BeneFit Cosmetics • They're Real • Mascara

rated 3.5(1730 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetdase on 8/22/2014 1:21:00 PM more reviews by sweetdase

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in Sephora's 500 point package and I always wanted to try this mascara. However, because the formula is not waterproof, it does not hold a curl at all. I like the brush itself with the spikes coming out so it is easier to apply mascara on the lashes. It is easier to comb through the lashes with a stiff brush like this ones. If only there were more bristles to it, it could create more volume to the lashes rather than having the lashes separated. I would definitely try this again if Benefit came out with a waterproof version of this product that could hold a curl. Other than that, I would not purchase it as it does smudge as well. Not only for me, but I have friends who wear this mascara and it smudges on them as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 egolding on 8/21/2014 1:35:00 AM more reviews by egolding

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is about the hundredth mascara I've tried and I only purchased it because the lovely sales assistant made a compelling case - it is the most sold mascara in Myer and David Jones department stores!

PROS -
I have very sensitive eyes and contact dermatitis around my eyes and, providing I wash it completely off at night time, this doesn't irritate my skin!

Lush and separate lashes, with the ability to layer it

Wand is rubber so I find easier to use


CONS -
The wand has spikes at the end for getting into corner lashes but I find this awkward and tend to get it on my lids.

Would definitely buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sailawaybunny on 8/21/2014 1:18:00 AM more reviews by sailawaybunny

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

It took me a little while to bite the bullet and buy this mascara. At $30 CAD, it's pretty steep. But I finally did and it is WORTH IT. First of all, this mascara is so intensely black it's crazy - so if you're a brown mascara fan, this probably isn't for you. HOWEVER, the brush alone has been worth it. It's great at combing through your lashes, and the end spiky bit is amazing at getting your lower & corner lashes, which can really give you that false lash look. The formula of this mascara is a bit on the dry side, which makes a little hard to remove - I definitely recommend an oil-based remover. But I haven't had any problems with it flaking at all, and I find the dry, thickness of it makes it easy to build multiple coats on. Overall, this mascara has single-handedly replaced all my mascara because of that fact. When I wear this for day time make up, I've been asked if I have eyelash extensions. But I've layered it for a more dramatic look, too. For that reason, the price is juuuuuust worth it. I do have to say that for a BeneFit product, the packaging is pretty plain - but that hardly matters. Because no, it's not a drugstore priced item - but it certainly gives a high-end result. Besides, if you're someone who wears false lashes regularily, then arguably, this is probably a cheaper alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lisa1000 on 8/19/2014 5:13:00 PM more reviews by Lisa1000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I received a sample size from Sephora. I liked it, but can't give it more than three stars because it smudged and flaked a bit by the end of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cornejcn on 8/19/2014 3:35:00 PM more reviews by cornejcn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this mascara. It's waterproof and doesn't budge (I have allergy eyes too). It can clump a little if you arent careful to wipe the brush before applying. The spiked ball end of the brush make it great for the outer corners. A little goes a long way. I don't even buy the full size product because this lasts me so long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bellavee on 8/17/2014 4:53:00 PM more reviews by bellavee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is definitely not worth the hype, at least not for me. I tried this a couple times but each time it came out clumpy and spidery looking. It wasn't natural looking at all, not even in a false lashes kind of way. One layer wasn't enough but two layers was way too much. Definitely not worth the price considering I get better results for a bombshell look with Maybeline's Falsies mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MommaToni on 8/17/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by MommaToni

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My brother bought me this and I was so excited to use it. Unfortunately, it gave me spider lashes. I like my lashes to look full and this did the opposite. Not at all anywhere close to full.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nsn1612 on 8/16/2014 10:45:00 PM more reviews by nsn1612

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara gives you length and curl but not volume. It separates each individual lash - almost spidery looking but not clumpy. In my opinion, the finished look is pretty but certainly not for every day wear. The worst part about this mascara is that it is unnecessarily difficult to remove. I noticed that I would lose a few eyelashes each time I removed this mascara so I won't be repurchasing for that reason.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Syreetajackson on 8/16/2014 9:12:00 PM more reviews by Syreetajackson

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is like shallac mascara. Hated it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soulnechnaya on 8/16/2014 3:41:00 PM more reviews by soulnechnaya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I am surprised this mascara has only 3 and a half*! Using this for about two years and not even thinking there might be anything better than this. Not for me at least. I do have long lashes but they are straight and pretty stubborn so always using the curver first and then no tricks-one layer of this magic mascara and I have the long,thick,black pretty lashes. It does not dry out quickly, lasts me for at least 1-1,5 month using it every Single day. I personally think the trick is in the brush and the tip of it- it reaches all the small lashes you dont even know you have! Buying it in duty free shops £16 or two for £29 or its about £20 on the high street which is still very much affordable. I have tried all good mascaras out there including Dior show, YSL and Estee Lauder and yet i prefer this product over anything else. Can not imagine my make up bag without it! If you have not tried it yet do not think twice- you will love it too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Mascara products