Laura Mercier • Eye Colour in Topaz • Eye Shadow

rated 4.5(73 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rainsim on 10/22/2007 8:18:00 AM more reviews by rainsim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really can't descibe the colour - it's sorta a mix of pewter, brown, and a hint of purple. Love the colour anyway. I have brown eyes, and sorta use it for a subtle smoky look. Went out with a bunch of girls, and decided to carry on through the night. All the girls used my eyeshadow, and it pretty much suits everybody. Probably best on my blue-green eyed friend. Really made her eyes pop!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juleslaw on 10/16/2007 9:50:00 AM more reviews by juleslaw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet, as it is my HG and go-to e/s shade. It is a brownish greyish taupey shade with fine gold/pinkish shimmer. It truly is a unique color, and would look great on most skintones. For reference, I am LM rose ivory (silk creme) or warm ivory (oil free). I would recommed applying with the LM eye color brush; the denseness of this brush makes the e/s have a very metallic finish and brings out the colors best.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thinkpink710 on 4/20/2007 3:29:00 PM more reviews by thinkpink710

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So unique! In certain light it looks like a shimmery brown. In others, it looks like a greyish taupe. I see bits of gold and pinkish shimmer in this too. Stays on all day. I use this in the crease, on the lid or as a liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KarenCG on 4/7/2007 1:41:00 PM more reviews by KarenCG

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A gorgeous taupey shade that will go with just about anything. I use this on my lid from lash to crease. The pigment is great, it applies smoothly and evenly with little to no "fall out". I love Laura Mercier eyeshadows in general!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SarahMc on 3/26/2007 3:44:00 PM more reviews by SarahMc

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is such a beautiful eye shadow that brings out my blue eyes. It's sophisticated and professional looking as well. The color is so natural it makes it look like it could be skin's natural shade in shadow. The texture is silky and creamy almost decadent. It's an essential for me and I'll keep buying it as long as they sell it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 achenm on 3/25/2007 1:05:00 PM more reviews by achenm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This may actually be my favorite eyeshadow ever (it's a close contest between this and Stila Golightly). The color has been well described in many of the other reviews--cool taupe with a hint of rose. Yes, the color is similar to many other taupes out there (especially Mac Satin Taupe), but this one has some undefinable quality that makes me think "wow" every time I wear it and that sets it apart from the rest (and I wear a LOT of taupes). Plus the texture is perfect--so soft and blendable.
I'm NW20, dark brown eyes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AliceinWonderland on 3/6/2007 6:46:00 PM more reviews by AliceinWonderland

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Topaz is a cool taupey colour that has a hue of pinkyness to it though you cant really see it. Its like Mocha Cup from Estee Lauder. Anyway, its a great lid or crease colour with frost, and its a great everyday neutral. LM shadows have an incredible pigment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beckibear on 12/27/2006 4:47:00 AM more reviews by beckibear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I got this as a gift for Christmas. It was one of the must-haves on my Christmas list after reading all the great reviews here. I tried it out for the first time yesterday and whilst it is early days yet, I really like this. The pigment is really good; it's one of the fist shadows I have ever got where the colour actually shows up. I thought it might be a little dark but it looked great. As I say it's early days and I need to try it out with other colours, though it looks great on its own, but I am really pleased with this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 12/6/2006 11:24:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Muted taupe with a touch of lavender (or is it rose? Hard to tell with this color) and a pale gold sheen, neither warm nor cool as a result. Makes for a pretty, understated daytime eye, but nothing particularly "wow!" as I've seen similar colors everywhere (MAC Satin Taupe, Patina, TiGi Taupe, etc.) It's quite versatile, though, and can be worn sheerly as a simple wash, blended into the crease with a lighter color on the lid (I like using Bare Escentuals' "Nude Beach" glimmer) or layered for a more smoky look. Texture and pigmentation are superb and the size of the pan is pretty generous. I'd be interested in checking out more LM eyeshadows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blyss on 11/24/2006 12:10:00 PM more reviews by blyss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a beautiful complex colour. As you can probably read from the other reviews, this is such a varying shade depending on the person's skintone, paired shadow, and lighting. For me, I use this mostly going out. I'm a MAC NC30, LM Sunny Beige with black hair and eyes. This on me is a beautiful shimmery taupe with a hint of amethyst undertone. Sometimes it can look golden taupe but thats only when the lighting is very bright.

The quality is sublime. Like all other LM shadows, this is butter smooth and glides on. It's so easy to blend and look professional. Its very silky. I can't recommend LM e/s enough! They're not as vast as Shu shadows but the quality does stand to be the same to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eye Shadow products