Almay • One Coat Mascara (lengthening) • Mascara

rated 3.7(141 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kallalily on 5/3/2010 6:23:00 PM more reviews by kallalily

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Many makeup gurus say that one product that they can review that isn't going to be subjective for everyone is mascara. I totally disagree! Most want dramatic, false looking eyelashes, and the rest want natural and soft.

I'm a total nekkid girl! Give me neutral gold and brown and green eyeshadows, a brown eyeliner, and a natural mascara and I'm good to go. I loveeeeeeeeeee this mascara! It NEVER clumps on me, gives me length AND volume, and is very very natural looking---like I have no mascara on, and that's how I naturally look, as opposed to very obviously mascara-ed eyes that many prefer! It never flakes or smudges unless I'm surprised by a water gun. It has a drier consistency so doesn't clump like other super creamy and thick mascaras, like the Covergirl Lashblast for reference. <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 naturally95 on 4/27/2010 10:58:00 PM more reviews by naturally95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As most reviewers have said, this product gives off a very natural effect to your lashes. It defines my lashes very nicely and gives a little bit of length to them. This product does not give my lashes any volume, but as it is a LENGTHENING mascara, I did not have any intentions for it to give me any volume. It did, however, darken the color of my lashes. The application was quite good. Since the formula of this mascara is a little drier than some of the other mascaras I've tried, it did not clump like the creamier, thicker formulas. Also, it didn't give me that brittle feeling like other mascaras. My lashes were soft and natural feeling with the mascara on. Throughout the day, it had minimal to no flaking or smudging. (I have oily eyelids, so that might been the reason why it flaked/smudged a little.) It did not bother my eyes, which is great because I wear contacts. This mascara is much cheaper than other drugstore mascaras. I paid around 5 dollars for this mascara - cheaper than the usual 7-9 dollar mascaras I've bought. Overall, this mascara is great for someone who wants nice, natural looking lashes. If you're looking for more dramatic results, I suggest you to find something else. (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 racheliz13 on 4/22/2010 12:48:00 PM more reviews by racheliz13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a lovely mascara for a natural effect. It makes a significant difference, yet the formula keeps the lashes soft and conditioned, while lengthening and defining. I've never experienced any clumping, flaking, or the very un-classy raccoon-eye effect. Also, it doesn't bother my sensitive eyes or damage lashes in the long run, like so many other mascaras seem to do. If I remember correctly, I think I paid somewhere around $5 (regular price!) at Target. A good choice for someone who wants defined, but not especially dramatic lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovelyxfugitive on 2/1/2010 1:30:00 PM more reviews by lovelyxfugitive

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love Almay's mascara because it doesn't promise you the world, and it performs really well. Currently I'm using black-brown, but in the past I've used the black and haven't found it to be overpowering. (Because of my uber-paleness in the winter time, I usually switch to a brown mascara.) I have naturally very long, light eyelashes, and this does define them and give the illusion of fullness without being ridiculous. Honestly, mascara is NOT something I'm going to spend 20 dollars on, because I do throw it out after six months, and I'm perfectly happy using Almay. I like it better than most other high end brands I've tried, actually. The only one I like more is Fresh's Supernova.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lovejkras on 1/30/2010 9:44:00 PM more reviews by lovejkras

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because I needed a new mascara and was at CVS and this was 75% off, making it $1.99, so thank goodness I didn't invest much in it. It never really impressed me, gave my lashes a natural look instead of a bigger pop that I look for (my eyelashes are blonde and short, wasn't really blessed in that category unfortunately). But I wore it for about a week anyway. It flaked everywhere, but I still decided to give it a chance.

After I'd used it for a week or so, if I rubbed my eyes, I noticed that my eyelashes would fall out...which has never happened from any mascara I've ever tried.

So, Almay, you win the prize for delivering the worst mascara I've ever tried by making my eyelashes fall out. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 milipudding on 1/30/2010 12:31:00 PM more reviews by milipudding

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my favorite out of all the mascaras that I've used! It lengthens but gives a REALLY natural look. And it holds curls pretty well too. Doesn't smudge. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tried_em_all on 1/10/2010 3:56:00 PM more reviews by tried_em_all

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I like this better than the Thickening...I find this has quite a bit of volume and didn't really lengthen for me, but this is definitely a smoother formula than the Thickening. I love the brown color - it's very rich, more the color of chocolate than the color of dirt, which is what most brown mascara look like. However, this drove my eyes crazy. I'll try it again at some point and update as to whether or not it really is this mascara, but so far, it does look like it bothers me. And ultimately, I like the Loreal Lash Out better anyway. It's smoother and really does help the lengthen my lashes, the color just isn't as nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LadyDianeC on 1/9/2010 11:25:00 PM more reviews by LadyDianeC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This Mascara is awesome. It doesn't make my lashes dry or brittle like some, and it really is buildable without all the clumps you get sometimes when putting on mascara. Love this formula. I usually have to put 2 different kinds of mascara to get my lashes the way I want them to but with this one I only need this one. I've been using this everyday and does not flake nor smudge as well as very black. I'll be purchasing this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmyzed on 12/23/2009 11:12:00 PM more reviews by emmyzed

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this a couple weeks ago at Zellers because it came with a free eyeliner. I have to say, I am pretty impressed with this. My lashes are very long but are slightly blonde at the tips, so I generally just want something to darken them. It really makes your lashes longer, and darkens them quite a bit, without looking really garish or dramatic. great for a natural look!

However, for parties, dates, etc... im not sure if this is quite as dramatic as you would like... but for everyday wear.... LOVE it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lissybeth09 on 12/13/2009 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Lissybeth09

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I only use nourishing mascara to keep my lashes healthy. I have naturally long eyelashes but they look short because they are gold at the tips. Mascara actually doesn't work on my...unless I buy the expensive 20$ kind. I only use them mainly to keep them healthy and to color them. This kind not only did that but it actually grew them! I shouldn't be so surprised but a lot of brands say that and actually don't. The only problem I have with this is it flakes slightly. I like the brush and the tube but I have to be careful otherwise it clumps and then looks like I'm wearing mascara, which I do try and avoid. I want my natural eyelashes to look beautiful not some makeup product. I say buy this! It's cheap to buy but looks like a pro did your lashes.

I hate hearing bad reviews...don't go by what other people say...you don't have to go by what I say, because everyones eyelashes are different. So what may not work for them worked for me. Overall I Love this mascara :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products