Urban Decay • 24/7 Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 3.7(97 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 MsSunshineGal27 on 1/16/2013 10:35:00 PM more reviews by MsSunshineGal27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I really want to like this product, but I just can't. There are several things that I don't care for. First, is the packaging. One would think the brush would be on the shorter side and the product on the longer side, but it's not. I frequently open it upside down. So far none of the product has dripped out though. I also find that the brush is too thin and long, which makes it too flexible. It just makes for a hard application.

Secondly, I'm not crazy about the formula. I think it's too thin. Combined with the thin, wobbly brush makes for an extremely difficult application. Lastly, the formula upon application becomes, for a lack of better words, rubbery. It almost peels of my eyelid after a just a little while of wear. You'd be better off with a much cheaper drugstore liner like Line Stiletto.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cvowles on 1/16/2013 9:08:00 PM more reviews by cvowles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

This is the first liquid eyeliner that I have purchased and been happy with in since Revlon discontinued their amazing Lustreliner product at the introduction of their Colorstay range in the early 90s. This eyeliner is literally the best I have found in a seach lasting the best part of 20yrs!

I have very warm and slightly oily eyes that melt makeup off. I end up with eyeliner leaving reflections on my upper lids, mascara melting off (unless it's waterproof) giving me an unbidden Alice Cooper appearance. It has been a true challenge to keep makeup on my eyes!

I purchased this liner in "Perversion" 3months ago and I love everything about it, including the thin brush applicator which allows precision application. The colour is intense and has a slight reflective quality. I like the look, it's not shiny enough to lose the effect of dark black. I've found it simple to apply, but then I am well practiced :). Liquid eyeliner of any kind requires a steady hand regardless of applicator. All I can say to the critics is practice! Once you get used to the angles of your face you will be able to apply this in about 2 quick strokes per eye (depending on how thick a line you're after, of course)

It wears well in all conditions - I've roadtested: Summer heat up to 45degC; crying; watering eyes in high wind; putting it on at 7am and taking it off at 5am the next morning (and it being perfect!); in the shower... everything but snow, as it doesn't snow where I live in Australia. It stays put EXACTLY like you applied it (unless you rub your eyes when they're wet).

It washes off easily with plain water, or gentle face cleanser: Just wet it well and massage with fingertips. Yes, it does come off in sections/ small flakes - not a problem if you have your eyes closed.

I searched for the liquid eyeliner for the best reviews on the web, and it was a choice between this one and Mac LiquidLast. Price was a large factor. In Australia the Mac liner RRP for $50+, and I could buy UD 24/7 on the net for $20 delivered. So next time you think spending $20 is a lot in the US, pause and think of the prices we pay in Aus! $20 is a standard price and represents value for money for this type of product.

I agree with previous comments that packaging is counter-intuitive with the brush section being the longest and printed part, but was mindful of that and haven't had a problem. That's the only grievance I can really have about it.

I've always shaken mine well and never seen suggestions of lumps or splitting.

I WILL be purchasing it again. I may even deviate away from my beloved black for another colour...maybe. Hopefully UD keep this formula around for a long time. I'm not sure I'm up for another 20yr search. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 joyonicity on 1/14/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by joyonicity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Despite loving Urban Decay eyeshadows and trying out literally dozens of eyeliners before, I hadn't tried this particular eyeliner until a few weeks ago. I picked it up at Sephora when my Makeup Forever Aqua Liner dried out and was looking for something different.

Urban Decay claims this liner is waterproof, but this stuff flakes off around my tear ducts or if my contacts make my eyes watery. It's very long-lasting if my eyes are behaving though - I slept in my makeup accidentally this weekend and the eyeliner was still perfect in the morning. The color is perfect, a very deep black. Finish is a bit glossy, which isn't a huge deal to me, but the formula is too wet. If I blink too rapidly after applying, it will travel around my eyes. I'm busy and impatient, not a good combo for dealing with waiting for eyeliner to dry!

Not a fan of the super thin brush - I'd rather it be like a marker brush, thicker at the base with a pointy tip. This means it takes longer to draw thick eyeliner on. I would recommend the brush if you have hooded eyelids and exclusively draw very thin lines. One advantage with this brush is you can be very precise with it, but it's sort of flimsy and hard to control, and we all know how unforgiving liquid liner is.

All in all, this eyeliner is just okay. Formula could be improved in multiple ways, dislike the brush. Would probably try something else over repurchasing this.

UPDATE: This eyeliner began leaking after less than a month of use, and dried out another month after that. This just doesn't last long enough, especially considering the price. Definitely won't be repurchasing as I've found something way better - Koji Dolly Wink Liquid Eyeliner in Deep Black.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Curlyxo on 1/3/2013 8:40:00 AM more reviews by Curlyxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good eyeliner, but defenitely not my favorite. I have the purple one, because I wanted something different than the usual black. When I swatched it on my hand it seemed to be the perfect, dark, purple color. But when I bought it and applied it at home it looked light purple... I always use the black eyeliner from Sephora(yes, their home brand) with the sponge and that one is really black. And I wanted a dark purple eyeliner(like it looked like in the store), but this is eyeliner is not what I was looking for.I also don't like the brush, I always apply thicker lines of eyeliner(winged) and I had to use a lot of eyeliner to get the line I was used to. However, I do have to say that this eyeliner is really waterproof and stays on all day. Once, I showered with my makeup on, and when my Sephora eyeliner was fading away, the UB stayed exactly where I applied it. The price is also OK, because I will never finish this bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anya1976 on 12/30/2012 12:10:00 PM more reviews by Anya1976

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've only used this once, so I am basing this review off that experience.
let me just say I love MAC liquidlasts and MUFE aqua liners. I do like that this is a thinner brush than MAC liquidlasts and I get a finer line (and it doesn't get all over my lashes like the liquidlasts always seem to do) but I personally love the control of the MUFE aqua liner's felt tip applicator. I went back and forth about getting another MUFE liner but settled on this one so I could try it out. I am not sure I like how shiny it looks after it's dry but in the long run that won't stop me from using it. I have to do a test to see which of the three liners last longest and are better for wearing to the pool/beach. Ok, normally if I am swimming I tend to go barefaced and no makeup at all but there are times when I am at a picnic or something where I do want a little bit of something on my eyes.
I wear contacts and have oily lids so I do tend to want waterproof eye makeup. I've read some reviews that say the brush gets frayed.. I really hope that doesn't happen cus that would change my review. I like a nice thin line as close as possible to my lashes. I generally do not do winged or cat eye liner, so I like a thinner line.
Right now,I'd buy again. But I will keep using it and may update this review.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissMerryMakeup on 12/23/2012 10:20:00 PM more reviews by MissMerryMakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

While I am a huge fan of this eyeliner for the reason that it truly is waterproof and lasts forever, it does have its faults. Such as the fact that the removal is quite odd for the reason that it peels off more than it rubs off. Also it is VERY overpriced in my eyes. While I believe if a product is amazing there's no harm in spending a little extra, for the amount you get I just don't find the price fair.

That being said; this is an incredible eyeliner. The quality is nearly unbeatable and the lasting power and pigmentation is like nothing I've ever seen. I just wish it was a bit more affordable and came with a more decent amount of product. Because it ran out rather quickly for me and the price makes it kind of hard to just repurchase whenever you want.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laurazombii13 on 12/8/2012 2:52:00 PM more reviews by Laurazombii13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best liquid eyeliner i've found so far. Usually when something say 24 hours, i say BULL! However! I put this stuff on at 1pm and it did not budge til i washed it off the next morning. It was so awesome. It seems to work better when my eyelids are kind of oily. If it does start to come off its usually in little chips. Oily skin or some moisturizer underneath it helps to prevent that. I do recommend you use olive or grape seed oil to take it off because it can be a pain trying to prematurely remove it. If your are going to splurge on a makeup product, i highly advise you buy this one if your a fan of liquid eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smsine on 11/30/2012 1:28:00 PM more reviews by smsine

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Love this eyeliner becauser IT IS WATERPROOF. Every single liquid "waterproof" eyeliner I have smears throughout the day, but this one is perfection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missbrightside08 on 11/29/2012 10:39:00 PM more reviews by missbrightside08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When its new, the applicator tip is really thin and sharp, almost TOO thin. After several months of use, the tip gets all frayed and thin filaments start to stick out every which way. When you start to use up most of the product in the container, the eyeliner is very oily and there's not a lot of black pigment left. The good thing about this is that the color payoff and staying power is really quite good throughout the day.
I have this in Perversion, and its super watery and black. Application is a bit messy. Also If it gets in your eye it burns really bad!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dancnbrs1 on 11/14/2012 11:03:00 AM more reviews by dancnbrs1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the applicator of this liquid liner. It's very easy to control and use. I have the black one, but dislike how glossy it looks, and how liquidy it is. It goes on pretty sheer and I need to build it up. It also flakes off, which I don't like. I don't think I'd buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Eyeliner products