Cover Girl • CG Smoothers All Day Hydrating Makeup • Liquid

rated 3.6(222 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 dotgirl101 on 3/12/2012 11:04:00 PM more reviews by dotgirl101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I genuinely wanted to like this foundation. I recently started using Retin-A for my acne and scarring, and therefore my skin is relatively dry and flaky. This foundation claimed it would hydrate my skin nearly all day, and thinking it wouldn't accentuate the dryness on my face, I purchased it.
To begin with, I loved the price: it was only $8 or $9 at Wal-Mart. Also, I loved the packaging--it was much more sanitary than a foundation you have to pour out. Lastly, I loved how easy it was to apply with just my hands.
The first thing I immediately disliked about this foundation was the color. I am very pale, and bought the lightest shade it came in (Ivory). Thinking this would be light enough, I applied it to my face and, in my opinion, looked like an oompa-loompa. This may have been due to the fact that I had to layer it on because it gave such light coverage, and that's the next thing I disliked about it.
The biggest problem I had with this foundation, however, is that it actually *accentuated* dry skin on my face that I didn't even know was there! I even had a moisturizer on underneath, so I don't see why this "hydrating" makeup made my dry skin look even more noticeable.
Overall, if you have clear skin with minimal imperfections, aren't pale, and are on a budget, I would recommend this foundation to you. If applied in one light layer, I'm guessing it would make your face look nice. However, if you have mildly-moderate to severe acne and/or scarring, other noticeable imperfections that are difficult to cover with other foundations or concealers, or have light skin, don't bother with this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mizzbouvier14 on 3/9/2012 10:51:00 PM more reviews by mizzbouvier14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this during the wintertime, as my skin gets extremely dry due to the weather. I have never tried any kind of tinted moisturizer before, but I did not want to have to deal with flaky skin this year. So I picked this up at the drug store.
Pros-
I have had no bad issues with dry skin this winter. My skin feels and looks great with or without makeup on.
Very inexpensive drug store find, which is always a plus.
Even though I do have to use quite a bit of product, it has lasted a lot longer than I thought it would.
It matches my skin tone very well
Great packaging

Cons-
I do have to use a lot of product to achieve the coverage that I need (Obviously, I'm a foundation junkie so I knew this coming into the world of TMs)
If I don't set it in with quite a bit of powder, my face does get kinda slick throughout the day

I think when winter is over, I may go back to either Colorstay, or MUFE depending on which one I buy first. Don't get me wrong , I am impressed with tinted moisturizer, but foundation will always be my first choice. HOWEVER, I will be repurchasing this exact product next winter, as it did do wonders for my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mirageangelhope on 2/21/2012 10:33:00 PM more reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product it really does provide alot of moisture with light coverage.This is great For days you want to look natural but still need a little coverage.I love this because it doesn't have sparkle or shimmer in the formula and last for 8 hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannon804 on 2/20/2012 3:12:00 PM more reviews by shannon804

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I liked the packaging of this foundation, but I was unable to find a suitable color match. I ended up buying two colors, blending them together, applying with a foundation brush, and finished with a dusting of powder. With my usual foundation (MUFE HD), I never have to even think about it during the day. Around lunchtime, my face felt a little moist, and when I went to check it out, I was horrified to see that my face looked like an oil slick! Somehow, the oil had separated from the foundation to create a strange, shiny layer on top of the color. It looked fake and disgusting. I will stick with my MUFE.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ashleyford on 2/20/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by ashleyford

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This really isn't bad foundation as cheap as it is. I don't think it has extreme lasting power, but if I set it with powder, it lasts me decently well throughout a work shift which is usually 6-7 hours, so I'm okay with that for a cheap drugstore foundation. It feels almost like a tinted moisturizer would, it's very light and not cakey feeling. I have used it before and if I remember right, my oily skin isn't too terribly irritated by it. It's definitely a good buy if you want something casually lighter once in a while and you're not expecting miracles as far as longevity of its wear.

I also say it's maybe... mid-coverage, ish. It definitely won't cover bright red bumps or anything large, definitely NO beauty marks or anything, but it will help minimize redness... so if you don't have large bumps, just some redness, this would probably be perfect foundation for you.

As far as buying this product again, this is actually a review I thought to do the second time buying it. While I don't use it every day, I can also say the packaging is sound and the foundation lasts if you don't use it that often, my first container I had for a little over a year and it never dried up or seemed to work any less efficiently.

Not a bad foundation for a drug store find... don't expect makeup counter results, but it does it's job decently. It's not one of those you angrily throw away because it's not worth going all the way back to the store for a return.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beckyrod on 2/17/2012 6:24:00 PM more reviews by beckyrod

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this a few months ago because I was tired of all the heavy, mask-like foundations I'd tried that were very difficult to wash off and irritated my skin. This felt very light and hydrating, yet didn't make me look oily(and I have very oily skin). My skin had no negative reactions to this. In fact, within 2 weeks of using this I noticed a difference in my skin for the better. My breakouts decreased, my skin felt smoother, softer, and just healthier after I washed the makeup off. The coverage is light to medium, depending on if you use concealer or try to build it up, but after all the good effects it was having on my skin I didn't need full coverage. Price is great, about $5 at Walmart for 1 oz, and you can often find it on sale or buy 1 get 1 free. Cover Girl also offers coupons very often. So, why only 3 lippies? THE COLOR SELECTION. Cover Girl makeup has ALWAYS had very pink undertones. I am fair-medium with a very warm undertone(pretty much yellow). The closest shade I found was soft honey, which seemed to match indoors but in the sunlight it was obvious it didn't match my neck and chest. It looked too dark and beige, no yellow undertones at all. Buff Beige looked like it might have enough yellow, but was a tad too light. If Cover Girl ever comes up with more shades to better suit warm/yellow undertones, I'll definitely try this again. But I would definitely recommend this to ladies with neutral/cool undertones.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 greenjeans on 2/15/2012 6:24:00 PM more reviews by greenjeans

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation has ended my search for my HG. I am 41 w/ sensitive, combo / dry skin, rosacea skin. This is the best for me b/c it matches my skin color perfectly (buff beige). I have very light olive toned skin & have a very hard time finding a color match. And it has a very skin like finish while covering my redness (I do have to layer it over areas that need more coverage). When I am oilier, I top this w/ the CG fresh complexion pocket powder.

Edited 4-2-14 I no longer use this foundation b/c according to Paula Begoun's besautypedia site this contains fragrance in the form of ethylene brassylate and is therefore not recomended for sensitive skin.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Snuggles555 on 2/13/2012 4:10:00 PM more reviews by Snuggles555

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I agree with Shannon24 - I gave up a high end & high priced tinted moisturizer once I got my hands on this in a swap, quite by accident. She's in high school & raving about it - I am mid-40's & raving about it. Covers better than a TM but still not as heavy as a full-coverage foundation. I have dry & sensitive skin - this does not dry me out or cause a reaction on me. And a whole heck of alot cheaper than the snooty-patooty TM I just put up for swap! :-)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shannon24 on 2/13/2012 3:52:00 PM more reviews by shannon24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm more of a tinted mosturizer girl. But I wanted a foundation to wear to a upcoming formal. That way I had a little more coverage. My skin is normal/dry. Especially in these winter months it has been dry in areas. So I wanted something mosturizing and not cakey. This is it! I love it. Its mosturizing and glides on great. Really nice color selection to. This is more on the lighter side of foundation. Not full coverage but perfect for me since I want a more natural look.

Price is great to! Around 5-6 dollars at Walmart! Don't buy at CVS they want double the price!

Anyway would recommend for dry or normal skin girls and those who want a lighter foundation coverage!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 theg6princess on 1/22/2012 4:27:00 PM more reviews by theg6princess

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

While I thought this foundation was okay, I wouldn't buy it again. I thought it was more of a tinted mosturizer than a foundation. I needed to put on a few layers to even cover up the redness on my face. Very hydrating though, I must say.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Liquid products