Skinceuticals Hydrating B5 Gel

4.0

184 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Serum: Water, Sodium Hyaluronate, Pantothenic Acid, PhenoxyethanolHydrating B5 Masque: Water, Glycerin, Triethanolamine, Carbomer, Sodium Hyaluronate, Phenoxyethanol, Calcium Pantothenate, Sodium Benzoate, Panthenol, Sodium PCA, Urea, Disodium EDTA, Trehalose, Polyquaternium-51


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got mine from cosme-de.com. Still quite expensive compare with a lot of other products. Fortunately, best hydrating product have ever used. I just use 2 drops every morning and night, it gives me smooth skin without break out! It helps my skin go through dry and cold winter without problem. Would like buy it again.



on 8/2/2011 3:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using this gel on and off since 2007. I always stop using it when my skin gets better because it is expensive. This is a very good moisturizer for oily + acne-prone skin. When I was in my 20s, I only needed this gel as a moisturizer. Once I hit my 30s, this is no longer moisturize enough. I will need another moisturizer on top of this gel. But my skin is always calmer and healthier when I use it. That's why I keep coming back to this expensive gel.

Updates on 08/05/2013
This is my staple, and I finally discovered that I have to use a lighter moisturizer on top of this to get the most benefits. I can stay hydrated and not oily up to 6 hours. It's pretty amazing. If you suddenly have skin issues because of hormone, then try using this after cleansing. Don't use any sunscreens during the day unless you need to go to a beach (which I strongly discourage) and only every other night or every other two nights to use medication topical cream. If you skin flares bad all of the sudden, then you truly need to keep your skin clean and simple until it calm down and then treat the symptoms. One more thing you put on, one more thing will irritate your already irritated skin. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/31/2011 8:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

My sister gave me a sample bottle of this and I must say I am very impressed with the results. I get flaky skin on my forehead, nose and around my mouth and I find the gel immediately tames the flakiness upon application. For such a lightweight gel it's incredible that it can do this. However, I don't like how it tightens my skin but this is easily fixed by applying regular moisturiser straight after application of the gel. I will consider trying a cheaper B5 serum to see if i get the same results, but in my opinion this product is worth the price.

Edit 09/12/11:
I have since purchased the Medik8 B5 serum and prefer it better to SC. See my review here: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=141376


on 7/27/2011 12:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Not sure about this one. One thing I can say is it did not make my face break out, which most things that are suppose to aid in moisturizing my face, do. It feels light on the skin but I haven't noticed a change in the appearance of my skin after several months using it daily. I may repurchase to give it another shot because I trust in the line.


on 6/21/2011 9:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

The lady who does my facials recommended this product for me to get extra hydration through the winter months. the bottle lasted me 6 months so I guess from that perspective it was a good value. But I didn't love the product. I think there are booster serums out there much cheaper that do the same and probably better than this. I used it but I don't know that it really made an impact. My skin looks the same now that it's gone.


on 6/20/2011 3:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

COMBINATION & HYPERSENSITIVE SKIN: This did not irritate my skin therefore I'll give it 5 lippies. However, nowadays most skincare brands carry a good B5 Serum so I don't see the necessity to pay this much. [Skinceuticals.com - $69]


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is an effective moisturizer by itself if you have the following skin types: Sensitive, acne prone, oily, or if you have rosecea. If you have normal to dry, better add this to your moisturizer to give it a boost. I have sensitive acne prone skin with a mild case of rosecea and it is just enough moisturizer for me without driving my skin nuts! I often find that most moisturizers leave me dry or really oily, or cause breakouts; but this doesn't! The only thing I don't like is the price tag. I use this over Skinceuticals Serum 10 AOX and I am loving my skin again.





2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2011 7:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE hyaluronic acid. It hydrates my skin very well and soaks in within seconds.

Skinceuticals B5 is soooo overpriced! I found another one, that has even more HA in it, and it costs half the price.

Def good for dehydrated skin, but this is overpriced!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2010 10:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

SkinCeuticals is one of my favorite skincare brands! However, this product was a disappointment for me, personally. This product did little to nothing for my skin in terms of extra hydration, something that I would have loved to receive as the winters tend to leave my skin drier than I would like. On the plus side, like most SkinCeutical products, this did NOT break me out!

On the other hand...this product was amazing and was highly recommended for my husband who received Fraxel.
His skin wasn't as irritated upon use and did not leave a burning/stinging feel, like most products tend to do. This definitely helped in leaving his skin supple and smooth! So for that, I would highly recommend this product to those who have received chemical peels or laser treatments such as Fraxel!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2010 2:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This gel is a treatment that is excellent after chemical peels, exfoliation, Retin-A, Clindamycin, Ziana, or any other aggressive chemical treatments provided to your skin where exfoliation and high skin cell turnover is encouraged. If you want to give an extra boost of hydration and restore elasticity and firm suppleness after an intense treatment, this is great. If you are just applying it over your skin as a daily routine, there are probably better hydrators out there because you're paying extra money for a sensitivity that you dont need. This gel is very mild and can be used on sensitive or irritated skin, which is what makes it so great after treatments. This is helpful for those that cannot use basic lotions after treatments because they will burn, or oils because they will clog pores. Or maybe they are sensitive to natural alternatives, like Aloe Vera Gel, which is also very moisturizing, calming, and loaded with vitamins.



I used this treatment on my skin with great results for after treatment care. I have used it successfully after a 40% Lactic Acid chemical peel, and believed it helped in the repair and cell turnover for my new skin. I also liked it when I was using other topical treatments that were a bit agressive and might cause flaking/skaling. This helped to prevent or minimize that effect.


However, I do not use this as a daily moisturizer; I don't find it to be as effective for that purpose. It is great to mix in with your regular moisturizer, and it gives your skin an extra boost of vitmains without causing irritation.


I would recommend this for hydrating use after a Makuep Artists Choice chemical peel, after physically exfoliating your skin, or for mixing in with Aztec Indian Healing Clay masks. Or, for adding to an evening moisturizer or daytime moisturizer if you want added hydration for your skin.


I would recommend purchasing the sample size - since a little goes a long way and buying the full size may go to waste.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
69 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top