Bourjois • Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.1(389 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 allibunny on 5/4/2014 5:54:00 AM more reviews by allibunny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

After hearing a lot of hype about this foundation, I just had to give in and try it. I own the shade 52 Vanilla, and it's pretty close in colour to my skin, but I wish there was a better range. The packaging is nothing special, but it does the job.

When it comes to the formula, I'm a bit torn apart. If my skin is smooth, it applies like a dream. Light coverage, good lasting power, satin finish. But unfortunately when it comes to any dry patches I may have, oh gosh it's a mess. No matter how much moisturiser or primer I use, I can't get this foundation to go on smoothly! Instead I end up avoiding any dry spots completely, because I'd prefer uneven coverage to looking flaky.

I'm still on the hunt for my HG foundation, but I definitely see why people love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sopha123 on 5/2/2014 5:46:00 PM more reviews by sopha123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is TERRIBLE. I got the lightest shade which was SO yellow. It was expensive. The packaging was plastic. It stuck to every dry patch on my skin. It goes patchy. Worst of all, it broke me out BADLY. I have never had any issues with pimples but after using this my skin is covered in deep under the skin spots and blocked up pores, its one of the worst things I have ever used and a total waste of money. Don't buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bremsetha on 4/27/2014 4:43:00 AM more reviews by bremsetha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation when my skin is dryer than normal. It looks beautiful on the skin. However, I don't think it lasts as long as it claims.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* emily0212 on 4/22/2014 2:14:00 PM more reviews by emily0212

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This looks good on me, IF I am having a good skin day. If I'm broken out or flakey or having a rosacea flare, not so much. Definitely does not last 16 hours as it claims. It's pretty much gone after 10-12 hours but I can live with it. I love how smooth it is when I apply it with my fingers. The scent is strong at first but it fades quickly. LOVE that the fair colors run yellow! I hate looking pink all the time! Wish it was available in the US!! Right now I either get it on eBay from UK sellers or I order from ASOS.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 celinewheeler93 on 4/22/2014 3:47:00 AM more reviews by celinewheeler93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product and have just finished it. The gel glides really well on my skin except I have just changed primer and it has started flaking so I need to figure out the best primer to use when I repurchase. I have acne-prone and combination skin and it doesn't break me out at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danaylchan on 4/21/2014 10:27:00 PM more reviews by danaylchan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love, love, love!

Couldn't ask for a better foundation, (except if it had spf but my day cream has it so I am not overly bothered by it).

It makes my skin look photo-shopped and so smooth. My friends have even commented on it.

The pump is very easy to control, I usually use half a pump for day use and a full pump for night use. This is amazing and super long wear! I swear, it looks better over time when it sets into your skin and gives such a natural look. It's not obvious that you have a lot of make up on but it enhances what you have. This is a light to medium-ish coverage though so if you are looking for something heavier this is not the foundation for you.

I use a transparent powder by Rimmel to set it- the name of the product came off so I don't know what it's called.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondbunny on 4/20/2014 12:42:00 PM more reviews by blondbunny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Sadly this was just ok in my books the reason being is 51 light vannila runs too dark on my nc15 skin it has warm yellow undertones and I have neutral undertones so if you not yellow toned stay away it does give a magnificent dewy glow to my skin coverage is extremley stingy so if you looking for a heavy duty foundation this is not for you it just evens out/corrects skin tone more then camouflage imperfections.I wouldint buy this again as it doesint suit my skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kateaf12 on 4/20/2014 5:34:00 AM more reviews by Kateaf12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is one of my favourites. It works perfectly as an everyday foundation because of its light to medium coverage. I love the smoothness of the gel formula, which makes it easy to blend. It also has a nice fresh fragrance, a bit like clinique moisture surge. I like the natural radiant finish and the fact it lasts all day. I do have to use concealer on my acne, but I don't mind. It doesn't Accentuate dryness of flaky acne skin. It's 37Aud which is a lot for a drugstore foundation, but I would still repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Erinjay on 4/19/2014 5:36:00 AM more reviews by Erinjay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Favourite foundation ever good coverage and flawless skin definitely reccomend :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* madeupmary on 4/17/2014 8:18:00 AM more reviews by madeupmary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I really wanted to like this foundation, like really wanted to as this one seemed to tick all the boxes of what I was looking for. Radiance? Tick. Gel based formula? Tick. Good shade selection for pale skin? Tick. Unfortunately I found the foundation to be too dark and too pink toned for my complexion, which is strange as Bourjois foundations normally lean towards yellow tones. I also found that it didn't give me nearly enough coverage. Even after four pumps my skin didn't look great and it also looked flat rather than radiant.

I got this from a swap from a fellow person on Makeup Alley but as I already had makeup on that day, I left it to the next day to try it. It feels lighter than the original Healthy Mix but seemed to oxidize badly on my skin. It also isn't nearly as yellow toned as the Healthy Mix. This feels lovely on the skin but doesn't provide the coverage or look I want. It did last all day with powdering, which I suppose is a good thing but as I didn't like the look of it, this is really neither here nor there.

I definitely wouldn't buy this again. I had such high hopes, but this foundation is just OK, it certainly doesn't wow and I wouldn't recommend to anyone else.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bourjois products

More Liquid products