Aspirin Mask

4.2

2233 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

4 Aspirin, Water, Honey


on 12/31/2013 1:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Ok.... I am doing this mask right now....12/31/13 at 12 pm...I have maintained the 3 ingredients to not over complicate the steps
6-low dose aspirin(only ones in the house) unfortunately they did have a coating so I was stuck an extra 5 min mashing them up.
I used water since I didn't have any yogurt
Lastly I used honey--because I didn't wanna feel so dried out.

Ok so I mixed it all up and it turned out a bit liquidy but not to worry because I could add more aspirin or honey....but liquid is fine for me....
Let's just start by saying that with honey, everything gets so sticky!!!! Ugh!!! It is 12:06pm and I am feeling the stickiness on my fingers! I am constantly hydrating my skin as I feel it becoming a bit dry....I am leaving it for 15 min to see any redness disappear or reduced.....and I have two broken into pimples that I just want to shut! 12:08 pm The smell of the honey at first was nice but now it is intoxicating me!!!! If it wasn't for its "skin glowing-moisturizing properties" I would have taking it out of my recipe....
12:13 pm I can see some evened out skin and I will make my way into the bathroom to undo this mess and see my results!
12:16 I can see some improvement... Not much but the results are nice to see since I didn't have much hope on it. The redness on my broken pimples lessened and instead looks now pink(better than red)
12:25 pm I got carried away doing other things that I completely forgot to put lotion on my face!!!! My face felt tight, since I have dry skin--not the best feeling!!! But, the redness decreased a little more, and i don't know if I look lighter Or brighter because the redness disappeared (due to the asp) or because of the honey.... Anyway, I look almost highlighted !!! I use the original Olay active hydrating beauty fluid lotion (that's a mouthful!-just call it facial moisturizer!!! >=\) I shall retry it in the summer when my skin becomes a little more oily...



on 12/13/2013 12:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I read online that aspirin can help acne calm down. I decided to dissolve a few uncoated tablets and mix a bit of honey in. I gently applied to my face and let sit for about 8 min. Then I gently exfoliated it off. The day after my face was smooth and more calm. I've been using it for 3 years with amazing results. I only use it 2 times a week or else my skin gets immune to it. After all Ihighly rrecommend it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2013 9:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have acne prone skin, where i take antibiotics and sometimes use Epiduo cream. After a recent break up, combined with university related stress i have a major break out on my chin. Even cystic acne which i never ever had before. This really damaged my self esteem as I have had pretty clear skin for the last year; to the point where i wore a scarf to cover my chin (luckily it's winter so this was acceptable) but still, not my plan. I had tried this a few other times with less impressive results, however this time, i made sure i really covered the areas i had problems with. I crushed 8 dispersible aspirin tablets (made sure i crushed them into as small as possible) then added 5 drops of water, until it was kind of a foam/paste, then applied it to the areas where i had problems.

I felt a little bit of a burn on my worst area once i applied, but not where it was uncomfortable (if its just a small burning feeling, hang in there, i promise it will help!). After 30 mins i removed the aspirin mask without scrubbing, just gently with a face sponge, warm water first, then cold water, and instantly, the marks from where my cystic acne had been had faded to massive degree and the few active spots had reduced in size. After this, there was a little bit of redness still, so i applied aloe vera gel, this reduced the redness and some how seemed to shrink the spots even more (which surprised me a lot!). I honestly swear by this, and hope it works as well for other people, as i have somewhere to be tonight and was hoping i wouldn't look like a red, mess!

This really helped me and helped me get some of my self esteem back! Some other reviews i found less detailed and therefore not so helpful, so i hope sharing my experience will help you to do this!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2013 9:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

It works. I dissolve it in 2 drops of water and apply it on blemishes. It really helps inflammation and helps them heal. I really like it. Its borderline amazing. It tends to dry out and flake off so I also mix some lotion with it so it stays moist. Alternative is to mix it with honey or yogurt. Love this secret weapon in dealing with acne.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2013 11:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Disclaimer: I've only used this mask twice so far. And let me just say...HALLELUYAH! I used this as a spot treatment, on my deeeeeep pimples; one so deep and large the entire apple of my cheek on one side was being puffed out. Anyway, somehow, someway that little asprin pill made that pimple less inflamed when BP couldn't reach that deeply. Other spot treatments have always just dried out the skin and made it worse before it got better, but asprin just got the job done! I'm so so pleased! I buy the coated asprin, rinse off the coating under the tap (careful to get it all) and then crush the water soaked asprin onto a clean surface (it's super easy once it's wet) then I take a q-tip and apply it to my spots for however long / overnight. Shrunk the pores, didn't dry, reduced redness, and shrunk the inflammation. New holy grail spot treatment for sure!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2013 9:01:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Yes, I'm also in the fan club! I strive to use an aspirin mask once a week, or at least every other week, to keep my dehydrated, sensitive skin glowy and smooth.

Here's my way of doing it (after experimenting quite a bit):

I put some tablets in a small bowl. If I have Greek yoghurt, I use the whey that often separates from the creamy yoghurt, dripping a little on each tablet, at which point they will soften and easily dissolve. I then add some of the yoghurt, and half a teaspoon or so of firm honey. When combined, this makes a creamy textured mask, which I slather all over my face. When it feels dry, I rinse it up and follow with a rich moisturiser, or a soothing mask, depending on my skin's condition.

I sometimes use milk when I don't have yoghurt, and sometimes a couple of drops of rosehip or olive oil, but the main ingredients are always three:

1) Aspirin, for the salicylic acid, which penetrates into the pores, dissolving sebum and dirt,
2) Some kind of dairy product for the lactic acid to exfoliate, and
3) Honey for the antioxidants and moisturising properties, and for the glycolic acid, which regulates skin balance.

I'm really not a DIY kind of person, but this mask really works wonders, and is so very easy to make fresh.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2013 3:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Use this *sparingly.* No more than once a week; when I first discovered the aspirin mask trend, I went crazy and used it several days in a row - big mistake, as it will irritate and dry out your skin. I have very clog-prone skin, and this is a great way to exfoliate effectively - the ingredients of the aspirin chemically slough off dead skin, and the physical roughness is like microdermabrasion. I don't do anything fancy - just buy a bottle of uncoated aspirin for about 99 cents and it'll last you forever. I only use it in the shower now; it's more effective that way, since the steam and warm water will open your pores and soften the skin on your face. I take a small plastic cup, put three or four tablets in the bottom, add a few drops of water, and let it sit while I wash my hair, etc. By then the tablets have softened and I use my finger to mash them up into a paste that I apply to my face and let sit for a few minutes. Then, very, very gently, without pressing or scrubbing, I massage my face in circular motions, especially in places where I get blackheads and whiteheads. I rinse it off, then usually skip any acne treatment that night and just use moisturizer. It's gentler to your skin in the long run, because you're exfoliating with something really effective once or twice a week, instead of constantly irritating it every day with a store-bought scrub or brush. And it's the only thing that has actually made the blackheads and large pores on and around my nose noticeably shrink. I can still see my pores (unless you're a doll or airbrushed, that's normal), but they're so small! And skin-colored! They haven't looked this good since before high school. Yay for aspirin!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2013 3:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

So, this wrecked my face. My nose and cheeks to be specific. I didn't have uncoated aspirin, so i smashed them up and picked out the coating pieces. I mixed it with a little water and some honey, It dried up my face so bad. I moisturized like crazy after (as I do every morning and night) and kept applying whenever it felt dried out again (multiple times a day). but it did help my blemish marks so it was a sad moment. That was a few months ago and it took over a month to restore my skin.
I wanted to try again because it had cleared the major blemishes, but obviously not all my face. This time, I was smart and rinsed the coating off. A WHOLE lot easier. Then I dabbed it only only my blemishes and not any on my cheeks or nose.
It still dries out my skin but in a crunch, it does work. But try it out on a spot first!!!!!!!!!!!!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm reviewing for the aspirin MASK but I never let this stuff sit on my face for very long and it does the trick. I buy bottles of uncoated aspirin at the dollar store and once home, crush them up onto a coffee filter with the back of a spoon (from one to four or five, depending on how "scrubby" I want my scrub to be) and the little teeny tiny bits of aspirin go to work! I work up a lather of my facial soap (Dove Sensitive Skin Beauty Bar) and then use the coffee filter to dump out what I've crushed up - this looks very suspicious when no one really knows what you're doing, lol - and mix it into a tight paste. That goes on and I scrub my face and it instantly feels softer and looks bright. Unlike sugar, the particles are smaller and less likely to cause scratching. I notice breakouts leaving a bit earlier and scarring getting lighted with each use.

Overall, a cheap, efficient way to get smooth, glowing skin on the fly. I wouldn't wear this as a mask because the skin absorbs everything and I'm still not too fine with five aspirin sitting on my face for too long, but as a scrub, it works wonderfully!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2013 2:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've been doing the aspirin mask for almost 5 years now & I still love what it does for my face. I used to do it once a week, but I started to forget & didn't have much time so I'd stop for months here & there. But when I go back to it, my skin just feels so soft it's absolutely incredible. My only issue is when I let it sit & dry on my face, the particles flake off & irritate my nose when I breathe, making me sneeze & it goes Everywhere! I know that it IS called a mask but in a rush I prefer to just add it to my facial cleanser, I use 2 pills & just lightly scrub for a little over a minute. I still get the benefit, it's not as completely exfoliating as leaving it on longer, but it does what I need it to do, so I Love It!!!!

Edit *June 2014*: I still love adding it to cleanser, but I've discovered the beauty of Organic Unpasteurized Honey, it's so soothing with aspirin, I can't believe I'm only using it now!! I still do this once a week, sometimes more if I feel my skin can handle it and I'm breaking out.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4201 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
2233 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Aspirin Mask, Jojoba/Vitamin E oil reduces acne/acne scars and minimizes pores by CindysFaves

Aspirin Mask by Michelle Phan



Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

109 reviews
image

Sugar

249 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

42 reviews
image

Oatmeal Mask

202 reviews
Back to Top