NARS Damage

4.4

71 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm on my second tube for this year alone. For olive complected ladies like myself, this color is truly a godsend. I would say that it is my favorite for every day use.

The funny thing is that I got it quite by chance, and was planning on returning it for a different shade, but didn't live near a Sephora. So I kept it stored away, awaiting for my next visit, and then one day, around two months in, I was like, "Screw it, I'll give it a whirl..." So glad I did.

I wear it to work, to school, to interviews, and when I'm painting the town red. It is the most versatile lipstick I have ever owned.



on 9/24/2008 10:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I went to Sephora for a lipstick and an SA told me I should try Damage. He said that it looks scary but it looks good on lots of people. Well I did and I liked it enough to buy it. It give my lips a nice sheer color thats kind of like MLBB. The formula is sheer but can be built up for more color. I find it rather creamy and moisturizing.I added pictures because a picture is worth a thousand words, right?
*Click for Pictures*

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2008 11:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Me: pale olive C2/NC15. Pros: soft finish, neutral berry. Can be applied slightly heavily for a glossy finish or blotted for more of a stain. A bit like Sin in lipstick form- very versatile, especially if you have olive toned skin like mine. Packaging/Price: Somewhat expensive. It seems to me that NARS packaging has also gotten slightly cheaper looking lately- the finish on my most recent purchases doesn't seem quite the same. Since some have experienced rancidity with this brand, I might also suggest that NARS experiment with a package that closes/swivels better than the standard lipstick case. Cons: Could read as too-purple for some skin tones and preferences. If you love NARS O, you might not love this lipstick so much. Buy again: probably. This has enough of a warm tone (while still being berry) that I can see purchasing it again. I'd like to see companies make more rose/pink/warm tones for those of us with yellow or olive in our complexions.


on 3/26/2008 5:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I give this product 5 ***** for colour ( a kind of gorgeous freshly bitten lip colour) and 0 for scent and taste. Awful scent, chemical, almost rancid. What the devil was NARS thinking when creating this superlative colour and pairing it with that putrid scent and taste???

Still the colour is so sensational and imminently wearable that - crazy as it sounds - I WOULD buy this again. I wear it with a very light layer of LipSmacker lip balm on the top which eradicates the foul scent. But geesh...honestly...THAT much money for a rancid lippy?


on 3/1/2008 10:00:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Good gosh! Another perfect lipstick from NARS! The color says it all - goes on a soft, delicate purple, or can be applied thicker for a deep, goth-chick touch. Perfect shade for a job interview, or a night at the club.


on 10/12/2007 8:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

One of the few lipsticks I own. (I seriously do not wear them anymore, so I got rid of almost all of them.) Damage is such a great color. It is described as a "Muted Grape" by the NARS website. I think that is a great description. This is just a shade or two deeper than my natural lipcolor. It looks very natural on me. I love the sheerness of it...it keeps it from having that lipsticky look. I apply a coat of Aquaphor over it and it gives a bit a shine. Would rebuy this again and again. It is my "everyday", Holy Grail lipstick.


on 10/10/2007 4:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Not great but not bad. Will keep but probably wouldn't have purchased if I'd tried it in the store. I am cool toned, green eyes, dark brown hair, light-med. complexion. It's pretty but not amazing enough that I would ever repurchase. It is very dark on me, gives me a Scarlet O'Hara from Gone with The Wind look which is pretty but not my favorite look.


on 10/9/2007 10:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First lipsticks that I actually use. Used to wearing pale, shimmery, pink-y lipglosses, but wanted something with color and the SA recommended this over Dolce Vita for me and I love it!! My lips are quite pigmented alone, and this just adds the best oomph to them, so they're a bit more intense but quite naturally. It's a great way for me to wear color without it being too obvious or "too much." I loveee it!


on 8/28/2007 6:37:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a wonderful mauve berry color that can go pinkish on some people. Nars describes it as muted grape. That can mean so many different things as the color range of "grape" is pretty wide. It is a muted color so that could be why it washes out some people.

I personally loved the color as I don't wear bright colors on lips often. My only problem was the lack of moisture. It applies nicely but not enough moisture to keep the lipstick on my lips. It didn't dry out my lips.
If you want something in a similar color but leaning more towards the berry go for MAC plumful. Almost exact color but it has more berry to it and it's a lustre so plenty of moisture.
I put that I would buy this color again because after all I did like it and would get again if MAC discontinued plumful.
My coloring varies but I am mostly NW25 in MAC and LLL for the foundation chart.


on 5/9/2007 10:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Damage is a lovely pink for summer on my very fair "cool" toned skin. However, one of DHC's pink pallettes offers similar options for less $$$. And, you can buy severl tubes of SPF lipstick at Avon and make your own pallet, which is why I won't be repurchasing.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
173 Reviews
provocalips
33 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin

Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
image

Exhibit A

358 reviews
Back to Top