Avene • Skin Recovery Cream (US name: Cream For Intolerant Skin) • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(214 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 almost on 12/8/2012 10:03:00 PM more reviews by almost

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I recently moved to a colder climate and am SO thankful for this product! This doesn't make me breakout and feels really natural, no greasiness. No frangrance too, which I love. The perfect amount of moisture my skin was craving. The packaging is pretty neat, too. A bit pricey, but it is certainly no-nonsense.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeniseLSmith09 on 12/3/2012 9:21:00 AM more reviews by DeniseLSmith09

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Received a sample at the local spa - I'm dealing with hyperthyroidism and rosacea and happened to be having a flare when I went to get my other products - I tried this and was blown away - didn't sting, took the redness out of my skin and made what usually is rough, bumpy skin soft and smooth... I LOVE this product and won't ever be without it!

If you have super sensitive skin (I've tried everything from A-Z) this product may be the one for you!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paigeturner on 11/28/2012 6:20:00 PM more reviews by paigeturner

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Firstly, a comment about my skin - I have the worst skin possible! It's sensitive, combination-oily, extremely acne-prone and where I have blemishes, dry and patchy.

I bought this to calm my skin down after it had become irritated, red and super dry in patches. In the UK it cost arounds Ģ12.50, which I think it's quite reasonable for such a little miracle cream!

After just two applications, my skin was soothed and calm, with all dry patches magically erased. I applied this in the evening, as it is extremely moisturising but yet, not greasy. When I applied my makeup in the morning, it literally looked perfect with no nasty patchy bits, or any flaking.

PROS
- moisturising without being greasy
- hypoallergenic
- designed for senstive skin
- seems to be great for most skin types oily/dry
- solves dry patches
- soothes troubles and irritated skin

CONS
- none that I can think of!

This cream is designed to be used as a recovery cream and hence, not for prolonged everyday use! I used it for one week straight to "fix" my skin, and now I just use it once a week/fornightly to keep my skin looking refreshed and radiant.

A definite repurchase, and now a staple in my skincare.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Xxkonixx on 11/22/2012 10:48:00 PM more reviews by Xxkonixx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This cream is amazinggg!!! i was not sure about this because of it having mineral oil....but after using it two weeks it took away 90% of my cycst pimples. I have always been acne prone since i was a teenager and because i didn't know to care for my skin when i was younger i had bad bad acne during my high school years....after that i started to take care of my skin and thing were getting better. i still have pimples here and there but nothing that a little makeup won't cover....but it all took a wrong turn when i went for a trip to hong kong just few months ago for two weeks...my skin started to break out so badddd......there were bumps all over my face and big pimples on my forehead and jawline. i thought it's just coz i 'm not used to the weather and things will subside when i come back...but it didn't...my skin became so irritated and started to cycst pimples everywhere....i have always been having pimples but they have never been so hot and itchy and painful....i went to doctor and dermotologist couple of times and they all just gives me antibiotics and some acne medication.......and even told me to go on accutaneee which i refused knowing it's bad for my body.......and after all how my skin had became seems very unusual to me and not typical acne.....and thank god i came across this cream....my skin is still not completely healed...but the sensitivity has definately went down alot and the number of pimples have gone down alot considering i only used it for two weeks.......i can finally see my jawline and my neck starting to look flat.......i can't even explain how happy i mmmm...........plss try if you have tried everything and thought of giving up.......!!! UPDATE: After using this as my daily moisturizer for over a year i took off a lippie because i find this not enough moisturizing...each time i have to use almost a quarter size and after 20 mins my face is still dry to the touch at some area.............i went through a tube so quickkkly........i think this is a good moisturizer if you have normal skin to combination skin type.....for someone like me that lacks waters in my skin it seems not having a right ingredients to rehydrate...........still in the hunt for a good moisturizer specially now that winter is coming.........

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* franzvonstuck on 11/13/2012 1:16:00 PM more reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Iīve been using this for years and years and this gem is a staple in my bathroom.
In Germany, there a two versions of this cream, a richer and the normal one. I had the normal version of the cream.
FYI: My skin is combo-sensitive-dehydrated and acne-prone.
The name couldnīt be more precise, because if our skin cannot tolerate any other creams, this one might be the saviour for your skin.
The base of this cream is Aveneīs famous thermal water and just a few other minimal ingredients you can see in the ingredients listed above. As mostly people with skin problems use this cream, I recommend to check first if you are allergic to one of the ingredients before use.
But if you are lucky and you can use this cream, then you might love it.
Many people use it as a daily moisturizer, which may be helpful, if you literally canīt bear putting any other cream on your skin.
But my use is that of a S.O.S cream, when I really messed up my skin with a new product. This cream saved my a... so many times.
Several times, I got on the verge of having a perioral dermatitis, because I played around and tested too many new products or samples on my skin.
The result was itching and red skin around my nose down to my mouth. And my skin got too warm and was feeling uncomfortable.
Sometimes, I got a red and dry spot on my left cheek to show the intolerance for a certain product or ingredient.
If I would keep using my normal creams, it would get worse
and worse as I know from painful experience in the past, when I needed to go to a dermatologist, who set me on a "cream diet".
But this cream saved my skin along with a strict regimen for reacting skin. I wash my face with Eucerin re-balance cleanser and spray loads and loads of thermal water on my skin to cool down and restore the skin. Then I use this cream and nothing else for a few days.
What can I say, it works magic.
I notice that my skin is always getting better with this cream and it helps my skin to recover fully again from hypersensitivity.
But I never use this cream over weeks or months. To be honest, it never broke my out or caused any weird reaction. I think, itīs just not a daily moisturizer for me as I normally can tolerate other creams, so I am not depending on using this as some people with severe skin problems.
If you have put your skin in overload, then this is the cream to calm your skin down and save you from having a periorale dermatitis.
I also read that some people had cured their perioral dermatitis with this cream.
This cream is a must have if youīre a beautyjunkie like I am and sometimes try too many products.
I highly recommend this cream cause it does what it claims: it saves you when you need help to recover and calm your skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetdase on 10/29/2012 6:07:00 PM more reviews by sweetdase

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this at my local London Drugs in Canada and I usually wait for the ~25% off they have on this brand as it does come often enough. I really like this recovery cream because I actually use it for "recovery". I don't use this product every day because, like other reviewers mentioned, it is on the pricier side. However, when I do get patches of dry skin, I apply this on top and my skin is hydrated. I typically apply this at night as it is a bit thicker, but if my face feels dry in the morning, I will wear this as my morning moisturizer and apply makeup over top of it without my face being sticky or oily throughout the day. Overall, I do like this cream, just wish it came in a bigger tube and less pricey. I would repurchase this as the product does work well. Applying this and other topical acne treatment on top (which dries out the skin) helps keep my face not dry. There is no scent to this cream which is perfect as this brand is made more for sensitive skin I find. I'd definitely recommend this for people who have sensitive and/or dry skin or people who need a thicker cream for winter time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blairXwitch on 10/18/2012 8:49:00 AM more reviews by blairXwitch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I never thought an Avene product would work for me, since everything I've tried so far hasn't.
Then while I was on a trip in Europe, I had this horrible allergic reaction on my face, and my skin was red, rough, itchy, just horrible. The anti-allergic gel they gave me was leaving it even drier, so I went back to the pharmacy for some moisturizer. Avene had a huge display, so I just picked this cream, it just...looked appealing at the moment.
Well, it's become my HG moisturizer. It literally saved my face because the irritation subsided soon after I started applying this cream, and I was able to put on foundation without it looking like a pancake.
I kept using the tube, now I'm 2 months into it and I still use it nightly, and I've been waking up to the nicest skin I've ever had - even, no pimples, smooth, soft and moisturized but not greasy. I used to be oily now I'm combo, and this little tube works amazingly on me!
I will most definitely buy again, when I'm done with this one. Although it may not happen for a long time, because I haven't even used a quarter of it!
EDIT JUNE 2013: I will leave the high marks I'd given this previously, because that tube was really THAT good, but if I were to rate the new version (bought in Canada 3-4 months ago) I would give it a 2!
This new version (or maybe because it's not the Euro one) is not even close to my first tube. It makes me oily, my skin doesn't look calm, and I suspect it gave me some pimples. It just doesn't feel right, and I bought both the regular and the rich versions.
Not to mention the packaging, the top gets nasty with product accumulation which dries and it's just...ugh. Hate it. Why did they have to change an awesome product???

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 girlen on 9/26/2012 9:38:00 AM more reviews by girlen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have FINALLY found a cream for my sensitive skin that really calms down the skin. I have used it for almost a year now. I have had problems with my skin for as long as I can remember, acne, irritated skin and redness. The redness is now completely gone, which I didn't think was possible. The red bumps are gone and it just feels like my skin has calmed down soo much. I have tried many many creams since I started to moisturize my face (maybe 15 years ago), and this is the first one that I can say helps. I'm so happy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zernelle on 9/20/2012 9:19:00 PM more reviews by zernelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

After reading tons of rave reviews of Avene Cream for Intolerant Skin, I was really hoping that this basic moisturizer would be the solution to my sensitive, clog-prone skin woes. I love that it never, ever irritates my skin, but alas, it also clogs it quite badly. I had read the ingredients carefully to make sure there were no ingredients that I thought would clog, but once I realized this product was clogging my pores, I reexamined the label even more carefully, and by researching the ingredients and cross-referencing the ingredients lists of other moisturizers that have clogged me, I finally came to the conclusion that I need to add glyceryl stearate to my list of pore-clogging ingredients to avoid. I've given up on this moisturizer now, and I'm using the bit that remains in the tube as a hand cream. It does make a very nice (but too pricy) hand cream that heals rather than exacerbates the dermatitis that sometimes develops on my hands.
Ingredients: Water, Mineral Oil, Cyclomethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Squalane, Benzoic Acid, Carbomer, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Triethanolamine.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lillynora on 9/20/2012 2:33:00 PM more reviews by Lillynora

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG cream for days when I need some extra TLC for my face.
Highly recommended for mature skin, mine is combination prone to breaking out once a month.
A bit expensive, however, it is worth it for the job done!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Moisturizers products