Carmex Lip Balm

4.0

1045 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Menthol 0.7%, Camphor 1.7%, Phenol 0.4% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: beeswax, cetyl esters, flavor, fragrance, lanolin, paraffin, petrolatum, salicylic acid and cocoa seed butter


on 3/19/2015 3:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This felt good on my lips but did nothing for my super dry lips it just felt minty. Vaseline did a better job.



on 3/14/2015 8:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Oh my lips, nothing else seems to work. The one in the pot is a better consistency than the tube - its slightly thicker and seems more moisturising. I adore this stuff! I think the smell is like marmite; some hate it or love it. I like it but i have been using it forever and so it doesn't bother me anymore - it is quite fragrant and does have a very unique scent. It lasts forever so for its price it is well worth it. Definitely will continue to repurchase!


on 3/13/2015 11:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I used to be addicted to this stuff because of the cooling sensation on first application, however my lips never actually felt moisturized. There would be temporary relief, but soon enough I would have to apply again and again. This turned into a pretty vicious cycle that I've only now realized I went through after discovering lip balms that really really work for me.

Overall, Carmex feels really nice but didn't do too much for me in the long run.


on 3/8/2015 7:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

The best for dry, chapped lips. I've tried so many. Dr Hauschka's is very similar, but a lot more expensive. I also don't mind the smell at all, in fact I prefer it over fruity balms, which I can't really deal with. Bottom line, this one really works!


on 3/1/2015 1:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I own this in the tube which I love because I don't have to get my fingers messy and it's very hygienic. This stuff is amazing. Yeah it doesn't smell the best, or taste the best (it's on your lips. You're bound to get a taste of it sooner or later.) but it works! I've been using this stuff on and off because I tend to save it when my lips get really bad. Today was one of those days. I woke up with super dry, cracked, painful lips combined with a cold sore. Yikes, right? I've been reapplying this stuff all day and my lips are super soft and supple and they don't hurt anymore. My cold sore has been reduced in size and the dull throbbing that tends to come along with it has subsided.

My lips get tingly when I put this stuff on and I can feel it work. Plus it lasts forever both in the tube and on my lips so that's a bonus.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

made my lips feel very sticky, didn't like it :(


on 2/14/2015 10:12:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

BEST LIP BALM EVER!!!! Healed my chapped lips.


on 2/5/2015 12:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Carmex will always be in my bag, it's my baby when it comes to dry lips.


on 1/27/2015 10:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I had never tried Carmex before because I thought it was more for cold sore treatment and not for parched lips. A friend recommended the original pot style balm after I complained to her that I had gone through multiple sticks and pots of balm this winter and nothing worked to fix this excessive dryness that is the worst I have ever experienced. I am very impressed. At first, it did burn, though I'm pretty sure this was intensified because my poor lips were so dry that they were beginning to crack. This sensation went away after a few minutes and for the first time since the winter weather began, my lips now feel silky, smooth and plush. Every bit of dry skin is gone and every crack is healed. I bought a pot for my purse and one for my desk at work, but I'm going to buy two more tomorrow...one for my nightstand and one to keep near my couch for when I'm watching television (this might seem strange, but I am a balm addict and I like to keep a stash nearby no matter where I am).


on 1/12/2015 7:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is a no for me. I'm a huge lip balm connoisseur, and even though my heart belongs to Blistex Medex, I can never pass up a deal to try something new. Target had the Carmex jars on sale in a three pack for only $3, so of course I had to wonder if it could replace my Medex.

Absolutely not. This is nothing like Medex.

The texture in the pot is like thick, hard, wax. Even after vigorous swirling, my finger barely came up with any lip balm the product is that hard. It was very hard to get the product to smooth onto my lips.

It is not a glossy/slick/smooth product at all. My lips were a waxy demi-matte once I got enough product out of the jar and onto my face.

I love mentholated balms, and the tingle is one of the reasons I wanted to try this product, but was let down in that aspect as well. The tingle isn't a cold, refreshing one. My lips felt irritated and more like they were burning than being soothed. The "tingle" of this balm feels exactly like Blistex DCT, which I am not a fan of at all.

This also smells very reminiscent of Blistex DCT, but a little more "natural". It doesn't smell good, but I didn't find it foul smelling either.

So, unfortunately I now have three useless pots of Carmex sitting around. The company *does* offer a money back guarantee, which I find very commendable, but I probably won't be bothered mailing out for it since I only spent $3 for 3 jars.

Give it a try. Some people love this stuff. I'll stick to calling Blistex Medex my HG for now.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1541 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
180 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3622 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Top Rated Carmex Products

image

Cherry- Jar

43 reviews
image

Lip Balm

1045 reviews
Back to Top