Maybelline • Volum' Express The Mega Plush • Mascara

rated 3.3(578 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eire1 on 6/10/2014 1:17:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in blackest black and it absolutely lifts and extends my eyelashes. Besides the lashes near the tearduct and outer end it is able to reach all across my lashline.
The brush wiggles a little because there is a cut toward the end section. I guess ' Maybelline' thought this would give consumers more control and it can but only if you have a steady hand. This has a wet feeling that takes a minute to dry so be careful not to blink or have something on hand to catch flecks.
This mascara comes in four shades.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 j0j0 on 6/9/2014 8:33:00 PM more reviews by j0j0

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Just like so many other mascaras, I bought this on a whim. I've had really good luck in the past, but this was disappointing. The name of this, to me, is deceptive. "Volume", "Mega", "Plush"...all words that sucked me in. I was really hoping it would deliver all those things.
This mascara is just okay. The formula is on the wet side, and I needed to apply 3 coats to get anything decent from it. I didn't find it to be volumizing or plush in any way. In fact, I think it's more lengthening than anything. It's nice and black, but the formula is thin. I also didn't much like the bendy wand. It made application a little bit messy. I guess this would be a good one if you're looking to just darken your lashes a bit for a very natural look, but if you're looking for mega plush volume...take a pass.
ETA: I just wanted to add that I thought this mascara was surprisingly difficult to wash off. It claims to be able to come off with just soap and water, but I did not find this to be true. I usually wash my makeup off with Purity by Philosophy, and it even gets water resistant formulas off with ease. But, I looked like a raccoon and had to reach for the cold cream to scrub it off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aqua76239 on 6/9/2014 5:35:00 PM more reviews by aqua76239

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

there is nothing volume or plush about it. I actually got it because I wanted volume and this is also one of the few brands that has navy mascara so that was one of the reasons why I got it.
However, it was the most average mascara-there was nothing special about it. I do have fairly dark lashes so navy color didn't show, it just looked black. And while my lashes are fairly long, they need volume. didn't happen with this one. I wouldn't repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 CharleneCasey on 6/4/2014 12:05:00 PM more reviews by CharleneCasey

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this mascara on a whim. The packaging was pretty and teal and I thought the mascara would be ok. I was so wrong. It's clumpy and the brush is super clumsy. Good luck trying to get any product on your lashes without also getting it ALL OVER your skin. Maybe a better brush would make this mascara tolerable, but even the formula is sub-par.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lurketylurk on 5/26/2014 8:51:00 PM more reviews by lurketylurk

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is amazeballs. I love the formula - no irritation or smudging whatsoever. It was even a rather sweaty day and it didn't budge. Very volumizing and lengthening. Nice separated lashes. The wand feels a little weird because it's bendy, but it works fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Raefit on 5/17/2014 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Raefit

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara. It's a great layering mascara. I use it by itself and with the clump crusher underneath. My lashes reach past my crease almost to my brow bone. The wand is amazing. It's really great if your mascara starts to come off and you want to put more in. It separates the lashes even then looking good as new.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tweetytot on 5/17/2014 6:55:00 PM more reviews by tweetytot

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Really good volumizing mascara! I totally recommend! The wand is awesome, but i hate the shape

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lalasmooch on 5/16/2014 7:24:00 AM more reviews by Lalasmooch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The brush is really good. It spreads your lashes right out and gives volume, the brush is also really good at getting your tiny inner and outer lashes. It's not the best mascara I've ever used but for the low price I would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kathiekoo on 5/13/2014 3:15:00 PM more reviews by kathiekoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Unfortunately I went from using Benefits They're Real to this so I was bound to be disappointed. I much prefer Maybellines other mascaras as I don't get much lengthening from this product nor much volume

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aladie on 5/10/2014 12:07:00 PM more reviews by aladie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mascara. I wear brownish black in the non waterproof formula. It gives me the look of soft, long fanned out lashes. Never any flakes (until it starts getting old) and I have repurchased 3 times. Finally something that actually does what it claims!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products