Almay • One Coat Mascara (lengthening) • Mascara

rated 3.7(137 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 lovejkras on 1/30/2010 9:44:00 PM more reviews by lovejkras

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because I needed a new mascara and was at CVS and this was 75% off, making it $1.99, so thank goodness I didn't invest much in it. It never really impressed me, gave my lashes a natural look instead of a bigger pop that I look for (my eyelashes are blonde and short, wasn't really blessed in that category unfortunately). But I wore it for about a week anyway. It flaked everywhere, but I still decided to give it a chance.

After I'd used it for a week or so, if I rubbed my eyes, I noticed that my eyelashes would fall out...which has never happened from any mascara I've ever tried.

So, Almay, you win the prize for delivering the worst mascara I've ever tried by making my eyelashes fall out. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 milipudding on 1/30/2010 12:31:00 PM more reviews by milipudding

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my favorite out of all the mascaras that I've used! It lengthens but gives a REALLY natural look. And it holds curls pretty well too. Doesn't smudge. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tried_em_all on 1/10/2010 3:56:00 PM more reviews by tried_em_all

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I like this better than the Thickening...I find this has quite a bit of volume and didn't really lengthen for me, but this is definitely a smoother formula than the Thickening. I love the brown color - it's very rich, more the color of chocolate than the color of dirt, which is what most brown mascara look like. However, this drove my eyes crazy. I'll try it again at some point and update as to whether or not it really is this mascara, but so far, it does look like it bothers me. And ultimately, I like the Loreal Lash Out better anyway. It's smoother and really does help the lengthen my lashes, the color just isn't as nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LadyDianeC on 1/9/2010 11:25:00 PM more reviews by LadyDianeC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This Mascara is awesome. It doesn't make my lashes dry or brittle like some, and it really is buildable without all the clumps you get sometimes when putting on mascara. Love this formula. I usually have to put 2 different kinds of mascara to get my lashes the way I want them to but with this one I only need this one. I've been using this everyday and does not flake nor smudge as well as very black. I'll be purchasing this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emmyzed on 12/23/2009 11:12:00 PM more reviews by emmyzed

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this a couple weeks ago at Zellers because it came with a free eyeliner. I have to say, I am pretty impressed with this. My lashes are very long but are slightly blonde at the tips, so I generally just want something to darken them. It really makes your lashes longer, and darkens them quite a bit, without looking really garish or dramatic. great for a natural look!

However, for parties, dates, etc... im not sure if this is quite as dramatic as you would like... but for everyday wear.... LOVE it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lissybeth09 on 12/13/2009 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Lissybeth09

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I only use nourishing mascara to keep my lashes healthy. I have naturally long eyelashes but they look short because they are gold at the tips. Mascara actually doesn't work on my...unless I buy the expensive 20$ kind. I only use them mainly to keep them healthy and to color them. This kind not only did that but it actually grew them! I shouldn't be so surprised but a lot of brands say that and actually don't. The only problem I have with this is it flakes slightly. I like the brush and the tube but I have to be careful otherwise it clumps and then looks like I'm wearing mascara, which I do try and avoid. I want my natural eyelashes to look beautiful not some makeup product. I say buy this! It's cheap to buy but looks like a pro did your lashes.

I hate hearing bad reviews...don't go by what other people say...you don't have to go by what I say, because everyones eyelashes are different. So what may not work for them worked for me. Overall I Love this mascara :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AnnaMariee1718 on 11/24/2009 9:04:00 PM more reviews by AnnaMariee1718

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This mascara is pretty good for a natural look. It's not going to give you really full lashes but it does good if you just want to look fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shmanderrsssx3 on 9/22/2009 7:31:00 PM more reviews by shmanderrsssx3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i went to target and saw this. the main reason it caught my eye was because it came with a bonus eyeliner. i was thinking this was gonna be 7 or 8 dollars guesss how much................5.19!!!!!!!! I WAS LIKE O MY GOD IM GETTING THIS. i was more excited for the eyeliner then mascara but when i tryed them out i loved the mascara but could care less for the eyeliner.
PROS: inexpensive, really lenghening, keeps a little curl, doesnt flake, lasts at least 6 hours or more(didnt really keep track), get alot of product, no clumps.
Cons:nothing absolutly an amazing mascara

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Tiggerbear on 9/5/2009 2:40:00 AM more reviews by Tiggerbear

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is okay. Have to apply 3 times to give me length. I prefer the Almay one coat thickening.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Olivine on 8/2/2009 5:56:00 PM more reviews by Olivine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Meh. Another boring, do nothing mascara. This mascara adds minimal length but no thickness to lashes. It just defines them slightly. I don't know if I'd call this a mascara, it's a lash 'enhancer' at best. Not worth it even for the dirt cheap price of no more than six bucks a pop.

On the plus side it doesn't flake or smudge on me...but I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Mascara products