MAC Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation

3.7

425 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Original formulation - September 2011): ACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Octinoxate 3.40%, Titanium Dioxide 1.00% INACTIVE INGREDIENTS: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Butylene Glycol, Peg-10 Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Lecithin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Algae Extract, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Dipropylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Laureth-7, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Dimethicone/Peg-10/15 Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Peg-10 Crosspolymer, Peg/Ppg-18/18 Dimethicone, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dimethicone Silylate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid, [ /- Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Titanium Dioxide (Ci 77891), Chromium Oxide Greens (Ci 77288)]


on 12/6/2014 6:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Finally I have found my Holy Grail of foundations! I have normal/dry skin and the shade 1.5 is a perfect match. It is easy to blend out and makes my skin so silky. It has medium coverage, as I have clear skin I only use a tiny bit of it and blend it out just to even out my skintone and hide the redness. It has a matte finish which lasts for me the whole day ( I always set it with a transparent powder). It does not dry out my skin, however I always hydrate it with mineralize charged water spray and gel cream before I apply the foundation. I am in love with this product, obviously it's not for every skintype, but for me, this is the one.



Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Deep Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have this in #9. It's a tad bit on the red side but I like it. I'm not sure I would re-purchase it though. I don't feel anything is that special about it to warrant the price.


on 12/6/2014 1:28:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was looking forward to trying out this foundation.... I went to Macy's to be matched. I was a 3 according to the SA but I asked for a trial size of the 4 also.. In the morning I tried on the 3. It was a decent match but I hated it the moment to put it on my face. It was much too matte for me. It looked drab like I do with most matte foundations...I will stick to BBs, CCs and TMs.... Depending on the needs of my skin. As I age foundation has become my enemy. This one did not have a lot of coverage but that is what I wanted. The heavier the coverage, the older I look! Oh well... Another one bites the dust!


on 11/30/2014 3:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Deep Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have extremely dry skin, if I dont drink enough water my cheeks will be flaking the next day everywhere with that ashy look! Not cute, I always go for a foundation that gives more of a dewy look & glow. I was at a the mall one day, and the makeup artist recommended me to use Matchmaster. Before i even told her my skin complications, btw i'm only 20 but dry skin is a issue for me I don't want my makeup to stick to my flakes or take the moisture out of my skin & make me look older than i really am. Anyways, i decided to just try the foundation & i'm glad i did!!! Beautiful coverage, dosn't stick to any dry flakes, but i would suggest you moisturize first before apply this. It gives my skin a glow but at the same time its not really dewy more like a semi matte type of glow without over drying the skin. But it doesn't cover really dark hyper pigmentation, deff not full coverage more medium but trusstt me it really does make your face look stunninggg. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.


on 11/13/2014 4:32:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have extreme combination skin, and this foundation was recommended to me. I decided to try it since I'm a big fan of the Face & Body. Well, I'm not a fan of this one. I got it in 1.0, which I'm actually not sure is a good match. Some days I thought it was, some days, it appeared too light. Even after I made sure to exfoliate dry patches and moisturize carefully, this clung to dry patches, accentuated my pores and did not control oil at all.


on 11/9/2014 1:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had my engagement photo makeup done by the MAC counter at my local mall last spring. The only MAC products I had ever bought before were random eye shadow pots every once in a while, and I have always been one of those people that says "Oh, that's too expensive for makeup! I can just go to the drugstore and get the same thing!" Well...I have been converted. The incredibly talented makeup artist finished my face and asked what I would like to buy - I went in planning to buy just a tube of lipstick or something small - and walked out with like 5 things, one of which being this foundation. It is AMAZING. It goes on perfectly smooth, isn't oily, matches my skin tone better than any foundation I have ever used, and a little goes a LONG way, so you really get many, many applications out of the bottle, which helps with the expense (in my opinion). I will literally use this until they discontinue it, or I die!!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2014 10:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love the coverage this foundation gives, especially for my dark skin.


on 11/9/2014 7:20:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Could possibly be my new HG foundation! The only reason I haven't given it a 5 is because I'm not totally sure I adore it yet, but I think it's getting there! I've been looking for a natural finish, not too dewy or matte, medium coverage foundation for everyday and this ticks every box. A common problem I have with foundation is that it simply is too dewy (I have normal-combination skin, slightly oily in t-zone but also a few dry areas but they aren't flaky/patchy) and the amount of powder needed to make it not shiny makes it look so unnatural. But finally, a foundation which is a natural matte and a perfect colour match in a 2.0! I typically apply with my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush and this gives me a natural but redness-correcting finish. If I have any spots or blemishes I have to conceal further, but luckily that's quite rare. It lasts wonderfully, melts into the skin to look extremely if not the same colour and looks pretty natural :) The only con I have is the high price (but you do get 35ml rather than the typical 30ml) but I do think it is worth it. Wouldn't recommend for dry/flaky skin however as with moisturizer for me, with slightly tight dehydrated skin it's totally fine, but for flaky skin this will cling to dryness. Super wonderful however and very pleased.


on 11/8/2014 4:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this foundation and I have been searching for a long time, tried everything from drugstore brands to hourglass veil for around $70. I have fair-light skin, very sensitive (reddens easily), and combination - this foundation in 1.5 is the best colour match I have ever found. It looks too orange on the back of my hand but when I spread a streak on my face it seems to magically adjust to a perfect match. The coverage lasts most of the day, masks my redness and even looks good in my t-zone oily areas. New HG foundation!!


on 11/3/2014 11:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love a foundation that can look flawless even if applied with a stippling brush or a beauty blender. Great for my oily skin and buildable coverage! I just hate how it's hard to pump out the product once it reaches halfway. I find myself having to unscrew because there's so much product not getting through the pump. However, it is neat how it has the lock/unlock twist feature.


Back to Top