New York Color • Pressed Translucent Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 3.9(359 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* devildoll133 on 10/14/2011 5:45:00 PM more reviews by devildoll133

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

OMG, this is the best face powder I ever came across!!!! It makes my face look like airbrushed, bathed in soft light...and the best is, it keeps my oily skin from being shiny all day, I couldn't believe it! I was just looking for something "light" for my very fair skin and this is one of the lightest colors in pressed powder they came out with. As it is VERY cheap (around 2.49 USD at Meijer) compared to other brands I used before, I am amazed by the quality (in a good way). A lot of people say, this powder would be a dupe for MAC's blotting powder, but I read the reviews after I purchased it;-), so I wasn't influenced there. I can definitely say, this is my HG powder to set my makeup from now on. Word!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Tsumaura on 9/16/2011 2:35:00 AM more reviews by Tsumaura

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Whelp I personally....hate it! It was okay as a blotting powder, but have you seen the ingredients? Holly parabens batman! Made my skin break out a lot :c

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tmmkitten on 9/15/2011 11:01:00 PM more reviews by tmmkitten

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i purchased this because i needed a translucent powder, and needed something less expensive than usual. at first i was skeptical, but i really do like it.
it doesn't get cakey, as long as you blot before you apply it, and it helps keep any oil at bay for several hours.
i have very dry skin, so i use it only when i have used a very emollient sunscreen, or if i ever feel the need to touch up with it after applying concealer. i love that it doesn't highlight my dryness.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poikilotherm on 9/15/2011 8:10:00 PM more reviews by poikilotherm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Loving this powder. Bought it because I was tired of spending $30 on an estee lauder powder (plus their customer service sucks). I wasn't expecting much, and I figured for $3 it would be a bit cakey or something, but oh my god it's perfect. I actually like the finish more than the EL pressed powder. The only thing is to apply it light-handedly. You don't need much, this mattifies with just a little. Even when I put a lot, it doesn't get cakey (just a bit unnatural). I don't find it too white, but I'm pretty pale right now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rikiya on 8/14/2011 12:35:00 AM more reviews by rikiya

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in Translucent after reading the reviews here and... I just can't use it as a blotting powder. I get really oily around my nose area and I brought it to work with me one day hoping to use it and all it did was leave my nose looking absolutely WHITE. I'm quite fair skinned, and I only used a little and it looked horrible, like geisha white.

It feels like chalk and putting it on my face looked like I was putting on chalk. It doesn't matter if I use my own cotton puff or a big kabuki brush, it's still chalky.

The only good thing is it's price, which was a dollar and change.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jayjaybean on 8/2/2011 9:51:00 PM more reviews by Jayjaybean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using this since highschool. I highly doubt I would ever switch to another blotting powder, since I love this so much. I'm very pale, so I never have a problem with it making my skin appear lighter like others have mentioned. I love how it never looks cakey, even after applying multiple layers (especially on hot days)

Today I was in the drugstore and I noticed they changed the look of the packaging. It's in a shiny black compact iinstead of that dingy-lookking blue one. I hope they improved the compact too, cause the old packaging blows. As does the sponge that comes with it. But for under 3 bucks CDN, I'll survive. Will continue to repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 characterarc on 6/11/2011 10:07:00 PM more reviews by characterarc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started using this last year, but stopped after a while because of crappy packaging. I bought a second one the other day because I thought it did a good job of blotting. No.


Like other reviewers have mentioned, this isn't translucent. It's very clearly WHITE. At the end of the day I checked my makeup and my face was very obviously lighter (and cooler) than my neck and chest. It wasn't my foundation; my foundation was actually about a half-shade too dark for me and I've never heard of a foundation that turns lighter when it oxidizes, right? The culprit was the powder.


And as mentioned above, the packaging is such crap. It's not a proper powder case closure. The last time I used this, the "closure" broke and the metal pan inside also dislodged from the case and came loose, and I kept it in my bag, so this isn't travel-friendly. Cheap product, nothing redeeming about it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DeviousDana on 5/30/2011 2:41:00 AM more reviews by DeviousDana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For me NYC products are usually a hit or a miss, but when their good, oh baby their great. NYC's translucent pressed powder is a dream. its super cheap and it last. i use this to set my make up and it does its job perfectly. it has no scent and on my tanned skin it does not create any white cast, on very dark skin, it might show up very slightly but thats only if you use more product then needed. i would def repurchase its great! A tip would be not to use the little pink puff packaged with the product, as it can load up on too much powder, and apply unevenly, other than that its perfect

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ohhotdayumn on 4/23/2011 1:55:00 PM more reviews by ohhotdayumn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

LOVELOVELOVE this. It does make me a little pale, but it keeps away shine so well! I'm on my third compact, and I am most definitely going to be buying this again! One of my must haves :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SouthernFried on 3/29/2011 3:35:00 PM more reviews by SouthernFried

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best drugstore translucent powder I have ever tried! It's dirt cheap and very effective in my oil control/shine. I am extremely oily and this product helps to set all my makeup and keep me shine free much longer than any other drugstore powder I have used (which is basically all of them). This is my HG translucent powder. It's not magic, but it does works wonders. Blotting is inevitable for almost everyone with skin, so I don't hold anything against this powder for actually having to blot hours after application.

Critique:

Pros-
*Cheap cheap cheap
*If applied lightly and blended well, does not look powdery/chalky
*Oil control! Shine control!
*Able to be layered for extra shine control (but again, it needs to be layered lightly!)

Cons-
*If applied too heavily, can look chalky
*Packaging is cheap (but hey, for the price, I don't care. Packaging doesn't matter much to me anyway, it's the product inside that matters!)


I will most definitely purchase again. This is my second compact of this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Pressed Powders products