Clear Scalp & Hair • Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.0(166 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MmmQuinn on 9/27/2013 10:51:00 PM more reviews by MmmQuinn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the dandruff treatment version of this shampoo and conditioner. I was dealing with a moderate case of dry scalp, probably from hot showers and cooler weather. I continued my normal hair routine while using this combo, which includes blow drying, coloring, and straightening. The first time I used this, it smelled fantastic and made my hair super soft, but the dandruff remained. After 3 uses, however, my dandruff is completely gone! The conditioner is thick enough to condition my thick, curly hair but not so heavy that it made it greasy. Both the shampoo and conditioner do a great job at what they claim to do, and I have not experienced any problems.

Edit: After using this consistently for awhile, I am getting a little bit of dandruff back. Going to try cutting back on the hot water.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TheVerka on 9/25/2013 5:17:00 PM more reviews by TheVerka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using the conditioner for two months, bought on a whim at the local supermarket. This is the first conditioner that's left a lasting scent in my hair, one that I get plenty of compliments on.

However, my scalp has been very irritable and this is the only new hair product I've used in recent memory. I'm talking itchy, dry, flakes and little scabs (probably because I itched it). Even with Head & Shoulders, the problem hasn't gone away and I haven't had an issue with a variety of other shampoos/conditioners used (Pantene, Herbal Essence, natural products, etc). I started making my own scalp treatment with coconut oil, tea tree oil and jojoba and will have to discontinue use of Clear Scalp & Hair Therapy to see if it's truly the culprit.

Judging by the mass comments here and on Amazon that the chemicals are harsh and others are experiencing hair loss ... yikes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aljuntun on 9/24/2013 9:01:00 AM more reviews by aljuntun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I did read the reviews before buying this product and was a little scared about the large number of people experiencing hair loss with this product, however I assumed it wouldn't happen to me. I was very wrong. When I first started using these products I had a very good experience. My hair was noticeably shiny and healthier looking. After about 3 weeks though I started noticing a significant increase in my hair falling out. Especially in the shower, drying my hair, and styling it. And, the worst part, I believe it has actually weakened the root system oft hair. I can run my fingers through my hair incredibly gently and 5 strands will come off. Also, I have been starting to notice that my hair gets very oily at the end of the day, around 7.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 twilightbloom on 9/21/2013 5:46:00 PM more reviews by twilightbloom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I was standing in the shampoo aisle trying decide what to get and 2 workers (male & female) recommended this. I use the type in the purple bottle. It works great. I have thin hair and this gives me great volume. It smells nice to. I have been using it well over a year along with the conditioner.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elottee on 9/20/2013 12:50:00 PM more reviews by elottee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I never write reviews on like anything, I just read them =/ but for this shampoo I got to!!!! I have thick frizzy hair and dandruff, always had.dandruff since I was 12 , I started using this shampoo for a month now, and honestly I have seen quite a.difference in my hair =) my hair is shiny and more soft. Before my roots would be stiff dry idk why and my hair would be soooo frizzy and puffy I could not control it !!! This shampoo has.made my haiir super.soft!!! I havent expierenced hair loss like most people.say here, but ill keep using it as for the dandruff, it seemed to calm down a bit, its not completely gone but it seems to be improving =) oh another thing , I dont use conditioner and using the shampoo only , still leaving my hair looking and smelling gggrreeeat. But if I notice anything else I will come back and leave.another review.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 danii03 on 9/10/2013 12:34:00 PM more reviews by danii03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I just used Clear Hair & Scalp Therapy Shampoo. I used the one foe coloured & damaged hair. might i say, as soon as i got out of the shower and dried up. my face felt like it was on fire! im pretty sure its because of the high amount of perfume ingredient in this shampoo. I truly hope i dont experience hair loss because i already have fine hair to begin with. Although the smell is nice of the shampoo and it has a good lather, i don't plan on using it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yangxx2 on 8/23/2013 4:44:00 PM more reviews by yangxx2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE this shampoo and conditioner! I use the purple one, Total Care, and it does wonders for my hair. For a while my scalp/hair was extremely dry and would get really oily 4-5 hours after I washed it, as a way to compensate. I tried every type of conditioning shampoo/conditioner but nothing seemed to work. I even tried volumizing types but my hair was still limp and gross. I decided to try this since it was on sale at Walgreens, but what really caught my eye was that it was simply marketed as a shampoo and conditioner. None of that "volumizing" or "thickening" or "for sleek, straight hair" stuff that's never worked in the past.

Their website says: "Gently cleanses & nourishes scalp and hair. Formulated with Nutrium 10™, an advanced moisture complex of vitamins and nutrients including vitamins B5, C & E, sunflower, almond, soybean & coconut oils and aloe vera."

The first few weeks had my hair looking healthy and shiny, and I was impressed because it had a decent amount of volume. I was wary after the first month since I wasn't sure if it was just my hair reacting to a new shampoo. It's been 8+ months now and my hair still looks great! I have shoulder-length hair and I use a quarter-sized amount of shampoo in my scalp, and leave a nickel-sized amount of conditioner in my ends ONLY while I wash/exfoliate my body. The shampoo is opaque and not clear, but it doesn't leave my hair feeling like there's any residue in it. When I get out of the shower, I squeeze my hair in my towel to get rid of excess water that would drip and then just let it air dry. Super low-maintenance but my hair has movement and body!

I've also gotten compliments on how good it smells from everyone except my boyfriend, but I refuse to switch brands since it took me forever to find something that works :P

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Arrington0 on 8/23/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Arrington0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Before I start, I'd like to point out I'm reviewing their newest shampoo, the moisturizing scalp care i believe? Alright so I am currently already experiencing major hair loss and I know a lot of people are saying that this brand actually causes hair loss as well. The thing is, a lot of you guys don't state which line of clear you're actually using. Anyways, I went through all of the reviews and the ones that actually stated which line their using, same as mine, had no problem with their shampoo or conditioner (moisturizing scalp care). I went through the ingredients and theres quiet a bit compared to normal shampoos and conditioners, perfume being quite high up the list, 5th if i remember correctly. So if you're experincing itching or burning, you might be having an allergic reaction to the amount of perfume used or any other ingredients listed. Also, for hair loss, i took a quick look at other shampoo types by clear and many of them had more than one type of sulfate which is why your hair might be falling out. The amount of sulfate chemials might be too harsh for your hair and scalp which is whats causing them to just break off, same with head and shoulders if you're experiencing hair loss from that brand too. The mosturizing scalp care by clear only has one sulfate listed.

With that said, on to my review. The moisturizing scalp care shampoo. It has quite a strong perfume smell to it, so if you're those people who can't stand strong smells, I wouldn't recommend you buying it. The smell also lingers for awhile hear and there, which I personally don't mind. The shampoo also lathers very well. I only use a small amount, about a quarter, a little more if needed. I lather it in my hands before applying to scalp and hair. If you're experiencing buildup, you might be using more shampoo than needed per wash. Anyways, it leaves my hair shiny afterwards and light feeling. I'm also not experiencing any oil at the roots right afterwards like some people have experienced. Like i said before, the cause might be of over shampooing. And yes that is very possible. Oh and some also claimed that the shampoo theyre using has a thick formula which i don't believe mine has. I'm still experiencing some itching on the other hand but thats kind of normal for me but it didn't get worse or better. This shampoo does leave my hair feeling clean but I've only started recently using it so I'll update soon if anything has changed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 2010 on 8/3/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by 2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love the scent, but it leaves my hair feeling unclean due to the buildup it creates. I am also very concerned about the possible hair loss this might create after reading the reviews. It really dpesn't do anything special for my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lizmolina1 on 8/3/2013 3:33:00 PM more reviews by lizmolina1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

When I bought this product i read quite a few reviews about hair loss. I didn't want to believe it since people have different reactions to shampoos etc. I went ahead and bought it anyway and sorry to say this but it's true. I've lost a lot of hair since i started using this product. When I shower, when I comb my hair, style it, etc. Don't get me wrong..it smells great and leaves your hair soft, but it's not worth losing your hair for it. =(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clear Scalp & Hair products

More Shampoo products