Skinceuticals • Hydrating B5 Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(181 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 prettyshine on 7/27/2011 12:15:00 AM more reviews by prettyshine

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Not sure about this one. One thing I can say is it did not make my face break out, which most things that are suppose to aid in moisturizing my face, do. It feels light on the skin but I haven't noticed a change in the appearance of my skin after several months using it daily. I may repurchase to give it another shot because I trust in the line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mandy412 on 6/21/2011 9:50:00 AM more reviews by mandy412

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

The lady who does my facials recommended this product for me to get extra hydration through the winter months. the bottle lasted me 6 months so I guess from that perspective it was a good value. But I didn't love the product. I think there are booster serums out there much cheaper that do the same and probably better than this. I used it but I don't know that it really made an impact. My skin looks the same now that it's gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChloeMUA on 6/20/2011 3:36:00 PM more reviews by ChloeMUA

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

COMBINATION & HYPERSENSITIVE SKIN: This did not irritate my skin therefore I'll give it 5 lippies. However, nowadays most skincare brands carry a good B5 Serum so I don't see the necessity to pay this much. [Skinceuticals.com - $69]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessicaerabbit on 3/26/2011 10:16:00 PM more reviews by jessicaerabbit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is an effective moisturizer by itself if you have the following skin types: Sensitive, acne prone, oily, or if you have rosecea. If you have normal to dry, better add this to your moisturizer to give it a boost. I have sensitive acne prone skin with a mild case of rosecea and it is just enough moisturizer for me without driving my skin nuts! I often find that most moisturizers leave me dry or really oily, or cause breakouts; but this doesn't! The only thing I don't like is the price tag. I use this over Skinceuticals Serum 10 AOX and I am loving my skin again.





2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LianneN on 3/9/2011 7:27:00 AM more reviews by LianneN

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE hyaluronic acid. It hydrates my skin very well and soaks in within seconds.

Skinceuticals B5 is soooo overpriced! I found another one, that has even more HA in it, and it costs half the price.

Def good for dehydrated skin, but this is overpriced!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LadyPeach on 12/7/2010 10:45:00 PM more reviews by LadyPeach

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

SkinCeuticals is one of my favorite skincare brands! However, this product was a disappointment for me, personally. This product did little to nothing for my skin in terms of extra hydration, something that I would have loved to receive as the winters tend to leave my skin drier than I would like. On the plus side, like most SkinCeutical products, this did NOT break me out!

On the other hand...this product was amazing and was highly recommended for my husband who received Fraxel.
His skin wasn't as irritated upon use and did not leave a burning/stinging feel, like most products tend to do. This definitely helped in leaving his skin supple and smooth! So for that, I would highly recommend this product to those who have received chemical peels or laser treatments such as Fraxel!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLove on 11/28/2010 2:26:00 PM more reviews by MsLove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This gel is a treatment that is excellent after chemical peels, exfoliation, Retin-A, Clindamycin, Ziana, or any other aggressive chemical treatments provided to your skin where exfoliation and high skin cell turnover is encouraged. If you want to give an extra boost of hydration and restore elasticity and firm suppleness after an intense treatment, this is great. If you are just applying it over your skin as a daily routine, there are probably better hydrators out there because you're paying extra money for a sensitivity that you dont need. This gel is very mild and can be used on sensitive or irritated skin, which is what makes it so great after treatments. This is helpful for those that cannot use basic lotions after treatments because they will burn, or oils because they will clog pores. Or maybe they are sensitive to natural alternatives, like Aloe Vera Gel, which is also very moisturizing, calming, and loaded with vitamins.



I used this treatment on my skin with great results for after treatment care. I have used it successfully after a 40% Lactic Acid chemical peel, and believed it helped in the repair and cell turnover for my new skin. I also liked it when I was using other topical treatments that were a bit agressive and might cause flaking/skaling. This helped to prevent or minimize that effect.


However, I do not use this as a daily moisturizer; I don't find it to be as effective for that purpose. It is great to mix in with your regular moisturizer, and it gives your skin an extra boost of vitmains without causing irritation.


I would recommend this for hydrating use after a Makuep Artists Choice chemical peel, after physically exfoliating your skin, or for mixing in with Aztec Indian Healing Clay masks. Or, for adding to an evening moisturizer or daytime moisturizer if you want added hydration for your skin.


I would recommend purchasing the sample size - since a little goes a long way and buying the full size may go to waste.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fancypants123 on 11/21/2010 6:22:00 PM more reviews by fancypants123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love to add this to my drug store moisturizer or my skinceuticals sunblock during the winter months. It is just enough to combat the seasonal dryness, and has never broken me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 berna on 11/4/2010 11:51:00 AM more reviews by berna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I must admit that I only used samples, but I am glad that I didn't buy the full size. I haven't realised any difference after the use. But it also didn't my skin condition (mine is really sensitive) worse.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snactres on 9/11/2010 10:08:00 AM more reviews by snactres

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I wish they had made this in an amber tinted bottle because I think it's sensitive to light.

Anyway, my esthetician uses this on me after my vibraderm sessions. It's the only thing that doesn't make my skin red and irritated afterwards. I decided to get this after a few sessions and reading the reviews about it here.

I'm not sure how long it'll last me, as I like to use at least 5 drops for my face and neck, but it makes my skin look sooo good and I seem to get more bang out of my moisturizers. I also use tretinoin, so I'm hoping that this will soothe my skin for that too.

I have oily acne prone skin, and this is great for evening everything out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products