Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation

4.1

493 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (water), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Butylene Glycol, Aluminium Starch Octenylsuccinate, Phenoxyethanol, Sodium Chloride, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alcohol Denat, Parfum (fragrance), Panthenol, Aluminium Hydroxide, Litchi Chinensis Pericarp Extract, Silica, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Pantolactone, Punica Granatum Extract, Potassium Sorbate, Sorbic Acid [+/- May contain: CI 77007 (ultramarines), CI 77019 (mica), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI77891 (titanium dioxide)] 10BMT001-1]


on 4/15/2015 2:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think I've found my HG foundation. I'm an NC40 in mac and i wear the shade 56 light bronze in this foundation and it matches pretty well. However, the line does tend to run pink; however, for olive skintones this shade works well.

I have dry skin and this foundation applies very smoothly and dries to somewhere between the dewiness of mac face and body and a semi matte finish. It's absolutely gorgeous but it is light to medium coverage and since I don't live in europe, shade matching was very difficult.



on 4/14/2015 7:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

So, my skin has been really dry at the moment and with some dry patches, but I still have an oily forehead, and this foundation works beautifully with my combo skin. It gives a natural glow to the skin, it is light weight and has low to medium coverage, so you'll have a "no makeup" look. It doesn't accentuate my dry patches and it doesn't make me oilier. I also gave one of this to my mom (who has a very normal skin) and she loved it because she didn't feel like she was using foundation at all. It does have a fruity scent but I find that it dissappears after application. I also found that it covers my pores really well. If you have normal to dry skin you will love it. If you have normal to oily, I would still recommend it(perhaps using a primer or powder) but if you're super oily then I don't think this is for you. For reference, I use 51-Light Vanilla(NC15-20) and my mom uses 53-Light Beige(NC25-30). My only complaint is that this foundation doesn't offer colors for darker skin tones. However, if you can find your color, I think this is totally worth the money.


on 4/13/2015 5:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I have dry patches on my cheeks around my nose and an oily forehead. ..got this as I also have sensitive skin as in bumps rather than spots or acne..
coverage is light can possibly be medium after 2 coats or mixed with another foundation but mainly its a natural finish
not a really a 'gel' but rather a light liquid foundation
applies very easily with or without a brush (sometimes I use my fingers) I use the real tech contour brush as I feel the real tech buffing brush lifts the product off the skin so it's almost tooooo blended
this is a good fdn for people with normal/dry skin people with oily skin may have issues
it doesn't last a huge amount of time BUT I don't use a primer as I have skin issues with primers so I can't say if it does or doesn't work
It is not bad for £10 I prefer this over my Nars ...It doesn't stick to my dry patches but I do use bio oil on my patches 15 mins before I apply the fdn (I'm extra dry right now because I'm pregnant otherwise I use a normal Moisturiser) Also I don't apply any fdn in general to my forehead because I get oily there during the day
I am NC40 in Mac / Nars sheer glow I am shade Barcelona so I have this in shade 55 and it's a dead on match though you wouldn't think it from the bottle.
Overall ... great for a natural look and for summer and for people with dry skin ... didn't break me out in bumps or spots


on 4/10/2015 3:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Good coverage. Nice texture. Lasts long enough. Not cakey. Cheap. Very nice natural finish. Best foundation ever. I've tried a lot of foundations and my regular foundation was vitalumiere Aqua until I found this gem.


on 4/10/2015 2:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I ordered this foundation in the winter and am still using it in the spring. I've used it every time I put on make up, and I still really love the consistency and effect of this foundation. I have #53 (Beige Clair--a neutral tone) and while it was a good winter colour, I've gotten a bit more tan and it's too light for me now. However, a great thing about this foundation is that it elevates any foundation it's mixed with, whether it's expensive or cheap. This is one of my favourite foundations to mix with others, as it's a great base that stays on well and also feels great when applying.

This foundation has not broken me out, but I do think it's important to wash foundation brushes more often when using them with this foundation. The consistency is much more thick than water-based foundations, so it sticks to bristles easily. I use a little bit of this foundation at a time because I find that it can feel too heavy on the skin when applied generously. I apply this foundation with a small stippling brush so that I can focus on buffing it into my skin and using less. I can't review how well this foundation holds up during warm weather, but during cold weather it doesn't make my face feel dry at all.

The packaging is really sturdy. Usually within months of use, a plastic foundation bottle will lose its lid or the pump will break down. The packaging has held up and I wouldn't say I'm gentle with the bottle. The price can be quite expensive. I purchased it on sale for about $18 CAD, but since then it has jumped up to $24. I believe I will repurchase this foundation, though it has inspired me to try other gel foundations to see how it compares. I'm not sure about the promises made on the bottle, since my skin hasn't gotten any better or worse since I started using it.

Overall, it's a good foundation that I really like. I prefer the feel of this foundation compared to water-based foundations which can sometimes be too runny. I'd recommend this foundation to those who have worn foundation before and know how they like to apply it, as the consistency can be manipulated to suit different needs. The colour range is not the best, as it misses a lot of colours for darker skins, as well as skin tones that are more yellow/olive. If they expanded their colour range, I would definitely buy again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is easily my favourite foundation, with that out of the way I would like to see a wider shade range, I found a shade that suits me really well (vanilla) but I can see that being a problem

This stuff isn't actually a gel, it's a liquid foundation but due to the serum in the formula it blends out really easily, there is nothing in Boots or Superdrug that blends this well at this price point, it's so forgiving even if you're bad at blending

This foundation has a smell that makes me think of Chanel makeup (not suprising since Bourjois own Chanel cosmetics) it's quite strong at first but usually goes away after about 15 minutes so this would be really bad if you're sensitive to smells

The coverage is definitely on the light to medium side of things, you can build up to the medium coverage by applying two layers but any more than that and I found that it got really cakey really fast

This lasted me around 6 hours with no touch ups in the summer but made it to the 13 hour mark in the winter so it really depends on your skin type, in spring and autum when I'm a normal skin type I can get 8 to 9 hours of wear from this with just one layer of powder when I start my day

I did notice that this stuff seemed to help boost my moisture levels in the winter (probably that serum right?) and also had the benefit of making the foundation easy to move out of lines (I could tap the product out of my lines if I wanted)

All in all I think this stuff is definitely worth trying out if you're looking for that simple and quick foundation that can give you a naturally level complexion

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2015 8:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was an okay foundation. The color range is good natural-looking and the foundation doesn't look cakey on my face. But I kinda feel like this broke me out a little? And it made my skin look oily really fast..


on 3/26/2015 3:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I put this on my face and it was instantly like.. This is the foundation I have been waiting 10 years to find. My face instantly felt good. This stuff feels like moisturizer and has the coverage I'm looking for - I like the "no-makeup makeup" effect. It hasn't broken me out and lasts through the day. My forehead gets a little shiny, but I'm not sure if that's a product of this, having bangs, or just having a very oily forehead. I feel fresh with this foundation and it doesn't cake or oxidize around the nose pads on my glasses (looking at you TruBlend!!!). It's pricey (but not outrageous) - but my mother always said make sure you have expensive foundation - the rest can be cheap crap! I seriously hope this doesn't get discontinued or I will need to start my search all over again. I'm hoping to use this for life.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2015 7:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Good for:
Normal, dry and very dry skin
A natural, dewey finish
Light coverage
''No makeup'' makeup

Not the best for:
Oily skin
Troubled skin (hyperpigmentation, acne, etc)
High coverage

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/23/2015 10:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pros:
+ Natural
+ Light cover
+ Easy to blend
+ Does not cause break out

Cons:
+ Not long-lasting
+ Cakey after 2 or 3 coats
+ Not suitable with ppl who have oily skin
+ Suitable with ppl who have smooth skin already

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top