MAC • Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(391 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 cocoadolly on 6/11/2014 9:32:00 PM more reviews by cocoadolly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. Keeps me matte for a relatively long time. The finish is perfection. I don't know if this is my absolute favorite foundation but it definitely is top 3. NOT good for flash photography because the SPF will give you the ghost effect, so I wouldn't recommend this for going out, special events, or weddings. For every day though, I'm obsessed with this

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 spyderweb on 6/10/2014 2:06:00 AM more reviews by spyderweb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Best liquid foundation by MAC
I use 1.5 > a neutral shade, it matches my skin tone perfectly,
and it's not greasy, doesn't make my shin shine, i will definitely repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Asliba on 6/6/2014 9:08:00 AM more reviews by Asliba

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is oily, quite oily, and this foundation after wearing 1-2 hours generates dry areas on my face, just as if i had chemical peeling. especially on my chin and forehead, my oiliest areas. Very weird, and the foundation definitely does not last long. The slippery feeling on my face is not good either. I dont give credit to whether it is adaplable to skin color or not, since i have other concerns first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Daficaricuchi on 6/1/2014 4:45:00 PM more reviews by Daficaricuchi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Promises:
- Perfect match to your skintone because of this "Shade Intelligence Tecnology".
- Demi-matte finish, with medium and buildable coverage
- Absorbs face oil, reduces shine
- Conditions your skin

Description:
The foundation comes in a glass bottle with a pump (yeeii!!) which is really helpful for you can control the quantity of product you want to work with, the pump can get locked, yet it's not absolutely safe and it comes with 35 mL. The consistency is quite heavy at the begginng but it's very easy to work with, using a sponge, I personally apply always with my Beauty Blender. The smell is painty-like, but not as bad as Revlon Colorstay.
It matches my skintone AMAZINGLY! when the make up artist at MAC picked up color 5 I truly believed it would be too dark for me, until he applied it, and it looked amazing. So I think this "Shade intelligence technology" works.
The finish is definitely matte (not demi-matte as ir claims) and it's buildable, the coverage is medium but it's very good, with a very thing second layer you can get the flawless look.
Now, about the oil business. Truth is, I don't have oily skin, but most foundations just don't last on my skin more tan a few hours until they start getting shiny on my T zone,and by the afternoon, it's completely gone. I can tell this one lasts more tan other foundations, for it lasts longer and remains matte longer as well, it may need some touch-ups during the day and it definitely needs to be sealed with powder. I'm using a traslucid powder from MAC and I'm not wearing any primer before applying it. That might make a difference on the already good lasting power of this foundation.
Finally, I don't feel like it conditions my skin, but it doesn't dry it out either. I didn't break out, I mean my skin isn't acne prone, but sometimes products make me break a bit, this one didn't.
I would definitely buy again :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sudania on 5/31/2014 10:50:00 PM more reviews by Sudania

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This foundation is great, doesnt oxidate or break me out. Love the packaging, I dont know why people complain about lass bottles. Its in a glass bottle because you get what you pay for. Just like Nars and other high end foundations/perfumes. No plastic here!!! the people who complain about packaging are the ones who throw their foundations all over the place. Foundation and perfume bottles are not meant to be abused! if you cant handle having a glass bottle..whether its MAC foundation or Chanel parfum...go buy from the dollar store and stop complaining.
The product is runny but not too runny that it's watery. I love how this has a pump!
Its great for people with oily skin! buildable coverage.
@Lms526you shouldnt let people tell you what foundation to wear. Tell your family its none of theri concern. I know in the western world its popular to be bronzey and dark...but if thats not your preference than dont let people pressure you. Dont get nutella shaded foundations just because to fit in with mainstream. if you like your foundation a certain way..go for it.
Dita voon teese prefers to look porcelain pale and wears light foundation to compliment her light skin...so dont feel pressure to be something youre not.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Asti1234 on 5/9/2014 1:23:00 PM more reviews by Asti1234

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this foundation. I initially got a weeks worth sample from Mac to try it out and loved it so much that I bought a bottle of it this week. First things first, the shade match is perfect for me, I'm warm toned, approx NC30 and I was matched with number 3.0. When I put it on the back of my hand it almost looks too peach but once its on my face the colour adapting particles that Mac claims this foundation has somehow works really well with my skintone. I love the coverage, I apply one thin layer using my hands then stipple on some more where I need extra coverage. It doesn't look cakey or dry. I do make sure that I moisturise really well first as I have normal/dry skin, I have been using Mac strobe cream and this combination gives my skin a gorgeous glow. Not too matte, but not too shiny either, like Mac face & body can be sometimes. The best thing about this foundation is it lasts. I'd say its as long lasting as Mac Pro Longwear. but not as dry looking. I love the pump applicator, I use around three pumps for my whole face and neck. Overall I would highly recommend this foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jotunologie on 4/23/2014 4:18:00 PM more reviews by jotunologie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My skin is pretty temperamental; it's mainly dry, but I'm prone to hormonal breakouts and slight oiliness in certain areas also due to hormones. I've been using Matchmaster in shade 1.0 for a year and a half now (currently on my second bottle), and I love it. I find the coverage is perfect for my skin, and it doesn't cling to dry patches as long as I moisturise and use a primer (which is the same for every foundation I've tried). Sometimes I lightly powder my t-zone if I'm having an oily day, but most of the time I can completely forgo powder and get a full day of wear! I might repurchase this product for a third time when I run out, but as it was my first MAC foundation, I'm curious to try the other ones (specifically Studio Fix Fluid).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raychilll on 4/19/2014 8:35:00 PM more reviews by raychilll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Obsessed! This is the first MAC foundation that I've EVER bought! I usually stray away from MAC foundations because I heard that they tend to be heavy (MAC is stage makeup afterall..) This is TOTALLY not the case! Light and airy yet still looks medium to full coverage. Not to mention that it perfectly matches my hard to match skintone (I'm 1.5 in this for reference) I'd reccomend to anyone who has normal-dry skin and is looking for a flawless foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* desertmom4 on 4/11/2014 1:38:00 AM more reviews by desertmom4

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

MAC Matchmaster fndtn is a fndtn that adapts to your skins undertones. It is a med coverage foundation with a semi- matte; yet dimensional finish to the skin.

I am NC30/35 ~ NW30 ish ( yes, I can wear both), and I wear 4.0. It is the largest bottle of the MAC foundations, minus the F&B. So u get a good bang for your buck here. I believe it retails for $33. It also has a handy dandy pump, so no need to fork over the extra dough to buy one.

I use my MAC 159 brush to apply, and it covers most everything, although I still use a concealer for my nose area which does have some broken caps. It leaves a semi-matte finish, although I prefer more dewy. I set it with MAC's MSFN or Studio Fix, then spray my face with Fix +.

This foundation is long wearing, as I have normal/ dry skin and this did not enhance any dry areas I may have. Long wearing to me is a full 10+ hours. I will say that towards the end of the night the area around my nose seemed to have separated a bit. Not sure if it's because I powdered that area too much or I just may need a wax. lol!

Matchmaster is a gr8 foundation for all skin types imo, except for very dry. If you have oily skin, your face will thank-you as it's main job is oil control. My daughter has oily skin, and this is her HG foundation for the past year or so.

Would I repurchase? I'm not sure, Even though it's a gr8 foundation, I just prefer more of a dewy look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Triggah on 3/27/2014 7:52:00 PM more reviews by Triggah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a 5.0 in the match master foundation. I have very oily skin and I must say this is the best color match I have ever had except for Chanel beige amber. The coverage is medium , I must say I am a full coverage girl. You are able to build up. Last about 4 hours without powder. Before this I would buy studio fix fluid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products