NARS • Damage • Lipstick

rated 4.4(70 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Honeybunnie8 on 9/24/2008 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Honeybunnie8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I went to Sephora for a lipstick and an SA told me I should try Damage. He said that it looks scary but it looks good on lots of people. Well I did and I liked it enough to buy it. It give my lips a nice sheer color thats kind of like MLBB. The formula is sheer but can be built up for more color. I find it rather creamy and moisturizing.I added pictures because a picture is worth a thousand words, right?
*Click for Pictures*

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Draper on 4/19/2008 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Draper

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Me: pale olive C2/NC15. Pros: soft finish, neutral berry. Can be applied slightly heavily for a glossy finish or blotted for more of a stain. A bit like Sin in lipstick form- very versatile, especially if you have olive toned skin like mine. Packaging/Price: Somewhat expensive. It seems to me that NARS packaging has also gotten slightly cheaper looking lately- the finish on my most recent purchases doesn't seem quite the same. Since some have experienced rancidity with this brand, I might also suggest that NARS experiment with a package that closes/swivels better than the standard lipstick case. Cons: Could read as too-purple for some skin tones and preferences. If you love NARS O, you might not love this lipstick so much. Buy again: probably. This has enough of a warm tone (while still being berry) that I can see purchasing it again. I'd like to see companies make more rose/pink/warm tones for those of us with yellow or olive in our complexions.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harrup on 3/26/2008 5:10:00 PM more reviews by harrup

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I give this product 5 ***** for colour ( a kind of gorgeous freshly bitten lip colour) and 0 for scent and taste. Awful scent, chemical, almost rancid. What the devil was NARS thinking when creating this superlative colour and pairing it with that putrid scent and taste???

Still the colour is so sensational and imminently wearable that - crazy as it sounds - I WOULD buy this again. I wear it with a very light layer of LipSmacker lip balm on the top which eradicates the foul scent. But geesh...honestly...THAT much money for a rancid lippy?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BebeLush on 3/1/2008 10:00:00 PM more reviews by BebeLush

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Good gosh! Another perfect lipstick from NARS! The color says it all - goes on a soft, delicate purple, or can be applied thicker for a deep, goth-chick touch. Perfect shade for a job interview, or a night at the club.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ashleybabes24 on 10/12/2007 8:08:00 PM more reviews by ashleybabes24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

One of the few lipsticks I own. (I seriously do not wear them anymore, so I got rid of almost all of them.) Damage is such a great color. It is described as a "Muted Grape" by the NARS website. I think that is a great description. This is just a shade or two deeper than my natural lipcolor. It looks very natural on me. I love the sheerness of it...it keeps it from having that lipsticky look. I apply a coat of Aquaphor over it and it gives a bit a shine. Would rebuy this again and again. It is my "everyday", Holy Grail lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MeredithP1 on 10/10/2007 4:02:00 PM more reviews by MeredithP1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Not great but not bad. Will keep but probably wouldn't have purchased if I'd tried it in the store. I am cool toned, green eyes, dark brown hair, light-med. complexion. It's pretty but not amazing enough that I would ever repurchase. It is very dark on me, gives me a Scarlet O'Hara from Gone with The Wind look which is pretty but not my favorite look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dukechickie on 10/9/2007 10:50:00 PM more reviews by dukechickie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First lipsticks that I actually use. Used to wearing pale, shimmery, pink-y lipglosses, but wanted something with color and the SA recommended this over Dolce Vita for me and I love it!! My lips are quite pigmented alone, and this just adds the best oomph to them, so they're a bit more intense but quite naturally. It's a great way for me to wear color without it being too obvious or "too much." I loveee it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HaileyCosmic on 8/28/2007 6:37:00 PM more reviews by HaileyCosmic

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a wonderful mauve berry color that can go pinkish on some people. Nars describes it as muted grape. That can mean so many different things as the color range of "grape" is pretty wide. It is a muted color so that could be why it washes out some people.

I personally loved the color as I don't wear bright colors on lips often. My only problem was the lack of moisture. It applies nicely but not enough moisture to keep the lipstick on my lips. It didn't dry out my lips.
If you want something in a similar color but leaning more towards the berry go for MAC plumful. Almost exact color but it has more berry to it and it's a lustre so plenty of moisture.
I put that I would buy this color again because after all I did like it and would get again if MAC discontinued plumful.
My coloring varies but I am mostly NW25 in MAC and LLL for the foundation chart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Zedar on 5/9/2007 10:04:00 PM more reviews by Zedar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Damage is a lovely pink for summer on my very fair "cool" toned skin. However, one of DHC's pink pallettes offers similar options for less $$$. And, you can buy severl tubes of SPF lipstick at Avon and make your own pallet, which is why I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lolakitten on 7/1/2006 7:06:00 PM more reviews by lolakitten

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lovely berry sheer lipstick that works well with my deeply pigmented lips. It's not nearly as dark as it it seems as a stick, and gives a nice non-glossy tint that compliments my olive colouring. It is slightly drying though, so I use a balm underneath if my lips are feeling dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products