The Body Shop Coconut Body Butter

4.1

390 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Cyclomethicone, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Glycerin, Theobroma cacao (Cocoa) Butter, Clyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Lanolin Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Xanthan Gum, Benzyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Sodium Hydroxide, Caramel.


on 7/26/2013 12:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this as I was checking out at Ulta, you know they have all sorts of small little things near the checkout? Anyways, I usually like the small travel size tubs of body butter so I can keep in my purse and use. Not exactly sanitary but I use it anyway. I desperately needed a good hand cream and so I use this at work cause the soap in the bathroom is super drying. Anyways, I thought I liked the coconut smell, it does smell a tinge chemically, and I had my boyfriend smell it and he's said it smells like rancid s***. I smelled it again, and I don't know, it has the potential to I guess. He smelled it out of the tub. Anyways, the reason I give it 2 stars cause I noticed it causes acne! On my chin, lower jaw, near my lips. Since I use this on my hands and at work normally, I sit at my desk and I rest my chin and jaw on my hands. I was wondering why I was breaking out so much only in those areas, it's this body butter! Thankfully, I didn't use this on my chest or back cause then we would have major problems. Anyways, good way to know that your hand lotion might be causing your acne.



on 7/14/2013 6:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This body butter lasted so long, it's amazing how it hydrates my skin, for every season, and the smell is delicious and sensual! Everyone smells me and adore me ;-)


on 7/10/2013 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I like the smell of this product, but it doesn't compare to other Body Butters (especially TBS Olive Body Butter). It has a nice, summery beach smell, but I find the butter does not absorb well. Even though it says it's for extra dry skin, I don't find it that moisturizing. I find myself having to put a lot of it on, and it's just wasteful. For now, I only use it on my feet (glop it on, put on some cotton socks, and watch some tv while it soaks in), but by the next day my feet are hard and dry again. It's too bad, but I will buy Body Butter in other scents.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love keeping this container of body butter right by my bedside. Every night before bed time i moisturized my hands and this scent is so rich and soothing that it actually calms me and puts me to sleep. The coconut is very rich and moisturizing, very good for dry feet as well (helped with calluses)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2013 10:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Have repurchased this product over and over again. I keep it on my nightstand and apply to my hands, feet, and legs before bed. Always keeps my skin soft and in tip top shape, and the scent always brings me to the beach...


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love the smell of coconut so this smells amazing! Doesn't have that nasty artificial smell.

I use this product when I get out of the shower, and it leave my skin sooooo soft and doesn't leave it greasy at all! Plus the smell lasts quite a while on skin, which I love! Although it's quite pricey in Australia (200 ml for $30)

Regardless I love it!! Since I'm going into winter this will definatly be my best friend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2013 3:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It can be really greasy, just a warning for potential buyers. I use it for my legs when they get dried out, right after a shower. I've found if I put it on then, it sinks in better. Smells great too!


on 5/24/2013 5:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

It smells of raw coconuts, not that artificial smell but real coconuts. The smell stays on the skin for hours, even the day after. The texture is very thick and hard to rub in. The cream didn't absorb, just stays on top of the skin and makes me feel greasy.


on 5/13/2013 2:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have been lemming this for ages finnaly got the 300 ml tub although expensive $15 its absolutly heaven in a tub it hydrates my chronically dry skin and leaves it soft and radiant looking the smell is divine Its a very sharp smell of pure coconut and a subtle hint of vannila unlike other body lotions the smell usually Dissipates after an hour or so this lasts forever infact the smell gets more pleasant as it settles in the skin this is just true indulgence at its best.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/25/2013 6:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The smell is so awkward.... I like the body shop's body butters, however the coconut smell is just... Dissapointing.
Coconutty... Yet sickly.
Would not buy again.


Top Rated The Body Shop Products

image

Facial Buffer

31 reviews
Back to Top