John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(349 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 celestesong on 12/10/2013 8:37:00 PM more reviews by celestesong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am an at-home hair dye newbie; I've always had mine done at the salon. I finally got tired of spending a small fortune just to be trapped in an ammonia-filled cloud for an hour and thought "Surely, I can do this myself." I honestly cannot tell the difference between the $12.00 I spent on this product and the $100+ that I spend at the salon.

The application process is very easy and makes minimal mess. Basically, if you can lather your hair, you can use this dye. I used the 5A Medium Ash Brown; my hair was already a fairly medium brown and the dye turned it a rich brown-black. I was aiming for a "Lady Mary-from-Downtown Abbey shade" and this delivered it perfectly.

This product also was rather gentle -- for a hair dye, it didn't have a very strong chemical smell. The follow-up conditioner is amazing; I was initially worried as my hair tangled somewhat in the foam lather, but the conditioner made it perfectly silky and smooth. I have fine hair that reaches well past my shoulders and one bottle was more than enough to cover it all.

In short, I think this is a very accessible product that delivers luxurious results. If you are new to at-home hair dyes, this is a really great product to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* allymack on 11/19/2013 7:48:00 PM more reviews by allymack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this in 8N. This product was nothing particularly special. It did successfully pull my medium brown hair to a dark blonde that didn't look terrible, but not immensely flattering either. I was aware of the risk of it turning out brassy, and while it did pull some ginger tones, it was nothing particularly fake looking or embarrassing. Just a dark strawberry blonde. I got a couple of compliments, but I am planning to re-dye, because it wasn't the shade I was looking for. I did notice some damage on my virgin hair, some increased tangling and dryness at the ends, particularly when I didn't deep condition during a wash and tried to just stick to my usual 2 in 1.
The foam was convenient and less messy and fussy to apply, so if this same dye was available in more shades at drugstores in my area, I'd try another colour. Bottom line: nothing to write home about, but if you're looking to lighten at home, you could do worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TianXiaoMao on 11/9/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by TianXiaoMao

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine, thick, longish (armpit length) hair, and one bottle of this was not really enough to get my hair as foamy as the instructions suggest. I have about 25% silver hairs and my goal was to cover them without dramatically changing my color. I left the foam in for 25 minutes after massaging it, and then rinsed it out. I applied the conditioner treatment that comes in the box, and found that I had to use the entire tube to get a wide-tooth comb through my hair. After my shower I also had to use de-tangling cream, and my hair smells like ammonia and feels a bit crunchy. And guess what? I can still see almost all of my grays. I'm pretty disappointed by this. It seems to have damaged all my hair but left the grays alone. ;(
I may update my review later once I wash it a few times and see how the color wears.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lilypily93 on 11/9/2013 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Lilypily93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually love it! I've got VERY thin hair, which is almost at waist length. I completely saturated my hair in foam and still had heaps left to go! The packaging says to use it all and I did. Woke up this morning to the most beautiful, shiny hair. I generally love all John Frieda products. Brilliant brunette shamp/cond & glaze keeps my hair looking amazing. I don't think anyone should rule this out due to bad reviews. Just be careful not to leave it on for too long !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KatieLouize on 11/4/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by KatieLouize

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I saw this hair dye on offer half price at Boots. I had always wanted to try it so decided to take advantage of the offer whilst i could. I bought the Dark Brown - Black shade to put on my medium brown hair to darken it. The dye was really easy to apply and although it looks like hardly any in the bottle, once it comes out as foam you get loads. My hair is really long and i still had dye (foam) left at the end. I left the dye on for about 45 minutes to make sure it went as dark as it possibly could and washed it out with warm water. The colour was quite nice and even when dry and i was pleased with the result. But two days later i washed it again and it started fading straight away. By about the 4th wash my hair had gone from dark dark brown to a shade not much darker than the colour my hair was originally. This is supposed to be a permanant dye and normally when i put dark dyes on my hair they don't start fading for at least a month so i was very disappointed and will have to stick another dark dye on next time i get paid...waste of money really so glad i only paid £5. I would have been really annoyed had i paid the normal retail price of £10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kerrybabyxx on 11/2/2013 10:31:00 PM more reviews by kerrybabyxx

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I use dark blonde have been using hair color for years now,and I was pleasantly surprised,at how good this brand is.The color isn't brassy,the tint is natural and attractive looking,and it really lasts,longer than any other brand,also it covers grey for the longest time.The high price is a sore point,but I buy them when they are on the clearance shelf for about $4...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 at806 on 10/27/2013 1:10:00 PM more reviews by at806

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I purchased the 9A color of this product, mixed the solutions as per instructions and twisted the cap until it snapped. Then I tried to get the foam color out but the cap did not work at all. Defective cap. No quality control checks ? Deteriorating product quality ?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 apkeating on 10/14/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by apkeating

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a multiple repurchase for me. I have used this at least a dozen times. I have the shade of haircolor on the box i use (9A-light ash blonde) but live in an area with hard water with sulfur. This tends to turn my hair SUPER brassy very fast. I had very bad luck with toning and purple shampoos and this is an easy way to tone it down. I use it once every 4-5 weeks.

I pick this up at CVS (only place that carries the lighter shades apparently only) and the foam is lovely since I previously had to use two boxes of a competitor brand of "gel" type color-the kind in a regular bottle. The foam is enough to cover my whole head and then some, and I have a lot of hair. This is nice, since even though the bottle is $12, it saves me from having to buy 2 $9 boxes of another brand.

Put this in, 20-30 minutes and rinse. You're good to go. Plus, the conditioner is the BOMB. I wish John Frieda made it separately. My hair feels amazing afterward-I even emailed them to ask if they sold it separately. They said Full Repair is the closest (which isn't far off-I tried it)

Overall, I LOVE THIS. I don't even need to color my hair. But it's that good. Enough to repurchase 10+ times.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissTheSweetest on 10/4/2013 2:07:00 PM more reviews by MissTheSweetest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Best hair color ever! Better then the salon or any other box color. Expensive but so worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessimon on 9/19/2013 8:18:00 AM more reviews by jessimon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Have to say I love the results I get with John Frieda Precision Foam Color! I have very dark brown hair and use the colour in Deep Cherry Brown (3VR). The gloves supplied are black and of good quality - I rinse them at the end of application for future use (used them with another brand of coloring that had easily torn gloves). The colour is easy to mix and apply and the foam doesn't drip (although if it is very humid, the colour can run a bit due to sweat). The one con is that it takes me ages to use up most of the mix (I have shoulder-length hair and the instructions say I should use all the mix, but I never can do this). Possibly my hair is very fine and although longish, it isn't thick. So, for those with a lot of hair, one box of this product gives very good coverage.

After rinsing and using the conditioner, my hair feels very soft and is very shiny. The colour result is vibrant and I can definitely see a difference if my hair was lighter before application. It doesn't seem to fade much - I can go 4 weeks before I need to use again, but I think the need to reapply is due to regrowth, not fading. The price is a bit steep for me (considering how often I use hair colour) but I've always been able to find it on sale, anywhere from $13 - $16 at the local chemist/supermarket.

I'd definitely recommend it - recently tried the Garnier Olia but the result was so poor (fading colour, very dry hair), I re-coloured using the John Frieda only 3 weeks later.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products