Revlon ColorStay Whipped Crème Makeup

3.9

1265 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Water, Isododecane, PEG/PPG-19/19 Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, C13-16 Isoparaffin, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol Crosspolymer, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, C10-13 Isoparaffin, Glycerin, Salicylic Acid, Tocopherol, Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum (Orchid) Flower Extract, Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Silk Powder, Alumina, Polyisobutene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Cyclodextrin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica, Methicone, Sodium Chloride, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Propylene Carbonate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Silica Silylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol --- MAY CONTAIN (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxide, CI 77947/Zinc Oxide)


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Thank you lovely MUA reviewers for making it easier for me to pick the shade of this wonderfully whipped foundation! I browsed endless reviews and pictures to find my match. While I'm usually a classic ivory with Cover Girl, looks like Sand Beige does it for me with this particular foundation. I like it a lot! While this jar of enhancement is rich and creamy smooth, I like to apply it over my moisturizing cream Ziaja (Polish brand). This is usually office wear, I haven't spent a whole lot of time outdoors while wearing this foundation. My make-up stays put, doesn't get patchy and I don't see any weird color change either. Also, it's been holding up at the gym as well and that's after all day wear at the office. I apply it to medium coverage, though I can imagine one could take it up a notch. If I did do that, I think I might have to go a shade lighter to avoid looking like a mask wearer. I might repurchase, yes! If I don't, it will be because I like to browse and play and try new things.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 3/10/2015 9:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Were to begin...I wanted to get this as it seemed more of a creamy moisturising foundation....and as someone who has alot of dry skin under the eyes and around mouth and chin....the worst places to get dry skin I think...I had high hopes for this whipped creamy foundation!
Colour wise I got nude....which depth of colour was fine on my fair/medium skin....but found it a little pink really...not a fan of them pink under tones on my skin!
I loved the way it felt on my skin..not tight or too matt...dewy really...but still found it left dry patches showing a bit more then I'd ideally like!
I'm going to try mac studio sculpt next in nc 15-20...with no mac stores near by its a guessing game with colour!
For now I will keep using whipped as its creamy..hydrating and not a totally bad colour...buff would have been better but they don't do buff in this revlon foundation!
If you have normal skin and like a natural dewy finish then this is a great foundation...but I have some acne scarring on my chin. ..so a concealer is needed ...it covers well...just not enough for me...its more a medium coverage....x

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Few comments:
Looking for my HG. Past month tried Estee Lauder light #3, Smashbox 15 (all 2 shades, way orange sad to say), Philosophy (both kinds preferred Miracle bc more coverage. #6), Kat, and my usual Mac NC30 Studio Fix. Most shades seemed slightly light. Not the SB. That was simply orange. Sad to say, wanted a long-wear and reviews on SB were awesome! Philosophy Miracle #6 was the choice. Liked it a lot (still do). Fortunately, or unfortunately, I was still OCD about a long-wear (and was secretly mourning SB being way orange).

Thoughts turned to Colorstay which I wore 18 years ago. OMG where did time go? Read reviews, they were great. Saw there was a new Whipped version. Hated to buy drugstore bc really wanted a treat and an HG!!

Recommendations color match for Mac NC30 (thank to MA poster who organized the color chart below) was Medium Beige in liquid (dry/normal) and Warm Golden in Whipped. Figured I would try both. I remember the liquids being slightly drying and knowing my skin is mote dry NOW I was thinking Whipped may be the way to go?

I also was told by friends all the matches I tried (above) were slightly light (???). Blended well with my neck but it seems my neck is a bit lighter than my chest and face. Therefore, I also bought True Beige in origional CS liquid dry and the next suggested yellow tone Whipped Natural Tan (match for NC 35-37).

Results: Origional liquid dry Medium Beige was SLIGHTLY light. Didn't debate the other shade I purchased bc I just felt it looked to dry on my 40s skin (runs dry) even with moisturizer underneath and Smashbox reg. primer.

Whipped: Soo nice! LOVE! Warm Golden was a TAD light (based on chest) and Natural Tan a tad dark (based on neck). Decided the Natural Tan was better (husband agreed). Went on easy. No issues. I read to go light vs heavy, use fingers (also will try a beauty sponge once I buy one) and layer if needed, once dried. Afraid for the "caked look" so I was careful.

WOW! Long lasting, nice medium to full coverage. Can say it was better than other foundations I had been trying/using lately. Need to get the opinion of my BFF before calling this my HG (who by the way said she liked my old Studio NC30 the best on me of all mentioned I tried above). I needed a change and wanted a long-wear so....BFFs biggest issue with the ones I tried were that they seemed "too light". Everybody who matched me coukdnt be wrong BUT they wwre lighter than my Mac NC30 (which did not look dark on me). This is the reason why I opted to go with Natural Tav vs. Warm Golden since I guess I am between the two shades. considered keeping both shades and mixing them together I did read it gets a little stick when older and my husband felt that wasn't necessary Natural Tan was a good match.

** not to complicate the issue, but for years I wore nc35. I thought it was a little dark tadddd and when I needed more, the Mac lady match me with NC30 and said it was better (but I suggested it so who knows). NC30 is good. Memory can not really remember NC35 bc it was several years ago.

LOVE IT! long lasting, is good for my dry, 40 skin, colors seem to match well, not dry looking (did NOT use setting powder, but did use primer SBox and moisturizer under).


Repost of chart Mac matches (thank u whoever did this!!) for reference:


0
Full Size Image



Picture of NC30, Warm Golden and Natural Tan on arm. Left top Warm Golden whipped, top right NatTan whipped and bottom is Mac NC30 Studio (yellower). The swatches are on thicker than wear on face.


1
Full Size Image

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.


on 3/6/2015 1:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This stuff can be summarized in one word: Bulletproof.

For those who require more than a one word review:

I got this about 8 months ago, during my endless search for the perfect foundation. I've bought many foundations before, and many since, yet I kept coming back to the Revlon colorstay whipped. But no matter how many times I tried it, my opinion remained the same: meh. I just couldn't get it to work for my dry skin, and I really wanted to love it. Finally, about a month ago, I started crawling the Internet for reviews and demos about it. After a few days of experimentation, I finally found the secret to making this work and now I'm obsessed with it. It's all about how you prime and apply.

First of all, this cakes up badly if you try to apply it to dry, unmoisturized skin. It looks like a mask, it blends badly and it sits in pores. But if you moisturize well and prep with a good silicone based primer, you're golden.

The consistency reminds me of pudding. Or putty even. First I smooth a thin layer of the foundation over my skin. Putting one thick layer on is a sure fire way to achieve cake face. I let it dry for a bit, then I pat a second thin, even layer onto my face with my fingers and it just melts down into my skin like butter, giving a semi-matte kind of finish.

This stands up to heat, humidity and my extensive facial sweating for hours on end. It doesn't transfer and it doesn't oxidize. Like I said, bulletproof.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2015 7:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

HG for me.

I used to want something with maximum coverage, but as I get older I realize it just makes me look, well, older. I have been using this for a few years, loving the coverage, but recently decided to go lighter because the Retin A I'm using has improved my skin.

I now concentrate application on the center of my face (for me, my fingers are the best application) and sheer it out toward the edges of my face. I do have to use a mineral powder around my nose (broken capillaries) but it gives enough cover and still looks natural.

It's also the only foundation I can use if my face is peeling from an AHA peel (a high % peel) or overdoing it on the Retin A or other active that doesn't make my skin look truly terrible.

It has no sunscreen, which is a plus for me. I use Avobenzone in some sunscreens and some sunscreens in foundations make it unstable.

It's versatile - you can sheer it out or use a few layers for maximum coverage. I am guessing oily-skinned gals won't really care for it, though.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

One of my most favourite, if not a HG foundation. Discovered this 2 years ago and have been consistently using it since. I'm in the shade 240 Natural Beige. The texture is just what the name states: it's a whipped foundation, similar to a mousse but creamier. I use either a stippling or buffing brush to apply, and I find that a brush is the best and easiest way to work this in after dotting the product evenly on my face. Coverage is medium-full, and I usually don't feel the need to conceal after. I don't have any major blemishes, just some minor acne scarring, so one layer is usually enough. It will accentuate dry patches, so make sure to moisturize well prior. It has a lovely matte finish that doesn't leave my face looking flat. It keeps my oils at bay, and whatever peeks through only leaves a luminous finish. Regardless of the temperature (granted that it isn't in the extremes), this will wear beautifully throughout the day. I'd even say it just keeps looking better the longer I have it on. My only gripe is the packaging: the inside of the plastic lid has cracked on me numerous times and now it's just really awkward to close lol. Also the glass jar is extremely bulky and heavy, not travel friendly. Other than that, a great foundation!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/3/2015 2:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Right now, this is the best one-step, full-coverage foundation I own.

My skin type: oily and acne-prone, with easily congested pores.

Preferred application method: I use a triangular wedge, the kind you can buy at any drugstore. I dampen it using water from my tap. I then take some of the CS and place it on the back of my hand. I dip the flat base of the wedge into the CS, and then stipple all over my face. This sets quickly, so I keep one of those buffing brushes nearby--I use the Sonia Kashuk Duo Fiber Multipurpose (whew, what a mouthful!), which I'm mentioning just so you can Google and see what kind of brush I'm talking about. So I'll stipple the CS over, say, my chin, then immediately buff with the brush. Then I repeat the process on my left cheek, right cheek, forehead, and nose. Buffing it in fills my pores, and kind of smooths out my skin texture. After all this, I set with powder.

Pros: This stuff DOES NOT BUDGE. For the record I hated liquid CS because it always caked up on me. The whipped CS does not, if I'm careful. I wore this foundation to Disney World last year. In 90+ weather. I sweated--oh, did I sweat. But my makeup did not budge. I blotted my sweaty face with tissues, and my skin looked glowy rather than a runny streaky hot mess. I have a lot of active blemishes and dark spots to cover up, and this'll do it.

Cons: It can cake in the sides on my nose and areas where I have blackheads. It also seems to ball up over my primer, so I have to go without. And, I always have to properly remove it--no lazy washing it off at night, or I'll get congested pores. I either use a cleansing balm followed by my regular cleanser, or I use my Clarisonic.

Overall: 4/5. 'Course, I'm waiting on my Etude House foundation to arrive so I can see if that outperforms this one, but for now, Whipped CS is my best DS bet to an almost flawless complexion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2015 3:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the best full coverage foundation I've tried. As far as I know it does not contain sunscreen, so if you wear it during the daytime you'll have to use a separate ss.
It blends very easily using a damp BeautyBlender sponge, it is long wearing and doesn't oxidize throughout the day, and it doesn't irritate my skin or cause breakouts. My only minor complaint is about the jar container. It would be more sanitary if this came in a tube. I will definitely repurchase and I've recommended this foundation to several people, all of whom have really liked it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Good enough, but not that amazing. Medium coverage, medium oil-control, sometimes a bit flaky. The packaging is good, but not convenient to bring to travel.


on 2/10/2015 1:58:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have to jump on the bandwagon here. I've tried so many foundations, HE and DS and everything in between. Used the Colorstay liquid for a long time and still do in the summer, but this whipped product is the absolute best for natural looking medium-full coverage that stays all day. It doesn't break down, accentuate pores/lines or become cakey. Lately I've been on an HG foundation quest (obsession) and I keep coming back to Revlon ColorStay products. Nothing I've found can beat them.

I have very light olive, sensitive skin that breaks out easily. I have dry patches but an oily t-zone, melasma and blotchy red areas, plus my skin has started to dry out and become more crepey due to age. So, I've moved from medium/light coverage foundation to full-coverage products. Most foundations cause me to have breakouts or irritated skin, and many accentuate fine lines and pores, making my skin look drier than it is. For some reason the Revlon products have not caused any skin problems at all. Colorstay Whipped gives me the fuller coverage I want and a natural, younger look at the same time. The Buff color in this is a perfect match for my NC15 skin.

I use a light moisturizer, then Almay SmartShade Luminous CC primer and let it set for a few minutes. Then I apply the ColorStay Whipped with my fingers, patting a very light layer over my face. If I start out too heavy, it can appear mask-like and crepey. But applied sparingly and correctly over moisturized skin, this is the perfect foundation for me. HG for sure, no matter how hard I try to find something better.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top