Avene Skin Recovery Cream (US name: Cream For Intolerant Skin)

4.1

225 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

US cream for intolerant skin: Water (Aqua), Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Cyclomethicone, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Squalane, Benzoic Acid, Carbomer, Chlorphenesin, Phenoxyethanol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Triethanolamine. ------------------------------------ US Avene skin recovery cream: Avene Thermal Spring Water (avene Aqua), Mineral Oil (paraffinumliquidum), Glycerin, Glycerylstearate, Squalane, Cyclopentasiloxane, Clycohexasiloxane, Serine, Carbomer, Tetrasodium Edta, Triethanolamine, Water (aqua).


on 3/8/2013 12:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have very sensitive, very oily acne-prone skin and almost everything seems to break me out, apart from Avene's products. No matter what I use from this brand, it seems to calm my skin. I bought this during a very cold British winter, and during an even colder Christmas in Scotland. My acne was getting a bit funny too - I had one or two spots and I am pretty sure one of the makeup stuff I was using at the time broke me out - so I thought I should give this a go. Wow! My skin calmed down within a couple of days. Though it looks heavier than the usual creams I use for my oily face, it is absorbed immediately and leaves no oily residue behind - it's also excellent under makeup. I originally bought it to wear it only when the weather is very cold, but I ended up using it every day! If your skin needs some TLC, don't think about it twice! It's one of these products that make you feel 'aaah' when you use it, you know that feeling? :-) Amazing product and will buy again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 3/4/2013 8:34:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is such a beautiful product. The texture when applying is so refreshing and soothing, but even though it feels so fresh, it's a medium-weight moisturizer. Apply a bit less than you think you need and apply without rubbing. Almost immediatly your skin feels calmer and more moisturized. A solace for angry, irritated skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/25/2013 4:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't like Avene in general after using almost all their line (I had acne, sensitive skin and now sensitive eczema skin).

This however is interesting. I used the normal one, not Riche. I was in Japan at the hottest summer (40+C) and my sensitive face was weeping a little (a few years back, I get weeping eczema on my face easily). Went out and got this, which is twice the price in Singapore. Used it for a week. My face was normal again!

So yay, I guess? Still, I will not repurchase anything from Avene except for the thermal water.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got a sample of this from the pharmacy. This is amazing, the cream is moisturising yet light at the same time! It sinks easily into my skin, and doesn't feel heavy. It doesn't sting either, awesome for irritable skin like mine!


on 2/16/2013 9:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

i'm not so convinced with this product. i got the riche formula for my very dry skin. it's meant to soothe sensitive skin and i expected it to at least be a bit nourishing. unfortunately i didn't feel like it's overly calming, it feels really silicone-y and sits on my skin. the fact that it's got mineral oils in it puts me off a bit too. i'm fine with it in my cold cream since it very rich and nourishing, but in this formula there's just no justification for it. a bit of a let down, sorry....


on 1/29/2013 2:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is a fantastic moisturizer for people with extremely sensitive or acne-prone skin. I suffer from the latter, which made it extremely difficult to find a moisturizer that will not make my skin worse. I can could in one hand the moisturizers that will not cause me to break out and this one moisturizes better than any of them. This is still a rather light moisturizer and will not completely fix the problem when my skin is extra dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2013 5:16:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

honestly, this product is like sooooooo awesome! it spreads on my skin so easily, especially in adjacent with my cleanance k which also done a very good job too. the product somehow reduce my acne scars, sooth my skin so gently after i wash my face (which tends to tighten) and offer a great moisture for me...

HOWEVER...

it breaks me out crazily when i apply it under my bb cream, especially on my forehead with more than 3 of cystic acne which is a BIG rarity for me. but then i thought, 'oh maybe because my skin needs time to get used to it' but - ugh, how damn stupid i was. i bought the light version and really, it doesnt go that well during the day... i use this cream under my bb cream because of its tolerance to factors such as environment and weather (just like in the advertisement). boy, how wrong i was! then i go to my old moisturizer; avene anti-shine regulating lotion and it does a BETTER job. it doesnt give that much shine just like the skin recovery cream, give me a dewy look and most importantly, doesnt break me out.


on 1/12/2013 8:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is awesome. I live in Europe and got the RICH version. I did try so many creams for my really difficult skin and this was the Holy Grail. Give this cream a go before buying even more expensive ones. It is not super cheap but affordable .


on 1/10/2013 5:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Last year i started using antibiotics and differin gel for my acne and while it helps the acne my skin started to get really dry and sore. I looked for a moisturiser that would help but all the ones i tried were really rich and heavy but didn't actually do anything for me. I came across this and it definitely repairs the skin and i think it has helped my acne heal as well. I use it every night, ill wash my face and then put on my differin gel and then ill put this on and you only need a tiny amount. It hasn't blocked my skin, my acne is nearly cleared up and it hasn't made my skin any oiler as i have combo skin. Im onto my second tube and i would definitely recommend. It is a wee bit expensive but not overly so and especially not for something that works so well.


on 12/17/2012 10:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I suffer from rosacea which flares up once in a while. However, my skin has been generally red due to a variety of factors. I tried this cream which not only soothed my flare-ups but also lessened the sensitivity of my skin. Nowadays, my skin only turns red when I rub it too hard.

I use it as a night cream in the summer and as a day & night cream in mild winters. For harsh winters, I suppose you could layer with other Avene products.


Back to Top