Paula's Choice Super Antioxidant Concentrate

3.5

229 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Polydimethylsiloxane (silicone slip agents), Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Oil (non-volatile plant oil), Camellia Olefiera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Arctostaphylos Uva-Ursi (Bearberry) Extract, Lupinus Albus (Lupine) Seed Extract, Solanum Lycopersicum (Tomato) Extract (antioxidants), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Tocopheryl Acetate (vitamin E/antioxidant), Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract (anti-irritant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Retinyl Palmitate, Tocotrienols (stabilized, vitamin-based antioxidants), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).


on 9/19/2008 9:16:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

not sure about this one. Feels quite thick. Some breakouts afterwards? Continue to use on my neck though.



on 9/2/2008 9:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It broke me out! I had been acne-free for almost two years. Once I started adding this product into my skin care routine, I got huge cysts that have been taking forever to heal. I have a strong feeling that one of the main ingredients,dimethicone (silicone), is the culprit.

People told me not to apply anti-frizz serum near my scalp as its active ingredient, silicone, can suffocate my scalp and cause hair loss. I guess one has to careful about using silicone based skin care products as well.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 7/27/2008 7:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This serum is really helping to make a difference on my face, neck and chest. In conjunction with PC's skin recovery cleanser and 1% BHA lotion, this serum seems to be helping to even out my skin tone and keep my skin soft and moisturized. I recently had a mole removed from my face and decided to be very conscientious about applying this serum to the scab left by the removal. It seemed to me that the skin healed very quickly (and virtually no scar), and this was confirmed by my physician, who expressed astonishment at how quickly I had healed. A great product at a tremendously reasonable price.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2008 1:15:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have tried many primers, and truly hate the silicone ones like Smashbox on my oily/combo skin. I thought this was a nighttime skin care treatment, but it feels like silicone primer to me so I don't use it. Pity because I usually love PC's skin care and would love to have a great primer with antioxidants. What I thought was it's daytime 'partner' - skin balancing daily mattifying lotion - is actually a lotion and I wish it didn't have SPF so I could use it night. I wish I'd bought samples instead. Still looking.


on 6/5/2008 11:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This didn't do anything for my skin. It wasn't very moisturising as I always had to apply another moisturiser on top of it after it dried. Although initially greasy when applied, it absorbed into my skin quite well. However, I didn't notice any benefit to my skin so I won't be repurchasing.


on 5/31/2008 2:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using Paula's Choice products for several years now and I credit them with clearing up my skin completely. At 45, my skin looks better than it did when I was in my twenties - clear, even and very normal. Without her products, my skin becomes extremely oily, blemish-prone and simply unmanageable. This particular product, when used in conjunction with the others in her line, takes skin to new levels of smoothness and evenness. I use it after applying the BHA product (either gel or liquid) and my skin drinks it up practically on contact. The results are unbelievably smooth, petal-soft skin. When I apply it at night, I wake up to terrific skin. In the morning after using Paula's Choice One Step Cleanser (I can use either of her formulations), toner and BHA, applying the Antioxidant concentrate makes my pores disappear and my skin is really smooth and ready for makeup application.

I haven't had the problems described by other reviewers here with breakouts, cysts or other skin eruptions when using Paula's Choice products. But, then, since I can't seem to use anything else out there because of fragrance and other irritating ingredients, I find that using her products in conjunction with one another gives me the best results: clear, smooth, even skin with minimal to non-existent breakouts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/26/2008 12:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This broke me up in the most horrrible cycsts that I still am recovering from. I now have horrible red marks that will take months to heal and my skin looks bad! I wish I hadn't tired it!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was very disappointed in this and several other Paula's Choice products that I have used. First off let me say many of her products contain chamomille which is irritating applied topically to people like myself who are sensitive to that plant/flower family. She even says so on her website in her beauty terms dictionary. Getting back to the product, it is an oily liquid when applied and takes awhile to sink in. It left me with a shiny face even after it had absorbed. It made me itchy and had no positive effect on my skin whatsoever. I would like to see actual vitamin antioxidants in this( A C D E, etc) not various herbals that act as antioxidants because with herbals there is always the potential to be allergic to one or more ingredient.


on 3/3/2008 8:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

II waited to review this until I was done with the whole tube so I could report any results. I really dont have much to say except I didn't like the way it felt on my skin (greasy), I didn't see any positive results and it made me break out a little.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2008 3:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product left a light shine to my face and it made me break out (I haven't changed any other products I was using or add anything else new) so this isn't a repurchase. I saw on Paula's website that this product can do double duty as a hair serum. I've been using it as that and rubbing into my hands when I'm done. For the hair, it helps fly aways and helps it look healthier, but that's about it. Too expensive to buy for a hair product, but I'll use it up in my hair until it's gone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
69 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews
Back to Top