00 AM more reviews by Ejk28

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

WOW, just wow. This is so far the most beautiful foundation I have encountered. It is very liquid/ fluid like, so it is easy to blend in. It doesn't set quickly like a stain, which is fantastic because you can build up the coverage. Has a very natural look finish, very realistic and never looks like you have a ton of make up on. Love it! I do have oily skin and work full days in air-conditioning and I don't have any problem with this foundation staying on. Yes my t-zone will need a blot around the half way mark, but I can easily get a full 8 hours out of this foundation with it looking fresh and effortless! In my opinion this goes on a true medium coverage with one layer and just gives this beautiful "lit from within" luminosity to the skin (as the name would suggest.) Another GREAT point is that the foundation does not change colour at all, absolutely no oxidization or darkening (unlike Lasting silk). I have tried out a sample of Lasting silk and will defiantly be purchasing as well, biggest differences between the two is: Lasting silk does darken on the skin after drying, has more of a matte finish (although it does still have that gorgeous glow to it, and is slightly longer lasting 10 hours of great wear versus Luminous silk's 8 hours).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vioni on 5/24/2014 4:12:00 PM more reviews by Vioni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My HG foundation along with my Mufe HD! omg this is a really great foundation for the skin-finish flawless looking skin lol, this foundation creates a healthy looking skin and even when i wear 2 layers it still feels so light on my skin, i have very sensitive and oily skin, and this foundation never made me break out ever. Used this for months now and will repurchase if i run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ButterflyLobster on 5/17/2014 1:08:00 PM more reviews by ButterflyLobster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation has amazing coverage but the only problem is that it does not keep me matte throughout the day like MAC Studio Fix Fluid does. My t-zone is super shiny after an hour which is annoying because I am a mom and I don't have time to touch up my face. Also the colour #7 is supposed to be a warm tan colour but appears way lighter and ashy on my face. I would recommend this foundation for a full coverage ONLY but for the price and colour range it's just not worth it. I wish I just brought Studio Fix for 10 pounds cheaper!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Melldy on 5/9/2014 4:23:00 AM more reviews by Melldy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I am so glad I tried a free sample of this product before paying a hefty $92 on it. This needs to be be relabelled as a tinted foundation, not a medium coverage foundation. I tried building it up with no success it seems it absorbed into my skin and dissappeared. I completely agree with previous posts on clinging to dry patches, I had a small break out on my chin that was made to look more accentuated and looked and felt really dry. I honestly cannot believe that this is a high end product and so expensive. If i had managed to build up the coverage I would go through a whole bottle in a month. I also noticed the women wearing it at the counter looked really orangy yellow in certain lighting aswell, which did put me off, but none the less I gave it a try and it is a big fail in my book!!!!!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kellykonsta on 5/7/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by kellykonsta

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently had a shoot for modelling and the make up artist used this on me, it felt so light and gave a beautiful glowing finish.
I usually always use MAC but when this went on my skin i brought it straight away!
It is on the expensive side but it's worth every cent.
Its a medium coverage and gives you a natural glow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TheModType on 5/2/2014 9:25:00 AM more reviews by TheModType

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Let me start off by saying I wanted to love this foundation...However I had it applied at the Giorgio Armani counter and tried a sample at home and I hated how it looked. It accentuated my flaws (and I have a pretty clear skin), clung to dry patches, and felt extremely heavy on my skin. Big disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amyers2 on 4/27/2014 12:56:00 AM more reviews by amyers2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really undecided on this foundation. And really, if you're paying close to sixty dollars for a foundation - you should know whether or not you like it.

Pros - glowy, does not feel heavy or mask like on face, nice range of color matches (I'm pale with yellow undertones - a lot of foundations are either far too light or too orange), the packaging (bottle with pump).

Cons - sinks into pores, clings to dry patches, foundation wears off on the oily sections on my face (at the end of the day I can see where it has worn off on my nose), it does oxidize slightly.

Bottom line: i like the texture - it's lightweight and it does make skin look glowy and luminous. It's the perfect foundation for in between light and medium coverage and the coverage is buildable. However, this is foundation for my good skin days. It does require a primer to last for the majority of the day and even then it does wear off. Proper moisterization and exfoliation are necessary in order for skin to work with this foundation. I would expect these kind of set backs from lower end foundations, but not for a high end product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amerific on 4/23/2014 6:45:00 PM more reviews by amerific

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this foundation! One bottle lasted me over a year. I have yellow undertones and freckles and this looks natural on me. I don't break out with this. It doesn't look cakey and is buildable. I usually stick to all MAC products but when they discontinued the Hyperreal foundation yeaaars ago, I've been trying to find a luminous foundation. Mixed with a bit of GA fluid sheer this is absolutely amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rosepetalears on 4/18/2014 7:42:00 PM more reviews by rosepetalears

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Before I get into any details let me state the harsh truth about this foundation (for me): this would absolutely be my holy grail foundation...if it didn't make me break out in closed comedones wherever I put it :(((

It first came to my attention when Lisa Eldridge mentioned Luminous Silk in her favorite foundations video. I usually have pretty oily skin, but I just moved to a cold place in the fall, after living in south Florida all my life. My oily skin was experiencing winter! And seasons! It wasn't that oily in sub-zero temps, so I decided to try out a glowy/luminous foundation. This got Lisa's stamp of approval, and after much research to find my shade (#4, a perfect match), I bought some sample packets off eBay.

Sample packets in my possession, I applied the foundation--which is quite thin and liquidy--with my fingers. And OMG--my skin looked so nice!!! Lisa was right!!! Also despite the light consistency, GALSF can be built up to medium coverage. Skin imperfections I have are some few pimples and quite a lot, but very faded, post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation, and it covered the latter quite well! I still spot-concealed select areas, but I accept that with any foundation. It also wore well throughout the day.

And then, the honeymoon phase passed. Around 2 and half weeks later, I noticed a whole bunch of small flesh-colored bumps (closed comedones) all over my cheeks (where I usually apply GALSF). I keep up a pretty consistent chemical exfoliation routine because I'm so prone to CC and clogged pores, so I was pretty frickin frustrated. SInce this was the only new thing I added to my face, and I wore it at least every other day, Luminous Silk had to be the culprit.

Then I came across Dive14's review of GALSF here on MUA, and they stated it did indeed have some highly comedogenic ingredients. (Check out the review! Mad props to Dive14.) My skin is sooooo sensitive to comedogenic ingredients. Like, I do not products with coconut oil derivatives or algae extract with a ten-foot pole. So yeah.

This stupid beautiful product is really good if you can tolerate comedogenic stuff. Well, I also presume it wouldn't hold up in extreme humidity, but I tested it on oily skin during 20 degree F winter.
mrrrghhmmmmhrr

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Liquid products