Laura Mercier Eye Colour in Topaz

4.5

76 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Dimethicone, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Nylon-12, Zinc Stearate, C26-28 Alkyl Dimethicone, Silica, Chlorphenesin, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Potassium Sorbate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Isononyl Isononanoate, PCA Dimethicone, Cetearyl Ethylhexanoate, Octyldedecanol, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate. (+/-): CI 77019 (Mica), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), Tin Oxide, CI 75470 (Carmine), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide).


on 1/27/2008 8:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

In my quest for the perfect taupe I bought this and as much as I wanted it to be "the one" ...it just wasn't. I felt the color and texture were just ok, nothing terrible persay...just meh. I think this had a little too much purple undertone for me and my yellow undertones. If you have tried Topaz and felt the same way...try Chanel Safari...it's now my HG taupe es.



on 12/1/2007 1:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When I got it home this didn't seem to be what I had chosen in the store but I like it anyway. In the store it had looked rather darker and distinctly mauve. I was looking for something that sort of colour to complement my green eyes.
When I got it home I found it to be rather lighter, a sort of beige/taupe but there is a distinct hint of mauve, although no way would you actually describe this as mauve. In any event, I have worn it several times and find it to be a really good everyday sort of eyeshadow. It looks natural and not too overdone during the day.
The actual shadow is a solid powder and glides on smoothly. I have applied it at about 6 o'clock in the morning and it certainly stays through till lunchtime. I confess that by about 7 in the evening it really is beginning to fade and probably needs retouching. But not bad nonetheless!
Good solid LM compact with mirror in lid. My only complaint with these is that, if you have several LM products, you can't easily see which is which because the compacts all look the same.



on 11/5/2007 11:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Beautiful shadow, but not for me. I find that this tends to be a bit too dull and grey on my lids. This could be because I typically use lighter colors on my eyes, but I think it's just a bit too grey for my tastes. An LM MUA at Bloomies in Soho put this on my eyes paired with sandstone and stormy grey khol liner. It was a bit rushed and I went for all three; once I got home I realized this wasn't the right look for me, so I think I'll be going back...going to check out gold dust and patina as a combo...for reference I have medium olive toned skin and olive green eyes.


on 10/22/2007 8:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really can't descibe the colour - it's sorta a mix of pewter, brown, and a hint of purple. Love the colour anyway. I have brown eyes, and sorta use it for a subtle smoky look. Went out with a bunch of girls, and decided to carry on through the night. All the girls used my eyeshadow, and it pretty much suits everybody. Probably best on my blue-green eyed friend. Really made her eyes pop!!


on 10/16/2007 9:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet, as it is my HG and go-to e/s shade. It is a brownish greyish taupey shade with fine gold/pinkish shimmer. It truly is a unique color, and would look great on most skintones. For reference, I am LM rose ivory (silk creme) or warm ivory (oil free). I would recommed applying with the LM eye color brush; the denseness of this brush makes the e/s have a very metallic finish and brings out the colors best.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2007 3:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So unique! In certain light it looks like a shimmery brown. In others, it looks like a greyish taupe. I see bits of gold and pinkish shimmer in this too. Stays on all day. I use this in the crease, on the lid or as a liner.


on 4/7/2007 1:41:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

A gorgeous taupey shade that will go with just about anything. I use this on my lid from lash to crease. The pigment is great, it applies smoothly and evenly with little to no "fall out". I love Laura Mercier eyeshadows in general!


on 3/26/2007 3:44:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is such a beautiful eye shadow that brings out my blue eyes. It's sophisticated and professional looking as well. The color is so natural it makes it look like it could be skin's natural shade in shadow. The texture is silky and creamy almost decadent. It's an essential for me and I'll keep buying it as long as they sell it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2007 1:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This may actually be my favorite eyeshadow ever (it's a close contest between this and Stila Golightly). The color has been well described in many of the other reviews--cool taupe with a hint of rose. Yes, the color is similar to many other taupes out there (especially Mac Satin Taupe), but this one has some undefinable quality that makes me think "wow" every time I wear it and that sets it apart from the rest (and I wear a LOT of taupes). Plus the texture is perfect--so soft and blendable.
I'm NW20, dark brown eyes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Topaz is a cool taupey colour that has a hue of pinkyness to it though you cant really see it. Its like Mocha Cup from Estee Lauder. Anyway, its a great lid or crease colour with frost, and its a great everyday neutral. LM shadows have an incredible pigment.




Back to Top