Skin Biology • Emu Oil for skin • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(70 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 saratink on 7/3/2008 4:29:00 PM more reviews by saratink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I use a brand of emu oil that is made locally in Tucson. It's 100% food grade emu oil in a little dark blue glass bottle with a pump top. The oil is whitish clear in color, and does not have any sort of bad smell as some reviewers have noted-- I really think this depends on the brand and quality you purchase- I'm a vegetarian and if this smelled icky like animal fat (as some have said), there's no way I'd be putting it on my face! The only thing I don't like about the bottle is that the pump makes it difficult to get out just a dab of oil at a time.

I originally started using emu oil in January for a new tattoo-- it works great to help heal new tattoos, and I've also found that when used daily, it works wonders on minimizing stretch marks from when I had my son 9 years ago. I've used olive oil on and off for the last few years as a facial moisturizer, and I always felt it left me too greasy and oily so I tried the emu instead. (tried Jojoba previously, my skin hates it) I used emu as a facial moisturizer for about 6 months. While it was not as greasy as the olive oil, it wasn't the HG moisturizer I've been searching for, and it's hard to tell if it might have made my breakouts worse. I just switched to Bindi's neem oil for a moisturizer, and while it's too soon to review, I definitely like it better than the emu.

Edit: I didn't like the neem oil, went back to emu, but I noticed in the last few months it has ruined my skin and I have a ton of clogged pores, which never used to be a big problem for me. So, as much as I loved the emo oil for the way it moisturized, i can't use it anymore

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oasdus on 6/20/2008 3:46:00 PM more reviews by oasdus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is fabulous! I have two sample pots of this, and they are going to last me for a long time. When I run out, I WILL buy the full size. Emu does wonderful things for skin, and I like that Skin Biology added antioxidants to it as well. It has an orange color, like egg yolk, probably from the Co Enzyme Q10. It just takes very little patted into the skin to do the job. What I do is put a drop on my fingertip, "smoosh" my fingertips of both hands together, and then pat it over my skin. It gives my skin a glow.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 draisy on 5/31/2008 5:13:00 PM more reviews by draisy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I use this around my eyes after my dermatologist explained to me that it actually thickens your skin. The skin around the eye area is very thin and the emu oil has been wonderful. I use emu oil around the eyes and jojoba oil all over my face.

You don't have to spend loads for these oils and they are all natural and really great for your skin.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pink_Ice999 on 5/3/2008 11:02:00 AM more reviews by Pink_Ice999

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Emu oil is the best thing EVER if my skin's got a bit sunburnt/windburnt - it's a very healing oil and I use it as an aftersun lotion for face and body. This stuff can clear up a mild sunburn overnight. I find the whole 'Dr.Emu' thing amusing though cause I'm from Australia and emu oil is dirt cheap at my local heath food store! Emu oil should be whitish and almost clear, with only a very slight, inoffensive smell. If it looks creamy or yellow and/or reeks that means it's rancid, don't put it anywhere near your face. It shouldn't smell meaty like some people are reporting, only a mild 'waxy' smell.


I know the fact that it's from a bird is offputting, however emus are farmed in Australia and primarily for meat/leather; the oil is just a byproduct. So the birds are not actually killed 'for' their oil. The oil would be chucked out if not for being used in cosmetics industry. Regarding animal rights, if you are personally ok with eating free range chicken, then using emu oil should be ok with you.

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wilsonj3 on 4/6/2008 11:43:00 AM more reviews by wilsonj3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using Emu oil with my other skin moisturizers because it is a trans-dermal. Thus, it helps your other products penetrate into deeper skin layers. I learned about this from hollywoodbeautysecrets.com.

I have purchased from Jurrasic Secret. Their packaging is just fine. I mix a few drops of Emu oil with my other products for a little "skin cocktail" and it goes on easily. Also, does not clog pores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gressett on 2/19/2008 12:48:00 AM more reviews by gressett

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought an emu oil from Waterlilly on ebay. I have used every sort of moisturizers from Creme de la mere to Oil of olay. I am a product ho. I tried emu oil after learning of it's anti aging properties. It supposedly thickens skin up to 14%.
I LOVE IT.
I have dry very sensitive skin. If someone kisses my cheek I will react to their makeup. This never made me have break outs.
And?!! My husband asked me what I was using. HE NEVER NOTICED ANY OTHER PRODUCT.
So now I have to fight him for it.
It was only 11.00 plus 3 bucks shipping and I look about ten years younger. Love. This.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 j3nn3y on 1/18/2008 11:59:00 AM more reviews by j3nn3y

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used various brands over the years and I find that quality can vary by quite a bit even if it's 100% refined emu oil. I've never used any American brands, but Canadian ones so I probably can't speak on any American brands.

I keep my emu oil in the fridge and when it is cold, it is white and looks like a lotion. When it is at room temperature, it is a clear very light yellow oil. It should not be grainy. Emu oil does go rancid like any oil, but usually when I buy it in health stores they keep it in the cooler.

I "decant" a small amount in a glass vial that used to hold a sample of Decleor Neroli Oil. It usually lasts me a couple weeks. I keep it at room temperature. I find that if the emu oil is solid when applied, it's more difficult to gauge how much I'm using.

I use a few drops of oil at night, after my toner and before my retinol cream.

I also add a drop of neroli essential oil(in jojoba oil) to my decanted vial and that overrides any gamey smell. I do find emu oil does have a slight odor, but it goes away very quickly.

I prefer the emu oil to jojoba oil, though jojoba oil is my fall back when I am out of emu oil. I'm kinda big into oils for skincare.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Listerine on 1/12/2008 3:56:00 PM more reviews by Listerine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Ick. I purchased Dremu oil and missed the deadline to return for my $$ back. Greasy, grainy and with a slight smell that is unappealing. For some reason, the thought of the liquid being extracted from a bird didn't occur to me until I received the product. I tried it for 2 weeks despite feeling a bit guilty about a bird dying for the vanity of folks. Perhaps it was the guilt, but my face broke out horribly, pores became enlarged and I felt fine lines were magnified. The dropper as a method for application is terrible as well -- too much product can come out at times. Looks like this works for some folks and I was hoping for me, too, with all the glowing reviews - but it will go back in the cabinet graveyard with all my other experiments - LOL

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bagheera on 12/9/2007 3:11:00 PM more reviews by Bagheera

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This doesn't break me out! I was shocked when I first tried it a year ago. It's winter again so i've brought it out of the cabinet. Really one of the best things to help me both prevent and treat dry, irritated and chapped skin during winter. It always soothes me. I used a minimum application on a cotton round~just enough to 'wet' the cotton, then smooth it over my entire face and neck. It feels ... ewww. Kind of like rubbing chicken fat on my face! Lol. The slight odor does disappear and my boyfriend has NEVER been able to tell I've put it on, except that my face looks more "glowy." I've also tried Dianna Yvonne's clear emu oil which doesn't smell and is slightyly less greasy-feeling, IF that's possible. But they both work very well for my skin. I like that Skin Biology's version has the vitamin E tocopherols added to it. My skin feels less stressed when I use it. Lots of brands out there. I like to make sure the source provides emu oil from ethically treated emus. There are many organizations ensuring such ethical treatment (and they are not limited to Australian suppliers, as someone else has posted.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emsiemilia on 9/21/2007 3:13:00 AM more reviews by emsiemilia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's a little early to tell, but so far I'm really liking this stuff! Mine is actually the "liquid gold" from Longview Farms. I've been using it for about two weeks, mostly just on dry areas, a few times over my whole face. I am fairly acne prone, and so far no pimples! I use it mostly around my mouth if the Differin is causing dryness, sometimes over my cheeks as well to add moisture and softness-- they are definitely softer now (although I admit I never habitually used a moisturizer before.) It IS a bit pricey for how much you get, unfortunately, but I think it's worth it. Oh, and no smell whatsoever.

Update: It's been a month now, and it's as good as ever-- still clogged pores, no smell, but soft moisturized skin. I've now also noticed that my face really seems to produce less oil if I use this. It's great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skin Biology products

More Moisturizers products