John Frieda • Precision Foam Color • Hair Color

rated 3.3(353 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.56%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondchick12 on 12/22/2013 11:45:00 PM more reviews by blondchick12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am currently using the shade "Light Golden Brown" and am overall pretty happy. I was previously medium blonde and wanted to go dark blonde but nothing I tried was making a difference. I deciding to go more extreme and enter into the brunette colors but didn't want a "boring" brown. This is why I selected golden and was "warned" that golden = red. However, the color shades offer similar colors that are supposed to be more on the red side this definitely did pull red. I was ok with that but this color is categorized as brilliant brunette, I definitely only got compliments referring to my new red hair.

As a natural blonde I feel the fade was a little faster than I had hoped perhaps 4 weeks instead of 6 I began to notice. However, this was only my first application and my hair dresser said after each time it gets better absorbed.

I would say it depends on your base color if you feel this runs dark. Maybe slightly. But the color I have is gorgeous, even, and shiny. If you don't want to have red tones definitely opt for a different brown without the golden. Great conditioner included as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mig8 on 12/18/2013 10:53:00 PM more reviews by mig8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Dear ladies, I bough this hair colour yesterday for 12$ in Ralph's and OMG, literally OMG and not in the good meaning of it.... this was my very first time I coloured my hair at home and I'm extremely disappointed :((( I had waist long, a little wavy very thick full of volume luxury hair and I always took good care of them (coloured only in Salons and used only Kerastase ) but recently I lost my job and when it came to the cost cutting , beauty salon didn't fall in the urgent necessity bin :) so I went to Ralph's and got this foamy colour in 04 Natural Dark Brown
well now my hair are ruined, they are hard to comb (even the whole tube of conditioner did't help) they are very hard dried up and shapeless... so I definitely don't recommend it no someone with my hair type. Also, girls if anyone knows good hair colour please share I really need it ... and yeah it did't colour grey hair properly now they are something like light blond...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 patriciajazmin on 12/13/2013 8:58:00 AM more reviews by patriciajazmin

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I just used the color 3n to cover my highlights from this summer and I was happy with the results. My hair is a dark brown almost black naturally, and it matched my roots and covered the highlights with no strong smell and didn't dye any of my skin which usually happens with other hair coloring products. I followed the directions, set my timer, and rinsed. Reading some of these reviews made me nervous but it was easy and the quality is great. My hair feels healthy and it looks gorgeous. I am glad I spent the extras dollars, you get what you pay for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 byankitty on 12/13/2013 1:23:00 AM more reviews by byankitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love it, wish it could have more product. It's my go to foam at home color. I really just wish they had a wider variety of colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 celestesong on 12/10/2013 8:37:00 PM more reviews by celestesong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am an at-home hair dye newbie; I've always had mine done at the salon. I finally got tired of spending a small fortune just to be trapped in an ammonia-filled cloud for an hour and thought "Surely, I can do this myself." I honestly cannot tell the difference between the $12.00 I spent on this product and the $100+ that I spend at the salon.

The application process is very easy and makes minimal mess. Basically, if you can lather your hair, you can use this dye. I used the 5A Medium Ash Brown; my hair was already a fairly medium brown and the dye turned it a rich brown-black. I was aiming for a "Lady Mary-from-Downtown Abbey shade" and this delivered it perfectly.

This product also was rather gentle -- for a hair dye, it didn't have a very strong chemical smell. The follow-up conditioner is amazing; I was initially worried as my hair tangled somewhat in the foam lather, but the conditioner made it perfectly silky and smooth. I have fine hair that reaches well past my shoulders and one bottle was more than enough to cover it all.

In short, I think this is a very accessible product that delivers luxurious results. If you are new to at-home hair dyes, this is a really great product to use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* allymack on 11/19/2013 7:48:00 PM more reviews by allymack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this in 8N. This product was nothing particularly special. It did successfully pull my medium brown hair to a dark blonde that didn't look terrible, but not immensely flattering either. I was aware of the risk of it turning out brassy, and while it did pull some ginger tones, it was nothing particularly fake looking or embarrassing. Just a dark strawberry blonde. I got a couple of compliments, but I am planning to re-dye, because it wasn't the shade I was looking for. I did notice some damage on my virgin hair, some increased tangling and dryness at the ends, particularly when I didn't deep condition during a wash and tried to just stick to my usual 2 in 1.
The foam was convenient and less messy and fussy to apply, so if this same dye was available in more shades at drugstores in my area, I'd try another colour. Bottom line: nothing to write home about, but if you're looking to lighten at home, you could do worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TianXiaoMao on 11/9/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by TianXiaoMao

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have fine, thick, longish (armpit length) hair, and one bottle of this was not really enough to get my hair as foamy as the instructions suggest. I have about 25% silver hairs and my goal was to cover them without dramatically changing my color. I left the foam in for 25 minutes after massaging it, and then rinsed it out. I applied the conditioner treatment that comes in the box, and found that I had to use the entire tube to get a wide-tooth comb through my hair. After my shower I also had to use de-tangling cream, and my hair smells like ammonia and feels a bit crunchy. And guess what? I can still see almost all of my grays. I'm pretty disappointed by this. It seems to have damaged all my hair but left the grays alone. ;(
I may update my review later once I wash it a few times and see how the color wears.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lilypily93 on 11/9/2013 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Lilypily93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I actually love it! I've got VERY thin hair, which is almost at waist length. I completely saturated my hair in foam and still had heaps left to go! The packaging says to use it all and I did. Woke up this morning to the most beautiful, shiny hair. I generally love all John Frieda products. Brilliant brunette shamp/cond & glaze keeps my hair looking amazing. I don't think anyone should rule this out due to bad reviews. Just be careful not to leave it on for too long !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KatieLouize on 11/4/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by KatieLouize

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I saw this hair dye on offer half price at Boots. I had always wanted to try it so decided to take advantage of the offer whilst i could. I bought the Dark Brown - Black shade to put on my medium brown hair to darken it. The dye was really easy to apply and although it looks like hardly any in the bottle, once it comes out as foam you get loads. My hair is really long and i still had dye (foam) left at the end. I left the dye on for about 45 minutes to make sure it went as dark as it possibly could and washed it out with warm water. The colour was quite nice and even when dry and i was pleased with the result. But two days later i washed it again and it started fading straight away. By about the 4th wash my hair had gone from dark dark brown to a shade not much darker than the colour my hair was originally. This is supposed to be a permanant dye and normally when i put dark dyes on my hair they don't start fading for at least a month so i was very disappointed and will have to stick another dark dye on next time i get paid...waste of money really so glad i only paid £5. I would have been really annoyed had i paid the normal retail price of £10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kerrybabyxx on 11/2/2013 10:31:00 PM more reviews by kerrybabyxx

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I use dark blonde have been using hair color for years now,and I was pleasantly surprised,at how good this brand is.The color isn't brassy,the tint is natural and attractive looking,and it really lasts,longer than any other brand,also it covers grey for the longest time.The high price is a sore point,but I buy them when they are on the clearance shelf for about $4...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More John Frieda products

More Hair Color products