Lancome • La Vie Est Belle • Fragrances

rated 3.7(127 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 11/12/2013 10:10:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Lancome La vie est belle is a very pretty, elegant smelling perfume for the younger set. I get the patchouli first, it's sweet and soft, not overpowering at all. It's a patchouli for beginners mixed with a candy-like flair. From beginning to end, La vie est belle is soft, never in your face, never too sweet. The pralines lay low and everything is mixed together so well that it almost becomes difficult to discern any notes or evoke any particular images. This is more of an elegant perfume to me, one to wear to dinner, to the theatre, but certainly not out shopping, camping, hanging out or to work. It seems more suited for genteel occasions, linen , silk and lighter fabrics. Not a heavyweight by any means, with the tonka beans exacerbating its vanilla presence, this Lancome addition is better suited for those who prefer quieter perfumes of patchouli leaves, a sweeter vanilla with a powdery overtone. It's not a heavyweight, not a ground-breaker, and not one to be noticed, either. It's similar to many on the market today rolling off the perfume presses. It's just another similar fragrance that others won't be able to put their finger on because it smells so familiar. The juice inside, being pink, probably appeals to a younger set, but don't let a color dissuade you from trying a perfume. Sits closer to the skin and lasts a number of hours. The bottle is pretty tho, very feminine to match the pink inside...pretty for a very quiet perfume if that's your preference.
Top Notes: Black Currant, Pear.
Middle Notes: Iris, Jasmine, Orange Blossom.
Base Notes: Patchouli, Tonka Bean, Vanilla, Praline.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kukundrela on 11/8/2013 12:19:00 AM more reviews by kukundrela

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Very very SEXY smel!I love it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuburbanSue on 11/6/2013 1:54:00 AM more reviews by SuburbanSue

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is Angel, 20 years later. The fruit-patchouli accord that inspired a thousand imitators (earlier ones being Sonia Rykiel, Flowerbomb, Prada) has evolved into something smelling like a cross between Lanvin Rumeur and Coco Mademoiselle. It also, oddly enough, smells slightly like Narciso Rodriguez. Notice the trend? All new fragrance releases are starting to smell alike. La Vie Est Belle does not break any new ground, but if you're looking for a sweet, strong, rosy, yet youthful fragrance that has notes of fruit to make it more playful and patchouli to give it depth, you may want to give this a try.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Teochasse on 10/25/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Teochasse

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am lucky enough to live on the US/Canadian border so I buy my perfumes at the Duty Free Shops on both sides of the border at truly amazing prices. For example I purchased today Forbidden Euphoria /3.4 ounces/ by Calvin Klein for the unbelievable price of $64.50 and Eternity Summer/3.4 ounces/ by Calvin Klein for $ 49.60.Thus being said ,I was really looking forward to try on LVEB, as I was obsessed with the bottle. This is like, the prettiest perfume bottle I have ever seen, so classy and elegant. However, when I sniffed the tester card ,it felt like I've got a punch in the face........ I must have made an instant grimace of repulsion. This fragrance is so sickly sweet, sugary and cloying......I could not sense patchouli notes, just loudly pronounced burned sugar with a flowery twist. Some people here compared it to Flower Bomb by Victor & Rolf, so I sniffed the Flower Bomb too. Ouch! Too heavy, overpowering and powdery flowery. I don't think both fragrances are similar , their only similarity is that they are both nauseatingly strong and intense scents, almost suffocating. So if you like to make a statement by smelling like a woman from a Turkish harem or a Burlesque dancer, these both perfumes are the way to go. But not for me. I love beautifully made,elegant, understated scents that are pleasure to wear both for me and the people around me. So, Thumbs Down for LVEB. Too bad, I really wanted to like it , the bottle is gorgeous.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CoralElectra on 10/22/2013 10:26:00 AM more reviews by CoralElectra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Have received also a sample and was quite curious as this perfume was in every magazine I looked. When I tried it on my hand, I couldn't believe this fragrance was so popular. One word: afwul! Will never purchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clarissa90 on 10/15/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a sample from Ulta. When I sprayed this I thought, I have smelled this somewhere before. Now that I look at other reviews, it has to be Flowerbomb. It has the same sweet floral quality. If you are looking for a cheaper alternative, check this out. I however, will not purchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ceq373 on 10/9/2013 5:41:00 PM more reviews by ceq373

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

beautiful smell! receive lots of complements when I wear it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hula31 on 10/6/2013 1:03:00 PM more reviews by hula31

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It was love with the first... smell. Once I smelled it, I fell in love with this perfume. It is feminime, intense but sweet, girly but sexy... It reminds me of candy, so if you don't like sweet frangrances, it's not a god option for you, but if you do like them I think you will love it!!!!! It makes my day when I smell this perfume :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* galsunday on 10/1/2013 7:58:00 PM more reviews by galsunday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lovely floral girly scent. So romantic! This scent is sooo me! The salesperson gave me a scent strip and i kept it in my bag compartment tog with my iphone. When i took out my phone i got whiffs of it and i really liked this. I gonna get this... altho its really expensive!... But since it lasted in my bag all day im sure a little goes a long way...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hyim521 on 9/11/2013 2:09:00 AM more reviews by hyim521

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This perfume smells like caramel, vanilla, and sugar - with some floral. I like it, but it's very mediocre. I feel boring when I wear it.

Sometimes, the smell is too girly for me... no intrigue. That said, I think this would be great for younger gals in their teens.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Fragrances products