Burt's Bees • Tinted Lip Balm • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(102 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jetaime on 1/13/2013 8:22:00 PM more reviews by Jetaime

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried this product in Petunia with a $1.50 off coupon at Rite-Aid. I have to admit the packaging drew me in as well as the desire for a "your lips but better" look. I was surprised to see the the cardboard packaging is merely a tube to hold a smaller tube of lip balm in your typical packaging. To me, the cardboard packaging was a waste and made me think I would getting a lot more product than I actually did. I don't know if others caught on right away about the packaging. I will reuse the cardboard tube but it still seems silly to me.

I love the petunia color. It's a really nice cool pink shade that makes me lips look healthy and youthful. The texture of the lip balm is smooth and moisturizing, not at all waxy or tacky. Like most lip balms, it's staying power isn't much. I don't mind having to reapply since the color is so nice and flattering. I would definitely repurchase this product but only with a coupon or sale because I think $7 is a bit high.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LDenise1 on 1/13/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by LDenise1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am absolutely in love with this product! After years of trying to find the perfect lip color, I found 2: Rose and Pink Blossom. Pink Blossom is perfect to wear every day and Rose is great for the evening (but it can be worn during the day as well!) This product is the best of both worlds because it moisturizes as well as gives off great color. The shimmer is amazing too because it's not that cheap sparkly shimmer you find in some lip products, but rather a dewy fresh finish. Must buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* noname101 on 12/4/2012 12:45:00 PM more reviews by noname101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have three of these- Red Dahlia (dark red) Hibiscus (pinkier corally red) and Sweet Violet (purplish lighter pink).

At first I liked these- natural, nice discreet "I'm not makeup" packaging, good colors.

They look very nice on the lip- good texture and finish.

My problem is that they are not moisturizing at all. They also taste a bit odd.

I will finish these up but probably won't repurchase

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Buller on 12/1/2012 4:24:00 AM more reviews by Buller

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love those lp balms, i bought a set of 2 one is Rose and the other is Pink blossom.i really really love them i'm from Scandinavia and in the weather here really dry my lips and i tried many balms before i heard of Burt's bees..i wont buy other lip balms in the future but those tinted burt bees balms.they make my soft soft and smooth,and they have a hint of a nice soft colour into them i really like that,i do not like lip gloss or lipstick that much,those ones add a nice natural colour to my lips..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mladkins on 11/24/2012 8:17:00 AM more reviews by mladkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Right now they have gift packs containing two of these for $9.99. So of course I couldn't resist on my last trip to Target. I've been curious about these but my disappoint with the lip shimmers kept me from purchasing. These tinted balms are a much nicer product in my opinion! They feel lovely and smooth on the lips and I don't detect any dry feeling once they've worn off. My advice is to go for the darker colors, as they are very sheer. The set I got contained red dahlia and hibiscus, a reddish color and warm pink respectively. Again, they are very sheer! Don't expect a lot of pigment or you will be disappointed. But if you are like me and like a slight tint to enhance your lips without looking too made up I think you'll be pretty satisfied with these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 alleycats3003 on 11/24/2012 6:21:00 AM more reviews by alleycats3003

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Not a fan of this. The smell of it is really off-putting and it doesn't really do much for my lips.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oosez on 10/22/2012 7:33:00 PM more reviews by oosez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I have this in Red Dahlia and Rose. Rose is quite a lovely flush, almost like a stain whereas Red Dahlia leaves a much stronger impression.

I absolutely love this. It's good to carry around in a handbag for a casual day out. I find it more moisturising than the other lip balms in the Burt's bee's range, and moreso than most other lip balms, frankly. It's not sticky, doesn't feel grainy or greasy, smells v v lovely, keeps my lips soft.

One con is that it melts very easily. I understand the packaging is to insulate it from heat? But it seems a little impractical to open it all up and put it all back in, when I just want to touch up. However, this hasn't really affected my experience with the product (yet! Aussie Summer is approaching...), so still giving it five stars.

EDIT 23 Nov 2013
I left my Rose balm in the car on a hot day and the balm inside completely melted into the cap and the formula separated into its different components. A warning to keep your balm in a cool place! Otherwise, this balm remains my go-to, it's the only one that keeps my lips soft and doesn't make them flake. I even bought three new shades to go with my replacement Rose - Petunia, Pink Blossom, and Hibiscus. Hibiscus is a nice pink/peach tone on my lips. Pink Blossom is a light pink that barely shows, and Petunia is transparent on me (great for wearing underneath my lipsticks).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 loveydove on 10/9/2012 8:19:00 PM more reviews by loveydove

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

What a waste of money! I picked the darkest tint (Red Dahlia) and there was virtually no tint on my lips whatsoever! My lips are naturally pale so there should've been some coloration. The balm itself was average and didn't moisturize and condition as it claims to do in fact my lips were waxy after about an hour. Will not buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 justcait on 6/30/2012 4:37:00 AM more reviews by justcait

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The normal Burt's Bees lip balm (both pot and stick) do nothing for my very dry lips, but I wanted a tinted lip balm that wasn't pink or orange so I tried this (Yes To Carrots, I'm sorry, I wanted to love you but your red is too orangey). So, enter Burt's Bees tinted lip balm. I really like it - it's a great colour (Red Dahlia) which leaves a natural-looking 'my lips but better' colour, just a slight hint of colour because it's quite sheer. AND it actually makes my lips less dry, so it wins on function as well as form.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frckls on 5/20/2012 9:01:00 PM more reviews by frckls

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

To start off, I'm about medium-yellow in shade and have crappy pigmented lips. They tend to look pinkish fresh out of the shower, juicy red if I just finish eating, and very unflattering-dead looking mauve when I'm tired. Bah.

I have the shade HIBISCUS. This baby gives me a pair of juicy pinkish-peach lips. Being so pigmented, ANY lippies that claim themselves being peach, looks very unflatteringly ugly pink on me. Burt's Bees claims this to be pink, but it looks like the perfect peach on my lips.

I also have the shade PINK BLOSSOM, which is the perfect pink for my warm-toned skin. It doesn't look too bubble-gummy on my lips and it just appears that I have a lovely pair of pink lips.

This tinted lip balm stayed on my lips for a good 2 hours or 3. A good meal would erase it all. But, however faded the sheen is, it leaves a faint tint on my lips. It is sheer alright, but with an ample pigmentation, making my lips look naturally juicy.

However, there is a difference in performance of Hibiscus and Pink Blossom.
Hibiscus tends to cling on dry chaps and doesn't fix that well, although still feels slippery. I thought I got a bad stuff, so I got another one and it felt just all the same.
Pink Blossom doesn't have this problem at all and moisturizes my lips very very beautifully.
That's why I gave 3-lippies for inconsistency.

The packaging is a brown boring plastic tube. But to be honest, I like it that I can just slip it into my pocket. I prefer this more than a fancy looking Chanel Rouge Coco Shine or Nars Sheer Lipstick that is not pocket friendly, costs about 3x (or more) as much, and lasts about the same on the lips.
Plus, this is much more natural (ingredients-wise) and cruelty-free.

Definitely repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Burt's Bees products

More Lip Treatments products