John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(344 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kerrybabyxx on 11/2/2013 10:31:00 PM more reviews by kerrybabyxx

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I use dark blonde have been using hair color for years now,and I was pleasantly surprised,at how good this brand is.The color isn't brassy,the tint is natural and attractive looking,and it really lasts,longer than any other brand,also it covers grey for the longest time.The high price is a sore point,but I buy them when they are on the clearance shelf for about $4...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 at806 on 10/27/2013 1:10:00 PM more reviews by at806

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I purchased the 9A color of this product, mixed the solutions as per instructions and twisted the cap until it snapped. Then I tried to get the foam color out but the cap did not work at all. Defective cap. No quality control checks ? Deteriorating product quality ?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 apkeating on 10/14/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by apkeating

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a multiple repurchase for me. I have used this at least a dozen times. I have the shade of haircolor on the box i use (9A-light ash blonde) but live in an area with hard water with sulfur. This tends to turn my hair SUPER brassy very fast. I had very bad luck with toning and purple shampoos and this is an easy way to tone it down. I use it once every 4-5 weeks.

I pick this up at CVS (only place that carries the lighter shades apparently only) and the foam is lovely since I previously had to use two boxes of a competitor brand of "gel" type color-the kind in a regular bottle. The foam is enough to cover my whole head and then some, and I have a lot of hair. This is nice, since even though the bottle is $12, it saves me from having to buy 2 $9 boxes of another brand.

Put this in, 20-30 minutes and rinse. You're good to go. Plus, the conditioner is the BOMB. I wish John Frieda made it separately. My hair feels amazing afterward-I even emailed them to ask if they sold it separately. They said Full Repair is the closest (which isn't far off-I tried it)

Overall, I LOVE THIS. I don't even need to color my hair. But it's that good. Enough to repurchase 10+ times.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissTheSweetest on 10/4/2013 2:07:00 PM more reviews by MissTheSweetest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Best hair color ever! Better then the salon or any other box color. Expensive but so worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessimon on 9/19/2013 8:18:00 AM more reviews by jessimon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Have to say I love the results I get with John Frieda Precision Foam Color! I have very dark brown hair and use the colour in Deep Cherry Brown (3VR). The gloves supplied are black and of good quality - I rinse them at the end of application for future use (used them with another brand of coloring that had easily torn gloves). The colour is easy to mix and apply and the foam doesn't drip (although if it is very humid, the colour can run a bit due to sweat). The one con is that it takes me ages to use up most of the mix (I have shoulder-length hair and the instructions say I should use all the mix, but I never can do this). Possibly my hair is very fine and although longish, it isn't thick. So, for those with a lot of hair, one box of this product gives very good coverage.

After rinsing and using the conditioner, my hair feels very soft and is very shiny. The colour result is vibrant and I can definitely see a difference if my hair was lighter before application. It doesn't seem to fade much - I can go 4 weeks before I need to use again, but I think the need to reapply is due to regrowth, not fading. The price is a bit steep for me (considering how often I use hair colour) but I've always been able to find it on sale, anywhere from $13 - $16 at the local chemist/supermarket.

I'd definitely recommend it - recently tried the Garnier Olia but the result was so poor (fading colour, very dry hair), I re-coloured using the John Frieda only 3 weeks later.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emhesk on 9/9/2013 6:57:00 PM more reviews by emhesk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Honestly this is the BEST hair dye I have bought and used !! I originally had blonde ombre hair (blonde down the bottom and brown up the top) this dye covered all my hair (long and thick!) and made the colour all an even beautiful light ash brown!! LOVE THIS PRODUCT AND WILL RECCOMEND THIS TO EVERYONE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aliciahaha on 8/30/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by aliciahaha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I had medium-dark brown hair and dyed it with the color Dark Red Brown. The application was easy, very little mess, and the color was alright but it didnt change much. Just a tint of reddish purple over my other hair color. It looks nice, the only thing that really bothers me is how my hair feels after dying. The roots feel gross as if there residue? I'm sure it will wash out, just kind of gross. This hair dye was alright, I'll probably end up trying something's different next time. One good thing though is that one box covered my entire head! Usually I need two, because I have long, thick straight hair but this dye saved me money. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mramsey12 on 8/29/2013 4:31:00 AM more reviews by Mramsey12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I got this product with a free coupon. It did nothing. I used one of the darker brown shades to try and get coverage. My hair is about 4 inches past my shoulders, so I used the entire bottle, which was more than enough. I left it on for the 30 minute max. After I washed it thoroughly and blow dried my hair, I came to the conclusion it did nothing at all. It was as I had just washed my hair. I would never use this product again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daynas on 8/25/2013 1:15:00 PM more reviews by daynas

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been coloring my hair for many, many years and this has been the best product I have ever used both for ease of use and for coverage of roots. The most difficult thing when coloring one's own hair is to get complete and consistent touchups of roots all over the head. The foam approach accomplishes this well and also makes the entire process much less messy than the earlier generation of hair colorant products. In the "old" days, I used peroxide and drabber to achieve the light ash blonde color I need (my natural hair color varies from light blonde near the temples to dark blonde at the back of my head). Gradually, I shifted to the prepared products. I found Preference too harsh and used Excellence until I tried John Frieda. John Frieda does a better job in covering roots than Excellence, partly because the foam penetrates areas that can be missed using other techniques when one attempts to touch up roots by oneself. But it is not a product I would use if I wanted to dramatically change my hair color. For that, one needs to use a two-step process and probably have it done professionally.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 suzieyellow on 8/18/2013 10:00:00 AM more reviews by suzieyellow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got this in the colour Deep Cherry. It was on sale for AUD$12, but it's usually $25, which is extremely expensive for an at-home dye kit.

Firstly, it smells quite nice. It does smell a bit like hair dye, but no where nearly as strongly as other home hair dye kits. Wow!!

The foam is easy to work with and to distribute throughout your hair. My only problem with this is that a tiny amount of the liquid will result in a large amount of foam. So after 10 minutes of putting foam in my hair, I'd only gone through half of the dye in the bottle, at which point I gave up and chucked the rest out, which was a bit of a waste.

It came with 50mL of conditioner, which is very very generous.

After washing it out, my hair felt quite soft, which was a pleasant surprise. Some dyes do damage my hair or make my hair not as manageable, so I was glad it wasn't the case here.

The colour wasn't particularly vibrant, though that might have been because I'd chucked out half the dye. I guess I'll see how the colour holds up in the next month.

Basically, a great product, but one lippie off for a) the price and b) the fact that it would take ages to foam up all the dye.

EDIT: Took one lippie off because the colour didn't last very long (though perhaps that was my fault for not using all the dye). In a few weeks you could see all my old regrowth :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products