DHC • Extra Nighttime Moisture • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(89 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Laera on 4/2/2008 8:25:00 PM more reviews by Laera

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I ran out of my DHC Coenzyme Q10 Moisturizer so I decided to try the sample I had of the Extra Nighttime Moisture cream before reordering the Q10. I was hesitant at first because the cream was so thick. The first time I used it, I think I put too much (there were no instructions on the sample to "use small amounts" of the cream). My skin was greasy, shiny, etc. I felt like I slathered on lard on my face. But I decided to give the product the benefit of the doubt. I never experienced any burning sensations...nothing. I went to bed and when I washed my face in the morning, I needed a chair to sit down. OMG! This product was amazing for my dry skin. My fine lines and wrinkles actually "disappeared"! Something the Q10 Moisturizer wasn't 100% effective at doing. I mean, I used the Q10 Moisturizer because it was part of the Q10 kit I ordered but it did not smooth my skin as well as the Extra Nighttime Moisture did -- and only after 1 use. I gave it another try the following evening. This time I used very little. Perfect! Not greasy at all. And the same results in the morning. After 5 days (and still using the same 3-day worth sample), my skin has never been this "dewey". And I never broke out from using this product. This is going to be my HG of nighttime moisturizers. I'm definitely going to order this instead of the Q10 Moisturizer. The 2nd sample I have of the Extra Nighttime Moisturizer will definitely tie me over until my order arrives.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mrs_Pooky on 2/14/2008 9:22:00 PM more reviews by Mrs_Pooky

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I've only been using this product for a about a week, so this is a rather preliminary review. That said, I've noticed a dramatic difference in my skin already. I was always afraid of moisturizers since I have combo, acne-prone skin. I tried a sample that I received in a catalog and was pleasantly surprised! My skin is more even and this hasn't made me break out at all. In fact, it seems to have helped clear up some existing blemishes or remnants of blemishes.

It also hasn't made me more oily. Quite the opposite. I awoke to beautifully hydrated skin that looked a bit plumper and dare I say radiant, without any excess oil whatsoever. The lines in my forehead seem to be decreasing too. I can't believe how soft my skin feels every morning. I can't seem to stop touching my face!

I know others have said that this didn't sink into their skin quickly if at all, but it sank in immediately for me, perhaps because I use so little. I can see how it would be easy to use too much. I couldn't purchase a full-size container quickly enough. I constantly keep looking in the mirror because I'm just so amazed (and I'm also looking for blemishes that I'm terrified will appear, although nothing has.)

It may seem a bit pricy initially, but a little bit goes a long way. I only use a pea-sized amount for my whole face, so I expect this to last a very long time. I've actually left the house without makeup the other day! I've been using this along with other products in the DHC line and am very impressed so far.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 msvelmalyn on 2/7/2008 10:13:00 PM more reviews by msvelmalyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I liked this alot. I think I will be purchasing this. It was greasier but I didn't seem to have any issues and I have oily skin. When I woke up I thought that the nasolabial folds (sides of mouth) looked pretty good and a general healthy good look on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mkirmse on 2/3/2008 6:16:00 AM more reviews by mkirmse

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample in the catalog and wow, was this greasy. Even after giving it ten minutes to soak in, I had to use two blotting papers before I could go to bed. I imagine it would be great for super dry skin but it felt awful and oily on mine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 soozeq68 on 2/2/2008 6:35:00 PM more reviews by soozeq68

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I received a sample of this and quite enjoyed how it felt after I washed my face for bed. I have very dry skin and it quenched the dyness nicely. I am a loyal clinique user so I won't switch right now but I loved the sample.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenettd on 1/15/2008 7:35:00 PM more reviews by jenettd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this moisturizer. This smoothed my dry patches. In the morning, my skin is smooth, even and glowing, I almost hate to wash it. I have clogged pores on my nose, but this moisturizer eliminates them. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hesperia on 12/25/2007 7:08:00 PM more reviews by hesperia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've just had a weird experience with this cream. We spent the weekend in Sun Valley. It was very cold and very dry. After a visit to Baldi Mountain (with temps in the single digits and strong winds), my face was taut and dry. And the fact that I had a pair of pimples that came out of nowhere did not help. Anyway, I decided to take care of my parched skin first, pimples later. I had a free sample of this cream with me (I always travel with DHC samples). I spread it all over my face. The next day, my face felt SO much better ... and the pimples were gone! Don't ask me to explain it. I'm just reporting. I never ordered a full jar of this because it's too rich for my combo skin. But I'm sure it must work well with dry skin. I just keep one or two samples of this, just for emergencies.
UPDATE 10/26/08: Well, just to prove how different skins react to different creams. Unlike jkovitz, this helped me a lot. Apart from bags and wrinkles, my undereye skin now decided to become extra sensitive (it never used to be; another "perk" of aging?). Now and then, it will flare up, become red, dry, and burning. I had one such flair up a week ago. I tried everything, but nothing helped. In desperation, I got hold of this cream and although it's not for the eyes, I gently rubbed some on the flare ups. It didn't burn (like everything else I tried). On the contrary, it rather calmed the burning. And two days later, the whole problem was gone. I've given up trying to explain how cosmetics work. All I can say is that what I had was one of my samples, and I am very sorry it's all gone. At $30 a jar (+ or -), I'm not sure I want to buy this since, as I said before, it's too rich for my face. But I wonder if it wouln't be wise to get it anyway and keep it for emergencies ...?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* duncan123 on 7/14/2007 5:44:00 PM more reviews by duncan123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I really, really like this! I got this as a sample and ordered the full size a few weeks ago! First of all, it might be a little pricey, but I have to tell you this will last a looooong time. The size of the jar is generous and it takes so little every night to put this on. I've barely scratched the surface of this moisturizer and I've had it for 2 weeks. I have no sensitivity to this whatsoever and after using the DHC Cleansing Oil, my face feels fantastic! I will definately buy again but it will be awhile...this jar is going to last a very long time. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess_eab on 6/23/2007 11:43:00 PM more reviews by princess_eab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Well, I would have rated this higher, but it burned and stung my skin on the two occasions I used it, so.... I suppose it's not for me. I don't have wildly sensitive skin and the ingredients look alright to me, but I see that some other people on here had a similar reaction. Otherwise, this was a bit greasy upon application but sunk in nicely. My skin was extremely smooth and nicely moisturized the next morning. I have acne-prone combo skin. I would buy this, but it stung so I'm scared it will cause irritation. try a sample first, if you can...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angel_Ling on 6/6/2007 3:01:00 AM more reviews by Angel_Ling

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

A pretty good nighttime cream. My skin type is: combo but dehydrated, sensitive, easily clogged and can break out easily with the wrong product. I was looking for a nighttime cream that would moisturize without making me break out, and tried this. The description sold me: "Use this intensive moisture treatment to help your skin recover from the damage of the day with olive oil, squalane, and a deluge of other emollients. Itís also fortified with collagen, so your skin gets back a little firmness with each passing night." Unless there is a kiosk in your mall, you have to order from DHC directly, either by phone or online at dhccare.com.

This never made me break out (honestly, quite a feat!), and kept me moisturized. However, one night I accidentally left the lid off and didn't realize it until the next morning. Once I saw that, I thought that most likely, all the good, antiaging ingredients must've spoiled or oxidized or something, and I soon lost my love for this moisturizer shortly thereafter. I wound up using the rest of it, but was on the lookout for a new moisturizer. I've since moved onto Mario Badescu's Seaweed Nighttime Moisturizer, which has been great.

Ingredients: water, butylene glycol, hexyldecyl ethylhexanoate, triethylhexanoin, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, sodium hyaluronate, hydrogenated castor oil, squalane, glycerin, stearic acid, glyceryl stearate SE, behenyl alcohol, polysorbate 60, isostearoyl hydrolyzed collagen, serine, carbomer, methylparaben, propylparaben, tocopherol, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, potassium hydroxide

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Moisturizers products