Too Faced • Tinted Beauty Balm Multi-Benefit Skin Care Makeup • BB Cream

rated 3.7(120 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 jrs0877 on 8/17/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by jrs0877

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on MUA for years getting helpful reviews and tips on many products. I'm writing this review because of how horrible this product is.

I have made no changes to my regular skin care/make up regimen, except for this product. I bought and tried it out once I got home Wednesday night, washed my face. Woke up Thursday morning, used it with my regular makeup routine. By the end of Thursday, Friday morning, I had red spots/bumps all over my lower cheek and forehead. As of the time now, writing this review, the spots are still there. Suffice to say I will be returning this product ASAP. Very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 belaugh86 on 8/3/2013 7:00:00 PM more reviews by belaugh86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Where do I start with this review!?!? Too Faced tinted BB cream completely changed my mind about BB creams. I was never really into the idea of a BB cream or any "multi-use" face creams because my skin is so sensitive. This, however, has become a staple in my everyday face routine.

Application: I start with Too Faced oil free primer, let that set for a minute, then apply a small amount of Too Faced BB cream to the back of my hand. I work this product in with my hands and apply it directly to my skin. I find it settles right into my acne scars and fine lines much better than with a brush. Once that's on and set, I move on to my foundation and concealer - which I also apply with my (clean) fingers, only blending out with a brush if needed. This might seem like a lot of product, but because the BB cream over the primer is so light and absorbent; it sinks right into your skin, leaving a light amount of coverage with a beautiful, natural glow under your foundation - allowing you to use less foundation and concealer. The end result is a flawless, glowing complexion with a satin-matte finish that stays for hours.

For reference, here are my daily go to face products I use alongside this BB cream, in order of the application.

Primer: Too Faced Oil Free Primed & Poreless
BB Cream: Too Faced Tinted Beauty Balm in Linen Glow
Foundation: - MAC Studio Fix Fluid in NW20 mixed with a dab of MAC Pro Longwear in NC25 (NW by itself is too neutral for my warm skin tone)
Corrector: Bobbi Brown Corrector in Light Bisque
(a little too light for my medium skin at the moment)
Concealer: MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20 (under the eyes only)
Set Powder: MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Medium Plus
Contour/Warmth: Benefit Hoola Bronzer
Skincare Routine (for reference): Proactiv Gentle Formula (with exfoliating gloves)

Using this routine on my combination skin (my skin is everything - oily, dry, acne-prone AND sensitive) truly makes my skin look flawless. And I'm someone who suffered from extreme cystic acne for years along with the scarring it left behind. My Aunt, who I hadn't seen in about a year, even commented on how beautiful I looked when she saw me recently. I wish I had known this combination of products for my wedding last year!

If you're wondering why I wear a ton of other face products, since I cover up the BB cream itself, it's because this BB cream gives a glow to the skin that I've never been able to achieve with other face products. Even under 3 layers of products, it gives the skin a completely even pigment and glows through the rest of my face products.

I bought mine on Amazon, but I didn't get it for any cheaper than I would have if I bought it from Ulta or Sephora. I think it retails for about $34, and it is worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lovelorixoxo on 6/10/2013 7:58:00 PM more reviews by lovelorixoxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this from Sephora today and tried it right there in the store. Immediately after putting it on, my face turned blotchy and red. I had to remove it ASAP. I have seborrheic dermititis of the scalp (eczema, basically) but nowhere else so I don't know if my skin is just super sensitive to things because of that or what, but this was terrible. If you want a good tinted moisturizer/BB then I recommend Tarte BB Amazonian Clay Tinted Moisturizer. If you want to read my review of that product, look at my reviews.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 keia1113 on 6/5/2013 3:29:00 PM more reviews by keia1113

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in both nude glow & beach glow. My shade match in Mac is an NC42. In Makeup Forever, I use the HD foundation in shade 152. Both shades work for me but Beach Glow is a touch darker than nude glow and has visible bronzy shimmer. I prefer Beach Glow because it makes my skin look healthy/radiant but believe it is being discontinued.

I was looking for a yellow tone tinted moisturizer with skin care benefits and that is basically what this is. This Provides very light coverage just like a tinted moisturizer. It does oxidize but not so much where i find it a very noticable problem.

My skin is very oily and acne prone and I haven't had any adverse sideeffects using this product. I do not put any moisturizer underneath this product. I use this as my moisturizer and use a powder on top of it for a bit more coverage and to take away the shine. The plastic squeeze tube container is convient.

I have been wearing this for over a year, and have repurchased several times. I will continue to repurchase untill I find a something that is cheaper and paraben free, which are my main gripes about the product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dbmiller on 5/8/2013 1:39:00 PM more reviews by dbmiller

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my favorite BB creams. It is incredibly hydrating and makes you look glowy and radiant. I love the SPF but wish it provides just a little bit more coverage. Still, the coverage is adequate for a BB cream and can be enhanced with a little bit of concealer. I am NC30 and I bought Cream Glow and it's just a little bit too dark, but not enough to be obvious. Plus, it's easier to get good coverage out of products just a little darker than too light. UPDATE: Upon using this more, I realized that this has more coverage than most BB creams and enough for me not to need a concealer. I can just set it with a powder and go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 suhlest on 4/25/2013 5:54:00 AM more reviews by suhlest

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this bb cream over a year ago and I loved it. Now idk I have a love/ hate relationship with it... I love the coverage and feel of the cream but it's the shimmer that bugs me :/ I think those with drier skin that want a dewy glow would like this. Combo/ oily will probably get annoyed at the overwhelming amount of shimmer in it. If they had a formulation without shimmer I'd stock up for sure but until then, I'm still looking for my hg bb cream!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nikki08 on 4/24/2013 11:49:00 AM more reviews by Nikki08

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Oh how I love this stuff! I will start by saying that I haven't tried a ton off bb creams. But I have tried a couple drugstore brands, garnier and rimmel (boo) and a few highend ones.This is THE one! I like a pretty sheer coverage. Before bb creams came out I was a tinted moisturizer kind of girl. I feel like this gives a fair amount of coverage with a natural glowy finish. My skin is a little on the dry side so that "tacky" feeling some people mention is actually a welcome side effect for me. I dont feel like it truly makes my skin feel tacky. Just moisturized and soft. It lasts all day for me and it doesn't break me out or make my skin oily at the end of the day. Before this I wasn't wearing make up everyday and now I find myself wanting to just because I love how this makes my skin look. I will say on days when I'm wanting more of a matte finish with a tad more coverage I also like the Tarte bb cream.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 3801makeup on 4/21/2013 1:42:00 PM more reviews by 3801makeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

i like this product, but for how expensive it is, it just doesn't seem to be completely worth it to me. i love the finish it gives, and it gives very minimal coverage.
im about an NC 30, and the lightest shade was still a bit too dark for me, so if your're very fair, this product probably wont work that great for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LadySnarky on 3/29/2013 5:48:00 PM more reviews by LadySnarky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

I was a little hesitant to buy this product, but I'm very glad I did. This may just be my newest HG face product. I bought it in Snow Glow, which is a wonderful match for me.

First things first:
It it fairly sheer. If you're looking for good coverage, this is not for you. I am normally a medium-full coverage gal myself, but some days my skin looks just fine and needs a little boost instead of a full-on fix.
This helps to tone down the redness in my cheeks and makes my pores a little less obvious. It also covers the slight discoloration I have around my eyes.

The complaints about it feeling like it never sets are very true as well. It can still feel very tacky even after sitting on your skin for a few minutes. I highly recommend using a very very small amount of powder to set it--even if you have dry skin. I use Palladio Rice Powder to set it and haven't had any problems with it staying tacky or with my skin flaking.

Overall, this is not a bad product. It's definitely not something to use if you need heavy coverage or want to make your skin look absolutely flawless (unless you want to layer it with foundation, that is!), but if you want something to give your skin a little pick-me-up, definitely not a bad option.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stellar on 3/25/2013 1:28:00 PM more reviews by stellar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've only been using this product for 4 days now but I absolutely LOVE it! I've tried a few other BB Creams before (Maybelline Dream Fresh, L'Oreal Youth Code, and Missha Perfect Cover) but this one is definitely my favorite. I'm really going to try to keep this as short as possible but I have so many great things to say about it that my review will probably end up fairly long. Sorry!


I bought this in the new shade Snow Glow which matches my NC10-15, NARS Gobi skin perfectly. I have very fair skin with golden undertones and I don't detect any pink in this BB Cream. I paid $34 for my tube which contains 1.5 fl oz. The packaging makes it very convenient to throw in your makeup bag or beach bag and take with you during the day (or for travel). It doesn't really have a scent other than a faint sunscreen type of smell, which I like.


When I apply this product it feels like I'm just applying a regular moisturizer. It goes on like a dream, and I swear it would be impossible to get streaks with this (as long as you get a shade that matches your skin). I really think I could apply it flawlessly even without a mirror. I use my fingers to apply using downward smoothing motions, as I do with all my BB Creams. This product can give anywhere from sheer to medium coverage. It's very buildable and stays natural looking even at medium coverage. It doesn't cake up or settle into fine lines; in fact, it blurs and smoothes them over very well. I don't apply my regular face moisturizer before putting this on, but I do still use my eye cream as I've found I need the extra moisture there (no big surprise). I also still like to apply concealer on my undereye circles and on the redness around my nose, but I always have to do that with all my foundations as well. I definitely didn't expect a BB Cream to do what a foundation can't in terms of that.


The finish of this BB Cream is very unique to any other foundation, TM, or BB Cream I've ever used. It's so even, yet so natural. It brightens up my face and literally does give it a *glow*. It's not shiny or oily looking; it just looks healthy and luminous. I have normal/combination skin and have had no problems with lasting power or oilies coming through. (I do set it with my Hard Candy Welcome Matte powder after I apply in the morning.) So far this has lasted about 10 hours for me and when it starts to fade, it fades very evenly and still leaves that healthy glow so it still looks nice. It's not like it suddenly disappears and you're left totally bare-faced.


The only two possible downsides I can see about this product is that it does contain super fine little... sparkly particles. Fortunately I only see them when I swatch it on my hand. Once I apply it to my face I literally don't see them at all, so I don't have a problem with it. I don't know if others might have a different experience though, so it's something to keep in mind. Also, I do use a pretty decent amount of product to get the coverage I want so I can see going through a tube of this pretty quickly. At $34 a tube, that could get pretty pricey. We'll see how it goes though. I don't mind spending the money on a product that I know I love and can depend on.


I'm anxious to see how how this BB Cream holds up for me during the summer. It gets super hot here and I'm curious to see if it can withstand the heat. If it can, I have a feeling this could basically replace foundations for me. I'll still keep my long-wearing foundations on hand for special occasions, but for daily wear this stuff is great. It saves me time in the morning (which I so desperately need), is actually good for my skin, and looks amazing. I highly recommend this product. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More BB Cream products